Skip to content

Daniel Fast Blogger Update

For those of you on my email list, I am sorry for my recent absence! I’ve been pouring my time into some new efforts, including writing a Study Guide to one of the most powerful books I’ve ever read! I will be in touch with you about that in the next few days. I truly am amazed by what I have learned and the HUGE difference this understanding has made in my relationship with Christ. It is awesome!

I also want to tell you about a fasting book I read by a wonderful woman of God. Her name is Bishop CD Miller. Her book is called The Lord’s Fast and offers valuable lessons in going deep with the Lord when you fast. I encourage you to check it out.

God is so good! He is faithful! And the more we learn about living according to Kingdom principles, the more victory we will experience in our lives. From my own experience, the Daniel Fast has served as a significant spiritual discipline in my life to support me in my relationship with the Lord. I know many of you have had the same experience . . . it’s like having a blanket of security wrapped around me as I sanctify my body, soul and spirit unto the Lord.

Please drop me a line and let me know how you are doing! Also, let your friends know about this blog. Let’s get the word out about growing in the spirit. More and more people are turning to fasting as they seek a more intimate relationship with God. I can’t even number the many men and women who have stumbled upon this site and believe it to be a blessing from the Lord.

That is my hope and my call – to bless God by blessing His people.

Peace to you . . . be blessed as you continue to grow in the love and knowledge of Christ.

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. marion cherry #

    Good morning

    this is second day of my 21 daniel fast. i believing big things from God. and a big change in me. please add me to your email list.
    God bless you .

    June 17, 2008
  2. Tracy #

    I will begin fasting on July 7. I am believing and trusting God for healing of my body and healinging for my family.

    July 6, 2008
  3. Gibson #

    There is another site that tells you that eating fish is ok is that true?

    July 16, 2008
  4. Hi Gibson,

    The Daniel Fast is based on Daniel 1, Daniel 10 and Jewish dietary and fasting practices. Because Daniel 10 tells of the prophet and his companions eating only vegetables and drinking only water all animal products are not allowed on the typical Daniel Fast. Therefore, fish would be on the “avoid list.”

    However, I do encourage those who need extra protein (pregnant, athlete, etc.) to keep fish and chicken in their diet while fasting.

    I hope this helps!

    July 16, 2008
  5. Deborah #

    Hello,

    I just want to say that I’ve been reading and exploring this site for the last couple of days after hearing about the Daniel Fast in a testimony of a Jesus Healing a sister who had terminal cancer. I’t has really sparked an interest in me to try the fast since I was just diagnosed with Lymphoma of the stomach and lungs. Relying on Jesus who carries all our diseases I want to learn more about fasting to do for Jesus. I look forward to learning from you.
    Thank you and God Bless you, Deborah.

    July 18, 2008
  6. William #

    What about taking your prescription medicine during the Daniel Fast ??

    August 17, 2008
  7. Hi William,

    Every fasting experience should only be good toward your physical health. Therefore, do not withhold prescription medications. In fact, if there is anything about the Daniel Fast that could cause one’s body harm, then that says there needs to be a modification. For example, pregnant or nursing mothers might need to modify the Daniel Fast by adding extra protein such as fish or chicken. This does not mean they are not fasting, but rather modifying the fast to meet their special need.

    Be blessed and I hope this helps.

    August 18, 2008
  8. Helen #

    Please add me to your mailing list. I am new at fasting and have found your website very informative.
    I live in South Africa and don’t know what tofu is. Is cilantro a herb?
    What would be a substitute?
    GOD BLESS YOU

    August 18, 2008
  9. Hi Helen,

    Thanks for your nice comments. I love being able to communicate with so many lovely people in our world. Thanks for taking the time to write!

    Tofu is made from soy beans. It’s most commonly eaten in Asian countries, but has become very popular throughout the world now. It’s a wonderful food for the Daniel Fast becauses it’s plant based, is rich in protein and has little flavor. Instead, the tofu picks up the flavors of what it’s being prepared with. For example, I cook it with onions, green peppers and Italian herbs. The tofu picks up the the flavors while it’s cooking and is kind of like eggs in texture.

    Cilantro is an herb that is very common in some countries, including Mexico and South American nations. It’s a strong flavor and common in salsas and other dishes. It’s most commonly used fresh, but you can also purchase it dried.

    I suggest using Italian herbs for a substitute. It won’t taste the same, but you dish will still be full of good flavors.

    Be blessed on your fast.

    August 22, 2008
  10. Cassondra #

    My husband and I started the fast 2 days ago and he has begun having lower back pain, which seems to be getting worse. Before we started the fast, I remember reading several posts about others that experienced the same thing. Do you know how long that lasted and if they ended up needing to stop the fast?
    Thank you.

    August 29, 2008
  11. Good morning Cassondra,

    The pain is likely due to the detox that is taking place in your husband’s body. This is very common if people drink a lot of caffeine in either coffee, tea or sodas. It should only last a few days and can be relieved with ample water and increased Vitamin C.

    However, if you or your husband sense concern, please be sure to contact your health provider. A quick call with the information about the fast and the symptoms is all you would need to communicate.

    It is only when other issues are going on in the body that people have had to stop fasting. The Daniel Fast is a very healthy way of eating. When the body is sloughing off the toxins that are in the body, it can cause discomfort. Water helps flush the system so people should drink lots of water. The formula for how much is to take your present body weight, divide that number in half, then drink that many ounces of filtered water.

    I hope this helps and I send my best blessings to you and your husband for a successful and fruitful fast.

    August 29, 2008
  12. Erica Cain #

    The spirit of the Lord has placed a desire in my spirit to fast so I’m researching the Daniel Fast. The Lord has been doing some pretty amazing things in my life and I desire to be even closer to him. Please add me to your email list. Thank you and have a blessed day.

    September 10, 2008
  13. Hi Erica,

    Be blessed on your fast. My prayer for you is that you intimacy with your loving Father increases each day as you trust and depend on Him in deeper and more life-changing ways.

    September 10, 2008
  14. Katie #

    I am an athlete and I want to do Daniel’s Fast, but I am worried that I am not going to get enough protein for the amount of activity I do. I really don’t want to modify the fast….do you have any suggestions?

    April 22, 2009
  15. Hi Katie,

    Thanks for your question about being an athlete and getting enough protein on the Daniel Fast. You can certainly get enough protein by eating beans and rice, whole grains and lots of legumes. Also, leafy green vegetables have good protein in them (think of all those cows in the field that produce beef, milk and cheese). However, if you may need to add appropriate amounts of chicken and/or fish a few days a week.

    I hope this helps.

    May 2, 2009
  16. Key #

    Please add me to you email list. Thanks

    August 31, 2011
  17. I need more information for he 7 week financial fast as in meal ideas. Also, I’m Jewish but I still want to have faith.
    Thanks Leslie

    February 23, 2013
  18. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Leslie,
    I encourage you to order a copy of the Daniel Fast Guidelines by going to http://www.daniel-fast.com and enter your email address, they will be emailed back to you. For recipe ideas; on this site you will find on the menu bar with recipes available. Also, you can go to http://www.daniel-fast.com/recipes.html In addition, many more recipes can be found in The Daniel Fast book, as well as the Daniel Fast Cookbooks I & II. I hope this helps, Be BLESSED on your Journey!

    February 27, 2013
  19. Charyl #

    My husband has a habit of not reading the labels on town hose pretzels and flatbreads with sea salt and olive oil. Is this allowed? ( in my mind, no)

    January 8, 2016
  20. If the foods are made with whole grains and are free of leavening agents, sweeteners and chemicals then they are probably okay.

    January 8, 2016

Leave a Reply

