Skip to content

Easy High-protein Breakfast Stir-fry for the Daniel Fast

Sometimes it can be hard coming up with good breakfasts on the Daniel Fast, especially if you are used to eggs. I made what I thought was a delicious breakfast and it was quick.

1 tablespoon olive oil 

1 medium onion, sliced

1/2 green pepper, chopped

1 cup firm tofu, diced in bite-sized pieces

  garlic salt to taste

  Italian herbs to taste

Heat a skillet over medium heat. Add oil and heat for a couple minutes. Add the onions and green peppers and stir fry for 2-3 minutes. Add tofu, garlic salt and Italian herbs. Continue to cook until vegetables are soft.

Makes two servings.

This was so tasty. The tofu is about the same consistency as egg whites and it soaks up the flavors of whatever it’s being cooked with. Very easy, tastes great, and lot of protein.

55 Comments Post a comment
  1. lucia #

    Dear brethren! I’ve started a Daniel fast and i’m not sure whether salt is allowed or not.

    January 5, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Yes, Natural Salt such as Kosher Salt and Sea Salt is allowed on the fast, as well as all spices and seasonings (additive free). I hope this helps!

      January 6, 2014
  2. Lisa #

    Do I need to take a multivitamin during the Daniel Fast

    March 9, 2011
    • The Daniel Fast is a very healthy way to eat (if you follow the instructions as outlined in the book and here at this blog and my site). You may want to start taking a multivitamin now and then make this part of your health practice even after the fast.

      March 9, 2011
  3. Neisha Vereen #

    Can you eat protein bars while on the fast, the ones in question have no sugar in them but 12 grams of sugar alcohol ?

    March 8, 2011
    • You will need to check out all the ingredients as listed on the food label (different from the nitritional analysis). If the ingredients comply with the Daniel Fast Guidelines (available at http://Daniel-Fast.com) then the bars would be okay.

      Be blessed!

      March 9, 2011
  4. One question that I have and not seen asked, is about breath mints or some sort of sugarless gum to freshen the breath.

    December 29, 2010
    • I’ve yet to find mints or gum that don’t include either chemicals or sweeteners. So most people use other ways including fresh mint leaves, parsley, whole cloves, or cinnamon sticks. Also, drinking more water and eating a plant-based diet will naturally keep your breath sweeter.

      Be blessed

      December 30, 2010
  5. Racquel #

    Hello!

    I started the fast a week ago. Are Triscuits ok? The ingredients are: whole grain soft white winter wheat, soybean oil, and salt. Thank you!

    -Racquel

    April 12, 2010
    • Hi Racquel,

      Yes, Triscuits are allowed. But as I recall, only the “original” recipe rather than the “gourmet blends.”

      Be blessed on your fast!

      April 28, 2010
  6. Oh, last question…

    I am fasting and praying with my Church and we started on Jan 4,2010. I reviewed the blog and I thought that cane juice was not allowed as a beverage. I was also under the impression, you can’t add sugar or eat anything with sugar added.

    I think I ate something with cane juice or and sugar in the ingredients. I didn’t add sugar as I normal would “pleasant food”. Do I have to start the fasting all over. I didn’t know and must have read the blog incorrectly.

    Sorry for so many questions. I will purchase the cookbook soon.

    January 9, 2010
    • Hi Jackie,

      No sweeteners is allowed on the Daniel Fast and the only beverage on the Fast is water. So now that you are clear about the guidelines continue on the fast and regard it as a simple mistake. The important thing is to now stay within the boundaries. This is an example of our life in Christ and why we need to be in the Word. As we learn more about His ways, we can change and continue to move forward in becoming more like His image.

      Be blessed.

      January 9, 2010
  7. Hi Susan
    Greetings in the Name of our Lord!

    I have one question. I went to the WholeFood Supermarket. Everything if not all is Organic, Wheat, Barley, Oat, Sea salt, or Soy. I purchased Organic Whole Wheat SourDough bread (yeast free) Miche. The ingredients are as follow:

    Spring Water
    Organic whole wheat flour
    Organic whole wheat sourdough
    sea-salt
    and last but not least (i am so upset), organic unbleached white flour

    I left the store already and I still have my receipt. If this is not allowed, could you suggest some type of chemical free bread.

    January 9, 2010
    • Hi Jackie,

      Since the bread has sourdough, it is not allowed on the Daniel Fast. The issue isn’t yeast, but rather leavening (of which yeast is a type). Sourdough is just a different type of leaven.

      There really isn’t any type of raised bread for the Daniel Fast. There is flat bread like chapati, which is made from whole wheat flour, water and oil.

      Be blessed.

      January 9, 2010
  8. Jeanne #

    Thank you so much for the clarifications on so many topics!! I will begin a Daniel Fast next Monday with my church and this is very refreshing to know that this resource is out here.
    God Bless you all!

    February 23, 2009
  9. Debbie #

    I’m just about to start the Daniel fast Please tell me how to buy the cookbook

    December 28, 2008
  10. Bree #

    Hello Susan…
    Is this acceptable: Carr’s Water Crackers ~Ingredients: Palm Oil, Whole Wheat Flour, Salt.

    December 16, 2008
    • HI Bree,

      They might be okay. The only thing is that they only list “wheat flour” on the box in my cupboard (I love them). If your box says “whole wheat” then they would be okay. I am not sure if the flour in mine is enriched, although I believe food producers are required by law to list the type of wheat.

      With all that, they are probably okay . . .

      December 16, 2008
  11. JMason #

    I am addicted to Diet Coke. I am going to start the Daniel Fast January 1 with my church and I am afraid of getting terrible headaches from not drinking Diet Coke. How can I prevent these headaches so I don’t give in to temptation?

    December 15, 2008
    • Good morning J,

      What a joy that you will soon be free of this unhealthy addiction! I encourage you to look forward to that victory! Meanwhile, to avoid the physical symptoms of detox, start cutting down on the amount of Diet Coke that you are now drinking. I don’t know how much your are consuming now, but try to cut back by 10% each day and start drinking more water. Try to increase your water intake to 1/3 gallon a day . . . that will help you reduce the amount of Diet Coke you drink and start to flush your system from the chemicals harbored there.

      I also encourage you to search your own heart as you struggle with this experience, because it’s likely that even now as you cut back on the Diet Coke that your flesh will start to rebel. This is the major victory many experience during the fast – to take control of the flesh and put our spirit in charge.

      You are in for a powerful time of growth in your faith and for improving your health! That’s a great gift!

      December 16, 2008
  12. Hi Cindy,

    It is okay to have salt on the Daniel Fast, but giving into cravings is another issue. You are right . . . we need to crucify the flesh and this may be an area where you learn some powerful spiritual lessons.

    I do suggest that you increase your water intake. If you are of average weight, drink at least 1/2 gallon of filtered water each day. Also, continue to eat normal amounts of salt.

    Be blessed on your Daniel Fast.

    October 14, 2008
  13. Cindy #

    Hello,

    I have a question of the Daniel’s fast. I am craving salty foods. I know I need to crucify my flesh and let God purify my body and spirit, but I am really struggling with the salt issue. Can we have salty products? How can I kelp fight off the cravings? Thanks for your time.

    Blessings,

    Cindy

    October 14, 2008
  14. Hi Joanie,

    Do you have the Daniel Fast Cookbook? It has enough recipes for the whole 21-Day Daniel Fast.

    I use prepared whole wheat noodles and then either purchase sauce (although it’s hard to find brands that don’t add chemicals or sugar) or I make my own using onions, green peppers, garlic, canned tomatoes, tomato paste, and Italian herbs. It’s easy and very flavorful.

    I hope this helps.

    September 11, 2008
  15. Joanie #

    Hi,

    Could you please send me the receipe for whole wheat pasta and sauce(spagetti).

    Thank you,

    September 11, 2008
  16. Hi Ezzie,

    The problem you will find with flavored soy milk is that they include sweetener in the ingredients. Sugar, honey or forms are not allowed on the Daniel Fast. I have to look hard to find any soy milk without “cane juice” added to it. Cane juice is sugar before it is granulated. But I am able to find a local brand that is free from sugar. I use fresh fruit, raisins and other fresh or dried fruit when I serve oatmeal or hot whole grain cereals.

    I hope this helps!

    September 3, 2008
  17. Ezzie #

    hi i have another question…
    is it okay to use vanilla soy milk in your oatmeal??
    vanilla soymilk is the only kind of soymilk I drink.
    so i was wondering if that was ok?

    September 2, 2008
  18. Good morning Ms. Mary,

    No Splenda is a chemical. However, there is a natural product called “Stevia” which is an herb and a natural sweetener, even though it has no calories.

    The thing you will want to look at is if you are to even use Stevia. This is a personal issue, but I do encourage you to pray and search your heart about this matter.

    The Daniel Fast is a partial fast, so we can eat many foods and Stevia, being an herb is one of the “gray area foods.” That’s because it’s vegetation, but it’s still a sweetener. The purpose of fasting is for our spirit man to take control of our soul man (a.k.a. flesh) which is where our cravings, feelings, emotions, etc. reside. So this is one of those areas where you want to search your heart . . . and if the Lord is calling you to give up “sweeteners” as part of your fast, then even Stevia would be off the list.

    For me, I don’t use any sweeteners during my fast. But that’s because the Daniel Fast is not all that far from how I eat most of the time. So I need to “go deep” with the restrictions so that I can more fully experience the benefits of fasting unto the Lord.

    I hope this helps.

    July 21, 2008
  19. Ms Mary #

    What about Splenda? Would it be excepted in the Daniel Fast?

    July 21, 2008
  20. Jason #

    Thank You! (breakfast bars are not allowed….ie…fiber one/protein bars??)

    again…thank you!!!

    July 14, 2008
  21. Hi Angela,

    Have you purchased the Daniel Fast Cookbook? If not, I encourage you to get it as it provides enough recipes and menu plans for the entire Daniel Fast.

    Cooking foods in a small amount of oil is okay, but limit the amount of oil you use. Fried potatoes stretch the limit to the max . . .

    Lipton Soup is definitely out during the Daniel Fast because of the chemicals. My guess is that it also has sugar in the mix.

    I encourage you to spend time on the blog. There is lots of information about how to eat on the Daniel Fast, including many recipes.

    Be blessed!

    July 7, 2008
  22. Angela Glenn #

    Susan, God Bless you as you continue to help people understand the fast better. My question is: trying to find ways to eat healthier while doing the fast, I started frying potatoes in olive oil. Now I know Daniel would not of been in the wilderness frying food:(, but is that okay or not. Oh yea, and putting Lipton soup mix in beans to season them, what do you think?

    July 7, 2008
  23. Hi Rhonda,

    No, don’t stop the fast . . . just make the adjustments. Know that there is no “power” in the foods eaten or not eaten from a spiritual standpoint. However, the Daniel Fast is also for the whole body, including the physical body. The foods on the Daniel Fast are good for health and I have received many reports from people who have been healed of cancer, diabetes and other conditions during their fasting period. Also, most people find their bodies moving toward a healthy weight.

    So, my encouragement to you is to make the adjustments and continue on your fast. You might choose to fast longer – just on your own – as you continue to seek God and His wisdom. Don’t think that He is measuring your fast to see if He will bless you or not! The fast is to put your spirit, soul and body on alert that you are setting this time aside for a special focus on God and His way of doing things. It’s not to gain God’s favor and approval. You already have that through the most precious blood of Jesus.

    I hope this helps and be blessed as you draw near to your Loving Father.

    June 29, 2008
  24. Rhonda #

    I started the 40 Daniel fast 1 week ago. My sister sent me the calendar from our church so I started not knowing fully what it involved. The calendar stated June 22-July 2 we can only eat fruit and vegetables which I did but I also ate oatmeal with soy milk, Egg-Beaters, biscuits, sweet tea and I drink flavored lemon water. Today I came across your web site and read that I was not doing everything correctly. Out of ignorance I was not aware that I could not have so much. I want to do the Daniel Fast for spiritual reasons but now I am confused as to whether I should continue the fast and do it correctly starting from todsy or should I become more informed then sart the fast?

    June 29, 2008
  25. Good morning Pauline,

    Remember that you and your body are the temple of the Holy Spirit. So as you seek to improve your health, do it unto the Lord as part of your spiritual worship.

    Perhaps this is a time when God wants you to understand more deeply of His love for you and how He treasures you so much that He wants you to be healthy. Many people who fast using the Daniel Fast change their way of eating forever because of the great health benefits. I believe that pleases God, to have His people healthy and honoring their bodies in a godly way.

    Test your heart . . . test your motives . . . and if they need to be adjusted, then repent (change) and move even closer to the Lord.

    Be blessed, dear sister. Clearly you want to please the Lord and that pleases Him!

    June 4, 2008
  26. pauline #

    HI i have found all your comments very helpful. However i am feeling rather guilty as i am about to embark on the Daniel fast for the purpose of petitioning God as well as becoming more healthier. Will my fast be accepted as i am not fasting solely for religious purposes. I have decided to wait for your answer whilst trying to adapt to the foods required for this fast. I hope to begin the fast once i have shopped and become familiar with the different meals i can prepare.

    June 2, 2008
  27. Hi Tanya,

    I don’t eat veggie burgers, so I am not totally familiar with all that are available. But I encourage you to READ THE LABEL and if all the ingredients are acceptable, then they would be okay. The big deal is to look for sweeteners such as “cane juice” and syrups.

    I hope this helps.

    May 6, 2008
  28. Tanya #

    Hello,
    My name is Tanya. I have been doing the Daniels fast and have lost 8 pounds so far. I’m on my secound week and I was wondering if Vegie burgars were ok to eat?

    May 6, 2008
  29. Hi Anita,

    This is one of those gray areas. I am more of a Daniel Fast purist and so I drink only water during the fast with the occasion 100% fruit juice (once in a two week period – maybe). Soy milk is acceptable on the fast for cooking and cereal . . . and if you want to drink it, that would probably be okay. But that’s one of those things where I think it’s between you and the Lord.

    After studying the Daniel Fast for a long time, drinking anything but water seems to be outside what the prophet may have done.

    I hope this helps.

    April 15, 2008
  30. anita #

    hey…hmm u mentioned the beverage is only pure water right?? so would it be ok to drink soy milk?? i drink milk or milo for beverage every day and so, i am figuring out whether substituting these two with soy milk is alright…
    thanks

    April 14, 2008
  31. Hi Gerral,

    Salt is okay on the Daniel Fast . . . so that’s a good seasoning. I use Italian Seasoning which is a mixture of several herbs. And I also like to use curry and a mixture of herbs and spices in Ethiopian dishes.

    Do you have the cookbook? You might want to get it since you will be on the fast for a while. It has 21 days of recipes, menus and lots of idea.

    Bless you on your fast!

    April 10, 2008
  32. Gerral Gaines #

    When your eating your vegetables, since we are not to use salt and butter, can you give me some ideas of what I can use for seasonings. This is my first day on the 21 day fast and I have been eating fruit all day. Thanks for any suggestions you may have.

    April 10, 2008
  33. Hi Jinna,

    You are really better off making your own salad dressings as most of the prepared dressings include sugar, dairy products, or preservatives. My favorite is lemon, olive oil and Dijon mustard (I was able to find one without sugar). I just take 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice, 3/4 cup virgin olive oil and about 1 tablespoon Dijon. I whisk the dressing and then store what I don’t use in a jar.

    Ketchup is allowed, however sugar is the issue. I haven’t found one without sugar, so I guess if I needed ketchup, I would make my own . . .

    I hope this helps! And by the way, don’t feel at all like you are “bugging me” with your questions. This is a special ministry that the Lord has given me and it is my great honor and pleasure to answer any questions to help men and women as they seek the Lord through prayer and fasting.

    March 31, 2008
  34. Jinna Chung #

    I was wondering what would be my choice in a salad dressing since the low fat dressings are advised for this fast, or should i just use my own recipe of olive oil, and other spices to make my salad?

    Also, are ketchups allowed? Sorry to bug with all these questions >.<

    March 31, 2008
  35. Hi Minita,

    I eat a lot of hot cereal so that’s how I use the soy milk. I expecially like muesli which can be eaten hot or cold.

    Bless you!

    March 27, 2008
  36. Minita #

    Susan you mentioned eating cereals with soy milk is okay. Can you give a few the names of cereals that would be okay. I have not been using soy milk at all previously but am running out of breakfast choices. Currently I have been eating fruit for breakfast …everyday! I have never been a fan of hot cereals. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks for such a great site!

    March 26, 2008
  37. Hi Scott,

    Yes, 100% fruit juice is okay. You want to watch the “ingredients” and not the nutritional breakout.

    Blessings!

    March 24, 2008
  38. Scott #

    Can u have 100% fruit juice even though it contains sugar, but NO ADDED sugar?

    March 21, 2008
  39. Hi Fayetta,

    Actually, no breads are allowed on the Daniel Fast. If you read Chapter 10 in the Book of Daniel you will find the basis for today’s Daniel Fast discipline. Daniel ate no meat or pleasant foods and drank no wine. Pleasant foods would have included breads as was common for his Jewish fasting experiences, including Passover.

    Blessings to you on your fast.

    March 17, 2008
  40. Fayetta Acosta #

    This is my first dainel fast
    Can we eat Genesis 1:29 bread.
    If not can you list breads we can eat.

    March 17, 2008
  41. Sonja #

    I take frozen has browns let them thaw for about ten min. Then I dice tomatoes, peppers, and oinions and I steam them all together. great for any meal.(if you eat out Waffle House Steams them also just request them to be steamed)

    March 15, 2008
  42. Hello Robin,

    Yes, soy, rice or almond are great for cooking and adding to cereal on the Daniel Fast. Just make sure you ‘READ THE LABEL’ to see that it is sugar-free and chemical-free.

    Now this next comment may seem a little picky . . . I’ll leave your response to it between you and the Lord. Since the Daniel Fast is a water only fast as far as beverages go — I only use these alternative milks for cooking and to mix in with cereal. I also rarely drink juices. That’s the Daniel Fast purist coming out in me :-)

    Blessings to you on your fast.

    February 4, 2008
  43. Robin LaBRANCHE #

    IS RICE OR ALMOND MILK ALLOWED ON THE DANIEL FAST?

    February 4, 2008
  44. Hi Target,

    Yes, all whole grain cereals are acceptable as are all fruits whether fresh, frozen, dried, juiced or canned.

    Blessings to you on your fast.

    January 29, 2008
  45. Target126 #

    Hi Susan,

    Is it okay to eat oatmeal with raisins (of course without the sugar :) ?

    January 29, 2008
  46. Quinetta JAmes #

    Susan, I use garlic power and sea salt. table salt makes my blood pressure to rise up. It tasted just like table salt just doesn’t have the side effects.

    January 25, 2008

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,507 other followers

