Skip to content

I Witnessed a Robbery Yesterday!

“The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy.” John 10:10

Yesterday I witnessed yet another robbery! This thief started stealing this power long ago and keeps up his antics today! Meanwhile, the robbed remain weak, wanting and even dumb-founded! Let me explain:

Last evening I watched the Oprah Winfrey Show, which is common for me. I record it during the day and then watch it after I complete my work time. Unless the subject is too negative, I enjoy the program and I like Oprah. But yesterday’s program left me riled! Not because of what Oprah or any of her guests were doing. But I was angry at the enemy for once again stealing the spiritual powers of Christ’s followers and then letting the world run away with them.

You see, the program was about some of the spiritual laws God created! These spiritual laws work for anyone who wants to use them, perhaps with less intensity for those without Christ in their hearts. But for the most part, the power is available to all human beings. Just like the physical law of gravity. It works no matter if a Christian drops an egg or a non-believer. The egg breaks either way!

The same goes for the spiritual laws of faith. In Mark 11:24 Jesus said, “Therefore I say to you, whatever things you ask when you pray, believe that you receive them, and you will have them.” Oprah and friends gave the same advice, except they left Jesus out of it! They told the audience how important it is to make “positive affirmations.” They were championing the principle of, “if you believe you will receive.” Then they presented guest after and guest and example upon example of how this “creative force” works if you merely believe.

They even talked about how important it is to forgive people first so your heart will be pure and unobstructed from receiving what “the Universe” wants to give you! Then they went on to teach about the importance of saying your request aloud!

Sound familiar? Remember what Jesus told His disciples? ” For assuredly, I say to you, if you have faith as a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you.” Matthew 17:20. Later He taught them, “If you have faith as a mustard seed, you can say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be pulled up by the roots and be planted in the sea,’ and it would obey you.” Luke 17:6.

The Bible also teaches us, “And whatever we ask we receive from Him, because we keep His commandments and do those things that are pleasing in His sight.” 1 John 3:22. The problem is, Christians are not educated about this spiritual law. Or, if they have been taught, it is that this is all “New Age” and we should stay away from it!

But that would mean that Jesus is New Age . . . and that God is New Age! The truth is that the enemy stole this truth from the church! He did it through deception, lies, confusion and misinformation, which are all weapons in his arsenal.

So what remains? The world is out there using the spiritual truths God created for us . . . they are winning and becoming more convinced of their power and self-containment. Meanwhile, Christians keep begging Christ to answer their prayers and don’t employ the spiritual laws that “in the beginning, God created . . . ”

I know this message may ruffle some feathers . . . and I am very interested in hearing your point of view. But from my vantage point the thief put over a good one on Christ’s church! However, the good news is our Redeemer lives and all we have to do is take back what the Devil stole! These are OUR SPIRITUAL LAWS! They are ours for the taking.

By faith you and I accepted Christ into our heart and our lives were changed forever more. We received that truth and will stand on it from here to eternity. But that is not the end of faith. Over and over again Jesus told His disciples that the reason they didn’t have what they needed was because of their weak faith. Then He said that even with faith the size of a mustard seed that they could make mountains and trees move with their mere words!

Study the scriptures for yourself and then ask the Lord to reveal to you His truth. Don’t let the enemy claim and keep from you what Christ earned on the cross. Take it back, take it all back, in Jesus Name!

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Laurie #

    Thank-you Susan for this reminder. I believe my faith is weak and I am praying for a huge change during this fast. I want to know God as Father. It is VERY difficult for me to relate for numerous reasons. I need my faith renewed, a closer walk with Christ and deliverance.

    I am in the word and praying for God to speak to me. Now the more I read the more questions I have. And I don’t know why I don’t feel worthy to claim God’s promises. I believe it in my head and I believe it for others but sometimes it’s difficult to apply it directly to me. I know the enemy wants to destroy me and I am praying for God to change and renew my mind.

    Any versus or books that you think would be helpful?

    Thanks!

    February 8, 2008
  2. Hi Laurie,

    Thank you so much for this message. I am lifting you to the Lord as I tap these keys!

    I know how you feel! That’s where I was for the first part of my Christian life. But God invaded me with His truth and now I am so in fire for God that sometimes I just have to stand up and celebrate!

    I will send you a personal email about your question, but I suggest that you read the Gospel of John as if it was written directly to you (which it was). Read it over and over again for about a month. Don’t read anything else. Just meditate on that part of the Word of God. Whenever a scripture captures your heart, stop and meditate on it. Chew on it. Think about it throughout the day. Memorize a few verses and say them aloud while driving in your car or when you have private time. This how you pour God’s Word into your heart.

    Faith comes by hearing and hearing by the Word of God.

    Bless you!

    February 8, 2008
  3. William Whaley #

    Thank you Susan for this God filled message of hope and deliverance. As I enter this accord of fasting and prayer, I’m believing in Jesus name
    Matthew 17:20. Later He taught them, “If you have faith as a mustard seed, you can say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be pulled up by the roots and be planted in the sea,
    http://www.yourdictionary.com says sea is a “continous body of salt water” covering the “greater” part of the earth’s surface

    planted is sown,seeded, or drilled
    The earth and its greater and lesser parts belong all to God, and for those of us who put away ourselves and pick up the Cross, Christ will hear the earnestness of our hearts yearning to know him more, and if I tithe a seed, I will be given a tree.

    February 9, 2008
  4. William Whaley #

    Laurie,
    I just want to remind you and add that I struggled with that when I first came to know the Lord(and honestly, questions always renew)
    The first step is always believing the written Word is always the Living Word. “In the Beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God and the Word was God.”(John 1:1) The Lord is opening your mind, and heart, He is filling your soul with the living water. Jesus the Savior, The Holy One, is speaking to you and with you. Emmanuel is pouring out his life over you.

    February 12, 2008
  5. Sandra #

    Dear Susan,

    I was so glad to see your blog about this. I wasn’t sure if I had over-reacted to this show. I too watched this Oprah Show entitled, The Secret. I have never written a television show before but I could not just sit there and take this. I wrote Oprah and told her this was no secret, it has been around at least 2,000 years and if God wanted to, He could sue this person for plagerism because they stole this idea from the bible. I wrote this to Oprah in love because I know she was brought up in a pentecostal church. I told her she needed to give credit where credit was due — to God, not the universe. I told her of a lady in our church (a single lady with two children and not much money) that had a couch that someone had given her and it needed new legs. She asked God to give her new legs for this couch. When she moved into a rental house, there were couch legs in the bushes outside! Did the universe do this? I don’t think so!! She received these because she asked, believed, and received.

    God is so good and His word is so powerful. Thank you for your time and effort to provide the information for the Daniel Fast. I will be starting it for the first time next week.

    God Bless You!

    February 21, 2008
  6. Tunja Armstrong #

    Susan,” Thank U” for your insight as well as for this website. God is so AMAZING – I was lead by the Spirit to go on the “Daniel Fast” for the 1st time Feb 5th for 21 days seeking to be closer in my relationship with God and praying for answers of my spiritual gifts. God is so amazing because as I had been receiving information regarding the fast after praying and reading my Bible on day 17 he tells me to go to the internet and goggle “Daniel Fast” . I was blown away with all the information and the many blessing that our people of God are receiving. I had been eating only fruits & vegetables and drinking only water, Since I received that info from Daniel 10:3. I have now discovered what all I can now eat which is so much more. My church will start a Daniel Fast March 1st through the 21st and I will now continue to pray to my God for the strength to continue right on through. Now I will be able to references the website to some of co-workers whose churches are fasting as well. The LORD is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him…. Lamentations 3:25 NIV.

    February 21, 2008
  7. Anthony #

    Dear Susan, I need to send you an article I ran into regarding this subject. Can you give me an email adress to send to you…God Bless….Anthony

    April 2, 2008
  8. leslie #

    Hi Susan! You might want to look on Youtube at the Oprah interview about The Secret. It’s shocking and disheartening that someone who does so much good and has so much influence is now using her position to lead people away from the Truth of Christ. The interview even shows her telling members of her audience that Jesus could not be the only way and that they need to open their minds to other possibilities. She then goes on to say that religion and God are not about belief, but about feeling, and that if you are still on a level where your faith isn’t a feeling, then you need to grow past where you are. She says that when she was 27 she heard her pastor say that God is a jealous God, and she decided then and there that God could not be jealous, because he was only loving.
    It’s hard for me to turn off Oprah. I’ve loved her for years, but I won’t support her new movement.
    Thanks for all your encouragement through this site!
    Leslie

    April 12, 2008
  9. Hey Leslie! I was not so much surprised by Oprah’s “jealous God” comment because of how the New Age movement is being peddled through her show. It grieves me because I see so many who are young and/or undereducated in their faith being drawn into a sort of pseudo-Christianity.
    What her comment did do is spark a study of God’s jealousy, and now more than ever, I am in awe of His holiness, and am even less convinced that we need to apologize for His attributes. He is worthy of pure jealousy and zeal, and may we remember that Daniel was also jealous for his God!
    Have a Shalomy day!

    April 22, 2008
  10. Elder Sharon #

    Susan,

    The Lord be praised for you! It looks as if the thief has been caught red handed AGAIN! I am so glad that you exposed him and this New Age junk. A long long time ago I would watch Oprah, but stopped due to not being home when she is on. I am saddened to see how this woman who is wonderfully blessed; I am telling you, one whose life that God has truly opened the windows of heaven, be so carnal and deceived by the devil. Could it be that Oprah has been betwixt? I will be starting the 21-Day Daniel Fast week and will be praying for Oprah that she may openly confess that Jesus Christ IS Lord and above God there is none other; not even the universe. Thanks, Susan, for doing what you do. Know that God is pleased with you.

    Forever in His grip,
    Elder Sharon

    July 23, 2008

Leave a Reply

