Skip to content

Daniel Fast – does it change God or change you?

I am now entering into my fourth year of teaching people about the Daniel Fast, a method of spiritual fasting practiced by millions of people throughout the world. Over the years, I’ve answered literally thousands of questions about the Daniel Fast and God has blessed me to make friends with men and women from more countries than I can count.

One thing I’ve noticed is that many people have a serious misunderstanding as to why they fast. And the greatest misunderstanding is that God will think of them as “better Christians” or accept them more readily if they complete a successful Daniel Fast.

But here’s the truth . . . you will not change God’s mind about you through prayer and fasting. The only thing that changes God’s mind about you – or I should say the only thing that will change your position with God – is Jesus Christ.  Because you believe in Christ and abide in Him and His word . . . that’s what makes you acceptable to God. Jesus makes you righteous and able to enter into the presence of the Holiest of Holy. The sacrificial blood of the Jesus did all the work that you will ever need to be acceptable to God.

Another misunderstanding about fasting is that we can change God’s mind by praying harder or more diligently when we fast – as if we need to counsel God so He can make the right decision about a matter.

Dear brothers and sisters in Christ, God greatly desires His will be to “on earth as it is in heaven.” He wants the very best for you and everyone in your family. He wants you healed. He wants you free of worry and stress over money matters. He wants you to have loving and healthy relationships. His Word is full of what He wants – His will for you and for me and for all of humankind.

We don’t need to convince God or inform Him or guide Him. Instead, it’s the other way around. God is eager to shower you with love, healing, peace and goodness. He is good! He is love.

So what are the spiritual laws that God designed so that His will can be done on earth as it is in heaven?

It’s prayer. Prayers from God’s people serve as a conduit to release His will from the spiritual realm into the earth realm. Prayer is the essential element.

One of my favorite Bible teachers likens this spiritual law to a power plant. The power plant is there and eager to release its power to whatever needs it. So let’s say you have a light bulb that you want to use to manifest light. The power plant is where it is ready to release electrical power. The light bulb is with you ready to receive the electricity. But there is a missing part . . . the conduit – the wires. Once the right wires are in place the power plant can release the power – and the light bulb can receive it.

The same is with our amazing Father. He is in heaven full of power, love, mercy and grace. His will is to have His power released in the earth to relieve burdens, bring order to chaos, heal the brokenhearted, remove disease and so much more. But before His power can be released there needs to be the conduit – men and women declaring His will through their prayers. Intercessors are required to stand in the gap for those who can’t pray for themselves. Prayer warriors must voice the will of God for the needs in our world.

Prayer taps into the power plant – the almighty God in heaven – and allows Him to release His power and His ways into the earth realm – His will on earth as it is in heaven.

So prayer and fasting is a period of time where God’s children can separate themselves from their typical activities and focus on God and pray that His will be released in the earth. Jesus says in Mark 11:24, “Therefore I say to you, whatever things you ask when you pray, believe that you receive them, and you will have them.” Notice all the elements? Prayers to heaven – the need on earth – the release of God’s power.

Enter a time of prayer and fasting using the Daniel Fast as your method of fasting . . . study God’s Word to learn His will for a situation . . . and then use your consecrated period of time to pray His will into the circumstances! He already knows everything you need. He’s the almighty God. He doesn’t need us to inform Him or convince Him or move Him.

Instead, God needs you! He needs you to pray . . . and sometimes prayer needs to be intense and focused . . . and that’s when it’s time for a fast! Fasting was designed by God to help us change what we’re doing in our typical days so we can pray that His will be done – on earth as it is in heaven.

Be blessed on your fast.

42 Comments Post a comment
  1. Dipuo Masina #

    I’ve started my fast on the 6th !thank u Jesus for answering my prayers!I Glorify YOUR. NAME.

    January 6, 2013
  2. regai #

    quite moving…i have started my daniel fast today and may u help me pray that i get a financial breakthrough…i am burdened by debts…i am also praying for revelation…what God wants me to do…God bless

    January 1, 2013
  3. Given #

    Thanks be to GOD our savour

    October 10, 2012
  4. Sammie #

    This writing was absolutely inspiring and motivational to me! By his grace I stumbled upon this website and I must say Thank you because these words..every single one of them gave me a better understanding of fasting and prayer!
    Greatly appreciated, Sam :)

    August 30, 2012
  5. Glory osai #

    Thanks for a better understanding on fasting.

    July 21, 2012
  6. Josh #

    Hi I am so glad I found your website. I will begin my fast starting tomorrow. I have struggled with anxiety most of my life and it has been really bad this last year. So I am going to fast for healing of my anxiety and everything that goes along with it. I dont have many people I can ask to pray for me so I would greatly appreciate it if y’all would pray for healing and direction in my life.

    Thank you,
    Josh

    July 10, 2012
  7. Antony warutere #

    Its a question.during fastinn are u sopouse to drink water

    April 30, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Antony,
      Yes, and lot’s of it. Water is the only drinking beverage on the fast. As a general guideline, your body needs half its body weight in ounces of water per day, i.e.: 160lbs = 80 oz. of water daily. I hope this helps, Be Blessed in your Fast!

      May 1, 2012
  8. Neeky #

    Dear sister Susan

    I feel so blessed to have come across your blog, I’ve been married for almost a year now and we have been trying to conceive and believing God for a baby. I just had an IUI procedure a few days ago and I want to back it up with fasting and prayers,my challenge is am worried bout how many hours I should fast for in a day since am trying to conceive a baby and wouldn’t want to deprive my body of any nutrients it needs to help baby form, please could you give me guidelines and also put my husband and I into prayers,we really want a child of our own cos we have so much love to give. Thank you and God bless.

    Awaiting your reply
    Neeky

    February 11, 2012
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Neeky,
      We suggest that nursing or pregnant mothers review the Daniel Fast eating plan and then use their wisdom and the instructions from their health providers to modify the fast to meet their physical needs. The Daniel Fast is a very healthy way to eat, however since your body has extra demands on it you might want to add a little chicken, fish and/or dairy products prepared in Daniel Fast friendly ways.
      Protein Rich Foods: All Nuts and Peanut butter (any nut butters), Whole grains, Legumes and Leafy Dark Green Vegetables. If you go to http://www.daniel-fast.com and enter your email address you can order your copy of the Daniel Fast Guidelines and they will be emailed back to you. I hope this helps, Be Blessed dear one…Be Blessed! Deut. 281-14 * Jer. 29:11

      February 12, 2012
  9. NDIABUA CHRISTIAN #

    I want to receive more on your thought concerning any bible teachings.

    January 18, 2012
    • Hi Ndiabua,

      The best way to get the teaching is to sign-up for the Daily Devotionals. You can do that by sending an email to the following address and just say “Send Daniel Fast Daily Devotionals”: danielfastnotes@getresponse.com

      Just click on it and add your information!

      Be blessed!

      January 18, 2012
  10. Ruth #

    Dear Sister Susan,
    I thank and praise the Lord Jesus for coming across your blog!
    I will be embarking on a private fast soon for the manifestation of God’s creative healing power on my dear daughter’s Sam’s worn-out upper/lower tooth enamel and diseased gums as well as for our family’s financial,housing and unspoken needs.
    Please keep my daughter,family and myself in your prayers.
    Thank you so much.
    May God bless you and your team abundantly always,
    Ruth

    December 20, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Ruth,
      You now have Many prayer partners coming along side you in intercession for God’s very best in your life. And, His best for you is not a mystery, He has spelled out His plans for you throughout His word. Jeremiah 29:11 says He spends time thinking about the details of peace, a future and hope for your life. He loves you and has a way of escape for you! Rev. 12:11 “They (the blood bought Redeemed Christians) overcame him (the enemy and his plans) by the blood of the Lamb and the word of their testimony”. Once you are a blood bought believer in Jesus Christ, then you are in Him and He is in you, and now your words need to be saying what God says about you! Be Blessed dear one, we are standing in agreement with you and declaring with you Gods word over your life, over your daughter and family! Deut. 28:1-14 Be Blessed!

      December 29, 2011
  11. alicia #

    you say that veggie burgers are ok but dont they have eggs in them and some have bread crumbs

    July 7, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Alicia,
      Yes, most veggie burgersdo include egg whites, some animal proteins, sweeteners and additives that are not allowed on the Daniel Fast, by time you find a brand without some of those ingredients, they still have some of the others like egg whites. So, I make my own and have included several recipes in The Daniel Fast book and in The Daniel Fast Cookbook – Version II – both available at http://daniel-fast.com/store.html
      Be Blessed on your Fast!

      July 8, 2011
  12. alicia #

    can you use red hot hot sauce i am starting the daniel fast soon

    July 7, 2011
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Alicia,
      Yes, red hot sauces are allowed, just make sure you find one that has Daniel Fast friendly ingredients in it. Be Blessed!

      July 8, 2011
  13. trece #

    Hello all,
    I am still a beginner, but I am now joining my friend by attempting a 40 day fast with her using the Daniel Fast guidelines. I had my 1st private Daniel Fast in April 2010, it was an eye-opener and everything went okay except I did not give up my Coffee! I said “if God didn’t want me to drink coffee he would have said to Daniel no meat, sweets, or the coffee bean!” Not until I purchased The Daniel Fast book by Susan Gregory that she straight to the point states NO COFFEE!!!! LOL She actually got through to me…. I heard her loud and clear!!! LOL…. However, My 2nd fast failed. I had asked a few women to buy the Susuan Gregory Daniel Fast book and join me in a group fast and because of commitment issues and lack of communication it didn’t go well.
    As I now fast forward to my 3rd fast I am still confused about some of the do’s and the don’ts about what to eat. I honestly want to do this right and I am constantly beating mself up because I feel clueless. Although I’ve read the labels and I make it a point to choose healthy foods,soy products, canned veggies, fresh and frozen foods, It’s the natural foods or vegan choices that contain natural sugars. I guess i’m asking because it reads natural or vegan is it ok for the fast? Please help, because I’m starting to feel like I’m bugging my friend with one question after the other about fasting since she has experience with fasting.

    March 20, 2011
    • Hi Trece,

      Make sure you are reading the INGREDIENTS on the food labels to make sure there are no added sweeteners in the products. There will be sugar listed under the Nutritional Analysis and that’s okay. For example, raisins have a lot of natural sugar in them, but the food producers don’t add additional sugar. So raisins are allowed on the fast. However, dried cranberries are very tart and so the food producers add sweetener. Therefore, they are not allowed.

      I hope this helps . . . let me know if I can untangle more of the confusion.

      April 1, 2011
  14. Sherida #

    I am on day 8 of the Daniel’s Fast. I am doing it along with ~ 14 other members of my church as well as my two sons aged 21 and 26. We are doing it for 40 days. I have never been this intentional about communicating with God as I have been these past 7 days. Thank you for your ministry. I hope to develop new habits by the end of the Fast.

    March 16, 2011
  15. gina #

    am on a 21 day fast and pray God will help me through.i now know i have to stand on the word of God during this period.

    January 10, 2011
  16. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Tabitha,
    You will never be the same! When the Holy Spirit is nudging you to fast and you obey Him, He is going to meet you in a way that will take you to a new level in Him! Yes, I have done a full fast. Of which, that too was another Great fasting experience of my life!
    Be Blessed!

    January 9, 2011
  17. I’ve never doen a fast before, but I feel like the spirit is leading me to press in like never before. Have you ever done a full fast?

    January 9, 2011
  18. G.Boyles #

    I am on day 4 of the fast and am doing better than I expected, however I am struggling with not being able to use salt. My church has asked us to remove tabe salt & box salt in addition to meat, sugar, dairy, eggs etc… I have been reading labels on products to ensure they don’t contain salt or sugar but I was told it is alright to order a vegetable plate from Lubys. I didn’t think that was permissable since I have no idea how the vegetables were seasoned before they were served. Am I being to hard on myself. I know my fast should be between God and I, but I want to ensure I am doing the right thing. Any advice would be appreciated.

    January 6, 2011
    • Good morning,

      It seems your church is not doing the Daniel Fast, which is the focus of this blog. The Daniel Fast is based on the fasting experiences of the prophet in Daniel 1 and Daniel 10 along with typical Jewish fasting principles. Salt is allowed in the Daniel Fast.

      I am sorry I can’t be of more help . . . I encourage you to talk to your pastor or other members of your church about this struggle.

      January 6, 2011
      • G.Boyles #

        Susan:
        Thanks so much for your prompt response! I just consulted with a church member who told me I can use sea salt. God bless you and your wonderful ministry. I have great expectations for 2011.

        January 6, 2011
  19. Ego #

    I am on Day 5, started on Jan 1. This is my 3rd time and thanks to great material I was better prepared this time and by his grace, it is getting easier. Although I suffered severe headaches for 2 days (reaction to no caffeine). Thank God I got through it. I

    I love the concept of 5 Smooth Stones from the 21-Day Daniel Fast Devotional (Day 4) in the The Book ‘The Daniel fast’ by our very own Susan Gregory. Just like David selected 5 smooth stones to fight against his giant, so can we. Is there a situation in your life that seems like a giant? Then select verses from the scripture relevant to that situation, they are your weapons. Read them, meditate on them, proclaim them, apply them and have faith….then see that SO-CALLED giant fall.

    I also challenged myself yesterday during my devotion time to apply Gods word on purpose to an area where I struggle and I picked ‘easily angered. I chose to be even tempered on purpose even though situations arose that would usually tick me off. All I can say is thank you Lord.

    I pray that we are all transformed by the renewing of our minds as we commit to a closer walk with God through the Daniel Fast.

    January 5, 2011
    • Dearest Ego,

      You are living the fasting experience. This is a wonderful example of how we can enter into a time of consecrating ourselves unto God and focus on Him through prayer and fasting so our lives can be changed into the image of Christ.

      I am so glad you shared your experience . . .

      Be blessed on the remainder of your fast.

      BTW, readers – the Daniel Fast book is available at Amazon and other online booksellers as well as at most local bookstores. God called me to write this book and it’s His teaching by my hand . . . He’s blessed the book and it’s the #1 best seller in this genre and now considered the best resource for the Daniel Fast. It includes everything you need for a successful Daniel Fast including information about fasting and this fast in particular, plus a complete cookbook and a 12-day Daniel Fast Daily Devotional – that includes the teaching on the five smooth stones.

      January 5, 2011
  20. Suzanna Greer #

    Finishing day 3 and am surprised how much the enemy is keeping me focused on food. I have been worried I am not getting enough protein and that I’ll actually gain weight because of the extra calories taking in of grains/beans to meet the protein needs. This is silly to be wasting so much thought and it has been taking me away from prayer. In addition, I am shocked how poorly I have felt coming off caffeine. I had a horrible headache for 30 hours or so then it subsided, but my body aches like I am ill although I am not. I am ill for God’s will in my life and am a little down I haven’t prayed as much as I think I would like during this time.

    January 4, 2011
    • Welcome to detox! Praise God that once the body is cleansed you will have great energy and a sense of well-being.

      Most people lose weight on the Daniel Fast. And a balanced fast with whole grains, legumes and leafy green vegetables offers plenty of protein.

      Be blessed!

      January 4, 2011
    • Suzanna,
      If you come back I want to give you hope and perserverance.
      I am on day 4. Thank God I came here to read. I was wondering WHY the backs of my legs hurt sooooo bad! They are better tonight but the past 2 nights the pain was almost unbearable! I did take 2 Tylenol and that let me sleep. I LOVE my coffee, but who do I LOVE more? I think the more we get into it the more prayer we are led to too. I had headaches too the first 2 days. WE can do this! I am a total foodie person, great cook and coffee lover with a sweet tooth! I had tea with honey thinking this was ok. Well, now I see it is not I am not stopping but repent and continue. The devil keeps trying me but thanks to this website I have learned more! When we are tried by the devil, stop and pray! Don’t give up ya’ll! I believe taht we will feel even better after this fast. The buring question is, are we going to eat and drink the things that harm out temples like we did before?

      God bless all those fasting and Susan Gregory and her team!

      January 16, 2011
  21. Cynthia Garza #

    HI,

    I am ready for my Daniel Fasting. This is my 2nd day and its been hard but i just give my time you God and i feel so much better.

    January 4, 2011
  22. Thank you for this entry Sister Susan,

    This is my third year on the Daniel Fast and I always reference the list on your site before going to the store. I start off with three days on a complete fast (only water). This works for me. I am going to pray a lot more for God’s will to be done on this earth. Easy to forget that it’s fasting AND prayer. Paul tells us to “Pray without ceasing”.

    Praise the Lord!

    January 4, 2011
  23. I am going to do this right this time….I really want to change my position in God’s sight. There is nothing that he can’t do – so I am looking forward to the revelation and transformation in my life and in my family’s life. Yes, I agree this site needs a testimonial tab becuase I will have a few to share…Happy 2011 – Everything will be alright!

    January 3, 2011
  24. Mary #

    I attend Zion Grove Baptist church in Chicago-Pastor Morrow
    We will begin our Fast on the 9th as you pointed out. I’ve been in& out of Church throughout my adult life even though I was “raised in the church”. I’ve never known of the Daniel Fast (that I can remember) and the information given by the church will be of great assistance. In addition, a fellow member showed me your book and I wrote down the information- I will be picking up a copy tomorrow! I need to be closer to God & know Him like I’ve never sought Him before! I am very excited about the 2nd part of the decade but I can’t do it without Him-I’ve tried it without Him soooo many times. Moving forward, things must be different! May God continue to bless you and all of those who seek Him and all of His greatness :)

    January 2, 2011
  25. Tray #

    I stumbled across your website while searching info on Daniel. Thank you so much! I submit all prayers so I may accomplish healing deliverance and new dimensions in the Lord and in my prayer life. Amen. God bless you all.

    January 2, 2011
  26. Tray #

    First time on this site….I stumble across this sit searching info about Daniel. Please remember me while attempting to fast while praying………

    January 2, 2011
  27. MARGIE #

    Hi Susan, thank you so much for the blessings of your obedience to our wonderful heavenly Father, in all your help with pray and fasting. this is my first begining of year fast (21 days) to get guidance from God on his will for my life in 2011, also Family ect. God bless you more than you could ever ask think or expect, Shalom Margie.

    January 2, 2011
  28. Rose Maxey #

    Again Happy New Year, my first time on The daniel Fast and I have prayed to God for strength to go through. So far the 1st day is great. God is going to lead and I am going to follow him all the way. Be prayful.. Rose

    January 1, 2011
  29. TChinn #

    I am also ready for 2011. I think that this Blog should include a testimony tab!

    December 30, 2010
  30. Jennifer #

    I am ready for my Daniels Fast Journey 2011

    December 29, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,585 other followers

