Skip to content

The Daniel Fast is ALWAYS a Spiritual Fast!

Okay, I might get some raised eyebrows on this post! But I’m just trying to bring some clarity about the Daniel Fast. And by the way, it’s a Daniel FAST and not a Daniel DIET!

Why am I making such a distinction? The reality is that the Daniel Fast is much more than the types of food consumed. If you are looking for the Daniel Diet then click on the food list and call it a “twist” on a vegan diet.

Entering the Daniel Fast without a spiritual purpose is like going golfing without clubs. You may have had a great time walking around the course and even yelling, “Fore!” But the reality is that you really weren’t golfing. You were doing something else . . . which is fine, but it wasn’t golfing.

You see, the Daniel Fast originated with the prophet Daniel! And the reason Daniel fasted was because of his devotion to God. The devotion came before the dietary restrictions, not the other way around.

Daniel records three times when he fasted, but he most likely did so more often. The first fast was recorded in Daniel 1. The food and wine the king wanted Daniel to eat had been offered to idols. However, he had already consecrated (set apart) his life to God. If he ate or drank of these things, he would defile his body. So that’s why Daniel requested that he eat only vegetables (which actually included fruit) and drink only water.

Chapter 9 has the second recorded time of Daniel fasting and when he was deeply distraught over the nation of Israel being in exile. Jeremiah had already prophesied that Israel would be set free after 70 years of captivity. The time had come and so Daniel prayed and fasted. This time, it was probably what is called a “normal fast,” which is water only.

Chapter 10 has the third recorded time of Daniel fasting. He was concerned about a powerful dream he had received. The Scripture says he mourned for three weeks and ate no delicacies and no meat and drank no wine. This three week fast is the hub of the current day’s form of fasting commonly known as the Daniel Fast.

You can see that in all three instances, Daniel fasted for spiritual reasons. Once to stay pure before the Lord and two times to seek the Lord’s wisdom, direction and answers to prayer.

Daniel didn’t fast because he was overweight or needed a health tune-up. He fasted because of God in his life.

Now, please don’t get me wrong. I am all for healthy eating and losing weight and even the wonderful health benefits of the Daniel Fast. But to call eating the way Daniel did a “fast” without a primary motivation to draw closer to God just isn’t accurate. Biblical fasting was always about restricting food and always for the purpose of drawing closer to the Lord, observing spiritual laws, or seeking God in prayer.

So if you really want to use Daniel as the model, I hope you will do it all the way. Seeking and finding God is the most significant benefit of the Daniel Fast. Improving ones health is a great side benefit!

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. vickie garcia #

    Great. References. Is it OK to start the fast after the rest of my church. Has started. Or can. I extend it to 21days.

    February 13, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Vicki,
      Yes, you can start your fast at any time, and then continue on to your 21 day mark. Be Blessed on your Journey!

      February 18, 2013
  2. Peter Mwazighe #

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR THIS ARTICLE, AM BLESSED AND THOUGHT.
    GOD BLESS YOU.

    January 9, 2013
  3. Michelle Watson #

    I am so glad for this site. I needed to have a better understanding about this fast. I am doing this and am trying to do it the right way. I am looking for God to make an amazing move in my life and my church through this fast. Prayers for myself and everyone that is doing this fast at my church Rock of Salvation. Thanks to you and your staff.

    January 6, 2011
  4. Wendy Grace Whale #

    This sight is amazing! Without realising there was such a thing I have used the same principle during this past year. I went to University for the 1st time at 63 yrs of age, at God’s instruction, to do a Master of Counselling degree. It was such a challenge that I felt I needed to keep my body pure as it is the temple of the Holy Spirit. I had already given up coffee as it is really a legal drug of addiction. God led me to read about Daniel’s way of seeking God’s Will and living a Godly life. As I put that into practice I started to get amazing marks like Distinction+’s! As I have trusted God that as He had already equipped me for the task before He asked me to do it, He has proved to be victorious. I Praise God for His enabling and leading me to be faithful to Him.. Trusting God with a pure body mind and spirit is an amazing experience!

    December 21, 2010
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Wendy,
      Thank you for your kind words, we rejoice greatly in hearing that someone is strengthened or enriched in any way by our ministry, this is why we are here! What an awesome example you are that it is never too late to go on to higher education or to change anything in our lives to better enhance this wonderful journey of ours called life. Blessings to you dear one and thank you for sharing, you are an inspiration! God is so Good!
      Continue to Be Blessed in your journey!

      December 24, 2010
  5. louvine spears #

    I raelly need a copy of this so I can understand why we must fast and help us take off this weight. I am learning as i go to be a better person in life.

    November 29, 2010
  6. Minister Roszena Betts #

    Praise the Lord for speaking through you and for you having an obiedience level to do what the Lord ask you. I heard a lot of people say this was a diet and I have been praying that they would ask God for understanding and gain a hunger for spiritual growth/ maturity that they realize we must endure to the end. Thank you for the clarity I hope all who did not understand allowed the clarity to help them. Continue to lift the Lord up that he would draw all men to him. Stay encouraged and know we are praying your continued guidance in Jesus Christ.

    November 27, 2009
  7. Courtney White #

    Thanks this is most helpful.

    June 19, 2009
  8. Barbara Gunn #

    Amen!

    January 16, 2008

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Daniel Fast Guidelines « The Daniel Fast

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,582 other followers

