Skip to content

Whose Voice Is That, Anyway?

 In a short time, you will begin the Daniel Fast, a time when you will increase your time with God in prayer. It’s a time when you hope to hear from the Lord about specific things you are bringing before Him.

But do you ever wonder if the “impressions” your hear are from God, you , other influencing voices in your life, or the enemy? It’s a common problem that I hear people talk about all the time. I used to wonder about it myself, until I learned how to distinguish between those voices.

Think about it. You pick up the phone and hear another voice on the line saying, “Hi! How ya doin.” The caller doesn’t have to identify himself because he knows you will recognize his voice. And you don’t have to ask who’s calling because you do in fact recognize the voice.

Now, why is this voice so identifiable? Because you have spent enough time with the person so that his voice is familiar. You’ve talked with him and he’s talked with you. You know each other!

The same goes with God. When you spend time with Him you will recognize His voice out of the crowd of others who are trying to get your attention.

Keep in mind that God is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow. His voice NEVER changes. One of the best ways to become familiar with the sound of His is to hear what He says in His Word (interesting that it’s called that — coincidental?).

The voice you hear in Scripture is the same you will hear when the Lord speaks to you in that “still small voice” that comes up in your spirit. And as you spend more time with Him in His Word and in prayer, you will soon become very familiar with His voice.

The Daniel Fast is a perfect time to seek the Lord and to learn the sound of His voice if you are not already familiar with it. The great news is that once you know it, you will just want to hear it more and more. That’s part of the blessed life! Amen!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. tosin #

    thanks i have been feeling empty.i pray that GOD will bring me to his prescence once again

    June 2, 2012
  2. I so needed to read this. Thanks!

    March 9, 2012
  3. Ruth Johnston #

    This post completely resonates with my experience in the past 7 days on the Daniel Fast. I feel a closeness to God that I have not felt in a very long time. Last night, I bought my family our favorite pizza a breadsticks and I had absolutely no desire to eat it. It actually made me think of how I would feel if I ate it and I became nauseated! God is good! Clarity is coming to the next chapter in my life and I thank you, Susan, for eloquently writing your inspirational book and blog to help us all stay on track and realize what is most important. As a researcher, I know that researching this material takes a lot of time and energy! Bless you and your staff!

    December 4, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,508 other followers

