Skip to content

During the Daniel Fast

I wanted to add a little note, and there will probably be many more, about what will happen to you during the Daniel Fast. The reason I am so keen on writing about it now is that as I tap the keyboard, I am on the third day of a water only fast (see types of fasting).  This is known as a normal fast and was the most commonly form used in the Bible.

But physically, I am more tired, sluggish, and a little light headed. I have also experienced a few dizzy spells. This won’t happen as acutely on the Daniel Fast because you will have food in your system. But you will likely experience some physical sensations including light headaches and perhaps a little light headed. You might want to read “Your Body Might Resist the Daniel Fast” to be aware of other effects and why.

I just though I would let you know . . . your body will likely experience some changes, and you just need to be patient as they will pass.

Of course, if you are at all concerned, be sure to check with your health provider! No need to bring harm to your body for the sake of fasting.  Several months ago, I did a 10-day normal fast. There were a couple times that I thought I was going to faint. The first time it happened I was actually in a grocery store shopping for my family. I just grabbed a small bottle of organic 100% orange juice and sipped it while I finished my shopping. I was fine and then just resumed my fast. The other time it happened, I was at home and again I just drank a small amount of juice.

Be wise on your fast . . . you will know the difference between “giving in” and taking care of your body.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. rosie #

    I have a question, I am a diabetic taking insulin 4 times a day besides oral medications can I continue while on the Daniel fast?

    January 30, 2013
  2. Daniel Fast Team #

    You should always follow your doctors orders, so continue with medications. Be Blessed!

    January 31, 2013
  3. Nthara #

    It is all about seeking God’s face and praying,. Pray and pray and pray and pray during this period

    January 18, 2014

Leave a Reply

