Skip to content

40-Day New Year Fast with Henry Fernandez

Bishop Henry Fernandez and Pastor Carol Fernandez of Faith Center Ministries in Sunrise, FL have called a 40-day New Year Fast. He is teaching about the power of prayer and fasting on his television program.

They are calling for a consecrated 40-Day Fast from January 7th to February 15, 2009. Many people will use the Daniel Fast as their way of entering into this powerful discipline.

Be blessed during your fast!

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. LAWANA #

    WHY IS THE FAST BEGINNING ON JANUARY 7TH RATHER THAN THE FIRST SUNDAY JANUARY 4TH ? I AM FEELING A STRONG URGE TO FAST FOR THE NEW YEAR. I WANT TO START AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. HOWEVER, I WANT TO
    FAST FOR 40 DAYS AND IN UNISON WITH A LARGE GROUP O PEOPLE.
    THANK YOU.

    December 22, 2008
  2. Lillian Grasso #

    Please send me any info on follow-up, what TV station can I watch your services about this fast. I have optononline Cable. Thank you. or just email me or direct me to a website of yours regarding the fast. Thanks. Lillian Grasso

    December 23, 2008
  3. Hi Lawana,

    Thanks for your post! I am not sure why Pastor Fernandez selected January 7th for the beginning of their fast, unless they are pointing the the day of conclusion for their 40-day fast. Most people will begin the New Year Fast on January 4th. However, it’s also important to keep in mind that the New Year Fast and the Daniel Fast are not linked to any specific date or time period.

    Lent, which is recognized as 40 days of fasting before Resurrection Sunday is linked to a specific date. However, the New Year Fast and the Daniel Fast are more fluid.

    I hope this helps! Be blessed on your fast!

    December 24, 2008
  4. Hi Lillian,

    The Daniel Fast Blog is independent of any church or ministry. So there are several television programs that will talk about prayer and fasting to begin the New Year. I would look at the programming for TBN as they usually have a program about the New Year Fast. Also, Jentezen Franklin will have several programs.

    I also encourage you to link into this blog often as you will find lots of information about the fast along with lots of inspiration and motivational messages.

    Be blessed on your fast.

    December 24, 2008
  5. Cynthia #

    Please include me in your prayers during this fast. I am praying for the restoration of my marriage and family, which has been systematically and diabolically destroyed for the last 20-25 years. I have prophecies from 32 years ago as well as recent prophecies that God said he will do this restoration. Just as Daniel fasted to defeat the prince over his nation, in order to obtain my promised land, the principalities and powers over this nation that destroy marriages and families need to be wrestled so that the angels can get through with the answer to my prayers. Timothy also was admonished to war a good warfare by the prophecies that had been spoken over him beforehand (I Tim. 1:18). Not only that, but at the end of the fast there will be a marriage seminar around Feb. 15 that I believe will bring the effect of the prophecy to completion. to God be all the glory! Principal persons are Cynthia, husband Robert, daughters Judith, Gloria and Elizabeth.

    December 27, 2008
  6. Charles D. Smith, Sr. #

    I am praying and fasting for healing and restoration, physically, financially, and spiritually. I want to do kingdom work, and I want to be so empowered to do kingdom work, and I release what I must do to acquire such anointing, fast.

    Pray my strength in the Lord, to fast and pray these so forty days. Pray God gives me clear distinct direction, so much to write to explain that, please pray with me.

    There is much more to say, but I will just let the Holy Ghost explain all that. Be blessed in Jesus’ name.

    January 1, 2009
  7. Ursula Hickerson #

    I wanted to know if it is safe for children to participate in the Daniel’s fast ?

    January 2, 2009
  8. sabrina #

    Hello my name is Sabrina and i want to go on the 40 days fast. I’am praying for my husband, children and a closer walk with jesus, Also i would be praying for a friend with cancer. How should i eat and when do i pray

    January 4, 2009
  9. Nina Chandler #

    I am fasting for healing in my physical body.

    January 6, 2009
  10. Hi Sabrina,

    You can go to this site and get a free copy of The Daniel Fast Guidelines:

    http://www.Daniel-Fast.com

    It has the list of foods to include and to avoid. Also, there are no time limits on the Daniel Fast . . . just keep in mind that we’re engages in a spiritual discipline.

    Be blessed on your fast.

    January 6, 2009
  11. Hi Ursula,

    The Daniel Fast is safe for children, however usually children under 12 aren’t expected to take on the whole fast. It would be good to teach your children about prayer and fasting . . . and ask them to fast candy or sugary foods or soda. But generally, teens are the youngest to go on the Daniel Fast, and even then it’s usually modified to meet their special needs.

    I hope this helps.

    January 6, 2009
  12. Gloria Eshem #

    I started late on the 40 day fast I began 2 days ago I ate last night At (11 o’clock) and back again on the fast today sunday Please ,that OUR Father God will bless to say on my fsat for the 40 days. May God bless you.Bye

    January 11, 2009
  13. Hello!

    I went to 2 churchs (The Faith Center & First Baptist Church of Ft. Lauderdale) and doing 2 fasts (Daniel Fast & 40 Day Fast). I just close Daniel Fast (Jan 3rd-24th) while doing 40 day fast which close 3 days eailer (Feb 11th). I am part of SYNC (Stay Young N Connection-Young Adult Minstery) and first time with 40 Day Fast. All I hear that need to eat at least onces an day on 40 Day Fast but its ok that need more then once due to my health?

    God Bless

    P.S. I also part of Pastor Franklin’s Connection to Fast or something like that to MORE forces & closer to christ. Keep me in prayer of this year indule my family🙂

    January 24, 2009
  14. taiwo #

    I started a 40-day spiritual fast at midnight, December 31, 2008. I will compete my fast at midnight February 9, 2009. I have been in constant prayer and the Lord has been gracious unto me!! I am so blessed! This is my second time having this special time with the Lord. The first time i did not re-introduce food to my body correctly. Actually, i think i went to quickly back to solid food. Has anyone else gone 40 days without food? This time, when i complete the fast, i will start with broth for at least three days and then add crackers for the next two. I will then add regular, low sodium, soups and juices for a week. Does that sound like it is slow enough????

    God bless!

    February 3, 2009
  15. Hello Taiwo,

    Congratuations on completing your powerful time of prayer and fasting. I have never done a 40-day water-only fast, but I do know about the “re-entry” and what works best. You are correct to bring in foods slowly and start with simple soft and liquid foods. Also, stay away from chemicals and those foods that may cause irritation to your system.

    You also might want to contact a reputable nutritionist in your area and ask about the best way to complete a water-only fast of this length.

    God bless you!

    February 6, 2009
  16. valencia mcneal #

    I WILL LOVE TO START FASTING.BUT HOW DO I START?

    April 21, 2009
  17. Good morning Valencia,

    Sorry for this late reply. As you may have read, I’ve been in Africa and will hopefully catch up with all the posts on blog by today!

    The spiritual discipline of prayer and fasting is powerful and more and more people are discovering this ancient exercise as they seek a deeper and more intimate relationship with our Amazing Father. To learn more, take a look at http://www.Daniel-Fast.com, read more of the posts on the Daniel Fast blog, and consider purchasing one or more of the Daniel Fast eBooks.

    Then it’s a matter of 1) deciding why you are fasting; 2) pray about it and decide on how many days you will fast; 3) define your start date; 4) prepare for the fast by gathering study and devotional materials and planning your meals; 5) start!

    Be sure to seek information and advice here as I really do think you can find the answers you will need. If not, feel free to contact me with any questions you might have.

    I hope this helps!

    May 2, 2009

Leave a Reply

