Skip to content

Yeah! Thank God for 2008

God bless us in the New Year! 2008 is indeed a year of New Beginnings!

Many have already started the Daniel Fast for 2008. Brothers and Sister in Christ, we lift you up in prayer. My hope is that each one of us enters the fast with all the expectancy that our Lord wants us to have. He is a faithful God and He is calling an army of believers together! I truly believe this fast is a time of “tuning us up” for the next move of God.

Moving into the New Year with prayer and fasting is like crossing a threshold into greater hope, increased faith, and deeper intimacy with Christ. He is so awesome! His love is so amazing. And His Word so true.

Be blessed, fasting friends. And let’s all keep this Daniel Fast Blog community lifted in prayer. Please send me your praise and miracle reports so that I can send the news to others on the blog. We can encourage each one another with faith reports and witnesses of glory.

Happy New Year and praise the Lord!

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. themangolds #

    This is a personal question, but I don’t mind it being published. Jesus teaches that when we fast we should do so in secret. I’ve started chronicling my fast in my personal blog, but we are fasting as a church so it is common knowledge that we are fasting. Is the fact that I am blogging my experiences, in essence advertising the fact that I am fasting? I meant it as a source of encouragement rather than promoting the fact that I am fasting. What are your thoughts?

    January 4, 2008
  2. Great question about “fasting in secret.”

    Here is my interpretation of what Jesus taught and how it relates to our fasting now. We need to check out our motive. Why are we fasting?

    “When you fast, do not look somber as the hypocrites do, for they disfigure their faces to show men they are fasting. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. But when you fast, put oil on your head and wash your face, so that it will not be obvious to men that you are fasting, but only to your Father, who is unseen; and your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you” (Matthew 6:16-18).

    The hypocrites motive for fasting was to gain the approval of others. It was “all about them.” Jesus teaches us that fasting should be “all about God.”

    Does that mean we shouldn’t share what God is doing in our lives as we fast or be a blessing to others by sharing about our fasting experience? I don’t think so. It’s all about the condition of one’s heart. If your heart is 100% for God and wanting to help His people, then the blog seems to be within the guidelines of what Jesus taught.

    January 4, 2008
  3. Janna Bee #

    Themansgold,

    I think that is a good question. In my household we have changed the eating plan for the family. My mother in law got wiff of this and asked me about it and she joined in. She and I have been speaking daily about her eating and what she is praying for. If my husband hadn’t told her she wouldn’t be seeking the Lord and growing this way for 2008. I am in agreement if we are doing it to brag the motive is wrong. I think it is wonderful to see how many people are having a deep desire to do something for the Lord.
    Let’s do these things and remember what the Lord says:
    *2 Chronicles 7:14
    If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

    January 7, 2008
  4. themangolds #

    Amen Janna Bee! Thanks for the words of encouragement – God bless your family.

    January 8, 2008
  5. Audrey #

    Janna,

    That was great, Thank you very much this happened to me and my family we if it wasnt being shared we would of not joined in and its a blessing because family and friends has reunited togather for the Daniel Fast.

    God bless everyone

    March 9, 2008
  6. Barbara #

    When fasting, is there a certain time of day that you can eat and not eat? Like, Breakfast 7:00am, Lunch 12:00pm, Dinner 5:00pm. I guess what I’m trying to say, is there a strict schedule? Are do you eat when you feel hungry?

    March 17, 2008
  7. Hi Barbara,

    You can eat whenever you want, however we must remember that we are fasting and not dieting. The Daniel Fast is a partial fast in that we can eat certain foods, but we are still restricting foods for spiritual purposes. So if one just changes what they eat but then overeats or continues to satisfy cravings of the flesh . . . then a key element in fasting can be lost.

    I think the best way is to eat meals and perhaps a couple simple snacks in the day, but not eat whenever we feel a hunger pang. Instead, when hunger (cravings) hit, use them as a signal to pray and/or praise. In this way your whole being is subject to the Spirit.

    I hope this helps! Blessings to you on your fast.

    March 17, 2008
  8. My fellow brothers and sister’s may the fasting and prayer continue to strengthen our faith, and activate the gifts of the spirit that is in us, which helps us acknowledge the wisdom and understanding acquired only when we are on connection with our spiritual self. Stay blessed. Juanne.

    December 10, 2008

Leave a Reply

