Skip to content

Your Body Might Resist the Daniel Fast

While the Daniel Fast will certainly benefit you physically, your body may do some kickin’ and screamin’ during the first few days! So don’t be alarmed if you experience light headaches, hunger pangs, or slight weakness.  Your body might release an “unpleasant aroma,” both through the pores and your breath.

However, if you experience anything more severe, you will want to contact your health professional as it may be from another cause.

Remember, unless you already eat a healthy diet with little or no caffeine or other addicting substances, your body will experience a certain level of withdrawal and detoxification. There are a few things you can do to minimize the side effects.

Vitamin C – an antioxidant that supports detox. It may also help to decrease some of the side effects of the Fast, such as mild headaches.

Lemon – Lemon supports liver cleansing and is also refreshing to your mouth. Add lemon juice to salad dressings and include lemon slices in some of your water.

Dry Skin – Using a body brush in the shower will help eliminate the dry flakes and actually promote blood flow.

Water – Keeping well-hydrated has many benefits including flushing your body and reducing the physical feelings of hunger.

Meanwhile, the withdrawal and detoxification symptoms should pass in a few days. Even your level of hunger will subside after your body becomes more accustomed to few calories and less food consumption.

132 Comments Post a comment
  1. Lilli #

    What are some examples of whole grain?

    September 24, 2014
  2. Serious bloating #

    I’m on day 16, and I am so bloated, I look pregnant. I’m struggling to finish this last week. Any suggestions? And thank you for your time! :)

    February 25, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      For bloating (and/or excessive gas) – Increase your water intake and eat whole grains, bananas, and cantaloupe to help counter the symptoms. Herbs can also relieve bloating and/or gas. Here is an article with natural remedies you might want to consider: http://www.ehow.com/way_5649047_natural-way-relieve-intestinal-gas.html I hope this helps, Be Blessed in your Journey!

      February 26, 2014
  3. Marisca #

    my mom and i are currently doing the Daniel fast, and we both enjoy our coffee, now we suffer from bad headaches, causing us to take pain killers. so wont it be better if we for example have 2 – 3 cups coffee a day instead of taking pills the whole time. By limiting the coffee each week one can give up a cup . i’m working and falling asleep in front of my computer and my focus is way off and making stupid mistakes is not scoring points by my bosses. or do you have any solutions please.

    February 3, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Marisca,
      Weaning yoursef off of caffeine before your fast is the way to avoid headaches: Begin a week or so prior to your fast to wean yourself off of coffee and sugar, this will minimize the symptoms of detox. In addition; Increase Water intake.
      Also, familiarize yourself with the symptoms of the Detox process. Detox can create a number of symptoms in your body as your body goes through the process of purifying itself and eliminating toxins. Some common detox symptoms include: • headaches •lethargy •temporary muscle aches •mucus or other discharge •a coated, pasty tongue •flu-like symptoms •irritability •difficulty sleeping •weakness •cravings •nausea •constipation •diarrhea, and can last 3-5 days which is the average and in some extreme cases up to 10 days. The more extreme the buildup of toxins in your body(toxins are caused by coffee, caffeine, additives and sweeteners) the more extreme your symptoms and length of time to complete your bodies detoxification. Flushing your system with water will ease your discomfort and speed up the detox process. WATER: As a general guideline, your body needs half its body weight in ounces of water per day, i.e.: 160lbs = 80 oz. of water daily. I hope this helps, Be Blessed!

      February 21, 2014
  4. Alida #

    I am on day 5 of the Daniel Fast. I have completed the 21-day fast numerous times before and always physically experienced the first week as the worst. My lower back on either side my spine, is constantly aching. It is as if it coming generating from the muscles. If I move around it is not as bad, but if I am seated for a long period of time and move about, the pain is unbearable. I find it very difficult to sleep at night.

    January 16, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Alida, this sounds a bit extreme for detox symptoms. Keep your eye on it, increase your water intake and if medication is necessary take it as needed during the fast. If the discomfort increases or does not subside after the day 10 or so, go see your health care provider. I hope this helps, Be Blessed!

      January 31, 2014
    • Liam #

      hows your water intake? Is your urine clear or a dark color? How is the quantity of urine? Less then normal? If its very dark or a strange color, less then normal while your intake is normal go to the hospital, it could be kidney problems. Kidney pain is felt most often in the lower back surrounding the spine. My brother had to have a transplant and that is where the pain began. Better to be safe than sorry.

      March 6, 2014
    • I am on Day 3 and have the EXACT same symptoms as you Alida! Lower back and sides are killing me. Probably the only person I found with the same symptoms.
      How did it turn out??

      September 5, 2014
      • Hi ladies,

        This is likely a withdrawal from caffeine. While it doesn’t happen to everyone, it is somewhat common. Drink lots of water. Eat goods rich in potassium. And get good rest.

        September 11, 2014
      • My husband and I both had the exact same pain. It was awful! But it eased up after a few days and then we had renewed energy and stamina.

        September 11, 2014
  5. Steph #

    I am on day 2 of the Daniel fast and have been feeling terrible physically and have been vomiting. Is this normal?

    January 13, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Steph,
      No vomiting is not normal for the fast. Sounds like you have picked up a bug, at such times it may be wise (if needed) to press the pause button on your fast.Take care of your body and then continue on in your fast when symptoms have passed. I hope this helps, Be Blessed!

      January 14, 2014
  6. Mary Ashford #

    Hello I’m on day 3 of the Daniel Fast and I’ve been having some severe hunger pangs how long will this last? My stomach has gotten hard and bloated is that normal? Ms Ashford

    January 8, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Mary,
      For hunger pains try drinking water whenever they occur and/or a protein snack (nuts & raisins, whole grain tortilla with peanut butter and banana, etc.) For bloating or excessive gas–Increase your water intake and eat whole grains, bananas, and cantaloupe to help counter the symptoms. Herbs can also relieve bloating and/or gas. Here is an article with natural remedies you might want to consider: http://www.ehow.com/way_5649047_natural-way-relieve-intestinal-gas.html I hope this helps, Be Blessed in your Journey!

      January 17, 2014
  7. jennifer #

    What can be taken for stomach flu when on liquid fast for the first 3 days?….desperate.

    January 2, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Jennifer,
      The Daniel fast doesn’t start out with 3 days of liquids only, you can if you wish but that is not a requirement. Most importantly, if you have the stomach flu I encourage you to press the pause button on your fast and take care of yourself. Of course increase water intake to flush your system then continue on with your fast when you are doing better. Be Blessed!

      January 2, 2014
  8. Angel #

    I’m on day 6, but the problems I face are intense warefare.
    Physically, I’ve had headaches, but find my internal system is being deeply cleansed

    December 1, 2013
  9. I started my fast 16 days ago, during which time I caught a very bad cold. I am still not feeling well, is it wise to continue the fast or should I stop? I am feeling some of the symptoms you described above, light headaches, fatigue, nausea, my teeth have even begun hurting.

    October 1, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Since it’s been sixteen days and your detoxing should be long gone, this sounds like a flu bug. Also, aching teeth is typically caused by sinus pressure on the teeths roots. Only you can decide if your discomfort level is tolerable enough to press through, or if you need to press a pause button for a day or two. Ask the Holy Spirit for His direction in this, He is faithful to answer. Be Blessed on your fast!

      October 2, 2013
  10. Melody Sanders #

    I am on day 3 of my fast, and I feel terrible physically. I was at work today (I work at a car wash) and I suddenly became so nauseous that I had to run inside and take my break. It didn’t get any better, so I had someone come in to finish my shift. When I got home, I threw up what little I had eaten today (not voluntarily) and discovered that I have a fever of 100.9. I also have a headache.

    Is this all from the Daniel fast, or do you think I have some kind of bug?

    September 24, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Melody,
      Yes you could be dealing with a bug of some sort, as well as the symtoms of detox. Detox can create a number of symptoms in your body as your body goes through the process of purifying itself and eliminating toxins. Some common detox symptoms include: • headaches •lethargy •temporary muscle aches •mucus or other discharge •a coated, pasty tongue •flu-like symptoms •irritability •difficulty sleeping •weakness •cravings •nausea •constipation •diarrhea, and can last 3-5 days which is the average and in some extreme cases up to 10 days.
      With that said, increase your water intake and make sure you are eating enough whole grains and balancing that with fruits/vegetables. The more extreme the buildup of toxins in your body, the more extreme your symptoms and length of time to complete your detox. Flushing your system with water will ease your discomfort and speed up the detox process. As a general guideline, your body needs half its body weight in ounces of water per day, ie: 160lbs = 80 oz. of water daily. I hope this helps, Be Blessed on your Journey!

      September 25, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. During the Daniel Fast « The Daniel Fast

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,589 other followers

