Skip to content

Daniel’s Fast Recipes – Here’s one more to add to your collection

I had guests the other day and made this Mango and Black Bean Salad. Even though I am not fasting right now, I realized this would be a great recipe while on the Daniel Fast. The recipe was on a can of Bush’s Best Black Beans.

Mango and Black Bean Salad

1 can (15 oz) black beans, drained and rinsed

2 cups fresh mango, diced

1 cup sweet red bell pepper, diced

6 green onions, thinly sliced

1/4 cup cilantro leaves, chopped

1/4 cup fresh lime juice

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 seeded Jalapeno pepper, minced (or hot sauce to taste)

Salt to taste

Combine ingredients in a bowl. Toss and serve.

33 Comments Post a comment
  1. Michael #

    Can I have raisins, dates, apricots prunes, almond butter, and figs because they are fruits although they are “sweet to the lips”?

    Thanks
    Michael

    January 6, 2014
    • Michael #

      Also, can we make fruit smoothies in a blender although it is a sweet item to the lips?

      Thanks
      Michael

      January 6, 2014
      • Yes, smoothies as meal replacements are allowed on the fast.

        Be blessed.

        January 9, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Michael,
      All these foods you listed are allowed as long as they are free of sweeteners and additives. Be Blessed!

      January 14, 2014
  2. Hannah #

    Hi, I was wondering if rice noodles are allowed because I am gluten free so I can’t do whole wheats…and what if tomato paste has sugar in the ingredients? Is there tomato paste that is just tomatoes? I’m still trying to figure all this out! This is my first time doing this. Thanks for any help!

    February 15, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Yes, brown rice noodles are fine (as long as all other ingredients comply). Tomato sauce is pretty easy to find without sugar, make sur you are reading the Ingredients list and not the Nutritonal list. I hope this helps!

      February 21, 2013
  3. Alex #

    Hello Susan, is Stone Ground Corn ok on the Daniels Fast?

    January 26, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Alex,
      Yes, stone ground corn is fine. Just make sure to check the ingredients incase nothing else has been added. Be Blessed!

      January 29, 2013
  4. Why is it ok to eat salt? I alweays heard no sugar and no salt as it was not mentioned that anything tasty touched Daniels lips but pulse during that time. I had the impression it was sacrificial eating of no salt too?

    December 30, 2012
    • No, salt is allowed on the Daniel Fast. The scriptures don’t say anything about “tasty” but only indicate that sweet foods were not allowed.

      Be blessed

      January 4, 2013
  5. Daniel may have boiled some of the herbs (pulse) dont you think? I just ask this because this woulod be tea….

    December 30, 2012
    • The only beverage on the Daniel Fast is water (see Daniel 1). So that leaves tea out of the fasting experience.

      Be blessed!

      January 4, 2013
  6. Toska Shemoneh #

    Hi Susan, Hopefully you still answer questions on this blog. I read that corn tortillas are ok. I picked some up from Whole Foods today and they are their brand. Only thing in them are Stone ground white corn, sunflower seed oil, sea salt, water, and a trace of lime. Is this acceptable?

    October 1, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Toska,
      These corn tortilla ingredients look fine, just make sure they are baked and not deep fried. Be Blessed!

      October 2, 2012
      • Toska #

        Hello,

        Can we pop baby white rice popcorn kernels on the fast?

        Thanks,

        Toska

        February 4, 2013
      • Daniel Fast Team #

        Yes, just watch what goes on top. Be Blessed!

        February 5, 2013
  7. wanda #

    Hi Can you have tea and coffee on the daniel fast because tea is an herb and coffee is a bean thank you for your comment
    Wanda

    May 5, 2010
    • No, Wanda, the only beverage on the Daniel Fast is water (see Daniel 1). So even though tea and coffee are from plants, because they are not water . . . well that’s just it! :-)

      June 1, 2010
  8. Hi there, my husband and I will start the Daniel fast and we need something settled before we do. Can you have soup bean, navy, pinto and black beans on the Daniel fast? I looked them up and they are considered a fruit, however, my husband and I are disagreeing on this matter. Beans or no beans? He wants them included…..he’s a real meat eater. Thanks!

    March 14, 2010
    • Hi Luanne,

      In Daniel 1, the prophet requested that he and his companions eat only pulse (food grown from seed) and drink only water. So, legumes and whole grains fit within those guidelines.

      I hope this helps!

      March 31, 2010
  9. bekah #

    hello susan,
    my husband and i have done the daniel fast and lost quite a bit of weight when doing so. we would like to do it again, however we to just had a baby 3 months ago and i remember when we did the fast this detoxed our bodies. will this be harmful for my baby while breastfeeding if it detoxes me again?

    September 29, 2009
  10. Hi Marlo,

    First, congratulations on the new precious life God has entrusted in your care! What a wonderful blessing!

    The Daniel Fast is very safe for pregnant and nursing mothers. However, I always encourage women to check with their health professional before engaging in any dietary change.

    The Daniel Fast is a healthy way of eating. Since you are nursing, you might want to increase your leafy green vegetables (think of cows and all the milk they produce) and you might also want to add chicken and/or fish to your meals.

    Finally, salt IS allowed on the Daniel Fast as are all spices and herbs. The important thing is to read the label since some manufacturers add sugar and chemicals to the prepared seasonings.

    Be blessed!

    July 21, 2008
  11. Marlo #

    I copied the recipe “Mango and Black Bean Salad” from above and it called for Salt to taste. Can you eat salt on the Daniel Fast?

    July 20, 2008
  12. Marlo #

    Hi Susan,
    My daughter (16 yrs old) and I will be staring the fast very soon. However, I am researching all information because I am currently nursing my 5 month old. Is this safe to do while nursing?

    July 20, 2008
  13. How can I gain weight while trying to manage my blood sugar levels?

    June 9, 2008
  14. Hi Sara,

    Regarding weight loss, there are many factors that determine when your body starts sloughing off the pounds. But if you have an average body, you should start to see weight loss in about 3 or 4 days.

    With that said, I have known people to actually gain weight on the Daniel Fast by eating too many nuts and high-calorie, high-fat foods.

    I always lose weight on the Daniel Fast. I have an average body and weight. I drink lots of water on the fast, eat moderately and try to keep a balance in the types of food that I eat.

    I receive reports from some people who have lost more than 25 pounds on the Daniel Fast! They are usually those who normally eat a lot of fast food and high calorie diets.

    I hope this helps!

    June 7, 2008
  15. Sara #

    When do you start to see weight loss on the fast

    June 7, 2008
  16. Hi Maria,

    Yes, you can have corn tortillas as long as they are chemical-free, sugar-free, and free of any animal products. So make sure you READ THE LABEL to find out of they are okay.

    I have not bee real successful in finding tortillas that are not packed with chemicals. So I make my own. The recipe is on this site. I use flour, but you can substitute finely ground corn.

    Yes, go to the baby shower. However, you might want to eat before you go. If the food there is not consistent with the Daniel Fast, just don’t eat. Drink water only . . . and if asked, simply say you are on a temporary special diet. To remain true to the scripture and keeping a humble heart, don’t bring any attention to yourself about this. Just a simple, quiet explanation is in order. Forgoing the baby shower because of food would not be in order . . . I know you can act in an appropriate manner. I have had to meet these situations many times and I find a simple and quiet explanation meets the need.

    Be blessed, dear sister.

    June 6, 2008
    • Tea #

      Very Godlike answer. I truly like this site. Sometimes when at work and fasting when i have people i know are christians to ask me to go to lunch with them or offer to buy me lunch ’cause they think its an out of money day i will tell them i am fasting simply because spiritual things are spiritually discerned and it sometimes encourages them to fast also that the Lord might bless and then they don’t ask me any more that week or during the time designted ’cause they know and understand and pray for me to make it through my fast.

      January 10, 2011
  17. Maria P #

    Hi Susan,

    are corn tortillas ok on the Daniel Fast?
    also I am invited to a baby shower not sure if I should go
    thinking maybe the food there may not be allowed on the daniel fast
    I know all sweets are out.

    June 6, 2008
  18. Hi EJ,

    Yes, potatoes are fine. In fact, yams and sweet potatoes are also great baked as you described. You can even drizzle some olive oil on them. You can also fry then in a small amount of oil. We can’t deep fry foods when on the Daniel Fast, but using a small amount of oil is perfectly within the guidelines.

    Be blessed on our fast!

    June 5, 2008
  19. EJ #

    Susan,

    are you able to bake potatoes on the fast. I was wondering if i could cut them up like french fries and bake them

    June 5, 2008
  20. By the way, this recipe was a big hit with my guests. They were amazed at the great flavors! If you like full flavors and mangos, then this is a great recipe for any time, including when you are fasting or not!

    June 2, 2008

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,498 other followers

