Skip to content

Daniel Fast for the Jewish New Year

For the first time in my Christian life, I am being called to observe the Jewish New Year (Rosh Hashanah) which begins tonight at sundown. This is a two-day celebration and while I won’t follow the traditions exactly, I do plan to take part of some of the powerful symbolic elements.

I then will partake in another Daniel Fast and will continue until nightfall on October 9th. This is my first fast during this period, but I felt a strong call from the Lord to use this powerful time in the Jewish calendar to press into some financial goals.

While I am not Jewish, I serve a Jewish Jesus . . . and after learning more about this time of year from the Jewish standpoint, it seems a perfect time to fast. September 29th is the beginning of the Jewish New Year or Rosh Hashanah. And while it’s very different from the Time Square dropping ball, champagne and confetti celebrations of American tradition — one thing is common. That is reflecting on the past year and setting plan and making goals for the New Year.

Considering the economic challenges in the world today, some personal financial goals I have for myself (to become debt free) and for my business (to solidify sustainable income), and the opportunity to draw even closer to God, I have decided to fast.

I will continue my fast through Yom Kippur, or The Day of Atonement. Oh, what a powerful day. Take time to study this most holy day in the Jewish year. You will be inspired, touched and full of praise for the Lamb slain on our behalf! But even though Jesus is my eternal atonement for my sins, the Lord is still very clear that this holy day is to be recognized FOREVER! So I am choosing to recognize this holy day in my life. A time for deep introspection, worship, praise and thanksgiving.

We serve and worship a loving and forgiving Father who so wants a deep and intimate relationship with us. Pray and fasting can draw us closer to the Lord . . . and His word says that He draws closer to us as we draw closer to Him. I love being close to the Most Holy God. I am thankful every day that I can come boldly to His throne because of what His Son did on the cross. I am forever grateful for the love, care and grace He gives me!

With all that in mind, I will enter this time with praise and expectation! Glory to the Most High God.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Sherri #

    As a professional singer, I sang the Jewish High Holy Days for many years. It was an amazing experience! I learned so much about where our own Christian practices came from. I am also a college professor, and have always been involved in education in some day–kids in school or whatever!–and the Jewish New Year always seemed so much more practical to me, in that it started with our current school year. It has always been a time for me to pull in, regroup, think and plan about where I want to be in all aspects of my life for the coming year. I’m glad you’ve found this to be meaningful for you, too, Susan.

    February 27, 2011

Leave a Reply

