Skip to content

A Call to Faith, Trust and Ministry

I’m writing today to share some thoughts with you as we experience these unprecedented times in this old world. I am not writing a message of gloom or despair. But instead just some thoughts from one friend to another . . .

The reality is that a major shaking is taking place! I listened to the news broadcast on CNN (Christian News Network) on Friday and the headlines seemed more fantasy than real. It reminded me of an episode of Mission Impossible. Here were the announcements: 

  • The FBI is investigating Lehman Brothers and three other contributors to America’s financial crisis to determine possible wrong-doing along with concerns that Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, AIG or Lehman may have sought to encourage agencies to inflate their ratings.
  • WAMU (Washington Mutual Bank) lost more than 50 percent of their loan portfolio overnight and finally was seized by the government and eventually taken over by Chase.
  • World credit markets are frozen.
  • The risk of a worldwide financial meltdown is in sight.
  • Congress goes to work to consider $700 billion economic bailout, the biggest in human history.
  • Housing market experiences greatest downturn since the Great Depression.
  • 54,000 children in China are sick from contaminated milk and baby foods. Four infants have died.
  • Police are called to patrol lines of drivers waiting to fill their cars’ gas tanks after Hurricane Ike. Some arrests took place. Some drivers were stranded and unable to get to work.
  • Some colleges had to close because students were not showing up for classes due to the gas shortage.
  • There was a prayer rally in India to show support for thousands of local Christians who have been displaced due to deadly attacks from Hindu radicals. The threat is, “Go back to Hinduism or die.”

No, this isn’t from some Sci-Fi script. All these things are taking place right now as you read these words.

The credit crisis is the biggest news, and it isn’t something that will go away soon. Worldwide political issues are stirring. And we’re about to elect a new president and experience a significant change in our government.

This is all a recipe for fear, worry and panic. But that’s only if we trust in the world’s systems rather than God’s If there was ever an important time to focus on prayer, strengthen our faith, and depend on God, it is now. 

I also find it very interesting that we are about to enter one of the most significant times in the Jewish calendar. September 29th marks the New Year on the Jewish calendar. It’s called Rosh Hashanah, also known as a Day of Judgment, and is the first of a 10 day period of repentance. These days are for reflection, self-examination, consideration of ones ethical and moral responsibilities, and it provides each person an opportunity to restore relationships with other human beings and with God. 

This time or repentance (change) leads to the holiest day in the Jewish year, Yom Kippur, known as the Day of Atonement. Yom Kippur is a 25-hour period of fasting, worship, and thoughtful reflection on the past year. It is intended to encourage an inner change, a “return” to living life as God and an appropriate lifestyle for His holy people. This year Yom Kippur starts at nightfall on October 8th and is completed at nightfall on October 9th. 

As Christians, Christ is our eternal atonement. We are assured of forgiveness because of His blood. But are we living according to Kingdom of God principles. As the world money systems shake around us . . . are we worried about our future because we have placed our faith in mammon and not in God? 

Is our loving Father giving us a wake-up call? A call to arms? A call to faith? 

I have exchanged emails with many other members of our growing Daniel Fast Community over the last many months. Many faithful men and women have expressed their “sensing” of preparation of something to come. Are we getting ready for what could be the greatest hour for the Body of Christ to minister to those who don’t yet know their Savior? 

I am not making any predictions, because I really don’t know. However, I do know that when I look at the circumstances, the world is a very unstable place. And I see many similarities between today’s events and what I read in Joel, Daniel, Matthew and Revelation (just to name a few). 

Isaiah 50:7 reads, “For the Lord GOD will help Me; therefore I will not be disgraced; therefore I have set My face like a flint, and I know that I will not be ashamed.” 

Are we, children of the Most High God, being called to “set our faces like flint?” In other words, are we being called to take are faith more seriously than at any other time in our lives? Is this a time to press into the things of God as never before? Are we to be so focused on God that we look neither to the left or to the right? Is this one of those times when after we have done all we know to stand we are to stand? 

Those who depend on the world could be in store for a very hard time . . . but not us. You and I are children of Jehovah Jireh and El Shaddai. We are in this world but not of this world . . . and we each have an opportunity right now to search our hearts . . . to make sure there is good ground in which the Word of God can grow and flourish. The Kingdom of God is our home, our trust and our security. God is faithful and longs to have us depend only on Him. 

God bless you and thanks in advance for sharing your thoughts with me and others!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Bree #

    AMEN, AMEN…
    Every word is so true and I pray that many are taking heed to Him. I worked for the company Lehman Brothers that went bankrupt. Although I lost money, GOD IS STILL GOOD AND HE’S IN CONTROL. This is surely a time to get right for all non-believers and to get back on the bus for all believers. We’re living in Revelations and we as believers really have to trust in the Lord with all our hearts and souls and ADVERTISE the goodness of our Lord. There are so many that are lost and don’t know where to turn. With famine and the many storms raging across the land, God is truly an awesome and wonderful God. Time and time again, He spare our lives and it’s time that we give ALL we got right back to Him.

    With Lehman Brothers going bankrupt, my faith was tested as well. I can truly say that I’m so glad to know that I can take refuge in Him during all times of my life. ~Lamentations 3:24-25 (24) The Lord is my portion, saith my soul; therefore, will I hope in him. (25) The Lord is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him.

    While Ike was in Texas, the people at Lehman Brothers were going through their own storm. I took solitude during the week of the bankruptcy because I could hear the negative comments around me and I couldn’t let that get into my heart and feel hatred. With all that is going on in the financial market, it is not a suprise to me.

    Susan, I praise God for your obedience with maintaing this site. I’ve learned so much and the more I learn about our Father and His will, I get excited. To all that visit the site and leave comments or recipes, I thank God for you as well. We all have a purpose and we’re here for the glory of God (not man). Let’s continue to be encouraged and encourage one another for only the righteous shall see God.
    Proverb 8:17 I love them that love me; and those that seek me early shall find me.

    GOD IS TRULY GOOD TO ME IN SPITE OF.

    Please keep me in your prayers..
    God Bless You Susan and the Daniel Fast WordPress Family🙂

    September 29, 2008
  2. lisa #

    Hi Susan –

    Thanks so much for this blog! What a blessing it is! I am considering a fast due to the state of our country and this Presidential election. Our country is at a very serious crossroad and unless we as God’s people pray and ask Him to heal our land, it will take the road toward destruction. Thanks again for putting this together…it is quite helpful.

    Blessings,
    Lisa

    September 29, 2008
  3. Karen #

    Amen and Amen! I will share a short testimony. After 15 or so debilitating years of hardship, adversity and financial disaster, 2010 was a “breakthrough year” for me, the Lord has blessed me in my health, finances and peace of mind. None of it had to do with any other human being, what they could do for me or to me … it was all finally submitting and realizing until I completely relied on Jesus for guidance and stopped being so fearful of what the world was “going to do to me” or what other calamity was going to hit me, it wouldn’t change. It did change. I now understand as I head into 2011, that while I am “in this world” and must live among it, I am not “of this world.” Christ paved the way, and I will continue to rely only on HIM, to direct me to survive and live. He will direct and save all of his faithful. We’re in those times, and anyone who doesn’t realize it is fooling only themselves. Build your foundation on ROCK, and you will not falter. Blessings.

    September 21, 2010

Leave a Reply

