Skip to content

Daniel Fast Recipes

I know many of you are in the process of collecting recipes and making decisions about how you will prepare meals during the Daniel Fast. Actually, that’s why I wrote The Daniel Fast Cookbook.

But even with the cookbook, there will be times when you prepare other recipes. You will need to decide what it “okay” on the Daniel Fast and what isn’t. So I wanted to write a few keys to help you as you make your decisions.

  1. You will probably need to cook a vast majority of your meals “from scratch.” That’s because so many of the prepared foods include sugar and chemicals, which are both no-no’s on the Daniel Fast.
  2. READ THE LABELS. You will likely be amazed, and maybe even a bit discouraged, as you try to find prepared foods that are sugar-free and chemical-free. And this is why in point #1 I said you will likely prepare most of your meals from scratch. But make sure you read the labels.
  3. Use frozen vegetables. Obviously, you will increase your use of vegetables on the Daniel Fast. The good news is that the vegetables found in the frozen food cases are usually totally free from any chemicals and they are more nutritious than most vegetables found in the produce section (that’s because fruits and vegetables lose their vitamins and minerals the longer they are separated from their vine or branch – wow, there’s a spiritual truth in that statement – and when the foods are flash frozen within only a few hours from harvesting, they retain more of their food value). Frozen fruits and vegetables are also “ready to go.” They are washed, trimmed, sliced and diced and ready for you to do your creative work on them to make them even better!
  4. Generally, if a food is a fruit or vegetable and free from sugar or chemicals, it is okay for the Daniel Fast. Make sure you review the Daniel Fast Food List and then make a call.
  5. Beans, rice and tofu are great sources of protein. The Daniel Fast is a great time to find new recipes that may become family favorites. There are millions of people in the world who eat foods consistent with the Daniel Fast as their core diet. Look for Asian, Latin, and East Indian recipes and you will find many are appropriate for the Daniel Fast with just a few variations.
263 Comments Post a comment
  1. Kassie #

    Can we eat tofurky on the Daniels fast?

    March 5, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Kassie,
      The main thing is to check the ingredients in the tofurky. If they are consistent with the Daniel Fast then you are okay to give it a try. The main ingredients to keep an eye out for are types of sweeteners, addditives, yeast and egg whites. Be blessed on your Daniel Fast!

      March 14, 2014
  2. Hattie #

    I just started the Daniel fast and I discovered I make quite a few trips to the bathroom. Is this normal. I drink at least a gallon of water a day and eat alot of salads but would like to eat more fruit and nuts. Also can I have cereal and if so what kind of milk can I use

    June 16, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Hattie,
      If your frequent trips to the bathroom are to urinate then yes this is normal, especially if drinking your daily required amount of water is new to your system. However, the amount of water you drink should be proportionate to your body’s’ size. As a general rule you need to be drinking half your body weight in ounces ie., 180 lbs = 90 ounces of water per day. Since you’ve been drinking a gallon of water daily, you may be drinking more than your body can use.
      Now, if your frequent trips to the bathroom are due to diarrhea, this “could be” normal for short term (the detox period) but not a normal long term effect of fasting and should go away after 3-5 days. Detox can create a number of symptoms in your body as your body goes through the process of purifying itself and eliminating toxins. Some common detox symptoms include: • headaches •lethargy •temporary muscle aches •mucus or other discharge •a coated, pasty tongue •flu-like symptoms •irritability •difficulty sleeping •weakness •cravings •nausea •constipation •diarrhea
      With that said, if this is your situation make sure you are eating enough whole grains and balancing that with fruits/vegetables( and of course drinking the correct amount of water).
      Milk: All “plant based” milks (almond, rice, soy, coconut, etc.) that are free of sweeteners and additives are allowed for use in recipes and on cereal. Just not as a beverage, water is the only drinking beverage allowed on the fast.
      Cereals: Some prepared Cereals are allowed, it’s all about the Ingredients. Here some ideas for you: Muesli, some varieties of Ezekiel brand and some varieties of Shredded Wheat, ex: http://www.arrowheadmills.com/product/shredded-wheat-cereal There are also several other Daniel fast friendly cereals found in the Natural Foods section of grocery stores or at Health Food stores but you’ll have to read some Ingredients labels. And then always good Old Fashioned Oatmeal. Be Blessed!

      June 18, 2013
  3. Hattie #

    what kind of nuts can I eat on the Daniel fast and can I eat trail mix

    June 16, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Hattie,
      All nuts are allowed as long as there are no additives or sweeteners in them. Be cautious on the trail mix, make sure to read the Ingredients list for any added sweeteners or additives. Be Blessed!

      June 18, 2013
      • Hattie #

        Thank you for your swift reply. My husband has decided to go on the diet/fast with me as he is a pastor who is slightly overweight and is concerned about being in shape to deliver the word of God. He weighs around 350 and is concerned about fatigue and stamina becoming a problem. Are there any tips concerning this

        June 18, 2013
      • God is calling His church to health . . . and the Daniel Fast is an excellent “jump start” to a lifestyle of health!

        Be blessed as you support your husband!

        June 19, 2013
  4. Robyn #

    My church is starting the daniel fast march 4th, and I’m excited. It wont be hard for me because I was a vegetarian for a year. The only thing I might struggle with is the no sweets and no coffee but there are allot of good recipes i have used to remedy that. For the ones that are new to the fast my God bless you and keep you and my he make his face shine upon you.

    February 25, 2013
  5. Brandy Bill #

    Can I take vitamins while fasting? The vitamins include B-12, biotin, and fish oil.

    January 10, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Yes you can take daily supplements, although we encourage you to find supplements that are free of sweeteners or man-made chemicals. As for the fish oil, you should find a plant-based supplement that would meet the needs filled by the fish oil, flaxseed oil is a good alternative. I hope this helps!

      January 10, 2013
  6. Tonya #

    Hi and Praise the Lord to everyone!! My name is Tonya and my husband and I and a few others will be going on the Daniel Fast May 1st. I am very excited and we are looking forward to what God will be doing on this endeavor. We are putting aside a time everyday that we will be praying corporately and as one body. I am sure I will be asking questions as I go along. I am so glad this site is here and God Bless the Daniel Fast Team!!

    April 29, 2012
  7. Brenda Jean Boyd #

    Today is my first day on the diet and im praying that i can succeed at this. i have just gained 25 lbs in the last 9 months and i feel horrible about myself, its just so unhealthy. I had gastric bypass surgery and lost 80 lbs i have since gained 50 lbs back. Bee

    April 23, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Brenda,
      Let me just say that I am proud of you! And you are going in the right direction just simply by not giving up, you are fighting to bring your flesh into submission! The Daniel Fast is a very healthy way to eat, the length of the fast varies from 7–50 days. Afterward, if one chooses to keep this eating plan as a lifestyle and many do, there are suggested slight modifications to the eating plan such as adding in occasional fish and chicken. The Daniel Fast is an experience for the whole person – body, soul and spirit. Many people experience vastly improved health during their Daniel Fast since this is such a healthy way to eat.
      The definition of fasting is to restrict food for a spiritual purpose. Using the Daniel Fast eating plan for strictly health purposes would be a Daniel Diet rather than a fast. And many people do use the Daniel Fast eating plan to improve their health and for weight loss. With that said, yes the Daniel Fast can help you with being over weight. This is where the Daniel Fast can help, by getting your focus off of weight loss and onto your higher calling in Christ, Who you are in Him and in the process learning how to treat your body as the temple of the Holy Spirit with temple worthy Foods and temple worthy Exercise.
      I encourage you to go to http://www.daniel-fast.com and request a copy of the Meal Planning Sheet and a copy the Daniel Fast Guidelines, they will be emailed back to you. Look them over and formulate a plan of action that will break off those old habits and put into play some new good ones. And, stay plugged in with us at both of these sites, the Daniel Fast site and this site has all the resources you’ll need for a successful fast and life changing encouragement to keep you going forward. Also, check out this site: http://www.DanielFastResearch.com which is amazing with the clinical research that has been done on the Daniel Fast. Richard Bloomer is wonderful man of God who is also a researcher from the University of Memphis. The results of his clinical studies are impressive.
      We also have a ministry to help people develop a lifestyle of health http://www.Choose-Life-Now.com Many of the members are obese . . . the program is all about submitting our bodies to Christ as part of our spiritual worship (Romans 12:1-2). Many members start with the Daniel fast and then join Choose Life Now. The results are powerful. I hope this helps, Be Blessed in your Journey!

      April 24, 2012
  8. can we eat veggetable oil in couscous?

    April 17, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Tracey,
      Yes, vegetable oil in a whole grain couscous is fine.

      April 18, 2012
  9. Stephanie #

    Instead of whole wheat pasta my mom would use Spaghetti squash, and meatballs. Is the spaghetti squash acceptable on the daniel fast? Obviously not the meatballs.

    April 2, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Stephanie,
      You are correct, no meatballs. But the spaghetti squash is fine as long as the rest of the Ingredients also comply. I hope this helps!

      April 4, 2012
  10. Hi Susan,
    I just got your response about the dates during the Daniel Fast. My question was because my church friends are hosting a ladies retreat and they want to give the ladies from their church a day of “Daniel Fast treats” just that day, as the other guests will have a chocolate fountain, so people also try the healthy food from the Daniel Fast along with the desserts made with dates. Just for one day… What do you think about it?

    March 13, 2012
    • Hi Lorena,

      Dates are a great idea. Stuff them with almonds for an extra treat!

      Be blessed and thanks for your post!

      March 14, 2012
  11. Joann J #

    Hi to all,
    I am on my 11th day and today is one of the harder days. Pray for me!
    Joann J.

    March 11, 2012
  12. Travis #

    God is so amazing, specific, and He has a sense of humor, too! This will be my second 21-day Daniel Fast since May of 2011. Each time, I have come up with my own agenda in terms of when I intended to start the fast. To be truthful, I was stalling to get in some more of my favorite goodies before going vegan for 3 weeks. I am already vegetarian, but veganism is a whole other baby, and I will miss my beloved cheeses. Both last May and again this morning, I got sick to my stomach a few days before I planned to start fasting. It was intense – like when I carried my son 16 years ago. Hee hee! The mere THOUGHT of the foods I had planned to eat before I started fasting were repulsive. I had no doubt that God was telling me to do this NOW! So…I started my 2nd fast this morning! I am so excited about what the Lord will reveal and do during this time.

    March 7, 2012
  13. Jayelemn Jali Arrieta #

    I am doing the Daniel Fast for the 2nd year in a row. It’s definitely a challenge when you are not that great with cooking. Ito the nuts and fruit.

    February 24, 2012
  14. Cassandra #

    can you have unsweetened coco powder

    February 11, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Cassandra,
      Both carob and cocoa powder is a bit in the grey area . . . Daniel 10:3 says, “I ate no pleasant or desirable food, nor did any meat or wine come into my mouth; ……” This might be one of those times to ask the Holy Spirit to guide you. Technically, carob or cocoa powder with no sweeteners added would be allowed. But as you can tell it’s a little grey and maybe pushing the envelope. So when situations like this come up, I seek the Spirit of God and ask Him be my Guide. I hope this helps!

      February 12, 2012
  15. Lorena #

    Hello,
    I would like to know if dates are allowed in the Daniel Fast even made into date honey(soaked and stewed with a little water and then you put some cinnamon).

    February 1, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      All sweeteners are off limits during the Daniel Fast. One thing to keep in mind is that while all foods on the Daniel Fast are natural . . . not all natural foods are acceptable. I hope this helps!

      *Ooops! Let me clarify this better! Yes, dates cooked with water and cinnamon are fine, if you are making it as a side dish. However, (and this is where my thoughts went when I originally answered this)…this would not be fine if making it into a “date honey” to use as a sweetener on other foods.

      March 13, 2012
      • Hello Susan,
        I just got your response about having dates while in the Daniel Fast, I just have anohter comment: dates are also dried fruit as well as raisins and prunes, so none of these are allowed in the Daniel Fast?

        March 13, 2012
      • You can have dried fruit on the Daniel Fast. You just need to check the label of the package to find out the ingredients (not the nutritional value). Many manufactureres add sugar or other types of sweeteners and/or chemicals. So you will need to pass on those (like cranberries). Raisins and dates are great.

        March 14, 2012
      • Melanie Meinhart #

        No this didn’t help. On one hand you say ok, dried fruits are acceptable. This includes dates. You are telling this person no. Is it the form they are in? I am having a hard time seeing any difference.

        February 16, 2013
      • Daniel Fast Team #

        Let me clarify this better! Yes, dates cooked with water and cinnamon are fine, if you are making it as a side dish. However, (and this is where my thoughts went when I originally answered this)…this would not be fine if making it into a “date honey” to use as a sweetener on other foods. Be Blessed!

        February 16, 2013
  16. Today is day 14 for me and it started getting a little challenging the on day 8. Today is the hardest since beginning because it seems everything is aimed at inflaming my flesh the past 2 days. I keep thinking- I need a cookie, LOL. In semi-defeat I ate some baked sweet potato fries and baked normal fries, knowing they did not fit the bill, because they were the store bought ones. I felt guilty, but quickly cast off condemnation, and declared that I would get up and press on, in Jesus Name. I know this is the enemy’s attempt to discourage me from continuing. And I am also realizing how much I go to food for comfort. I need to go to the Lord for help, not food. Thank you Lord for how he uses the circumstances of our everyday to show us ourselves & see how much we truly need him.

    January 21, 2012
    • Betty #

      Dear Chantel,
      Your situation has been an encouragement to me. This is my first day and I know that there are many challenges ahead. I will also look to God for his guidance through this process of spiritual blessings.

      February 1, 2012
  17. one recipe I have been using, is to mix 1 cup whole wheat flour, one cup water, and half a cup of olive oil. I put a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg and salt to taste. Mix until smooth. The mix will be liquify, don’t worry. put on a baking sheet, as thin as possible and bake for about 8 minutes or until darkened at 500-600 degrees. Take out and let cool. It’s a good bread alternative : )

    I also am glad to hear about the original triscuit, and it is a baked cracker using just whole wheat, soybean and/or palm oil, and salt.

    January 21, 2012
  18. Susan Ringler #

    As far as I can see the Greenway organic tortilla chips are ok for a snack or for dipping. Ingredients: Organic stone ground yellow corn, organic vegetable oil ( sunflower, conola, and/or safflower), sea salt.

    January 18, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      The ingredients sound good. However, if they do not say Baked on the packaging, then they are deep fried and to be avoided. I hope this helps!

      February 1, 2012
      • Frances #

        thanks for clarifying

        March 25, 2012
  19. Teresa Cahlik #

    I am on day 7 and enjoying the challenge of new recipes as well as the time spent in prayer and meditation. Thank you for all your advice and help.

    January 18, 2012
  20. gladys #

    hi,
    Is tofurky okay to eat on the Daniel fast?

    January 10, 2012
  21. Rachelle #

    Hello, I would like to to know is couscous acceptable on the Daniel fast?

    January 9, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      For those who do not know, Couscous is a pasta . . . you’ll need to look for the whole wheat variety and check the other ingredients too. You might check in the Kosher foods section of your supermarket, there is a newer line of kosher whole wheat couscous and orzo now available. Be Blessed!

      March 8, 2012
      • Frances #

        helpful to know

        March 25, 2012
  22. Hello, My name is Melissa, I started the fast today, I have tried to prepare as best I can, I am though having a hard time finding recipes that i may use, i dont want to have to buy a book… Is there any other option besides buying the book, or making my own?

    Thank you.

    December 10, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Melissa,
      Yes, you will find on the menu bar on this site that there are many recipes available. Also you can add additional recipes to your menu by going to http://www.daniel-fast.com/recipes.html
      Also, if you do a general website search for Vegan Recipes you can get some great new ideas that are easily adapted into Daniel Fast friendly dishes. I hope this helps!

      December 14, 2011
  23. Tanya #

    Hello,
    Can you eat Harvest Whole Wheats crackers from Whole Foods to snack on. Please advise. I am having a difficult time finding foods to snack on.

    November 1, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Tanya,
      It’s all about the Ingredients, what’s in them? I tried to look up a Ingredients list via the internet and was unsuccessful, so you’ll need to check the ingredients to make sure they are in fact Daniel Fast friendly. Original Triscuits are a cracker that I can recommend that complies with the Fast. Be Blessed!

      November 4, 2011
      • Frances #

        love the triscuits!

        March 25, 2012
  24. Rae #

    Can I eat veggie meat on the fast?

    November 1, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Rae,
      Yes, you can eat veggie meat/burgers, however it’s hard to find prepared veggie burgers without sweeteners included as an ingredient. Many of those on the Daniel Fast make their own veggie burgers. You can find recipes in the Daniel Fast Cookbook – Version II. Visit http://www.Daniel-Fast.com I hope this helps!

      November 4, 2011
      • Bethany pace #

        can i eat can alaskan salmon?

        November 4, 2011
      • Daniel Fast Team #

        Hi Bethany,
        The Daniel Fast is completely plant based, so there is no salmon allowed on the fast. I hope this helps!

        November 10, 2011
  25. Bethany pace #

    hi im bethany and i will be starting this january 1 i have never fasted 21 days before and was wondering if soups are allowed and i have to take vitamins for low thyroid is this a good diet for me?

    October 23, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Bethany,
      Soups are great! You can find prepared soups in the natural foods section of your grocery store. Just make sure they are free of sweeteners, chemicals, dairy and other food ingredients not allowed on the Daniel Fast. Homemade soups are the very best way to go, since you control what goes into it and the large amount made provides many meals, some can even be stored for later in the freezer.
      Supplemants – Yes, we do however encourage supplements that are free of sweeteners or man-made chemicals. With that said, it’s very likely that you will experience some very positive outcomes from the Daniel Fast, but be sure to continue with the instructions of your earthly physician, compare the Daniel Fast Guidelines with his instructions… As you seek the Great Physician in the restoration of your health. Again, the Daniel Fast is a very healthy way to eat, so you will likely benefit from the Fast. I hope this helps, Be Blessed on your Fast!

      October 27, 2011
  26. Mo #

    Starting my fast tomorrow, very excited! Just wondering if it’s okay to eat bulgar wheat?

    October 1, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Mo.
      Bulgar wheat is a whole grain . . . and before a food manufacturer takes all the bran and germ out of it, it would be fine. Be Blessed on your Fast!

      October 2, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,582 other followers

