Skip to content

Daniel Fast Breakfast Ideas

Daniel Fast Breakfast Ideas

Daniel Fast Breakfast Ideas

I receive a lot of questions about the Daniel Fast and breakfast ideas! When we’re not fasting we’re so used to having dairy products (not allowed on the Daniel Fast), eggs and other animal proteins. So this is a good time to be creative!

Here are some of my favorites . . . you can find many recipes in the Daniel Fast books and cookbooks available at http://daniel-fast.com/store.html

Also, if you have Daniel Fast breakfast ideas . . . please post them here!

  1. Muesli with unsweetened soy milk
  2. Rice cakes (made with brown rice) with peanut butter and raisins
  3. Fruit smoothies with unsweetened soy milk
  4. Sautéed apples in coconut oil with brown rice
  5. Oatmeal with dried fruit and unsweetened soy milk
  6. Homemade tortillas with stir-fried veggies

These are just a few of my Daniel Fast Breakfast Ideas! Please add your favorites and be blessed on your fast!

240 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hi
    I would like to know if i can do partial fasting together with daniel fasting .like not eating during the day only praying no water nothing then when i break it after six p.m i can eat veeggies which is daniel fastting and how do i count it to make it 21 days together.

    September 6, 2014
    • Hi Nomahobe,

      Some people do fast in this manner, only drinking water during daylight hours and then eating according to the Daniel Fast plan after sunset and before sunrise. It’s not a requirement of the Daniel Fast to use this style. You would count your days in the same way.

      Be blessed on your fast.

      September 11, 2014
  2. Gloria #

    Are Ritz crackers allowed on The Daniel’s 21 day Fast

    August 11, 2014
    • No, Ritz crackers are not allowed. Read the list of ingredients when you purchase prepared foods for the Daniel Fast and make sure they comply with the Daniel Fast Guidelines.

      Be blessed

      August 13, 2014
  3. Simone #

    Hi! I am doing a Daniel Fast and im trying to include as much protein as possible, i finally found a plant based protein that i want to try as a meal replacement, however, it has stevia as an ingredient in it. is it ok?

    August 4, 2014
    • No, sweeteners of any kind are not allowed on the Daniel Fast.

      August 13, 2014
  4. Is eggs and whole wheat bread are allow? How about fried banana with an olive oil on it?

    March 5, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Jay,
      The Daniel Fast is totally plant based, so no eggs while on the fast.
      Traditional breads including whole wheat bread is not allowed on the fast mainly because of the leavening in it. However, whole grain flat breads and tortillas (additive free, sweetener free) are allowed. Try Ezekiel brand whole wheat or whole grain tortillas, they can be found in the freezer section of most Health food stores or at Trader Joe’s.
      Fried Bananas would be fine if they are light fried as in stir fried (no deep frying), or coat them with oil and bake them. I hope this helps, Be Blessed!

      March 10, 2014
  5. Maryellen Jackson jackson #

    Hi can i eat rye, or pumpernickel bread .

    March 4, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Maryellen,
      Only unleavened bread on the Daniel Fast – rye and pumpernickel bread includes yeast, so it is not allowed. I hope this helps!

      March 10, 2014
  6. Stephanie #

    Hello,

    Are we allowed to use Agave?

    Thank you

    February 23, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Stephanie,
      Agave nectar is not allowed due to it being a sweetener. Be Blessed!

      March 6, 2014
  7. Lindsey #

    Is it okay to drink soy milk?

    February 12, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Lindsey,
      Yes, you can use soy milk in recipes and on cereal (all plant based milks are allowed, soy, rice, almond, oat, coconut and the like, just check the Ingredients list for sweeteners and additives). Just not as a drinking beverage, the only beverage on the Daniel Fast is water (Daniel 1:12). Be Blessed!

      February 24, 2014
  8. Shanna #

    Hello. I just wondered, I see some recipes with dried fruit but I haven’t found any without sugar. Is the dried fruit from the store ok? Thanks and God Bless.

    January 17, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Shanna,
      Dried fruit is always a challenge to find without any sugar OR additives added, and it varies not only from brand to brand but also from product to product (for instance, one brand may have nothing added into their raisins but then have sweetener or additives added to their dried apricots). Reading the ‘INGREDIENTS’ labels of every dried fruit package is the only way to be sure. Begin with the health food isle in your local grocery store, then you may need to continue your search at a Health Food store, but even there you’ll need to check the Ingredients label for the added natural sugars. I wish I could give more specific information to you. One thing that might help: Citric Acid/Ascorbic acid is a type of vitamin C that is used for a natural preservative. It’s organic and best when “naturally derived” and is allowed. Be Blessed!

      January 17, 2014
  9. Sonia #

    Hello,
    Can we have Ritz wheat crackers? Also what type of popcorn is acceptable, is Skinny Popcorn ok? I’m on day two of the fast & need snack ideas.

    Thanks! :)

    January 14, 2014
    • Your answers are all in the ingredients, Sonia. Sorry I don’t know what’s in those you mentioned. Read the list of ingredients on the label and make sure they comply with the fasting guidelines in the Daniel Fast Book

      January 18, 2014
  10. Judy #

    I noticed in the breakfast ideas, brown rice with apples sautéed in coconut oil. Is coconut o okay to consume during the fast? I have been using it as I saw this the last time fasting–but then I saw it listed as one to avoid because it is in solid form–along with palm oil.
    Thanks for the clarification!
    My very first fast, last October, the Lord showed me there were some debts I needed to repay.
    Fasting and praying is a precious time with the Lord. His Word is heightened in my spirit.
    Thank you for all of your help and for your obedience in sharing the Daniel Fast with the world.
    Blessings!

    January 12, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Judy,
      Coconut oil is a solid, however it’s acceptable on the Daniel Fast since it is not considered a processed food (altered), so it’s fine. Remember to use it in small amounts as it’s rich in flavor (make sure it is free of chemical additives). Be Blessed!

      January 22, 2014
  11. Maria #

    This site is very helpful, which is encouraging for the journey.

    January 11, 2014
  12. Dawn Welsh #

    Good evening

    We begin our fast on Sun. I would just like to know if you are allowed to drink fruit juice?

    Thank you and God bless

    Dawn

    January 9, 2014
    • No, the only beverage on the Daniel Fast is water (see Daniel 1). Be blessed

      January 9, 2014
  13. Mikateko #

    Hello,

    Can i eat Honey and almond muesli during daniel fast?

    January 8, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Muesli is a good choice when free of sweeteners and additives. Honey is not allowed because it is a sweetener. I hope this helps!

      January 16, 2014
  14. Maritza Ross #

    And what is exactly allowed to eat on this fasten I need it for clarity and closer relationship to god

    January 6, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Here is a general food list to help you: All fruits, All vegetables, All whole grains, All Nuts and seeds, All legumes, All quality oils.
      Beverages: spring water, distilled water or other pure waters, and yes, tap water is good, if that is all you have available.
      MISC Items: tofu, soy products, vinegar, seasonings, salt, herbs and spices.
      For a complete list you can order a copy of the Daniel Fast Guidelines by going to http://www.daniel-fast.com and enter your email address, they will be emailed back to you. Also, if you to go to http://www.daniel-fast.com/about.html there is a wealth of recipes, and spiritual aids to help prepare, strengthen, and guide you on your journey. I hope this helps, Be Blessed!

      January 6, 2014
  15. lady Z #

    Hello can I have applesauce

    January 6, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Yes, if it is free of sweeteners and additives.

      January 10, 2014
  16. KazendiSimon #

    Can we eat whole wheat bread and Crackers

    January 5, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Traditional breads including whole wheat bread and crackers is not allowed on the fast mainly because of the leavening in it. However, whole grain flat breads and tortillas (additive free, sweetener free) are allowed as an alternative. Try Ezekiel brand whole wheat or whole grain tortillas, they can be found in the freezer section of most Health food stores or at Trader Joe’s. For crackers, try Triscuts Original variety. I hope this helps!

      January 10, 2014
  17. Michele #

    Hi. This is my first Daniel Fast. I have a package of Nature’s Promise Whole Grain Corn Torillas. In the ingredients it has “cultured corn syrup solids”. However, in the nutrition facts it has zero (0) sugars. I’m just concerned about the corn syrup solids?

    Also, is vanilla extract allowed? thanks.

    January 5, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Michele,
      You are correct to be suspicious. Corn syrup solids are nothing more than a dried/dehydrated version of corn syrup, a form of sugar. Vanilla extract free of sweeteners and additives is fine. Good job!

      January 10, 2014

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,577 other followers

%d bloggers like this: