Skip to content

New Daniel Fast Recipes

This is just a quick note to let you know you can find more free recipes for the Daniel Fast at www.Daniel-Fast.com. Just click on “recipes” and you will see where you can access the free Daniel Fast recipes.

Also, you can receive the Daniel Fast Guidelines in brochure form by requesting it at that site. When you join the Daniel Fast mailing list, you will receive several sets of Daniel Fast recipes along with ideas and tips for your successful Daniel Fast.

I hope you are experiencing a meaningful Daniel Fast. This is a powerful way to connect with God in a more intimate way.

62 Comments Post a comment
  1. mamabear03 #

    Is almond milk allowed if it isn’t sweetened?

    January 15, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Yes, almond milk is fine. All plant based milks (almond, rice, soy, coconut, etc.) that are free of sweeteners and additives are allowed, but only for use in “recipes and on cereal” (just not as a beverage, water is the only drinking beverage allowed on the fast). Be Blessed!

      January 23, 2014
  2. Janeeka #

    Is unsweetened rice milk, almond milk, or coconut milk allowed (not necessarily to drink but to use if making a natural fruit smoothie or to cook with)?

    January 10, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Yes, plant based milks that are free of additives and sweeteners is allowed for use in recipes and cereal. I hope this helps.

      January 15, 2014
  3. Annmarie Grahamlee #

    I would likeq to start the Daniel fast for theq first time can someone explain to me what can I eat please

    April 7, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Here is a general list of the Daniel Fast allowed foods: All fruits, All vegetables, All whole grains, All whole grain flours (and pastas), All Nuts and seeds, All legumes (beans), All quality oils. Beverages: Water only – spring water, distilled water or other pure waters, and yes, tap water is good, if that is all you have available. MISC Items: tofu, soy products, vinegar, seasonings, salt, herbs and spices (remember, All foods must be free of chemical additives and sweeteners). For a complete list you can order a copy of the Daniel Fast Guidelines (which includes the meal planning guide) by going to http://www.daniel-fast.com and enter your email address, they will be emailed back to you. I hope this helps!

      April 8, 2013
  4. jesuschild #

    Are we allowed to eat plantains b/c they come straight from trees

    February 5, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      All plantains are allowed on the Daniel Fast, just make sure they are not deep fried. Be Blessed!

      February 6, 2013
  5. Stephany Dinkins #

    Hello, I am on the Daniel fast for the first time. I would like to know if I can use Braggs apple cider vinegar?

    January 8, 2013
    • Yes, you can. I also like the Aminos to use instead of soy sauce. By the way, it’s a Christian-owned business.

      Be blessed!

      January 8, 2013
  6. lourdes alvarez #

    Why is Newman oil and vinegar allowed? Isn’t vinegar on the foods to avoid?

    September 1, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Lourdes,
      The process to make vinegar as well as wine is fermentation. However, fermentation isn’t the issue with wine, it’s the alcohol and what it does to the mind. There is another book out there that gives the reasoning that since wine is fermented then all other fermented products are not allowed . . . but that isn’t the issue for the Daniel Fast. It has to do with the purpose of wine and the alcohol content, so vinegars including red wine vinegar is allowed on the fast. In fact, Newman’s Own Oil and Vinegar salad dressing is THE only Daniel Fast recommended prepared salad dressing on the fast. I hope this helps!

      September 5, 2012
  7. bem #

    Can i do french fries using olive oil? Please guide..Thank you and God bless..

    bem

    October 19, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Yes, you can lightly coat some french fry cut potatoes with some oil, season and bake them for some baked fries.

      October 19, 2011
  8. confused as wether agave nectar or honey allowed hae read several different replys which is correct

    October 18, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Jolette,
      There is no sweetener of any kind (Natural or Artificial) allowed on the fast, that would include Agave Nectar and Honey. I hope this helps!

      October 18, 2011
  9. Katie Hamilton #

    I was not sure where is the best place to post this but wanted to share a couple recipes.

    I purchased all ingredients at Trader Joes.

    Spaghetti Squash
    Cook 1 large spaghetti squash (microwave is fine) scoop out seeds and spread spaghetti squash evenly in bottom of (approx. 11×7) glass pan/dish. Take 1 jar (approx. 36oz) of traditional marinara sauce (make sure ingredients do not include parmesan or sugar) and pour evenly over spaghetti squash. Shred 2 blocks (or 16 oz) of SOY mozzarella cheese and sprinkle evenly over top. Place dish in broiler for approximately 5 minutes to heat through and lightly brown top of cheese. YUM….one of my favorites :)

    Yams
    Dice sweet potatoes (with skin) to quarter size pieces (or desired size) and place on cookie sheet greased with olive oil. Also lightly coat potatoes in olive oil and dress with preferred seasonings (i.e. Rosemary, sea salt, garlic powder). Bake for approximately 20-30 minutes (depending on oven) at 425 degrees. Stir/flip every 5-10 minutes to avoid burning. When slight browning is noticed, sprinkle a couple hands-full of raisins over top and bake for 5 more minutes.

    Snack
    Mango peach salsa & fresh avocado w/ Sea salt on brown rice-cakes.

    Praise God for amazing food!!

    January 27, 2011
    • Rebecca Sanchez #

      Katie, these recipes sound really great! I would, however, check the ingredients on the SOY Cheese. I do believe there are additives and preservatives in it. =(
      Another easy Yam idea is to slice the yam in about 1/2″-1″ slices, wrap in foil and bake at 350* till tender. Unwrap and enjoy! You can drizzle a little olive oil and add salt and pepper if you’d like or other herbs or spices. I’m going to try adding the raisins! Sounds great!

      January 16, 2014
  10. i would like a list of foods we can eat doing the daniel fast thqnks juanita

    January 2, 2011
  11. I am starting my New Years Daniel Fast tomorrow! I am stationed in Afghanistan and I don’t have much access to the foods I will need, but I have complete faith that the Lord would not have led me on this fast if He didn’t know that I would be sustained. Please pray for me! Thank you!

    January 2, 2011
    • Brandy #

      praying for you trinitys mommy – your fast is probably over by now, but still praying for your safety. thank you for your service to our country and our freedoms.

      January 31, 2011
    • I will also be praying for you Trinitysmommy. As I read this my eyes filled with tears. Thank you for your service and my our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ be with you as you walk in obedience to the call to fast. What He brings you to He will bring you through.

      January 4, 2013
  12. Charlotte oore #

    Hello Susan,
    I am on my 11th day of ffasting. I am really enjoying I am getting closer to members of my church and reading my Bible more. I just have one problem dressing for my salads. I have tried the one in your book, something keeps upsetting my stomach.Please hel I love my salads.

    March 20, 2010
    • Hi Charlotte,

      I am not sure what could be upsetting your stomach since you didn’t mention the dressing you made . . . and are you sure it’s the dressing? There are so many ways to dress salads. One of my favorite is just fresh lemon juice. I also make dressing with lemon juice, olive oil and herbs.

      You should be able to make a dressing that is similar to those you use when not fasting. Even if you usually eat dairy-based dressings, you can make some using soyannaise and they are very similar.

      Be blessed on your fast!

      March 31, 2010
  13. Sherry T #

    another great recipe using quinoa:

    Quinoa Pilaf

    1 tablespoon olive oil
    1 onion, diced
    3 cloves garlic, minced
    2 cups uncooked quinoa, rinsed
    1 cup canned lentils, rinsed
    8 ounces fresh mushrooms, chopped
    1 quart vegetable broth

    Heat the oil in a large pot over medium heat. Stir in the onion and garlic, and saute 5 minutes, until onion is tender. Mix in quinoa, lentils, and mushrooms. Pour in the broth. Cover, and cook 20 minutes.
    Remove the pot from heat.

    February 2, 2010
    • Thanks so much, Terry! Seems like a great addition to the meal plans.

      Be blessed!

      February 7, 2010
  14. sue #

    well just to say thanks to the lord for everyone who have prayed with us, always pray without ceasing

    January 18, 2010
  15. Michelle #

    i would like to sign up for emails about the Daniel Fast.

    January 13, 2010
  16. dom #

    on day 8 of my fast is yeast allow any of foods we eat

    January 12, 2010
  17. Bertha Coleman #

    This is my second day on the Daniel fast can you use agave nectar.It is 100% pure sweetener not additives or preservatives. What kind of dressing can we put on a salad. Everything seems to have sugar or either milk.

    January 12, 2010
    • Hi Bertha,

      Agave nectar is great BEFORE the fast or AFTER the fast . . . but it is not allowed during the fast as no sweeteners are allowed even if they are natural.

      Regarding salad dressings, you can make your own with oil, vinegar, lemon juice and herbs . . . or on I enjoy is Newman’s Own Oil and Vinegar Salad Dressing. It has ingredients that comply with the Daniel Fast Guidelines. The Guideines are available at http://www.Daniel-Fast.com.

      January 12, 2010
  18. margie #

    I’m confused about “cane juice”…. Is it ok? It’s in SOY MILK and TOFU???
    Thanks

    January 10, 2010
    • No, cane juice is a marketing term for sugar . . . it’s sugar from sugar cane before it’s been evaporated and granulated. You can find unsweetened soy milk and tofu without it.

      All together now . . . READ THE LABELS . . . :-)

      January 10, 2010
  19. Natalie #

    I am starting the 21 day Daniel fasting today as many churches are. My question is besides the food products that we are allowed to eat, are we allow to eat like tropical natural food such as casava, plantains, green bananas, etc. Thank you for all the help in advance. God bless you and all you do.

    January 10, 2010
    • Natalie,

      All plain fruits and vegetables are allowed on the Daniel Fast. I hope this helps!

      Be blessed!

      January 10, 2010
  20. Megan #

    Is yogurt allowed on the Daniel Fast?

    January 7, 2010
    • No yogurt on the Daniel Fast as it’s a plant-based eating plan.

      January 7, 2010
      • Francene #

        What about un-sweetened almond yogurt and almond milk?

        January 10, 2014
      • Daniel Fast Team #

        Hi Francene,
        I’ve not found a vegan yogurt that is Daniel Fast friendly, but if you have and all ingredients are good then it would be fine.
        All Plant based milks (that are free of additives and sweeteners) such as almond milk, are allowed for use in recipes and on cereal just not as a drinking beverage. I hope this helps!

        January 20, 2014
  21. Sharon #

    Hello, Susan! I was so blessed to come across your blog. I’m equally blessed to learn of the number of people across the country, and I’m sure around the globe, who are seeking the face and hand of God in a concecrated way. I’ve been thoroughly enlightened and feel equipped to move forward on this journey. Thank you for the suggestion of keeping a prayer journal during this time.

    The Lord’s blessings remain upon you!

    January 6, 2010
  22. thandi #

    cud you please send me a free copy of Daniels fasting cause I want to join you for 2010 fasting.GOD bless you.

    January 5, 2010
    • Please go to http://Daniel-Fast.com to get what you need. Join the list and the brochure will be sent to you automatically, plus you can learn more about the new book.

      January 10, 2010
  23. Daniel Diaz de Leon #

    Susan,
    Our church is doing the 21-day fast and we have about 30 people doing it now. Thank you so much for all your help in putting this together for my congregation. We started on January 1st and will go until January 21st. So far it’s been good and I have heard good comments from those involved.
    Blessings!
    Pastor Dan

    January 4, 2010
  24. Bonita Johnson #

    I am excited about what God is doing in my life during this fast. Today I made a vegetable and barley stew with homemade whole wheat crackers from your recipe book. They were very good, too. God Bless You–this has been a wonderful source of information for me.

    January 2, 2010
  25. Jae Clark #

    Congratulations! to those of you who have decided to adhering to the scriptures Present your bodies as a living sacrifice unto the lord! Praise God! I compiled different information that I found on the Web this morning and I will give a copy out to those who will embark on this holy fast. I’m grateful I found your site through a link from another site keep up the great work to the Glory of God.
    Sister Jae Clark

    December 30, 2009
  26. Candi G #

    I’m planning to do the Daniel fast as our church fasts something in the month of January. I am concerned about one thing though, my sinus’ are always bad is there something natural I can take to work and church to refresh my breath other than brushing my teeth constantly?

    December 28, 2009
  27. lisa #

    this would be my first x doing this daniel fast/i was told not 2 eat any slt,oils,no knd of meat/how much of this is tue

    September 6, 2009
  28. Hi I am doing the Daniel Fast. This is my 6th day. I have tried to pay with paypal for the 2 cookbooks but it will not let me also i have called paypal at least 6 times and i cannot get this resolved Is thera any other way to get these 2 cookbooks right away?? Thank you Sandra Vernon

    February 6, 2009
  29. Kay #

    I made the casserole we had at Alpha, but I modified it a bit with olives that had been stuffed with almonds, and also added a bit of vinegar to it which gave it a real “bite”.

    February 5, 2009
  30. Irene #

    Kindly request you to send me the Daniel list of fasting. This will enable me to start off my fasting.

    Your immediate responses on this issue will be appreciated.

    January 27, 2009
  31. Tamar #

    I would like the new daniel fast recipies.

    January 26, 2009
    • Hi Tamar,

      The new Daniel Fast Cookbook – Version II is available now. You can learn more about this eBook (delivered via the Internet) by visiting this site: http://www.DanielFast.com

      Thanks for the inquiry.

      January 27, 2009
  32. Brandy Hopper #

    I am doing the Daniels Fast. Today is my eigth day

    January 26, 2009
  33. Carolyn Ignont-Williams #

    IMON A LOT OF MEDS HOW WILL THA AFFECT ME

    January 25, 2009
    • Hi Carolyn,

      I am not a health professional so I encourage you to talk to your doctor, especially if any of your medications react from dietary changes. You might also contact your pharmacist.

      Thanks for this important question.

      January 27, 2009
  34. Carolyn Ignont-Williams #

    I would like to know more about the diet

    January 25, 2009
  35. Pam #

    I am excited about reading some menu ideas

    January 24, 2009
  36. Teresa Meeks #

    Hi, I made the Bean curry and rice and it was wonderful. I adapted it to work with my schedule and did the following. I sauteed in a crock pot on high to start. I added everything in order but used 1 cup of lentil and diced toms instead of crushed. I also added carrots scrubbed and chopped. I used a tbs of sea salt and fresh ground pepper. Finally, I cooked on low overnight for 6 hours. I added a bag of frozen peas in the last hour. I served for dinner with hot brown rice.

    January 23, 2009

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,507 other followers

