Skip to content

Zoom for Breakfast on the Daniel Fast

Zoom, zoom, zoom! It’s a great hot cereal that’s been around for decades! Made by Krusteaz (the pancake folks), the cereal is 100% whole wheat. It’s the only ingredient and cooks in less than 2 minutes after the water boils!

I actually like this very inexpensive cereal. The box I just opened cost me $1.68 and contains 14 servings! That’s a pretty good deal in my book. After the cereal is cooked, I just scoop it into a bowl, add some raisins and sometimes a little soy milk. That’s it!

You could also sweeten the Zoom with chopped up sweet apple or apple juice, apple sauce or some other fruit. You might also want to add some cinnamon.

36 Comments Post a comment
  1. A'Brionna Sam #

    Are cherios allowed?

    January 3, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Cheerios are not allowed due to the sugar in them. Whole grain cereals are fine (but they need to be free of sweeteners and additives), some things to look for that are possibly available in most areas would be Ezekiel brand cereals, and some varieties of Shredded Wheat, ex: http://www.arrowheadmills.com/product/shredded-wheat-cereal There are also several cereals found in the Natural Foods section of grocery stores or at Health Food stores (just need to read some Ingredients labels, to check for natural sugars which could be added in), and then there is always good Old Fashioned Oatmeal…. Oh, another favorite is Muesli. Be Blessed!

      January 9, 2014
  2. Hanna #

    I’ve seen craisens on a lot of Daniel fast recipes, but they have added sugar. Are they still ok?

    February 10, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Hanna,
      ‘Most’ craisins (dried cranberries) do have sweetener added, but not all. And it does take some doing but you can find some with nothing added, just good ole dried cranberries. Dried fruit in general is always a challenge to find without any sugar OR additives added, and it varies not only from brand to brand but also from product to product (for instance, one brand may have nothing added into their raisins but then have sweetener or additives added to their dried apricots). Reading the ‘INGREDIENTS’ labels of every dried fruit package is the only way to be sure. Begin with the health food isle in your local grocery store, then you may need to continue your search at a Health Food store, but even there you’ll need to check the Ingredients label for added natural sugars. Be Blessed!

      February 14, 2013
  3. Brenda #

    any type of peanut butter????

    January 4, 2013
    • Any peanut butter that is free of shortening, sweeteners and chemicals. Read the label and the ingredients should be just peanuts and salt.

      Be blessed!

      January 5, 2013
  4. Daphine Tyiska #

    I”m about to start this fast and wanted some ideas for beakfast. I dont like foods like cream of wheat is there something like oatmeal that would be good. Is there any whole grain cereal you can have.

    January 27, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Dalphine,
      Yes, old fashioned oatmeal is great for the fast, and you can pile on top fruit (bananas, raisins, craisins, fresh/frozen berries, canned peaches (watch for added sweeteners and additives) and nuts to add plenty of flavor and additional fiber and protein, and if desired some unsweetened additive free plant based milk (soy, almond, rice, coconut, etc.) Muesli is another good option. Also, for prepared cereals are the Ezekiel brands and some varieties of Shredded Wheat, ex: http://www.arrowheadmills.com/product/shredded-wheat-cereal There are several others found in the Natural Foods section of grocery stores or at Health Food stores, but you’ll need to read the labels first. I hope this helps, Be Blessed!

      January 28, 2012
  5. Cherlise #

    can you have Granola??

    December 19, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Cherlise,
      Yes, granola is fine on the fast but you will need to read the ingredients for your granola, as most have sweeteners added. Be Blessed!

      December 23, 2011
  6. Tasha #

    On list it shows that we can eat herbs, fruit etc- so is herbed tea okay to have on fastings?

    August 31, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Tasha,
      The only allowed drinking beverage on the Daniel Fast is water. The fine line is that if you can still in all honesty call the beverage “water” then it would be allowed. Thus, water with lemon slices would be allowed, water with herbs in it becomes a tea. I hope this helps!

      August 31, 2011
  7. Kathryn #

    This site is a little confusing. On the allowed food list it states that you can have all fruits “Fresh, Frozen, Dried,JUICED, and Canned. So if its “Cranberry Juice” which is a beverage you should be able to have it. But reading thru this blog it states that we can only have Water? My church and I have been on the fast for almost two weeks, and we have been drinking juice because of the allowed foods list. Please Clarify.

    January 20, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Kathryn
      You are correct, the only drinking beverage pn the fast is water. Unsweetened juices and unsweetened plant based milks (soy, almond, rice, etc.) can be used in the making of recipes, ‘OR’ a smoothie when it is used as a meal replacement with (vegetables & fruit). I hope this helps!

      January 20, 2011
  8. Marina #

    So frustrated. Trying to start this fast toomorrow and cant figure out breakfast. Husband leaves eaarly so he has to take it to go. And me normally i eat oatmeal, but cant use regular milk so i dont know. I guessmaybe sy milk. Hope its not grose: )
    Please pray for us.,This is my first Daniesl fast. Husband did it last year, but i just had a baby then.

    January 9, 2010
  9. Florenza Smith #

    Is yeast extract aloud on the Daniel Fast?

    January 9, 2010
  10. Katie Fifer #

    Organic Agave Nectar is made from the juice of the agave w/out additives and preservatives. Thoughts? Good on oatmeal w/blueberries in the morning!

    September 23, 2009
  11. Avis Burns #

    Hello,Im about to start the daniel fast tomorrow.I need to talk with my Heavenly Father more clear.Im going to do it with my husband we our newlyweds and the devil has already try to break us up. So I need to do this 21-days fast to get a closer walk with my Father.I want to get closer with him…Keep me in your prayers

    June 13, 2009
  12. Michele W. #

    My husband and i are fasting for our third year, we moved from AZ to WA and still followed the fast with our church in AZ. We just broke fast Superbowl Sunday but now our church here in WA is starting a fast on March 22nd. We’re prepared for it… well until they told us it was gonna be water only for the 1st week, juice the 2nd week and fruits & veggies the 3rd week. I’m 42 and Diabetic… what should i do? Although i want to follow the rules i’m a lilltle afraid.

    March 13, 2009
  13. George #

    Who determines the rules for this fast?

    February 19, 2009
    • Hi George,

      The Daniel Fast is based on the fasting experiences of the prophet as recorded in Daniel 1 and Daniel 10 along with typical Jewish fasting practices. These references tell us all vegan eating, water only for a beverage, no sweets, and no leavening. From these anchors, the Daniel Fast Guidelines have been developed.

      I hope this answers your question

      February 24, 2009
  14. Joey #

    Hey susan,

    Is anything from juice it up good while on daniel fast?

    January 26, 2009
    • HI Joey,

      You asked about juice on the Daniel Fast. I was a little unclear about your question, but I can say that the only beverage on the Daniel Fast is water. So juice can be included in recipes or as an ingredient. Just not as a beverage.

      I hope this answered your question.

      January 27, 2009
  15. Susan, I would like to know if my husband and I can still take out naural supplements, they are from a health store none is suppose to contain sugar, are these acceptable on the fast I am praying for a healing and expecting miracles thru my church fast that we start on Feb4. I want to stay strictly in line with the fast thank u sandra vernon

    January 14, 2009
  16. Hi Tanya,

    If you have a medical need, then I say go ahead and drink the herbs you need. However, the Daniel Fast is really a water-only-beverage fast. I think this is also where many individuals experience some of the most dramatic and learning aspects of fasting . . . keeping the flesh under control for a higher calling.

    However, if you do have a medical need, then go ahead. Fasting should only make you better and never cause any harm to the body.

    I hope this helps! Also, I’m very happy you like the book.

    December 2, 2008
  17. Tanya #

    Hello Susan,
    I am a ‘hot beverage’ drinker but not a big juice drinker. I know I can juice some fruit, like apples, dilute it and drink it as a hot drink, but I’m wondering if it is appropriate to have non-caffine herbal tea? For example, because of bowel issues I typically drink Dr.Nautura Kleri tea on a regular basis. What are your thoughts?

    Thank you for a wonderful book too!

    December 1, 2008
  18. Hi Millie,

    When I fast, I use whole grain cereals like Oatmeal and Wheat Bran. I haven’t found boxed prepared cereals that meet the Daniel Fast criteria. Remember to read the INGREDIENTS and not the nutritional value. Many foods will have natural sugar and therefore the nutritional value part of the label will note it. However, sugar will not show up on the ingredients.

    My breakfasts consist of fresh fruit, hot cereal (oatmeal, ZOOM which is wheat bran, muesli) and sometimes brown rice with fresh fruit added to it. Whole grains are so good for us, plus they “stick to the ribs” so we stay satisfied for many hours.

    I hope this helps. Be blessed on your fast.

    June 4, 2008
  19. Millie #

    Good Evening!
    I am beggining the Daniel’s Fast on June 9th in agreement with the ministry I belong to. I was wondering can you have whole grain dry cereal such as Total, ect.. This is the first time I do the Daniel’s Fast and I want to commit myself according to the will of God. I don’t want to mess up!

    June 3, 2008
  20. Good morning Michelle,

    Great questions! You obviously want the Lord to be in control of your life! That’s a good and powerful way to live!

    Regarding when to fast and how to know if the Lord is leading you to this discipline:

    There are many instances in the scriptures about fasting, too many to cover in this response. However, you will find that most of them were initiated by the individual as an act of consecration and seeking God’s direction in a matter. Prayer and fasting is taking a position. It’s saying, “I am going to set myself aside for this period to focus on the Lord in a more intense way.”

    I have fasted many times in my life. I have never done a 40-day water-only fast, but I have done the 21-Day Daniel fast many times and I am currently on a Seven-Week Daniel Fast (between Easter and Pentecost Sunday). I also have fasted with water only for numerous 3-day periods and the longest is a 10-day water-only fast.

    All of these have been because I needed to hear from the Lord on various matters. So I set myself apart and dedicated the days to seeking the Lord and His guidance in a more intense way than my normal devotional times.

    There is also corporate fasting. That’s when a body of believers come together for a specific purpose for prayer and fasting. It might be for church growth, seeking healing for an individual, prayer for the city, etc.

    My guess is that if you sense a bit of “prodding” from the Lord, the He does want you to fast. However, don’t fast just to fast. Fast with a purpose. Otherwise, it’s a “diet.” Still very healthy and good for your body, but keep in mind that fasting is a spiritual discipline.

    Be blessed!

    April 30, 2008
  21. Michelle #

    How do you know that God is leading you to do this fast? I have never read Daniel 10 until the other day, nor had I heard of the 21 day fast. What I have heard of is the situation where it took the Angel 21 days to come to one of God’s people, as Satan or his angels where preventing him from coming…..until Michael the Archangle fought and won the battle……..that I have thought of many times……..during the waiting times of my life…..finding myself wondering & praying and asking God if there isn’t a spiritual battle going on like the one I had heard of about Michael. …….this has been on my heart off and on a lot. …and then Sunday I came across Daniel 10. I just wonder if God wants me to do this fast. I want to be careful to do what God would want. He is good and we are blessed to be able to fast and hear from him. Just don’t want to assume anything. And yet, do not want to miss out on an opportuinty to hear from him. Do you know what I mean?

    Thank you,
    Michelle

    April 30, 2008
  22. Hi Cathy,

    The Daniel Fast is a “no animal products” fast. So butter is out. It is also a “no chemical” fast, so artificial flavorings are also off limits.

    I use soy milk, raisins, bananas and applesauce. Very sweet and tasty.

    Blessings to you on your fast.

    February 7, 2008
  23. Cathy #

    I love cream of wheat with all the work, is it even aloud on this diet? Zoom wasn’t my favorite growing up so I’ve been eating oatmeal with raisins and soymilk.

    Are butter sprays allowed on this Fast?

    February 7, 2008
  24. Glynnis Washington #

    As someone who never like Cream of Wheat growing up, I came up with my own interpretation of your recipe: I made a bowl of oatmeal and added raisins, nutmeg, cinnamon, and a couple of tablespoons of apple sauce. It was both delicious and filling.

    January 13, 2008
  25. Hi Melissa,

    Zoom is available right around where you would find cream of wheat. Krusteaz is the maker and they are and old time food manufacturer.

    Blessings!

    January 8, 2008
  26. Melissa #

    Hi, This Zoom sounds a bit like cream of wheat.
    Where can I buy it?

    January 8, 2008

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,508 other followers

