Skip to content

How about honey and syrup on the Daniel Fast?

Another question I get is about natural sweeteners on the Daniel Fast, including honey and maple syrup.

The Daniel Fast is based on the fasting experiences of the prophet in Daniel 1 and in Daniel 10, along with typical Jewish fasting principles. In Daniel 10:3 we learn this: “I ate no pleasant or desirable food, nor did any meat or wine come into my mouth; and I did not anoint myself at all for the full three weeks.”

From this verse is the boundary on sweeteners. So no sweeteners are allowed on the Daniel Fast, including honey, sugar, agave nectar, cane juice or the like.

Pray about the fast and how the Lord would call you to restrict foods. His guidance should be your final decision.

Also, take a few minutes to read this recent post: http://danielfast.wordpress.com/2011/01/09/daniel-fast-its-so-much-more-than-the-food/

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. Aisha #

    I have read everywhere that olive oil and peanut oil is allowed but I am wondering where coconut oil falls in. Is cocnut oil allowed?

    January 25, 2014
    • Coconut oil is in the grey area. Widely considered as a healthy oil, although it’s partially solid. Use your own discernment for what right for you on this one.

      January 26, 2014
  2. Ashley #

    Daniel didn’t eat anything he desired so if I desire to eat a baked sweet potato with nothing added to it does that mean I can’t eat it because I desire it? How are we supposed to decide if what we eat is desired or not? Should I make a list of the natural foods I hate?

    May 10, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Ashley,
      The Daniel Fast is not about eating foods you do not like. It is however, eating simple foods as God created them (without additives and sweeteners). Removing desserts, deep fried foods, etc., keeping our drinking beverages to water only……simple and clean eating/drinking. So yes, you can enjoy that apple and other such foods without feeling guilty. It is pure clean food, this is the natural aspect of the fast. Detoxing our bodies in a gentle way from the foods/beverages that we consume without thinking and not being aware of what is even in them. Retraining our taste buds to actually like simple food without all the additives and sugars is a wonderful asset gained through the Daniel Fast, and one worth hanging on to afterwards. I hope this helps!

      May 15, 2013
  3. Rachel #

    Also, can you use honey to make things with? Or are all natural sweeteners off limits no matter what?

    August 31, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      There is no sweeteners of any kind allowed (natural or artificial) on the fast.

      September 1, 2011
  4. Liz #

    Thank you so much for confirming my convictions. I am now going to actually do it Daniels way! Pastors need to stop babying us and tell us how it is. We spend more time trying to figure out what we can eat and buy at the store, instead of reading the book of Daniel, it clearly tells you what he did. If we want to experience the spiritual moments with God Daniel experienced, besides isn’t this why we are fasting? We just need to abstain from ALL sweet things, choice foods and just eat vegetables and drink water. I was actually feeling guilty this week because I was able to eat so many things I enjoyed eating and that is not what Daniel did. So, let’s remember why we are doing this and pray, God will get us through this. May God Bless you all in abundance for the desire to grow closer to him.

    January 13, 2010
    • Hi Liz,

      Thanks for your message. I did want to add that in Daniel 1 we read that the prophet at only pulse (KJV) and drank only water. Pulse is food grown from seed. Therefore, vegetables, fruit and whole grains are at the center of the Daniel Fast.

      Be blessed!

      January 18, 2010
  5. Metric #

    what’s a good recipe for fruit smooties?

    January 11, 2009
  6. Hi Craig,

    No, I don’t believe you have broken the fast since you were under the impression that honey was allowed. I don’t want to cross your pastor, but from what I can tell from Daniel’s accounts of his fasting, from other biblical references to honey, and from Jewish dietary and fasting practices, all sweeteners, including honey, are not allowed during the Daniel Fast.

    I hope this helps! Be blessed!

    May 14, 2008
  7. Craig #

    hi im in my 6th day of fasting, one thing im really confused about is my pastor said it would be alright for me to have honey which i have been doing, does this mean i have now broken my fast.

    May 14, 2008
  8. patricia anita goodwin #

    i believe that PAPA HAS BLESSED u 2have an ear 2 hear JUST WHAT HIS SPIRIT IS SAYING :) AND MAY HE CONTINUE 2 BLESS u and all whom u hold dear :)

    February 26, 2008
  9. danialfast #

    Thank you on the sweeteners. I’ve found the answer.

    December 27, 2007

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,562 other followers

