Skip to content

Polenta “Biscuits” for the Daniel Fast

One of the foods that is often missed on the Daniel Fast is bread and crackers. This recipe for polenta “biscuits” is a nice addition to soups, stews or casseroles. Plus the tofu is rich in protein.

1/2 cup dry polenta

1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

Salt and pepper

2 12 ounce packages extra-firm tofu, drained.

1 tablespoon olive oil

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Combine polenta, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper on a plate. Slice the tofu into 2″ x 2″ squares (approximate). Brush tofu pieces with olive oil and dredge in polenta mixture. Transfer to baking pan lined with parchment paper or sprayed with 100 percent olive oil spray. Bake 30 minutes or until browned. Serve by laying polenta biscuits on top of stew or with soup or casserole.

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. Donna #

    So bread is allowed on the Daniel Fast? I am beginning my third day and I need some recipes. Are there anything that I can make a smoothie with?
    Is oatmeal allowed? I need breakfast foods. I do like salads and the soup recipes I have seen look very delicious. Thanks for those.

    January 9, 2008
  2. Hi Donna,

    No, bread is NOT ALLOWED on the Daniel Fast. You will note that this recipe is actually “coated tofu” and has no leavening.

    All whole grains are allowed, so oatmeal, muesli, whole wheat (try Zoom) are allowed. Eat these with raisins, cinnamon and a bit of soy milk and it’s a nice breakfast.

    Wishing you the best on your fast.

    January 9, 2008
  3. Ann Miller #

    Do the polenta biscuits need to be refrigerated, if I don’t eat them all at one setting? I am not that familiar w/ tofu.

    January 11, 2008
  4. Dana #

    Hey Donna,

    A smoothie that I LOVE to make is (I don’t have actual measurements, just play with the ingredients to get the taste you desire):

    ice cubes (approx. 1 cup)
    frozen blueberries
    blueberry juice (just a little)
    vanilla soy milk
    1 scoop of protein powder
    a drop or two of Stevia-optional (when not on the fast, can add a package of sweetener)
    Blend all ingredients in a blender and enjoy! Kindof like a slushi!

    *I tried a lot of different fruits instead of blueberries and they all work, but blueberries just happened to be the one I liked the best)

    Let me know how you liked it!

    Dana

    January 12, 2008
  5. Christina #

    Forgive me again, but checking out this site it seems there are a lot of easy ways out of the fast. I thought the Daniel fast he ate all things that could be harvested only. How is tofu or anything that goes through a process considered a part of that?

    People find subsitute foods when they diet, but on a fast aren’t you supposed to give some things up? If it’s made too easy it’s not a fast is it? And if Daniel ate no processed foods period, doesn’t that include flour and anything that had to be milled or am I totally off?😦

    March 5, 2008
  6. Hi Christina,

    The Daniel Fast is based on two recaps that Daniel wrote of his fasting experiences. In Daniel 1 he ate only vegetables (likely included fruits) and drank only water. In Daniel 10 he ate no meat or delicate foods and drank no wine for 21 days.

    From these brief comments, the Daniel Fast practiced today has been developed. There isn’t necessary anything that says he ate only “harvested foods.” We also don’t see that he didn’t eat milled or prepared foods. What we do know is that in Jewish fasting practices, leavening is a symbol for sin and when fasting leaving is removed from the diet as well as the home. Even today, during Passover all leavening is removed from the home.

    You are correct that fasting is the restriction of food for spiritual reason. Just as Paul wrote about in the New Testament, some believers ate meat and others didn’t. Neither was wrong but Paul teaches that these decisions need to be made “according to your faith.”

    What may be a sacrifice for me may not be one for you. A great quality about the Daniel Fast is that it can be adjusted to meet the spiritual need of the individual. For example, a person who already follows a vegetarian diet may not be too challenged with the Daniel Fast so she may want to also eliminate all wheat products and eat only three moderate meals a day. On the other hand, a nursing mother or pregnant woman can adjust the fast to include foods higher in protein to meet the necessary physical needs of her current life situation.

    The power in the fast is not what we eat or don’t eat. It’s the fact that we are consecrating the time to the Lord, focusing our lives on Him, and observing this by denying the body and putting our flesh (soul) into submission.

    I hope this helps and I do hope the very best for you on your fast.

    March 6, 2008
  7. Teresa #

    This my first time on a fast and I am sort of confused,. I am reading everything that I can to help me to stick to the fast. today is just the second day and I have been eating vegetarian beans, fruit nuts and raisins and drinking a lot of water. I copied a couple of recipies to try to get a little variety.I am also staying away from tv I go in my room and read the bible pray and go to sleep. Am I on the right track ?

    Teresa

    May 6, 2008
  8. Yes Teresa, you are on the right track.

    The Daniel Fast is a powerful experience and spending more time in the Word of God (see Rev. 19:13) will cause you to grow and prosper! I hope you will see this time as one of great spiritual increase, joy and adventure with the Lord, rather than one of toil, lack or oppression.

    Prayer and fasting is a powerful discipline in our walk in the spirit. It is our privilege and gift to participate with God in this way.

    Be blessed on your fast!

    May 6, 2008
  9. theresa #

    I am currently on my 3rd day of the fast, although it is not altogether difficult, its not easy either. I am thankful for this site because I really had no idea of the things i could and could not eat. I am looking forward to a greater relationship with God and a victory in my current situation…may Gods will be DONE!!!

    January 9, 2010
  10. Thanks Theresa,

    I am glad you have found some good information. I do want to let you and others know that my new paperback book is packed with information and recipes for the fast. It’s already sold out of a lot of stores, but i just checked and you can find it at Barnes & Noble and Books a Million.

    The fact that the book is already selling shows that thousands of God’s children are starting the New Year with prayer and fasting!

    January 9, 2010
  11. LaToyia McCurdy #

    Doesn’t Vanilla Soymilk have sugar in it? Also, can you use the protein powder while on a fast?

    June 2, 2010
  12. Hi LaToyia,

    You will need to read the label on the soymilk you are considering to find out the ingredients. Most have sweeteners except those varieties marked “unsweetened.” Unsweetened plant based protein powders would be acceptable.

    Be blessed on your fast!

    June 2, 2010
  13. Keke #

    um, I would love to try this out but, you can not have soy milk,or protein powder on the fast. Well at least i didn’t know that you could.

    January 11, 2011
  14. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Keke,
    When making a smoothie as a ‘meal replacement’ yes, you can have unsweetened soy milk and unsweetened soy protein powder as part of the ingredients.

    January 11, 2011
  15. As I write this, I am amazed by the goodness of God. The fact that he loves me despite me. He loves me just for being me. He loves me during my tantrums when I feel like my prayers are being ignored. He loves me through and through. He loves me when I knowlingly do things that are not necessarily of God. He loves me when I am selfish and mean and hateful. Thank you, God for loving me as you do.

    In order to grow spiritually closer to God, I have decided to fast for at least one week per month. My blessings grow with each fast, but the greatest blessing of all is how my faith has grown as my walk with the Lord develops.

    June 7, 2011
  16. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Tamara,
    Thank you for this great testimony of Gods’ faithful love! You are His magnificent creation and there is nothing you can do to influence that Love…. in either direction, just Recieve! Praise God! Be Blessed in your Journey!

    June 8, 2011
  17. Annah Phakane #

    Thank God for taking guess work out and enabling us to eat and fast according to the Bible.

    January 17, 2012

Leave a Reply

