Skip to content

Peanut Sauce and Vegetables

This peanut sauce is so delicious that you will want to keep it as part of your non-fasting meals! You can serve the vegetables hot or room temperature. The dish can be served as a side dish, with stir fried vegetables and rice for a main course, or for a snack.

First, steam whatever vegetables you want to serve including broccoli, green beans, carrots, cauliflower or potatoes.

1 cup smooth peanut butter

1 cup hot water

1/4 cup cilantro, finely chopped

2 tablespoons soy or tamari sauce

2 teaspoons cider vinegar

2 cloves garlic, minced

pinch cayenne pepper

Salt for taste

Whisk peanut butter and hot water in bowl. Stir in remaining ingredients. Season with salt. Serve in bowl for dipping or use as sauce with vegetables and rice.

This recipe is actually also good with a little sweetener like sugar or honey. However, after the fast, add about 2-3 tablespoons of honey when you whisk the peanut butter with the water.

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. Amy #

    will this recipe be just as good with out the peanut butter? Peanut allergies

    January 21, 2008
  2. Hi Amy,

    The peanut butter is a central ingredient to this dish and I have tried it without it. I am not real familiar with peanut allergies. Could you substitute a different nut butter? Otherwise, you might try mixing in mashed yams or carrots.

    I hope this helps and bless you on your fast.

    January 21, 2008
  3. Becky #

    I see several recipes on line that call for soy or tamari sauce. I checked the label on what I usually use , but it contains sugar. Is there a brand that is o.k. to use on the Daniel Fast?

    January 29, 2008
  4. Hi Becky,

    You are right, most brands do have sugar. I use a “generic” brand sold by my grocery store. I don’t know who makes it but it is sugar fee.

    I suggest you look for different brands in your grocery store.

    Blessing to you on your fast.

    January 29, 2008
  5. Brenna #

    Dear Susan,

    I am allergic to soy. Is there anything you could suggest to substitute?

    Blessings!

    February 18, 2008
  6. Christina #

    Dear Susan,

    I hate to break it to everyone, but vinegar is kind of coupled with wine on the no-no list for most biblical fasts isn’t it? I’m having trouble myself figuring out things I could bring to peoples houses while on this, b/c most salad dressings and other recipes like it have some form of vinegar, and I’m pretty sure on a word study vinegar is definitely not allowed as most vinegar is considered a form of wine. Am I wrong?

    Christina

    March 5, 2008
  7. Hi Christina,

    The reason wine is not allowed is because of the alcohol in it. So that separates it from vinegar. Wine vinegar is made from the souring of wine, cider vinegar is from the souring of fruit juices, and malt vinegars are made from starch grains.

    In my research I find nothing in Jewish dietary laws or fasting practices where vinegar cannot be used.

    March 6, 2008
  8. Lisa Gohn #

    Soy sauce has processed wheat in it. Is it allowed?

    August 5, 2011
  9. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Lisa,
    Unsweetened soy sauce that is free of chemicals is allowed. I hope this helps!

    August 5, 2011
  10. Tracy #

    For peanut allergies I would try another nut butter or, if allergic to all nuts, try Sunbutter. It is made from sunflower seeds.

    January 12, 2012
  11. Andrea #

    Are we allowed to have peanut butter? I didn’t think we could because of the sugar.

    January 19, 2012
  12. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Andrea,
    A good Peanut butter is Adams 100% Natural Peanut butter, the Ingredients are just Peanuts. I hope this helps, Be Blessed on your Fast!

    January 19, 2012
  13. Shimira #

    I thought salt and sweetners werent allowed on the Daneil Fast?

    August 6, 2012
  14. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Shimira,
    You are partly correct, there are no sweeteners of any kind allowed. However, Natural spices and seasonings (including salt and peppers) are allowed on the fast. I hope this helps!

    August 8, 2012
  15. I use a similar peanut sauce recipe. I use 1/2 of the water. I add: 1) 1-2 tablespoons of freshly minced ginger root. 2)I also add a touch of sesame oil.3) I add a touch of agave syrup to the sauce, as it doesn’t seem as intense to me as honey. 4)I serve over cooked whole brown rice noodles (no sugar) that have been mixed with 5) steamed vegetables, 6) I try to add some steamed aspargus too, and some red bell peppers. A very nice dish: Asian noodle salad.

    October 24, 2012
  16. Vickie #

    Instead of peanut butter, can you use almonds and make almond butter?

    October 30, 2012
  17. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Vickie,
    Yes, all additive free and sweetener free nut butters are great for the fast. Be Blessed!

    November 13, 2012
  18. Janet Birkey #

    I see the recipe calls for salt and pepper. I thought I read that we were not allowed salt on the Daniel Fast?

    January 9, 2014
  19. Daniel Fast Team #

    Natural salt such as kosher or sea salt is allowed on the fast. Be Blessed!

    January 15, 2014

Leave a Reply

