Skip to content

The Inside Scoop . . .

Hi Friends,

My name is Susan Gregory – a.k.a. The Daniel Fast Blogger. I’m writing today because so many people think this weblog is the work of some big company or ministry . . . so I wanted to introduce myself to you because we are starting to become a grassroots community of everyday Christian men and women who want to deepen our relationship with Christ.

This last year has been one of great transition for me (I know many of you are saying, “Me, too!”). I believe this has been a pruning period (see John 15:2) and also a time when God gave me my appointment to return to Christian writing. In that appointment, came an assignment . . . to help get the word out about the Daniel Fast.

On December 4, 2007 I started this blog. I have fasted many times and used the Daniel Fast for longer fasts. So I just started writing about what I knew and also tapped into the many resources I have available to me in my personal faith-building library.

The first day the blog had 7 hits. But within a week the daily count was more than 600 hits. And within 10 days the hit count was just short of 1000. I started hearing from readers asking questions and I could see the kind of information people were seeking. That’s why I wrote The Daniel Fast for the Body, Soul and Spirit and later The Daniel Fast Cookbook – 2008 Edition.

Words are not adequate to express the deep and very heart-felt appreciation I have for all of you who have purchased the books. You truly are making it possible for me to abandon all other work so that I can give all my focus to obeying God and the assignment He has for me.

This year has been one of the most difficult of my life . . . and I praise God for His goodness and for being right beside me as I have learned more and more about “fighting the good fight of faith.” I know many of you know exactly what I am talking about, because you also have had to battle the strongholds that have tried to crush us. The enemy’s only goal is to steal, kill and destroy God’s people. But as we stand firm on God’s Word and His promises . . . we will overcome.

I believe with all my heart that 2008 is a new beginning. That the strongholds are coming down even now . . . and that there are great battles going on in the heavenly realms (read Daniel 10).  I don’t think it’s a coincidence that thousands of Christian men and women are hearing that still small voice in their spirit telling them to begin the New Year with prayer and fasting.

God is good. He loves us with an immeasurable love. And He is ALWAYS victorious. As we abide in Him . . . and we enter into His Secret Place and dwell in the Almighty . . . then we have access to a realm that the world doesn’t even know exists. I can only believe that God is raising up an army of warriors to make His Light shine in the darkness.

It is no coincidence that you are reading these words even now . . . God is ministering to you as He is to tens of thousands of others. He is calling us! As we draw near to Him, He draws near to us . . . and He wants us close so that He can love us, care for us, and use us!

I am looking forward to a glorious year! And I am so glad that God has given me this honor to be able to interact with so many others who also are heeding the call of our Lord.

God bless you and thank you again for your words of encouragement and blessing, for your support by buying the books, and for your willingness to join with other members in the Body of Christ as we raise up the Name of Jesus and truly behold our King!

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Marlena #

    Susan, thank you so much for sharing your heart with us. We at our church went through major pruning in 2007 but it was so good for us, because everything He does is good. Some of us are fasting, and as you said, to draw closer to Him, the Lover of our soul. It is encouraging to see that so many people are fasting, and I love the way you have approached this fast. I can tend to be legalistic and I certainly don’t want to be that way but on the other hand I don’t want to pig out either. So thank you for your guidelines and obvious love for Him and His body. God bless you and thanks for this wonderful site!

    January 4, 2008
  2. Hi Marlena,

    Thanks for your confirming and kind words. I too praise God for the pruning. I am right where I want to be and He continues to stand by me at all turns.

    I truly believe we are about to see and experience a move of God like never before in our lives. I love that so many of us are starting the year with prayer and fasting! It’s a discipline that opens the doors of heaven!

    God bless you on your fast and thanks again! You blessed my heart.

    January 4, 2008
  3. Susan,

    How awesome that you started this! God bless you and God’s good success in your giftedness of writing. This site provided just the encouragement I needed. A site for followers of Christ who are dedicated to the pursuance of God and his will being done on earth. So good to know that our sacrifice and repentant heart are being noticed by an audience of “One” who can masterfully craft change!

    Fast Day 4……..!

    January 10, 2008
  4. Toni #

    The Lord just recently led me to begin this fast as a means of spiritual warfare. I had gotten discouraged in my prayer life due to the death of a young friend. As the Lord reminded me of the verse where satan roams around like a roaring lion seeking whom he may devour, He led me to the sixth chapter of Daniel. Despite a decree in the land to pray only to the King, Daniel was faithful to his God and continued to boldly pray three times a day, morning, noon, and night. Because of his faithfulness to his God, he was thrown into the lions den to hungry lions. The angel of the Lord shut the mouths of the lions and Daniel was delivered without a scratch on his body. I’m fasting for deliverance from the cloud of discouragement I have been under and for a closer and more intimate relationship with the Lord. I’m eating vegetables, drinking tea and water, and praying on my knees morning, noon, and night, just as Daniel did. I am also fasting television as a way to rid myself of the impurities of our Babylon society. I’m praying for revival and expecting a spiritual breakthrough.

    January 23, 2008
  5. Tunja Armstrong #

    Susan,” Thank U” for your insight as well as for this website. God is so AMAZING – I was lead by the Spirit to go on the “Daniel Fast” for the 1st time Feb 5th for 21 days seeking to be closer in my relationship with God and praying for answers of my spiritual gifts. God is so amazing because as I had been receiving information regarding the fast after praying and reading my Bible on day 17 he tells me to go to the internet and goggle “Daniel Fast” . I was blown away with all the information and the many blessing that our people of God are receiving. I had been eating only fruits & vegetables and drinking only water, Since I received that info from Daniel 10:3. I have now discovered what all I can now eat which is so much more. My church will start a Daniel Fast March 1st through the 21st and I will now continue to pray to my God for the strength to continue right on through. Now I will be able to references the website to some of co-workers whose churches are fasting as well. The LORD is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him…. Lamentations 3:25 NIV.

    February 21, 2008

Leave a Reply

