Skip to content

A couple great tools for the Daniel Fast

There are two kitchen helps I find so very useful during the Daniel Fast.

  • Rice Cooker – mine is small and makes a maximum of 6 cups of cooked rice, but that’s an okay amount for what I need to prepare. For every cup of dry rice, I add 2 cups of water. Toss in some sea salt, pop on the lid, and flip the switch. It turns off automatically when the rice is cooked and it takes about 40 minutes. It’s so easy!
  • Salad Spinner – okay, here is my true confession: I hate making salads. I know I am not supposed to confess negative things over me (maybe I will try and declare that I love making salads during the fast :-) ) but for some reasons, making salads is not a thrilling experience for me. That’s why I like using the salad spinner. Easy to just wash, tear, spin and the lettuce is ready.

Just another word on salad making strategies. When I return home from grocery shopping, I cut up all the fresh ingredients for salads and store them in air-tight containers in the fridge. Then when it’s time to make a salad, I just add the amount of each ingredient I want to the bowl and it takes about 3 minutes to put together the medley. The good news is that for someone who has an aversion to making salads, this almost makes it a non-issue! Pray for me!

22 Comments Post a comment
  1. Heidi Blake #

    Hi Susan,
    My fast is going well now that I’m working on week 2. I found that dates make a wonderful sweetener for whole grain cereal in the morning, also wondered if coconut milk would be ok to use in this fast?

    January 15, 2010
    • Hi Heidi,

      Yes, coconut milk is fine if the ingredients comply with the Daniel Fast Guidelines (available at http://www.Daniel-Fast.com).

      I too like to add dates or raisins to hot cereal – and then I use unsweetened soy milk.

      Be blessed

      January 16, 2010
  2. Kailee #

    HI susan….I have my mother and father who are doing the daniel fast and we are a family of four with many things to do at night…is there any recipies that are quick and easy…?????

    January 11, 2010
  3. Kailee #

    HI susan….I have my mother and father who are doing the daniel fast and we are a family of four with many things to do at night…is there any recipies that are quick and easy…?????

    January 11, 2010
  4. Margo #

    Amen!!!

    March 10, 2008
  5. Hi Margo,

    Yes, matzo is okay on the Daniel Fast. However, I suggest you get the whole wheat variety.

    The Lord’s Supper always takes precedence over fasting. It serves as the body and blood of Christ.

    Thanks for the questions and God bless you on your fast.

    Susan

    March 10, 2008
  6. Margo #

    Susan,

    Is matzo ok?
    Also, what are your thoughts about taking communion of yeast bread and grape juice?

    Thanks-
    Margo

    March 10, 2008
  7. Hi Margo,

    I make most of my own salad dressings because the prepared varieties usually contain sugar and/or chemicals. Here is my “formula” which is common in culinary disciplines:

    1 part “acidic liquid”
    3 parts oil

    One dressing I especially enjoy is grapefruit and olive oil. I just take 3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil and 1/4 cup fresh grapefruit juice and whisk them together with sea salt and freshly ground pepper. I love this dressing served over a salad of Bibb lettuce, grapefruit sections and red bell peppers.

    Blessings to you on your fast!

    March 7, 2008
  8. Margo #

    Susan,
    I thought I read a coment a few days ago where you described making a salad dressing using grapefruit juice. Would you please repeat it again?

    Thank you for all this wonderful information and work you have done.
    Blessings to you!
    Margo

    March 7, 2008
  9. Cindy #

    I have just recently learned about the Daniel Fast and am thinking of starting it the first of March. My husband and I are taking a class in another community so must eat out on those nights – what do you eat when you go to a restaurant?
    Thanks for any help.
    Cindy

    February 24, 2008
  10. Hi Zalika,

    I am not familiar with that specific product, but if it is sugar-free and chemical-free it should be fine. I eat applesauce on the fast and I especially like it with wholegrain cereal as a way to add a little sweetness.

    Blessings to you on your fast.

    February 19, 2008
  11. zalika #

    I want to know if I can eat Healthy Harvest Strawberry Flavored Apple Sauce
    No Sugar Added brand

    February 19, 2008
  12. Hi Tericout,

    Yes, all healty oils are acceptable on the Daniel Fast.

    Blessings to you!

    January 28, 2008
  13. tericout #

    is safflower oil allowed?

    January 28, 2008
  14. Hi Geri,

    Actually, it’s not about “natural” but rather that honey is a sweetener. So that would make it not acceptable, just like agave nectar, maple syrup, raw sugar and cane juice are not allowed.

    Blessings to you!

    January 26, 2008
  15. Geri Palacios #

    I am enjoying my time with the Lord, and actually enjoying being on the
    Daniel Fast, I was wondering about honey as a sweetner, since it is pure
    and has no preservatives, is it allowed.

    January 25, 2008
  16. Hi Annia,

    Lemons, along with all fruits, are allowed on the Daniel Fast whether fresh, frozen, dried, juiced or frozen.

    Blessings to you on your fast.

    January 22, 2008
  17. annia #

    about lemon

    January 22, 2008
  18. jsp #

    I was wondering, I thought that we weren’t allowed to have oils? But, I purchased the cookbook, it looks WONDERFUL, but has lots of times using oils? Also, it used tomato soup, dijon mustard (wouldn’t these items have preservatives in them). Just curious. This is my second year fasting with Free Chapel in GA, and I didn’t know about any of these things being available?

    Thank you for your wonderful site!

    January 10, 2008
  19. Mary #

    I’m wondering if there is a recipe for a salad dressing that I can make other than oil & vinegar. Suggestions appreciated.

    January 8, 2008

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Day 5 | Daniel Feasted on The Word

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,508 other followers

