Skip to content

Prepare for the New Year Fast

dfnotesbanner

I receive thousands of emails from men and women at this time of year as they share with me their experiences of the Daniel Fast. Most of them are a joy to read as the writers tell me of their amazing blessings, answered prayer and closeness with God.

But there are also some that are sad. They are those from people who started the Daniel Fast with great intentions, but then stopped the fast because the withdrawals from caffeine or sugar were too extreme or because they gave way to temptations for Big Macs or Diet Pepsi’s.

They feel defeated, down and wonder how to get back into God’s graces after their “failure.”

First, I tell them that Jesus has already provided the means to forgive them for giving into temptations. I encourage them to begin the fast again . . . but this time to prepare their spirits, souls and bodies for the fast.

In the same way that you would prepare yourself for a long backpack trip, you want to be sure to prepare yourself for your spiritual journey of extended prayer and fasting. Taper off caffeine, sugar and processed foods so that your body is clean when you start the fast and therefore you avoid the painful withdrawals.

Learn about the Daniel Fast and about the discipline of spiritual fasting. The Daniel Fast book was written and published for the sole reason to help men and women be successful on their Daniel Fast.

You also want to pray about the fast and invite the Holy Spirit to prepare your heart so you’ll look forward to the experience and so you can enter the fast with joy and anticipation.

Many performance experts say that preparation accounts for 80 percent of one’s success. So be sure to prepare for your fast and allow the Lord to fulfill all the good He wants to shower over you during this amazing experience.

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. Terri #

    If I started my fast on the 1st but want to start on the 5th can I?

    January 2, 2014
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Yes, start whenever you are ready.

      January 6, 2014
  2. Trina #

    I haven’t started the fast yet but I a preparing myself now. I am nervous because I drink coffee everyday at least 24oz 2x’s a day. Normally, my days go quick but Saturday and Sunday’s are my longest because I work 12hours at the same place. I am first trying to get myself together spiritually then I believe everything else will fall into place. I do hav a question, when drinking water I drink propel is this a problem? when reading the ingrediants there isn’t any artificial sweetners?

    January 13, 2013
    • Daniel Fast Team #

      Hi Trina,
      Propel (flavored waters) . . . that all depends. Adding slices of lemons or cucumbers along with mint leaves to water is acceptable as long as your water doesn’t cross over to tea . . . the main thing is that the only beverage on the Daniel Fast is water. So, if the Propel is still water and free of all sweeteners, chemicals or artificial ingredients, then you would probably be okay. I hope this helps!

      January 17, 2013
  3. Tt Ogiri #

    Just heard of Daniel Fasting today, in my Pastor’s Sermon, my church is in its beginning of the Year 21 day fast. I’m an African woman, (Nigerian), had lived in the US for years, but my walk with Christ came up only towards the tail end of my stay. I just watched your youtube posting, and read everybody’s comment . One thing I’d like to add is a childhood experience. I was raised by my aunt, my Dad’s younger sister, for a lot of reasons that was one of the greatest things about my life. She was a wise and strong woman, I still believe that Jesus has a place for her, based on a short conversation I had with her in her last days. In her feisty days she once said what I repeat often to people on fasting and hunger and hunger pangs. She said “If you refuse food, even Hunger will be afraid of you” In other words, hunger pangs don’t last for more than three days. Thanks. It is a joy reading about Daniel Fast on the web, and all the wonderful people getting close to the Lord. Tt Ogiri

    January 13, 2013
  4. I am preparing to begin my first Daniel Fast. This is going to be a real challenge because I do love my breads and sweets. I have become a more spiritual person since I lost my father almost 3 years ago. I now try to take each day as it is given to me. I believe this website will help me get through this challenge. Jesus went through more than restricting foods for me, this is the least I can do.

    January 9, 2013
    • Be blessed as you continue to grow in the love and knowledge of Jesus!

      January 9, 2013
  5. duncan #

    Thank you very much Susan on enlightening and teaching us on Daniel Fast.
    Happy new year and complements of the new season to you and the family.

    From Duncan and family
    Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless device

    January 6, 2013
    • Thank you for your encouraging words. You have placed an ear-to-ear smile on my face!

      Be blessed!

      January 6, 2013
  6. cathy #

    I am planning on starting the fast tomorrow. Sunday. It will b my first time- I have an odd question for you. Is it normal for my body to be anticipating what is going to happen? I have noticed that even tho I have eaten normal today…my body feels achy and my stomache has that empty feeling like when u can’t eat prior to surgery. Is it possible to already b going thru the beginning stages. Physically even tho I haven’t started yet? Almost like my brain is getting my body ready? Or is it excitement of what I am wanting to achieve with this fast? One more question….can we eat instant regular oatmeal?

    January 5, 2013
    • Hi Cathy,

      Not necessarily “normal.” But you might just be filled with anticipation. Be sure to get plenty of water and good sleep.

      You can have instant oatmeal, but read the list of ingredients on the label to make sure it’s free of sweeteners and chemicals. You can find varieties that are just oats. Also, serve with unsweetened plant-based milk or juice (some folks like to add a bit of apple juice to the oats). Also, dried or fresh fruit, nuts, seeds and spices can make it a great breakfast.

      Be blessed!

      January 6, 2013
  7. Pamela #

    I started the Daniel Fast on Jan. 1st. 2013 This is my first time. I went to the Doctor Jan 2nd and was put on a 7 day liquid diet. So I am not getting in my protien or don’t know how to get it in. The protien drink that I have contains milk.
    Everything else to my surprise is going great. Was not sure I could do this, but the Lord is by my side and is helping. Thank you also for your help.

    January 5, 2013
    • You want to follow the directions of your doctor . . . you can get a lot of protein from soy beans, beans and rice, leafy green vegetables, quinoa and other whole grains. If protein is a crucial issue for you (body builder, extreme exercise) you may need to modify the fast by adding lean protein to meet your needs.

      January 5, 2013
  8. Eudie #

    I did a Daniel’s fast for 40 days and the help I got from susan on daily messages was great.However the closeness I felt to God was even overwheminglg.God answers prayers but I felt that this time He was more clear through my 40 day fast.Am planning on doing my beginning of the year starting and following the same.God is good and He answers when we pray.Let us seek Him and He will show us great and mighty things we cannot even imagine.

    January 4, 2013
    • I am so happy for you, Eudie! Thank you for your kinds words and I hope the very best for you on your upcoming fast.

      Be blessed and thanks for sharing your thoughts.

      January 4, 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,612 other followers

