Skip to content

Daniel Fast and chips – not a very good combination :-)

We all have foods that we miss a lot when we are in the Daniel Fast. Mine is coffee. Just about every thing else is tolerable. But I really miss coffee. But there is no getting around it, coffee and any kind of substitute is out on the Daniel Fast.

Others seem to miss chips the most. They serve as a great delivery system for both salsa and salt, so I understand the challenge. The good news is that it’s easier to find a suitable substitute for chips.

If you miss being able to “crunch” on something, then rice cakes are a great way to go. I use the ones made from brown rice and I keep them around all the time for snacks and a quick breakfast by adding peanut butter, raisins and nuts.

But if you need something for your salsa, consider cut or finely sliced vegetables including carrots, celery, jicama or lettuce leaves. Not exactly the same, but healthier and Daniel Fast friendly!

Search the health food stores for baked chips that might fit the demand. You’ll need to read the label and make sure the chips are not deep fried. Also, keep your eye out for any kind of leavening. I have learned that there are some flat breads being made now using a modified Ezekiel Bread ingredients.

Finally, you could always bite the bullet and just go without like I have to with the coffee! It’s a tough road, but I know you can make it! Just think of how good that first chip will taste when you’ve completed your successful fast!

34 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jessie #

    I am on my 17th day of the Daniel’s Fast, and I went grocery shopping this past weekend to find new things to eat for snacks. I stumbled across Central Market Organics Blue Corn Tortilla Chips. I read the ingredients list on the back like I have been doing and it all seemed “Ok” to consume. So I’ve eaten them 3 times this week with some salsa, but then I started wondering if these organic blue corn tortilla chips are ok to have. Well I immediately refer back to your website and read that if the bag of chips does not say anything about being “baked” or how it’s cooked it’s most likely “fried”. Well of course I look for any key words to tell me how these organic chips are made and all it says that they have been “heated in oil” so I am afraid to say I’ve eaten fried “organic tortilla chips” for snack these past 3 days during my fast. I fell pretty bad for doing this, I have to ask will this deter what I’ve been asking in prayer through fasting With The Lord? What can I do?

    April 9, 2014
    • Hi Jessie,

      You are okay. Put the chips in the cupboard for after the fast and move foreword. Now that you know better you can do better. So all is well.

      Be blessed!

      April 9, 2014
  2. KeRonna #

    Hi I just bought organic yellow corn tortilla chips and I can’t determine if they are deep fried. There is nothing on the label that specifies baked or deep fried. Please help before I take another bite?

    April 5, 2014
    • My guess is that if they don’t say baked, they are deep fried. Save them for after the fast. :-)

      April 8, 2014
      • KeRonna #

        Thank you!!

        April 8, 2014
  3. Diana #

    Hi, my chuch just started the Daniel fast and I am wondering if I can eat hummus as a snack with baked chips or triscuits?

    Thanks

    March 11, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Diana,
      It’s all about the ingredients! Hummus is a great food option….. “When” you can find it in the stores free of both additives and sweeteners. Now…. homemade hummus is very easy to make, not to mention fresher, you can adjust the flavors to your liking, and it’s waay less expensive. Triscuits Original is also another great choice for the fast. Be Blessed!

      March 14, 2014
  4. meg #

    Can i eat all natural corn tortilla chips on the fast?

    February 24, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Meg,
      If the ingredients comply with the guidelines and they are baked not deep fried, then they are fine. Be Blessed!

      March 6, 2014
  5. kim #

    add me to you list please. can you give me a recipe for rice cakes or is the store bought brand s okay?

    January 14, 2014
  6. Precious #

    can i use sunflower oil when preparing my meals during the fast?

    February 12, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Precious,
      Yes, you can use sunflower oil on the Daniel Fast. Be Blessed!

      February 15, 2013
  7. Nan #

    I have a question can you eat Munchos they are not fried. And can you eat corn tortillas and salsa?

    December 4, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Nan,
      I am not familiar with the Ingredients for Munchos. So do your research and read the Ingredients list. And If all are Daniel Fast friendly, (made with whole grains, free of sweeteners, additives, yeast, etc.) And they are baked, then they would be allowed. Corn tortillas and salsa: Baked corn tortillas that have ingredients that comply with the fast, are allowed (I make my own by brushing corn tortillas with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and bake), and the same is true with natural (sweetener free and additive free) salsa. I hope this helps!

      December 6, 2012
  8. Stephanie #

    I bought some snapea crisps from Trader Joes the other day. Are these allowed on the fast?

    September 15, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Stephanie,
      It all depends on the Ingredients list (what’s in them), and how are they cooked (no deep frying). Read read that Ingredients list. Be Blessed on your Fast!

      September 19, 2012
      • Terrell #

        How do you know if something is baked or fried?

        February 18, 2013
      • Daniel Fast Team #

        If it is baked, it is usually advertised on the front of the packaging. If there is no indication of how it was cooked, it’s more than likely deep fried. Be Blessed!

        February 18, 2013
  9. Lynette #

    can you eat zesty italian salad dressing?

    March 11, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Lynette,
      Yes, “IF” all the Ingredients are Daniel fast friendly. A favorite prepared salad dressing is Newman’s Own Oil and Vinegar Salad Dressing, all the ingredients are acceptable for the Daniel Fast. You can also make your own dressings easily and quickly. There are many recipes in the Daniel Fast Cookbooks at http://daniel-fast.com/store.html Be blessed on your fast!

      March 15, 2012
  10. Elizabeth #

    Hello!
    I started my fast about four days ago. It has been a bit challenging, (more challenging than i thought) but I know that I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. I wanted to know if eating kettle chips were acceptable. It simply consists of potatoes, some oil, and sea salt. But I was not sure. Could you clarify this for me?

    thank you:)

    February 4, 2010
    • Hi Elizabeth,

      No, Kettle chips are deep fried, so they are not allowed on the Daniel Fast. A good “crunchy” option is Original Triscuits or you might try rice cakes.

      Be blessed!

      February 7, 2010
  11. Nichole #

    What about organic chips whose only ingredients are stone ground corn, sunflower oil and sea salt?

    January 24, 2009
    • Hi Nicole,

      Organic chips are okay as long as they are not deep fried. So if you can find baked chips, then they would be fine. You can also make your own.

      Thanks!

      January 27, 2009
  12. Hi Cynthia,

    Make sure you are reading the INGREDIENT list and not the nutritional list when you read the label. With that said, it’s very likely that a bottled dressing has sugar or chemicals added. There are a few available in the natural food section of most larger grocery stores that work for the Daniel Fast.

    I generally make my own using olive oil, lemon juice and seasonings. There are some recipes available on this blog (see the list to your left) and there are several included in the Daniel Fast Cookbook, also available on this blog.

    I hope this helps and be blessed on your fast.

    October 2, 2008
  13. Cynthia Jackson #

    Greetings to all,
    I too am on the Daniel Fast . Ours is actually 40 days. I am still trying to make sure I don’t eat anything I’m not supposed to. I ahve been using Light Zesty Italina dressing for my salad but it has 2 percent sugar. Is there any dressing w/o sugar?

    October 2, 2008
  14. Hey Trunice,

    Thank you so much for this great post! I too crave the “crunch factor” sometimes. And this is such a great solution.

    Bless you on your fast and thanks again for taking the time to share your valuable tip!

    September 7, 2008
  15. Trunice Adjoa #

    Last night, I had the worst craving for chips and salsa – it was day 11 of the 21 day Daniel Fast that I have been led to undertake. I was so tempted by the desire, but, the Lord, who is gracious in all things, gave me a great alternative when I prayed for Him to remove the temptation. He reminded me the He is able to provide all things and led me to the kitchen to my bounty from my garden.

    I sliced a cucumber from my garden (with the skin on) about 1/4 of an inch thick. Then I made an avocado salsa with avocado, yellow tomatoes, green onions, a small jalepeno and cilantro. I added dried garlic, sea salt, crushed black pepper, and about a teaspoon of lemon juice. I mixed well and dipped.

    The cucumbers were crunchy, the salsa was chucky and flavorful. I was completely satisfied by the experience. Hopefully this option will work from someone else. I am learning that some experiences are not to be kept to yourself – they are meant to edify the body of Christ – a great awareness of mine during this fast.

    September 6, 2008
  16. Hi Angela,

    Congratulations on your decision to fast. I send my very best to you as you enter this spiritual discipline.

    Baked chips would be okay on the Daniel Fast, however, be sure to READ THE LABEL to make sure the chips are sugar-free and chemical-free.

    Be blessed as you draw closer to the Lord and His ways.

    August 8, 2008
  17. Angela M #

    Hello,
    My church has decided to do this fast, starting on Aug 6. This was also for only those that wanted to. At first I wasn’t going to because I was out of town on vacation and I wanted to make sure that I enjoyed myself. Well that all changed! God showed me that this was a better time to do it because I was on vacation. I see what it mean when God tell us in His word that we have to “pray without ceasing.” I am looking forward to what God is going to do and show me in and during this fast. Keep me in your prayers that I will endure til the end of this fast! Thank you!
    P.S Are baked chips ok to eat during this Daniel fast????

    August 8, 2008
  18. I’ve added you to the mailing list.

    I hope you have a great fast.

    July 14, 2008
  19. GMcKenzie #

    PS how do you get added to your email list?

    July 14, 2008
  20. GMcKenzie #

    I just finished reading Jentezen Franklin’s book about fasting and he talked about this fast. I am excited to see what God is going to do when I end this fast that I plan to begin tomorrow.

    July 14, 2008

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,566 other followers

