Skip to content

Oprah’s 21-Day Detox – Woman’s World Magazine

I just did a little grocery shopping and while at the check out stand I saw this weeks issue of Women’s World magazine (Marked August 25, 2008, but they always have them on the stands way before the marked date).

So, who was on the cover? Oprah Winfrey. And what what the headline? Lose 7 pounds a week on Oprah’s 21-Day Detox!

The truth is, this is the exact same eating plan as The Daniel Fast, however they might not be so strict about no sweeteners and no chemicals. I knew of this 21-Day Detox from when Oprah first introduced it several months ago on her program. She was interviewing the author of Quantum Wellness, Kath Freston, who promotes this eating plan.

The Women’s World Magazine article points out that those following Oprah’s 21-Day Detox lose about seven pounds each week and their health improves dramatically. Of course, we already knew that! The health benefits to the Daniel Fast are great!

The article includes five recipes, but clearly one needs more than that to follow the 21-Day Detox. Thankfully, for those of us on the Daniel Fast, the Daniel Fast Cookbook (an ebook available on this site) provided enough recipes and meal plans for at least 21 days of fasting.

I did notice that they use some foods that we would not have on the Daniel Fast, but that’s only because their plan allows for gluten-free bread and pastas. In the Daniel Fast, we are not allowed any leavening and we also don’t use any processed flours, but rather only whole grain flours.

Still, I thought it was interesting! The magazine will probabaly sell lots of copies with Oprah donning the front page. But waht some readers will think is a new and treny diet, we know is the way the prophet Daniel ate while he was fasting thousands of years ago!

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. Bree #

    TO GOD BE ALL THE GLORY!

    August 20, 2008
  2. ANNA WALSTON #

    can you have lactose fat free milk.

    October 13, 2008
  3. Hi Anna,

    During the Daniel Fast all animal products are off limits, including dairy. So lactose fat free milk is not allowed. Most people use unsweetened soy or rice milk during the Daniel Fast.

    I encourage you to read the Daniel Fast Food List to become familiar with the foods that are and are not allowed. The Daniel Fast is basically a vegan eating plan with even more restrictions.

    Be blessed on your Daniel Fast. I hope this information helps.

    October 13, 2008
  4. Deidre #

    Hi Susan what about Almond milk?

    November 14, 2008
  5. Hi Deidre,

    You will need to read the label since from what I can see, most almond milk has “cane juice” added to it, which is sugar in liquid form.

    I hope this helps!

    November 16, 2008
  6. Tisa #

    Can you use beef bullion cubes when making vegetable soup.

    January 2, 2009
  7. RONNIE #

    SHOULD YOU EAT ONLY A CERTAIN AMOUNT OF FOOD DURING THE FAST?

    January 20, 2009
  8. John #

    I am doing a Daniel Fast in seeking spiritual renewal, marriage improments, and anything else I can get closer to God on. My fast is a 40 day fast with the last five days being a full fast. My question to you is after I fast I was planning on going to the health food store and getting a detox kit. I was wanting to total detox my system because I have not done this in many years. I know there are so detoxification happening during the Daniel Fast, but do you think it is nessasary after this period of time without coffee, sugars and all that normal junk we normally eat? (By the way, after my 5 days of a full fast, I plan on returning my body back to normal eating with a Daniel Fast before enjoying a big Easter Lunch with the family.)

    March 19, 2009
  9. Hi John,

    No, your body will be detoxed after a 40-day Daniel Fast, especially if you complete your 40 days with a 5-day water-only fast. There are other levels of detox that can be accomplished with health professionals (metal detoxing, for example), but the type of detox you appear to be seeking will be accomplished with your Daniel Fast.

    Be blessed!

    March 20, 2009
  10. Awilda Santamaria #

    I’m going to do a 7-day Daniel Fast as an introduction since I never have been in a plan like this. This is a my second day and my head is spinning and I have headache… My purpose is to find a solution to my financial problems. Being trying to read information from the Financial Peace University but I can’t; what I should do?

    September 6, 2011
  11. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Awilda,
    Drink Lots of Water! Symptoms of detox or withdrawals are fatigue, headaches, cramps, and joint pain to name a few. Your body is going through detox from caffeine, sugar and/or chemical additives. The good news is these symptoms will pass in a few days (3-7) Meanwhile, flushing your system with water will ease your discomfort and speed up the detox process. As a general guideline, your body needs half its body weight in ounces of water per day, i.e.: 160lbs = 80 oz. of water Daily. Add to that amount if you are experiencing any extreme conditions such as exposure to warm/cold weather, physical exercise or Detox. If you can hold off on the research for a couple of days, do so. The mental fog will lift, and your head will clear as the toxins get washed out of your system.
    If you don’t already have them, you can order a copy of the Daniel Fast Guidelines by going to http://www.daniel-fast.com and enter your email address, they will be emailed back to you. Be Blessed on your Fast!

    September 7, 2011

Leave a Reply

