Skip to content

Daniel Fast and Weight Loss

Okay, for the last couple days I’ve noticed the old jeans are getting a little tight! Argh! I hate that! The truth is that I gained about five unwanted pounds over the last few weeks. You know how those annoying ounces turn into pound and pretty soon the pounds start raising havoc! And then without warning, you have to yank to get the jeans pulled up instead of “slipping” into them!

So, I am going to turn to the Daniel Fast for the next ten days and try to shed some of the extra pounds. Now, let me be clear . . . I am now shifting to the Daniel Diet . . . because my goal is to lose weight. I am not fasting, which is to restrict food for spiritual purposes. So I am using the powerful health benefits of the Daniel Fast style of eating to return my body to its healthier weight.

I think it’s important that we keep things straight about the Daniel Fast. Fasting is for spiritual purposes, and when using the Daniel Fast you will benefit physically along with the benefits to your soul and spirit.

Dieting on the other hand is first about the body – the physical body. So I am going to start a diet . . . using the Daniel Fast way of eating . . . and hopefully shed the unwanted pounds.

I receive messages from many people on the Daniel Fast who lose anywhere between 3 and 40 pounds during their 21-Day Daniel Fast. My typical weight loss is around 10 pounds. That’s why I say the Daniel Fast is a whole body experience. It’s good to put your spirit in control of your soul (the place where cravings, emotions, intellect, feelings and the like reside) and your physical body by restricting foods. The Daniel Fast is so healthy and the time of concentration on the Lord through focused prayer so powerful, that many are healed during their fasting experience.

With all that said, I just wanted to be clear. I am going to follow the Daniel Fast guidelines for health purposes. I will fast later, and then it will be strictly for spiritual purposes. But for now, I want to get into my jeans without having to call for help! :-)

56 Comments Post a comment
  1. Florence #

    My name if Florence and am Johannesburg South Africa. Where can i get a copy of your book here?

    May 10, 2013
    • Hi Florence,

      Christian bookstores in J’burg might have it. Or you can check the Amazon website in South Africa.

      Be blessed on your fast!

      May 11, 2013
  2. herb farrow #

    I am going to start fasting tomorrow, wish me luck

    March 18, 2013
  3. doris #

    Hi maam susan!

    I have been overweight and borderline obese for several years now. I use to think that it’s ok to be fat but God convicted me that it is not. Being obese is an obvious sign of being consumed with lust of the body. At first I refuse to believe it but the nudging of the holy spirit is just too strong that I knew God meant this revelation to me. I am convicted of this and God has been telling me since last year to fast. Then last Dec, I found ur book at OMF and I am amazed that ur book is an answered prayer. It offers guidelines that will help me Fast so I could ran FAST towards God. I am planning to start my daniel fast next week. and truth be told, I am scared and excited. Scared coz I’ve been to a lot of diet programs and all of them failed. I am also excited because I know that God, through the power of the holy spirit will give me the spiritual discipline necessary to finish my 21-day fast. I am afraid that along the way I might just slip. Pls pray for me. Thank you for your book and for this ministry. I intend to develop a life of fasting and prayer as my faith goal this year. God bless u in multitude of ways!

    January 9, 2013
    • Dearest Doris,

      You are among many who are being convicted about the way we treat our bodies. You will be very surprised on your Daniel Fast. There might be some tough times at first, but you will begin to feel so good and energized (plus lose weight) that it can serve as an excellent jumpstart for your life style of health!

      I am so happy that the Lord led you to this fast. He is go good . . . and I am pleased that the book has been helpful to you. I really do believe the Daniel Fast is a gift from God for this time in the life of the church. With obesity on the rise, the Daniel Fast is a powerful way to help people get in touch with their bodies while they enter into this powerful experience.

      Be blessed and please stay in touch! I am hoping the best for you!

      January 9, 2013
    • jazzy30.1913@gmail.com #

      doris,
      Do be scared. This is my firsy fast and it is Day #5, I felt led to do this fast. One thing I have done that I think helped me out A LOT is creating a menu for the week. Doing this doesn’t allow your mind to run towards something else. I’m not going to lie I would love a sub sandwich or some wings but I do know that I can have that too once I am done with the fast. Also try getting some snack to keep in your bag in the event you want to snack on something. Keep a log of your daily events good and bad. Good Luck

      January 10, 2013
  4. kel #

    Hi Susan,

    I love this blog. it has opened my eyes as to why i needed to do a Daniel fast. Its a combination of things really. Spiritual purposes: Come closer to the Lord, i feel like i have been leaving apart from him. If i can see who I am in him all other things will fall into place like career, financial breakthrough (for my siblings as well as me), family, raising my child well and loosing all the baby so i can feel confident about my body again.

    Thank you

    January 7, 2013
    • Be blessed on your journey. The Lord has so much for us . . . we just need to align with Him, develop our faith and walk into the future He designed for us.

      Thanks for your message. It’s an inspiration as I start this new day.

      January 8, 2013
      • Jarvis #

        Hello,Im doing this fast and I feel great. Be bless.

        February 6, 2013
  5. Mmamathe #

    Hi there.. Thanks for the blog. How much weight can one expect to lose if undertakes to do Daniels’ diet for 10 days..

    November 12, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      It is normal for people to lose a few pounds while on the fast (appx. 5-15lbs for 21 days) but not do to a lack of food, as we advise 3 moderate meals with 2 small snacks per day. Weight loss on the fast is directly connected to the removal of sugars, chemical additives, etc. basically “simple carbohydrates”: All of which are NOT allowed on the fast. However, we encourage peaople that you do not have to lose weight on the fast if you do not want to. Maintaining healthy body weight is a combination of Caloric intake (eating three moderate meals with two snacks per day) and Exercise. You will want to pay specific attention to your protein intake, and you can get plenty of protein in Nuts and Peanut butter, Whole grains, Legumes (beans) and Leafy Green Vegetables. And, remember to Drink Lots of Water! As a general guideline, your body needs half its body weight in ounces of water per day, i.e.: 160lbs = 80 oz. of water daily. Be Blessed!

      November 23, 2012
  6. Ugochi #

    Hello all Cynthia Here, I just completed week 1 and now I’m starting week 2 I lost 8 pds last week in one week Wow the power of prayer and the Lord ..The real test of weight loss will be this week…I’m praying the daniel fast will assist in fixing my weight issues.

    July 23, 2012
  7. JaYe #

    Hi, I am beginning the 21 day fast tomorrow. I am seeking a closer walk with Christ, a financial breakthrough, become debt free, a great paying job, substantial pay increase on my job, substantial weight loss, thirst for knowledge as well as wisdom and marriage to EB. i have struggled w/my weight for so many years, resulting in low self-esteem and despair. I am asking you and your staff to uplift me in prayer that I am successful and open to a closer walk with God.

    July 21, 2012
  8. AUDREY ZVINOERA #

    hi Susan, knowing Christ has been a wonderful experience and the Lord has shaped me spiritually, taking me away from the comfort of my family in Africa to the UK where I have learnt humility in massive ways. I would like to try thr Daniel fast both to lose weight, knowing that my body is a temple of the Lord and also to develop my relationship with Christ even more. To be honest it wasn’t an easy journey but l have a very strong relationship with my new brothers and sisters at my church in Manchester. My problem is my health has been bad and discovered that l’ve got bipolar. Some may say that l should refuse it i the name of Jesus but l look at it as a testimony to the many unsaved people with the same illness- even celebs are committing suicide as a result. My problem is that the medication has made me put on so much weight and l honestly do not eat much. l eat from a plate slighty bigger than a sideplate, drinks loads of water. I recently gor a rare disease that required steroids which made things worse. I’m of mixed african descent and we eat maize meal porridge for bre4akfast and it is thickened for supper to eat with veg, meat or both. So l’d like to know if l can continur with this. The Zimbabwean staple diet is maize, beans, nuts and leafy veghetables so this Daniel fast won’t be so difficult. Please help! I’m actually thinking of starting a group at church to help others but will encourage them to stay in contact with you and they can always buy the books they need.

    May 17, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Audrey,
      Several things here I would like to address and encourage you in. First of is all the Daniel Fast is a very healthy way to eat, and you will Very Likely benefit from the Fast. However, since your body has already been through a traumatic challenge, I would encourage you to continue to continue to follow the instruction of your earthly physician as you seek the Great Physician in the restoration of your health. Take a copy of the Guidelines to your health care provider and together go over them and make modifications where needed. You can order a copy of the Daniel Fast Guidelines by going to http://www.daniel-fast.com and enter your email address, they will be emailed back to you.
      Maize meal is fine for the fast just watch what goes in it (no sweeteners or meat/mea broths etc.). Be mindful and very specific with your Protein Rich Foods – Nuts and peanut butter, Whole grains, legumes and leafy green vegetables. Also, many people add to their diet unsweetened soy (plant based) protein powder into a ‘smoothie’ as a meal replacement (make sure the ingredients comply with the Daniel Fast and watch out for milk products (whey) and sweeteners along with chemical additives). Again, I encourage you to take all this to your physician and Together come up with a practical plan that will allow you to participate in this partial fast. I hope this helps, Be Blessed in your Journey!

      June 20, 2012
  9. I can do All things thru Christ! #

    Hello everyone,

    Tomorrow I will be beginning my 21 day fast and I’m excited. I am looking for a financial inheritance, a great job,to lose weight around my midsection, a even better marriage and I’m trusting God to move a family into our home that is vacant in Evans, Ga.. I am committed to doing the will of God and staying on track.. I know that God is gonna bless..

    April 8, 2012
  10. Suzan #

    Hi Susan,

    I used to be that cute skinny girl (5 years ago). I can’t say I’m overweight ( 5’6″ and 145Ibs). But truth be told I feel FAT! My clothes fit a little tighter and I find myself being sad alot:( Then I feel guilty because “I am a child of a King” and should be grateful.

    Thank God for your blog because as of today I had started a crash diet- eat nothing and drink only green tea for a week…. I know it’s unhealthy but I had somehow convinced myself it was the only way to drop unwanted pounds.
    After reading your article, I felt convicted to not carry on the “idiotic” diet:) and instead follow the Daniels fast— Afterall I need spiritual guidance and maturity as well.. Thank you:)

    February 7, 2012
  11. Katie #

    Hi,

    I am going to be starting the Daniel Fast on Jan 2, 2012 and I am SO excited and ready for it.
    I am overweight and God has spoken to me many times about this but I have been unwilling to give this stronghold completely over to Him. I know I need to do this fast all the way and give God these things in my life. I am ready to be set free! :) I also struggle with stress, being impatient, and anger….please pray for me.
    Praise the Lord that I found this website and reading all these posts is so so encouraging.
    God bless!

    December 28, 2011
  12. Rosalind #

    Hi Susan,

    I was having a depressed day the other day when my friend aske me if I wanted to do the Daniel Fast. I said yes. I am going through some back issues that has changed my life. I can barely walk or stand. I haven’t been able to work since last year so now I have no finance. I am overweight so that doesn’t help either. All 3 of my children are in college. I want to be able to financially help them. They tell me not to worry and never give up. They just want me to get better so I can enjoy my life again. I am going on this fast because I need higher elevation in God. I need more strength and I am fasting for my healing. I know that everything t I go through is for a reason so I will continue to pray and keep him lifted up. I will never give up. God has brought me from a mighty long way. I know that he will never leave or forsake me. So please keep me in your prayers.

    July 18, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Rosalind,
      God is faithful and He loves you! Seeking God through fasting and prayer is a powerful tool to break bondages in our lives. Jesus even said that there are some demonic strongholds that the Only way to break them is through fasting and prayer. So you are absolutely going in the right direction, I believe you are here at this crossroads, for such a time as this! He has not called you to be broken and sick, He has called you to be His hands and feet in the earth and for that He needs you healthy and healed, Praise God! Standing with you for God’s very best in your life! Be Blessed in your Fast dear one!

      July 29, 2011
  13. Feh #

    Hi Susan, I’m planing to fast for the first time and would like to know how to do it when my hasband is not fasting and doesn’t really believe in fasting.

    January 4, 2011
    • Hi Feh,

      This can be a challenge . . . or an opportunity to be the light of Christ to your husband. We are called to be examples to those who don’t yet know . . .

      So my suggestion to you is to make ministering to your husband one of the focuses of your fast. Don’t grumble that you can’t have some foods and enter into this fast with peace and joy in the Lord.

      Regarding meal prep, many of the Daniel Fast meals are ones your husband will like. But you can prepare meals and then add chicken, fish or dairy products for him. The Daniel Fast is a very healthy way to eat so as you prepare meals for the both of you . . . and then add some foods for his protions, my guess is that both of your will benefit in your health.

      Be blessed

      January 9, 2011
  14. Angelique #

    Hi,
    My husband and I just started the Daniel Fast 2 days ago.
    We were just trying to find some kind of a fast that would clean our body, and someone mentionend the Daniel Fast, so we figured ok, it’s interesting, God has been exposing all this stuff that is in me, so I thought this would be a good time for me to get some healing, so please keep me in your prayers, I really want to get set free.
    Thank you

    October 7, 2010
  15. Nikela #

    I just want to say today is my 2nd day on this fast and I cant wait to see what God has for me. My church started this fast sun and its 30 days + 10 to pray. Im happy then I ever was in lift. Did I tell u this is my first fast ever:)

    January 5, 2010
  16. sarah #

    Hi, My church is starting the 21-day fast on January 11th. This will be my 1st fast I too am nervous and excited. I really am looking forward to what will happen with my relationship with God. I am also very concerned in a way about how my husband doesn’t eat vegetables (he’s a real poor eater) and I am concerned he is going to make this time that I am looking forward too difficult. He wants to fast as well. My pastor explained how their is more than the Daniel fast to choose from but I really need strength and prayer that I will be able to complete this fast and make a lifestyle change as well. I too have some health issues and weight issues that I would like to see go away. Please keep us in your prayers. I do know this will be a challenge but with Gods help all things are possible.

    January 1, 2010
  17. Dily #

    Blessings Brothers and Sisters-

    I am sooo nervous, excited, and to tell you the truth scared. I am starting the Daniel Fast on Jan 3 along with my church. I am 22 years old and this is the first time I am taking this Fast seriously, I want to grow closer to God. 2009 God has revealed Himself to me in so many ways, and many of the plans He has for me. Please, Please keep me in your prayers, as God opens doors in my life I want to be diligant and totaly responsible to His calling. I accepted Christ into my life at the age of 18 so these past couple of years have been so interesting and the wildest ride any young adult can take, and I feel now, after always hearing people say it over and over, I am truely understanding that it was never about religion, but about the relationship with Christ. I hope that through this fast my desires, and dreams (according to His will) will come true, and I can make a difference in this world, some how. Thanks for this site, truely blessed by it!!

    so in LOVE

    Dily

    December 31, 2009
  18. Kris #

    Hello Susan,

    My family has always shown their love and concern with food. I am going through a rough time in my life in which I have fallen to an addiction to food in an effort to replace that lost love and comfort and have a great desire to do this fast, but whenever I try to fast or break this addiction, that feeling of loss and being unloved returns. I pray for the comforter to come and heal, but always seem to fall back to filling that void with food.

    Any advice on how to successfully break an addiction to food when it’s something that you have to deal with every day?

    Kris
    Canada

    December 19, 2009
    • Mari #

      I think this is too late to you, but if there is anyone else who needs this…
      I have felt the very same way and Lord showed to me that I need to come to Him when I am lonely and sad. Very often my husband hurt me and I felt like there is no me at all. You know, I was through eating these times.
      I became conscious about this and I started understand that when I feel sad God is knocking on my door: Come to me, child, I want listen. Instead of eating I sat down, others in my house looked at TV and I talked to Father in my mind how I feel. It took time but I tell you, it was and is worth it. Your Father is always there. He will listen.

      March 29, 2012
  19. Ah I am thankful to have found this site… I read about a fast on another devotionalist ‘s blog a couple months ago. It was a 21 day fast. She didn’t give the fast a ‘name’ but I figured I could Google around and find something which lead me to your blog. So thank you for such wonderful information.
    I’m on day 3 and I’m going through the headache and craving stage. But I keep telling myself “God I want more of you and less of me” (a double entendre).
    Again, thank you for such an informative blog.

    Sherry ~ SoiledWings

    October 7, 2009
  20. Casey #

    Susan,
    I am completely defeated in so many areas of my life. I want to be closer to God and I also want to be healthier and lose all the weight I have gained that I know I don’t need. I am going to begin the Daniel fast and let God take the control he deserves in my life. I am thankful I stumbled across this blog, I feel sure it will help me through this change in my life.
    Casey
    Georgia, USA

    July 11, 2009
    • Hi Casey,

      Bless you, dear one. Your words are common to so many who feel so defeated by this world. But know that God only knows victory! We can have that victory as we trust in Him. That is our challenge and our invitation, to trust in the Lord and develop our faith.

      I encourage you to delight in the Lord and then study the Word of God to discover your identity in Christ! Study and meditate on the truths of God’s Word until it is more real than the circumstances you are in or face. God is so good. We are His children and we are citizens of the Kingdom of God! But we need to know who we are and then act that out!

      Be blessed, Casey as you discover your true identity and heritage. Your Father is good, faithful and wants you to know His abundant love and power!

      July 13, 2009
  21. simone #

    Good day Susan
    I have heard about Daniels Diet and have been struggling with my weight for many years. I need to lose 16kg, as i am very unhappy with my weight.. and hand in hand i would like to build a better relationship with God.
    I am however afraid of failing, both with God and my weight and thats why i havent been faithful.

    I would like to lose this weight in two months… please pray for me… if you have any motivation i would appreciate it.

    Simone
    South Africa

    July 1, 2009
    • Hi Simone,

      Dear one, please know that fear is not of the Lord. Instead, your loving Father so wants you to know Him and to experience the great love and affection He has toward you. You are special because of the Father’s love toward you that is never ending and more than we can even comprehend. My best encouragement for you is to spend the time when you are fasting growing in the Father’s precious love. He only wants the very best for you and as you experience His love, you will grow in His joy and strength.

      I also encourage you to not focus on the foods you will miss, but rather on your quest to develop self-control, which is a fruit of the Spirit. This shift has helped me more than I can express in words as I deal with cravings and desires for types of food that are not good for me.

      Finally, I encourage you to get the Daniel Fast Notes, which are free daily devotions that I send to people while they are fasting. My #1 goal is to help men, women and young people experience a successful fast. The Daniel Fast Notes are for that purpose. You can get them by sending an email to danielfastnotes@getresponse.com

      Be blessed on your fast, Simone. Your Father is calling you to a more intimate and loving relationship with Him.

      July 6, 2009
  22. Marie Roberts #

    Hi Susan,

    Thanks so much for doing this blog. I am on day 22 of this fast. I felt lead to go on this fast because I have a lot of requests of God and I felt Him telling me to do this fast in order to draw closer to Him as well as to learn self-control, patience, and perseverance—all of which I have a lot less of then faith. On day 1 of this fast, I was 159 pounds and I stand 5′ 1″ tall, so that is overweight to be sure. Therefore, weight loss has definitely been one of my goals. Also, I was living to eat instead of eating to live and regularly eating things that I’m pretty sure I’m allergic to. Since being on this fast, my prayer life and Bible reading have increased and people and situations that I have been praying about have been blessed. However, I have several questions. First, I am still very irritable. I’m sorry and I know God can’t be happy about it, but I am. I would think my body has had time to detox and I have not cheated. No sugar, no caffeine, no cheats. Also, I am wondering if I am fooling myself. Is weight loss to big an issue for me for me to consider this a fast? So far, I have lost a few pounds, not much. I have just recently cut out all nuts as I think I may be allergic to them (I am seeing an allergist this Tuesday), potatoes, and bananas. I am eating a lentil/vegetable soup, oats and a tablespoon of raw honey each day.

    Please share any thoughts or insights that you may have.

    Thanks and God bless,

    Marie

    January 25, 2009
    • Hi Marie,

      Thanks for your questions. I support you on your quest to move forward toward a successful fast and a more meaningful relationship with God.

      Irritable mood: I encourage you to go to this site, read the center article and do the exercise for yourself. As a born-again Christian you have the Spirit of God inside of you. One of the fruits of the Spirit is self-control. So if you are irritable, you may be allowing the flesh to have too much power over your spirit. This can be a valuable and freeing learning experience for you and perhaps one of the most powerful parts of your fast.

      Weight: In a country where the obesity is an epidemic proportions and the highest killer of teens – wanting to care for your body and get it into health is a good purpose as you pray and fast. Remember, your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit and it desires a healthy dwelling place and will help you toward this goal.

      Please read the Daniel Fast Guidelines. Honey is not allowed on the fast. Also, you are correct in cutting out high calorie foods if you want to lose some weight.

      Be blessed!

      January 27, 2009
  23. Maggie #

    Today is my first day…our church is doing a corporate fast. Each individual can choose what they want to do for the 21 days and this is what I chose. I feel good that I’m doing it. My husband and son are skipping one meal per day. My son is only 12 and he chose to do the fast. I know that if I do have any cravings I just have to remember that I have to be the example for my son! I will press through any tough times. Doing good so far though! Thank you for this site!

    January 5, 2009
  24. Ivy #

    I’ve been on the Daniel fast now for 3 days……..and right about now Im longing for a grand biscut, but im sticking to my guns in hopes that I may hear the Lords instruction for my life. I am very greatful for this website it encourages me to keep on going and not to give in to such a thing as food. You really don’t know how much power it has over you until you stop eating it. But i serve a God who is stronger than any taco!
    You all be blessed in the name of the Lord!

    December 3, 2008
  25. Ana Miller #

    My husband and I have just started the Daniel Fast today….so far so good. I not only need to build up my relationship with God but it also would be nice to get back into my pre-pregnancy jeans :) I’m so glad my sister shared this with us. I am so excited!! Please pray for us so we will have the strength to follow through.

    November 3, 2008
  26. Hi Kim

    Thank you so much for your kind and supportive words.

    I don’t know if there has been a more important time to fast and pray since I started fasting! We all have been called to such a time as this. As the world systems shake and people are gripped with fear . . . my prayer is that men and women will turn to the church for answers and comfort!

    I hope you and I along with the rest of the church are stable, secure and ready to minister to those who don’t yet know our Rock!

    Be blessed!

    October 10, 2008
  27. Kim James #

    Wow! I am so glad I found this site by looking up “Daniel Fast”! This site is such a blessing and I will definitely refer it to others. Thank you for all of this wonderful information. I am currently on a fast believing God for some powerful changes in my life as well as a closer walk with HIM! Thank you again!

    October 9, 2008
  28. Hi Leah,

    Thanks so much for this post and for sharing your thoughts and kind words.

    God is calling His people! More and more men and women are fasting as this ancient devotion practice is dusted off and people use it to draw closer to the Lord. As the world shakes, we can stand on the firm foundation of God’s Word!

    Be blessed and have a powerful fast.

    October 7, 2008
  29. Leah #

    My brother and I are currently on a 4 week fast that my church participated in the beginning of the year. The first week we eliminate all sugar and caffiene; the second no meat; third no starches, and lastly we end the fast by consuming only broths, fruits and juice.
    The first time we began the fast earlier this year, I craved sugar so badly. I felt light-headed and frustrated a lot and I knew that meant I needed to cut the caffiene all the more! It was then I realized I was depending on sugar to keep me balanced instead of God’s word (which is “…sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.” ( Proverbs 16:24).
    I, too feel that fasting is a whole body experience. There are so many effects it has, like refreshing your soul, and making you alert to the voice of God. But it also cleans up the ‘temple’ God gave to us.
    Thanks for your blogging! =]

    October 4, 2008
  30. Rob #

    Hi,all i am starting the Daniel fast tomorrow… i will get closer to GOD, my spirt, and soul. please pray for me and please everyone be blessed.

    Thank You

    September 28, 2008
  31. Hi Kath Ann,

    Not everyone loses weight on this fast since one can consume high calorie foods including nuts, fruit and peanut butter. I think fruit can be the big calorie food group, especially grapes, apples and peaches.

    Your digestion issues may be a natural process of detoxing or it could be that your system just isn’t used to this kind of diet. I would need to know more about your symptoms to offer a good suggestions. Go ahead and send me an email with more information and I will try to help.

    Be blessed on your fast!

    September 11, 2008
  32. KathAnn #

    I’m just finishing day 14 of the fast. I have not lost a single pound! It is not my goal and I am not overweight, but I still expected this to be an issue. I have had a lot of trouble with the raw food and nuts moving through my system. Any suggestions?

    September 11, 2008
  33. Hi Veronica,

    Be blessed on you fast! It can be a great experience for the whole body as you draw closer to the Lord, walk according to the spirit by taking control of the flesh (cravings and such), and improve health with this very healthy way of eating.

    Most people lose weight on the Daniel Fast, however be careful about eating too much peanut butter, nuts and other high fat foods. Weight loss still is about calories, so by increasing your intake of lower calorie foods and increasing the amount of water you drink, you should shed some pounds. I usually drop between 10 and 15 pounds when I follow the Daniel Fast for 21 days.

    Be blessed!

    September 1, 2008
  34. VERONICA #

    My husband & I are starting the 21-day Daniel Fast tomorrow. Please keep us in prayer because I’m afraid of becoming a grouchy wife without coffee, and sweets….LOL…This will be my first fast and I’m kinda excited & scared at the same time…Besides wanting a closer relationship with God I can also use help getting into my pre-pregnancy clothing & jeans. :)

    August 31, 2008
  35. MILADY #

    Hubby has always helped me with diets and I have done many of them but always go back to the pounds.

    We are starting tomorrow Daniels Fast… With the hope of losing all that is over and going back to my clothes, and to feeling good.

    Please pray for us. We will need it !

    Thanks to my friend for introducing me to the wonderful Daniel Fast.

    Mila

    August 24, 2008
  36. Hello! My husband and I just ended our 21 days on the Daniel Fast. Of course all kinds of wonderful blessings and spiritual breakthroughs were attained.

    As far as the weight loss goes, I like to call it weight removal! I didn’t lose it, I got rid of it for good! I removed 8-9 lbs and my husband removed 20!

    We liked this so much that we are going to make it our lifestyle! Praise God!

    Vickie & Brian
    Indiana

    August 23, 2008
    • Vanessa #

      Hi Vickie,

      I live in Indiana too!! :)

      November 4, 2009
    • What did yall eat the most of to lose that much weight.

      February 8, 2013
      • Daniel Fast Team #

        Hi Tim,
        Here is a general list of the foods we eat: All fruits, All vegetables, All whole grains, All whole grain flours (and pastas), All Nuts and seeds, All legumes (beans), All quality oils, also, some whole grain cereals that are free of sweeteners and additives (such as: some brands of shredded wheat) oatmeal etc. (3 moderate meals and two small snacks per day).
        Beverages: Water only – spring water, distilled water or other pure waters, and yes, tap water is good, if that is all you have available. MISC Items: tofu, soy products, vinegar, seasonings, salt, herbs and spices (remember, All foods are free of Chemical additives and sweeteners). I hope this helps!

        February 13, 2013
  37. Hi Sandra,

    Thanks for your comment. I usually lose about 10-15 lbs. on the 21-day Daniel Fast. While it’s not my primary goal, the weight loss is a great benefit. You, along with many others, chose to use the Daniel Fast eating plan all the time to maintain health. It’s okay to use a modified plan by adding some chicken and fish back into the diet along with whole grain breads.

    The Daniel Fast is a very healthy way to eat, however one must still be sure to balance the amount of fruit and other high calorie foods.

    Be blessed and thanks again for your message.

    August 2, 2008
  38. SANDRA #

    Tried the fast …loved it..lost pounds not sure how much but when it ended it and started eating again of course the weight came back..its a very healthy way of eating and I would suggest it to anyone, because of the overall health benefits…This time I plan to stick to it as a life change and not just a diet. A few co workers and my self plan to start it again on August 1st…Wish us all blessings…….

    July 30, 2008
  39. Hey Skyler,

    Thanks for catching the typo. I must have forgotten to run spell-check on that post. I really do appreciate your keen eyes.

    Be blessed as you fast and draw closer to God. He loves each of us so much.

    July 1, 2008
  40. Skyler #

    Hey Susan I really love this blog. I am currently on a Daniel Fast and I really needed to know the food items i can eat so thanks for setting this up! Anyway I spotted a typo on your “Daniel Fast and Weight Loss” page:

    That’s why I say the Daniel Fast is a whole body experience. It’s good to put your spirit in control of your soul (the place where cravings, emotions, intellect, feelings and the like reside) and your physical body by restricing foods.

    RESTRICTING is spelt wrongly. :D

    July 1, 2008

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,611 other followers

