Skip to content

The Daniel Fast in the Bible

The Daniel Fast is based on the fasting experiences of the prophet Daniel from the Old Testament in the Bible. It’s a partial fast where a group of foods are restricted for a spiritual purpose.

The Daniel Fast affords people a powerful time to focus special attention toward their God and His Word – the Holy Bible.

Since 2007, this blog has served thousands of men, women and teens who enter the Daniel Fast to draw closer to God, pray for specific purposes or to study the Bible and learn God’s ways.

My prayer is that you will spend some time on the blog and also visit http://Daniel-Fast.com and learn about the fast. You will find a caring and warm community here – and you can join our mailing list by going to http://Daniel-Fast.com to receive complimentary information about the fast, Bible study messages and devotions.

Be blessed as you continue to grow in the love and knowledge of Jesus Christ.

41 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ashley #

    Me and some of my church family are doing a similar fast, We got most of the fast from Daniel, but we do it from January 1st to February 9th therefore not having the protein that meat gives during this cold time of the year leaves us tired and weak. So our pastoress changed it a little and we can have beef and fowl. We run a quarter store and a food pantry so we can’t be worn out before we even get started. But I am 17 years old and I have found this fast to be wonderful. It helps me think clearer and losing those extra few pounds isn’t all too bad either. I praise God that I have the will-power to do this and I pray that none stray from this blessed time. God bless you all. :)

    January 4, 2013
    • Bobo Mngxali #

      Thank u for the encouragement. I am about to start on this fast for the first time and I know my God will be with me. Hearing stories like yours gives me power to star

      January 6, 2013
    • Beverly #

      I am about ready to quit the fast. Its rough.

      January 2, 2014
      • Daniel Fast Team #

        Hi Beverly,
        When I am having trouble with my focus or hearing from God (and we all do at times), I double up on my time in the word (and I read the word outloud).
        I encourage you to study all scripture that refers to “Who you are in Christ!”, “In Him”, “Through Him”: Look up scriptures about the spirit of man (the born again inner man that is made in God’s image and in His likeness and is made to live eternally with Him, soul (mind, will and emotions, flesh) and body (physical body, also flesh).
        Additional Scriptures to study: 1 Corinthians 9:27, Galatians 5:16, Galatians 5:17, Galatians 5:24, Romans 8:1, Romans 8:4, Galatians 5:16, Galatians 5:25,1 Corinthians 6:15,James 4:1
        God has called us to be “Imitators” of God.. Eph. 5:1. To Walk like Him, Talk like Him, and “to walk in Dominion on the earth and Subdue everything that is a hindrance to us, and that includes our flesh with its’ desires and appetites! We Are the Body of Christ! Also, if you go to http://www.daniel-fast.com/ click on Spiritual Life, there is a wealth of spiritual aids to help strengthen, build up and encourage you in your journey. You can do this…you can do All things through Christ! Be Blessed on your Journey! Rev. 12:11

        January 9, 2014
  2. ANN #

    MY NAME IS ANN,I HAVE READ DANIEL FASTING.I HAVE A LOTS OF PROBLEM IN MY LIFE.AND I AM STARTING THE DANIEL FAST FOR 21 DAYS.AND I KNOW GOD IS GOING TO BLESS ME AND MY FAMILY.PRAY FOR ME THAT I WILL OVER COME MY PROBLEM.I KNOW GOD LOVE ME CAN I DO VEGEBLES AND FRUIT ALL DAY

    November 11, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Ann,
      Praise God! We are standing in agreement with you that you will hear all that the Holy Spirit is saying to you in this time and this season! All that the enemy has meant for evil, God will turn for good, to cause you and your family to increase, prosper and thrive in the place where He has called you occupy, to subdue and dominate, In Jesus Strong Name!
      Many fasts begin at sunrise and end at sunset. However, the Daniel Fast does not require this modification to our eating patterns. If you choose to add this step to your fast, then that would still be okay, but it is not a required step for the Daniel Fast. We also advise 3 moderate meals with 2 small snacks per day. Here is a general list of the Daniel Fast allowed foods, (Remember, All foods must me Chemical additive free and sweetener free): All fruits, All vegetables, All whole grains, All whole grain flours (and pastas), All Nuts and seeds, All legumes, All quality oils. Beverages: Water only – spring water, distilled water or other pure waters, and yes, tap water is good, if that is all you have available. MISC Items: tofu, soy products, vinegar, seasonings, salt, herbs and spices. For a complete list you can order a copy of the Daniel Fast Guidelines by going to http://www.daniel-fast.com and enter your email address, they will be emailed back to you. I hope this helps, Be Blessed!

      November 21, 2012
  3. Terri #

    How God spoke to me and told me to fast 30 days doing Daniel fast

    January 2, 2012
  4. Can anyone show me a verse that calls the Daniel diet a “fast”?

    August 1, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Rick,
      If you are looking for a scripture that says “and Daniel fasted, and this is how he fasted …”, then, no there is not a scripture with that clear statement. However, the definition of fasting is to restrict food for a spiritual purpose (and this is what the prophet was doing), as the definition of a diet is a eating plan strictly for health purposes. The grey area here is that since this is a partial fast, and “a healthy way to eat”, it really comes down to heart motives. Is the eating plan being adhered to for a spiritual fast or for health benefits? If for spiritual reasons (James 4:8) then one will receive both spiritual and health benefits of fasting. If for health purposes only, then health benefits is what will be received, and many people do use the Daniel Fast eating plan to improve their health and for weight loss. This truly comes down to the motives of the heart between the individual and the Lord. So, is this a Daniel Fast or Daniel Diet? Excellent question to ponder as we enter our fast. I hope this helps, Be Blessed in your Journey!

      August 2, 2011
      • I’ve heard of a “TV fast”, a “Facebook fast”, a “soft drink fast” and all sorts of stuff in the past. None are “Biblical”, and I thought that a “Biblical fast” was either: no food, water only, or no food or water.

        Thanks

        August 2, 2011
      • Daniel Fast Team #

        Hi Rick,
        I know, I too have heard a myriad of things being “Fasted” from in people’s lives. Whether it is “T.V., soda pop, sugar, etc. Fast”, I do think we are all better off for the spiritual discipline it takes to walk this out over our flesh Colossians 3:17. And I believe God is honored when we His people start removing harmful things (or even distractions) from our lives in pursuit of health and/or separating ourselves from the world for His purposes, for His use, for His glory. That the Name that is above every name, the Name of Jesus be glorified in us and through us! Be Blessed in your Journey!

        August 5, 2011
  5. Keesan Lasley #

    I thought the Daniel Fast was 10 days. in accordance with Daniel 1:12-15, Daniel requested vegetables and water for a ten day period. As I started my fast today, I stumbled accross your website for menu help. any information you provide is greatly appreciated. I want to make a lifestyle change in all aspects to please Yah. Yah 1st and Yah bless!

    August 1, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Keesan,
      The Daniel Fast is a totally plant-based partial fast based on the fasting experiences of the prophet. The two foundational scriptures for the fast are: Daniel 1:12 “Prove thy servants, I beseech thee, ten days; and let them give us pulse to eat, and water to drink.” Pulse is food grown from seed . . . corn, potatoes, wheat, rice, fruit and the like are all considered grown from seed. (Water only, no dairy/meat). Dan. 10:3 – I ate no pleasant or desirable food, nor did any meat or wine come into my mouth; and I did not anoint myself at all for the full three weeks. Because of this, we eat no sweeteners of any kind, no deep fried foods and no fancy desserts. We also don’t use any stimulants such as caffeine or alcohol.
      Finally, we look to the typical Jewish fasting principles. This primarily impacts leavening – so no yeast breads or foods with leavening are allowed. I do encourage you to go into deeper study about the Daniel Fast. You will find a wealth of information about the Daniel Fast on this blog and on my website at http://www.Daniel-Fast.com All the resources you need for a successful and biblical Daniel Fast are here. If you are interested in learning more about the fast, you might want to get a copy of The Daniel Fast where I go into great depth about fasting and the Daniel Fast in particular.
      If you don’t already have one you can order a copy of the Daniel Fast Guidelines by going to http://www.daniel-fast.com and enter your email address, they will be emailed back to you, this is a great resource to have on hand while on your fast. Be blessed on your Fast!

      August 1, 2011
  6. Christna #

    This is my 2nd day on the Daniel Fast, it is all really new to me but reading all the testimonies and realizing that God has something greater in store for me as a young Christian I know that it is worth it! Being around my family and watching them eat all the foods I enjoy is a bit challenging, but I constantly ask God to allow me to focus on what it is that i’m doing this fast for and ask him to allow me to stay full and not have the stomach for those foods anymore while i’m on this fast. I know i’m just at the beginning of the journey but with God’s help I know the end of it would be extraordinary!

    May 10, 2011
  7. This site was a blessing to me to read because it gave me a better understanding of the Daniel fast but it is a little challenging because I am one that have to have meat with everything and I just need everyones prayers. But I do know I will make it through these 21 days with the help of God. This is my 3rd day. So be bless and response as soon as you can.

    April 27, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Dorinda,
      I do understand the challenge of leaving meat behind, and if I can offer any suggestions it would be to experiment and be creative with new recipes. If you don’t have one already you can order a copy of the Daniel Fast Guidelines by going to http://www.daniel-fast.com and enter your email address, they will be emailed back to you, this is a great resource to have on hand while on your fast. Be Blessed on your Fast!

      May 2, 2011
  8. Alvin #

    Hi i started the daniels fast for church about three wks ago and i never know the true meaning behind the fast until i read this website about two wks into the fast. I know i couldnt eat meat sweets or bread but had no idea that i couldnt have the salad dressing and dairy and all that until just recently. but since starting the fast i joined another church and they are doing a different type of fast. is it ok for me to stop the daniels fast and just do my new churches fast? Bc i dont want to disappoint God by not actually completing the fast I started for the 40 days nor do i want to by no fully understanding the guidelines about the fast

    March 26, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Alvin,
      This is a time for you to hear clear direction from the Lord, this is a fast between you and your God. What does He want it to look like? Where is the places He leading you into during this fast? Starting a fast with one church and then switching to another church and fast in the middle of it all does sound confusing. I encourage you to lay it at Jesus feet and ask for the Holy Spirit to lead you, He loves you and He is so very faithful! He will be your guide, follow the peace dear brother! Be Blessed on your Fast!

      April 11, 2011
  9. I started my fast today. I want to know if juice is to be used for cooking and not drinking. Could I use ranch dressing for my salads.

    March 1, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Eloise,
      Yes, unsweetened juice can be used in recipes and not as a drinking beverage, water only. Ranch dressing cannot be used because of the dairy (eggs, milk) that is used to make it, You can make your own salad dressings and there are many recipes in the Daniel Fast Cookbooks http://www.daniel-fast.com A prepared dressing that fits the Daniel Fast is Newman’s Own Oil and Vinegar Salad Dressing.
      I hope this helps!

      March 3, 2011
  10. Dianna Robbins #

    On day 12 on the Daniel Fast and have realized just how much it has meant to me spiritually and physically. I have been able to have a clearer head and seem to pray more deeply and feel so good all around. I have now been able to sleep through the night and felt more rested. I recommend this fast because of its power to get you closer to God and it cleanse your body of all the bad foods out there. Never have I been on a diet in my life and this will become an annual ritual for me from now on. God Bless…

    January 21, 2011
  11. nicole #

    i have not started the Daniel fast yet, but me and my best friend are going to start this Monday! i just have a quick question…i am on Luthera Tab to help regulate the monthly cycle, but it has synthetic ingredients, so should i stop or keep going? other than that I’m all set and ready! THANKS! and I’m looking forward to becoming closer to God :]

    December 29, 2010
    • Hi Nicole,

      All medication and recommendations from your earthly physician should be followed while you continue to pray for complete healing – afforded to all who believe in the Great Physician.

      Be blessed on your fast!

      December 29, 2010
  12. Prophet Guy Sterling #

    I am so thankful that there are Christ chosen people like you out here in the world teaching us more about the fast of Daniel. I am looking foward to hear from you. Stay bless.

    Prophet Sterling

    December 27, 2010
  13. jacquelyn #

    Needing some advice on doing a fast for the first time… should I do a 3 day Fast? … what are some guidelines?… Or perhaps the Daniel Fast?… any guidelines?… I would like to start as soon as possible… possibly in a day or two… Maybe even starting tomorrow?…

    December 5, 2010
    • Hi Jacquelyn,

      I suggest you visit the website at http://Daniel-Fast.com and learn more about fasting and the Daniel Fast. One thing you don’t want to do is rush into a fast unprepared. Pray and ask the Holy Spirit to guide you in the fast, plan about the purpose for your fast and gather the study materials you need so it will be a successful experience, then prepare your body and your heart for the fast, and finally . . . then it’s time to enter a fast.

      In the same way you would prepare for an extended time away on the vacation or business trip – you need to prepare for the fast if you want success.

      Visit the site. There is a lot of information there. Also, here at this blog! Prepare. That is my advice to you.

      December 6, 2010
  14. tamazs #

    Bought the book on Sunday, started reading it today and just could not put it down. So easy reading and filled with encouragement. I will need it, as I will be starting the fast on October 1.

    Never really fasted cause i thought of it as a diet and being aabout myself; when I read page 12 in the book it stated ” ..restricting or changing our eating habits, fasting always has to do with our spiritual life. Without that aspect, it’s just a diet”! I was excited.!!

    Thanks much.

    September 29, 2010
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Thank you so much for your kind words. We are truly blessed by the Lord that He is using us to be a blessing to others. God is Good! God has great things in store for you, in and through this time of fasting, you’ll never be the same!
      Be Blessed in your Fast,
      Anna

      October 5, 2010
  15. mary.mimi54 #

    So, should I feel guilty because the food is so good and pleasing? I feel great after 4 days.. And question… no fruit juice, but fruit juice is allowed. not sure which one to follow… Is the odwalla superfood fruit smoothies okay, since they contain no sugar and are basicly fruit puree?
    Headache gone :) from former-coffee-aholic

    September 16, 2010
    • Hi Mary,

      No, you shouldn’t feel guilty, but rather blessed. Also, be sure that you are focusing on more than just the food changes. Fasting is an intense time of focusing on God and His Word.

      The only beverage on the Daniel Fast is water (see Daniel 1). So you can use juice in recipes and we have a fine line of being able to drink smoothies if they are for a meal rather than a beverage.

      I hope this helps!

      September 20, 2010
      • mary.mimi54 #

        Thank you Susan, for your encouragement. I am now on day 6 and going strong. I see the difference in fruit juice as a drink and as a meal, thanx for clearing it up. I am seeking the word and prayer as I walk thru this…can definitely see clearer now. Alos had question about soymilk, but I see that you answered it another place, so good to go. Thank you for taking the time to answer and encourage. Abundant Blessings to you.

        September 21, 2010
  16. Lori Robbins #

    Hello,
    I feel I have been called by God to do a three day fast but I am not sure what kind of fast. I have never heard of the Daniel fast before. Is this fast considered the same as a no-food fast? Does it hold the same spiritual acceptance in God’s eyes? I am just starting to research this. I do know that I am a meat lover so this type of fast would be a sacrifice for me.
    Thank you and please send responses to my email address.
    Lori Robbins

    June 22, 2010
    • Hi Lori,

      The Daniel Fast is usually used for an extended period of fasting and not just three days. You would probably do better with a water only fast or a liquid only fast.

      Regarding your question as to whether the Daniel Fast has the “same spiritual acceptance in God’s eyes” . . . the Daniel Fast is based on the fasting experiences of the prophet and is considered a biblical fast . . . but remember, fasting is a spiritual discipline for YOU and not for God. He has all He needs . . . and your value to Him is measured in the blood of Jesus. So if you are fasting to please God or gain His approval, then there is no fast that is appropriate.

      Fasting is a spiritual tool our Father established for His children so that we could have an intense time for pressing into Him by putting our whole being under submission (spirit, soul and body).

      I hope this helps.

      June 23, 2010
      • rick #

        You said, “…the Daniel Fast is based on the fasting experiences of the prophet and is considered a biblical fast”.

        Can you tell me what specific verses?

        May 17, 2011
      • Daniel Fast Team #

        Hi Rick,
        The Daniel Fast is based on the fasting experiences of Daniel 1, Daniel 10 and typical Jewish fasting and dietary principles. In Daniel 1 we read that the prophet ate only vegetables (which would have included fruit) and drank only water because he did not want to defile his body with meat and wine previously offered to the Babylonian gods. In Daniel 10, the prophet had just received a very upsetting dream. It wasn’t Passover, but rather he mourned and was so upset by the things he saw in the dream that he ate no meat, he consumed no precious foods, and he drank no wine for 21 days.
        I strongly encourage everyone to read the whole book of Daniel during their fast, but be sure to read Daniel 1 and Daniel 10 so see the foundation of the Daniel Fast. You can learn a lot more about the Daniel Fast by reading The Daniel Fast for the Body, Soul and Spirit. There is also a lot of information on this blog or at http://www.Daniel-Fast.com I hope this helps.

        May 17, 2011
  17. Alma #

    God is so good. I started my Daniel fast today with three other brother and sisters from church. Being hypoglecemic I have always used that as an excuse not to do multiple days of fasting. I now understand that in Christ I can do all things. As I was reading the bible at work I had this thought about inquirying about the Daniel fast and here I found your blog. I will be checking in daily to let you know how my fasting is going. God bless you for this blog and giving us something to look forward while sharing in this community.

    June 21, 2010
  18. Tiffany #

    Hi Everyone~

    I just want to say how blessed I have been from doing this fast. I am eternally grateful and thankful to God for this opportunity and very thankful for this website. I believe this to be a turning point in my life and I am excited and am looking with great expectation toward my near and far future for what the Lord has in store for me. I am on day 18 of the fast and have a few short days to go and have been experiencing great warfare but GOD is good and is taking me through victoriously!! I have always struggled with food and have found this fast to be something that I have never experienced before and I am much stronger, clear minded, and healthier in all aspects of my life especially Spiritual. Thank you for all the posts, comments and prayers. To God be the Glory for all the things He has done and is going to do. I am praying for all those who like me will “end” the fast but continue to live a healthy life in all aspects. God bless!!

    June 18, 2010
    • Thanks for your post Tiffany!

      Be blessed as you continue to grow in the love and knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ!

      June 20, 2010
  19. Heather Daye #

    Hello I have been on the Daniel Fast for 10 days now and it has been the most awesome, stretching experience of my life but on the 7th day I got a early period (i guess because my diet changed so drastically). I looked to see if I could take pain killers and saw that it was ok to take prescription medication and vitamins (as long as the vitamins didn’t contain sugar or man-made chemicals) however what about pain killers (Aleve specifically)? Unfortunetly due to the increased pain I did take the pain killers, but I was unsure if that was ok. If its not ok to take pain killers is there something natural that can be taken that works just as well?

    June 9, 2010
    • Hi Heather,

      Fasting should never bring harm to the body . . . and medications are fine if absolutely necessary. So you are fine.

      I do encourage women to drink extra water aroudn their monthly time . . . it will help alliviate cramping.

      Be blessed!

      June 20, 2010
  20. coffeegirl63 #

    I started the Daniel Fast yesterday. I read the first half of Daniel last night. I was especially thrilled with the grateful prayer in Daniel 2:20-23. Yesterday, I realized I’d lost three very important things (2 checks totaling $350 and a written prescription). After reading that, I praised God for what He could do for me, and then I went to bed. I woke up this morning praising God again. Within an hour of waking up, I’d found all three things!

    June 2, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,585 other followers

