Skip to content

Seven-week Fast for Financial Breakthrough

Hi fasting friends, 

I am on the third day of a new seven-week fast for financial breakthrough. I am using the Daniel Fast but very modified in that I eat only hot cereal for breakfast, a salad for lunch and a simple dinner. I am drinking only water and don’t eat between meals. Why so radical? Because I want big things from our Big God!

The thing the Lord is showing me so very clearly is that receiving His goodness and blessings is all about faith . . . faith in His Word and faith to receive.

The Scriptures are full of God’s promises. He is a good God! As followers of Jesus Christ we should be the most powerful and most blessed people on the face of the earth! Jesus bore the curse for us and won every good thing that the Father wants us to have. Yet far too many of us are sick, busted and disgusted!

Why, because the enemy has hampered our faith. Through various deceitful ways, he has kept us from apprehending those things that are rightfully ours! Whether it is lack of knowledge, wrong teaching or just not going after the things of God, too many of us are weak, broken and not walking in the fullness of Christ.

When Adam and Eve sinned against God, they went from life to death. But when we accepted Christ as our Lord we were born again! We went from death to life! That means that everything Adam lost, Christ (the second Adam) got back for us. That’s why Jesus is called the “Redeemer.” In Hebrew that means “one who buys back what was lost.”

Being born again means that we moved from one reality into another. Our born again state is as children of the Most High God. I wish churches would have a ceremony fitting of what really happens when one enters into the family of God. The trumpets should sound, the new heir should be wrapped in a royal robe and their head topped with a bejeweled crown. He or she should receive deeds to all that is now theirs and they should receive a document that lists their rights and benefits now that they are a child of the Almighty God.

That’s more like what happens in heaven! The angels rejoice because they know the significance of being born again and gaining this new position in the kingdom of God.

If we really believe, then we should be walking in total victory! Granted, there will be skirmishes with the prince of darkness. Jesus warned us of that, but He teaches us not to worry! He’s taken care of it! “These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” John 16:33.

So I am back to the faith question. Do we have the faith to believe that what the Bible says is true? Or, do we have our work cut out for us?

For me, it’s the latter. I made a commitment many years ago to believe the Bible. But my faith needs to grow . . . Romans 10:17 teaches, “So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.”

So my marching orders during this seven weeks of prayer and fasting is to mine the truths in the Word of God. To dig very deep and plant those seeds in my heart and nurture them with prayer, worship and devotion.

I heard a man say the other day, “People don’t change unless the same becomes more painful than the effort it takes to change the way they are.”

 I’ve heard other say things like, “You have to get mad about what’s happening to you so you can put up the good fight.”

Jesus said it this way, “And from the days of John the Baptist until the present time, the kingdom of heaven has endured violent assault, and violent men seize it by force [as a precious prize-a share in the heavenly kingdom is sought with most ardent zeal and intense exertion].” Matthew 11:12 Ampliphied Bible.

Well, I am there. No more half way . . . and no more lasting for a few days and then reverting back to old ways. I am tired of not realizing the great life the Bible says we should have. I am tired of being defeated and held down by the enemy’s tricks and my little faith.

Last night when I was thinking about all this I saw a picture in my mind of my hands reaching up toward heaven while heavy shackles wrapped around my ankles. I want whatever holds me back to be gone! I want the truth that will set me free and I want the glorious life Jesus died to give me! I’ve got that mother bear kind of resolve in me for the things of God and I am ready to do whatever is necessary to get to where the Almighty King wants me to be!

I am so glad that dozens of you are joining me in this seven-week prayer and fasting period for financial breakthrough. If you want to “get on board” please send me an email. But be ready to “go for it.” This is not for the faint of heart or for those who are not wiling to put in the effort. We are expecting big things from our Big God . . . and so we are wiling to do what it takes.

Bless you, dear friends and thanks for our encouraging words and support.

Susan Gregory

The Daniel Fast Blogger

149 Comments Post a comment
  1. Nnadi chinwendu #

    Our faith pushes God to work.. Lets build our faith today even as we engage in the spritual exercise..

    April 7, 2014
  2. Deborah #

    I’m so ready to start my Daniel fast how do I start??

    January 3, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Deborah,
      Here are a few of the most critical areas for you to know.
      #1…Preparation: Spending as much time as possible getting familiar with the fast will serve you well in being prepared to experience a successful fast. This site as well as the Daniel fast site has an abundance of information available.
      a) Weaning Foods Out: Begin a week or so prior to your fast to wean yourself off of coffee and sugar, this will minimize the symptoms of detox. In addition; Increase Water intake.
      b) Familiarize them with the symptoms of the Detox process.
      Detox can create a number of symptoms in your body as your body goes through the process of purifying itself and eliminating toxins. Some common detox symptoms include: • headaches •lethargy •temporary muscle aches •mucus or other discharge •a coated, pasty tongue •flu-like symptoms •irritability •difficulty sleeping •weakness •cravings •nausea •constipation •diarrhea, and can last 3-5 days which is the average and in some extreme cases up to 10 days. The more extreme the buildup of toxins in your body(toxins are caused by coffee, caffeine, additives and sweeteners) the more extreme your symptoms and length of time to complete your bodies detoxification. Flushing your system with water will ease your discomfort and speed up the detox process. WATER: As a general guideline, your body needs half its body weight in ounces of water per day, i.e.: 160lbs = 80 oz. of water daily.
      It helps to plan on eating left overs for meals. Last nights dinner works great for the following days lunch/dinner etc.
      Ending the Fast: You need to be careful during the first couple days of “ordinary eating.” To keep your body from rebelling loudly, reintroduce foods slowly. This is especially important when resuming coffee and caffeine, meat, dairy products and sweets. Small portions… are better and easing back into consumption of these foods is strongly advised.
      For a complete list you can order a copy of the Daniel Fast Guidelines by going to http://www.daniel-fast.com and enter your email address, they will be emailed back to you. Also, if you to go to http://www.daniel-fast.com/about.html there is a wealth of recipes, and spiritual aids to help prepare and encourage you in your journey. I hope this helps, Be Blessed on your Fast!

      January 9, 2014
  3. Yolanda #

    Yolanda, Hello this would be my 1st time doing a Daniel Fast, so excited to get started (9/01/2013, please touch an agreement also for a FINANCIAL BREAKTHOUGH, DIVORCE,etc I receive and belive God will come through for me, and i am on time! amen

    September 1, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Yolanda, We are standing in firm agreement with you for God’s very best! Deut. 28:1-14, Ephesians 1:17-24, Rev. 12:11, Jer. 29:11 Be Blessed on your Journey!

      September 9, 2013
  4. Ronel Cabanlit #

    Hello,
    I very happy to get more knowledge about fasting and pray, and i thank God that i have a chance to read this testimony ,

    Thanks,
    Ronel

    August 4, 2013
  5. Sandra #

    First timer

    July 22, 2013
  6. Keisha High #

    Hi Susan,
    Thank you for your post. I needed that encouragement to start my fast. I need God to move in a supernatural way in my life. I am going through a divorce, trying to start a new business and get my health back on track. Please keep me in your prayers. I am determine to walk by Faith and not by sight, leaning and depending on God.

    July 18, 2013
  7. vanessa hardie #

    Hi thank you for you for being led by God, I would most definitely like to get on board. I have been praying for God to lead and guide me into what I need to do to take it by force.
    thank you

    July 17, 2013
  8. MARIA #

    Wow, reading this I do not feel so all alone. I am in my 7th day fast wondering the same thing too. What am I doing wrong? How do I indentify this enemy that has been allowed to attack my life, my finances, my career, my family, even when I go to work the hostilty I receive is unbearable. What is this barrier? What is this hindrances? These obstacles where are they from? The roadblocks why are they here?

    May 7, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Maria,
      It is quite normal, and can almost to be expected that when one enters into a fast that ‘stuff’ will get stirred up on all fronts. The enemy of our soul hates it when we fast (seperating ourselves from the world to draw close to God) So, he does what we call a counter attack or a backlash. Be encouraged, this is his bluff to get you to back off. Also, learn to discern the things of the spirit, and read between the lines. When this stuff starts to surface, that should be your first encouragement that you are right on target and accomplishing much in the spirit realm, or he wouldn’t be working so hard to discourage and distract you! Also, when you see these things that you mentioned begin ti rise up, financial problems, relationship issues etc., the enemy takes advantage to pile on anything else eo discourage. Remember, these issues dodn’t just start to happen when you began to fast. They were there all along, hidden, and now are being forced to the surface for exposure, now they can be dealt with, once and for all. Painful yes, but not near as painful as co-existing with them! Rejoice, God is faithful to deliver, to you and your family! 2 Thessalonians 3:13 – “And as for you, brethren, do not become weary or lose heart in doing right [but continue in well-doing without weakening].” And I cannot emphasize this strong enough…”Always keep a Close check on how well you are walking in love toward others!” ALL the armor of God, ALL the gifts of the Spirit work by Love!
      Be strong and courageous, be bold and declare God’s word over you and your family…If God be for you, Who can be against you? No weapon formed against you can prosper, and every tongue that rises in judgement against you, you will condemn, This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness is from Me, says the LORD! Walk in Love… and Be Blessed dear one!

      May 8, 2013
  9. Isaac #

    I am on the 40th day of my Daniel fast. I read this blog sometimes in the month of February and decided to start from 1st of March. Pray for me please for miracles in my finances and career. Presently I feel like the Isrealites at the shore of the red sea. I know God is able and I remind myself of His wonders and wonderful promises whenever I feel down but it’s not easy when u are married with 2 kids(soon to be three) and u barely have enough to eat and are always in debt. I need a miracle. I have been telling God during this fast that I don’t want dews but torrential showers of blessings divine. He is able to do much more and He will.

    April 9, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Isaac,
      When you seek God through fasting and prayer you are posturing yourself for breakthrough, to hear and receive from the throne of God All He has for you! Watch what He will do! Keep in mind that your supply is not limited to your job, that job was not your source of supply, God is! All the resources of heaven is at your disposal…God is not limited. So lift up your head and declare boldly All He has for you! And my God will meet all your needs from His glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19
      I encourage you to be quick to obey All He tells you to do! We are standing in firm agreement with you for God’s very best in your life! Be Blessed on your Journey! Rev. 12:11

      April 10, 2013
  10. Gugu #

    Hi Susan
    It’s been 3 to 4 years now praying for myself and my husband business breakthrough,our finance breakthrough,to break generational curses in my family and my families success but we can’t get result of our prayers.

    my husband his in construction business where he did tenders but no payment has been made since and no reason is been given,our finance is been locked seriously,my son is been kicked out of school due to fees not been payed,we received summons for our house it might be actioned if payment are not made.

    I have a catering company which is not doing well for 3 years now I had every catering stuff but I had to sell some due to lack of finance and it is hurting as people who are in the same business with me are doing well and I ask myself why me,why business is not fruitfull,I go to church everyday with faith to receive our breakthrough,people are getting breakthruoghs and giving testimonies,when will we get our and when will we give our testimonies?cause I pray like everyone else,I also wake-up twice at midnight and pray.

    we sold all our cars to get cash to pay our debt but the situation is getting worse by the day our debts are getting bigger everyday.

    we have fasted all types of fast,we fasted and prayed for the whole month on january,every month we fast and pray for seven days,I even did Esther 3 days fast and pray I did dry fast but the is no fruitfull result.

    our life is sinking and me and my husband we feel like we have failed our kids,as we don’t know or understand what went wrong cause we prayed to God for our businesses and we thanked him each and everyday even now when things are not well we still thank him for what he did for us,for giving us what we asked him.

    Please Susan help us with prayers as we like to join you on 7 days fasting and pray to raise everything that is dead in our lifes,please help with fasting guide lines on financial breakthrough,business breakthrough,how to break curses in our lifes in Jesus Amen.

    Regards
    Gugu

    April 7, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Gugu,
      God has a way out of this for you, all of this! When you seek God through fasting and prayer you are posturing yourself for breakthrough, to hear and receive from the throne of God All He has for you! We are standing in firm agreement with you for God’s very best in Every area of your life! God is good, and He Loves You! Be Blessed on your Journey! Rev. 12:11

      May 2, 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,571 other followers

