Skip to content

2009 Daniel Fast

Many people are preparing to start the New Year with the 2009 Daniel Fast. Jentezen Franklin has been talking about spiritual fasting on his program. And I have been receiving many emails. I also am finishing up a new Daniel Fast Cookbook that will have many new recipes!

I am currently developing many helpful tools for all those who are called to the Daniel Fast at the New Year. If you want to receive the matieral, please complete the simple form at www.Daniel-Fast.com.

This will add you to the Daniel Fast mailing list. Please be assured that I NEVER share your name or contact information. You can also unsubscribe at any time.

Be blessed and thanks for visiting!

79 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ronel #

    Hi Susan
    Please add me to your list as I was looking up on the Daniel Fast an came across your blog.
    God Bless

    December 29, 2008
  2. Renee #

    Please add me to the list.

    Thanks

    December 29, 2008
  3. Darrick and Jenn Hays #

    Please add us to the list. Our church in Hawaii is starting the Daniel Fast on January 1, 2009. Thanks for this site!

    December 29, 2008
  4. AdrianaVeracruz #

    Hello Pastor Jentzen,. I read your “fasting” book. I have only fasted twice. I will ,with God’s grace ,complete the 21 day fast with you all. I pray for all of my familys salvation,and the husband God told me he would give me,last November.(before I was baptized!).I pray for healing and revelation,for all of us during this 21 day fast.

    December 29, 2008
  5. Shola #

    Hello,

    I think i read that you will be having a new version of the Daniel fast cookbook but will you also be having a 2009 version of the Daniel Fast Book? I want to purchase the ebook and wasn’t sure if there would be an updated version.

    Please add me to the mailing list.

    Thank you.

    December 30, 2008
  6. Please add me to your list! Our Church in Woodstock starts fasting on Jan. 12th. We fasted last January and it was awesome!

    December 30, 2008
  7. Nicole Hernandez #

    This will be my first attempt at the Daniel Fast. My church family and I are beginning our fast on January 7th for 21 days. They distributed some literature with a few of the food items that we can and cannot choose from but it seems so limited compared to the list of items that your website provides. Is there an updated list for the 2009 Daniel Fast?

    Also, I would really like to purchase your cookbook to assist me in preparing meals that will remain on the fast. I would like to purchase the 2008 version of your cookbook and was wondering if I do will it also include the updated 2009 version or are they separate?

    Since I have never fasted in this manner before, do you have any pearls of wisdom that I can use to prepare for this fast? My husband is unsaved and his father lives directly across the street from us and both of these men are “heavy” meat and carbohydrate eaters and I prepare the majority of the meals for us all. How can I do this and still remain faithful to the fast? I don’t want to fail. I’m fasting for their salvation and my father-in-laws health.

    December 30, 2008
  8. Nicole Hernandez #

    “Add me to the list, please.” I was so eager to get my concerns out that I forgot to include this.

    December 30, 2008
  9. Nicole Hernandez #

    I have one last question. Will there also be an updated (2009) version of the The 2008 Daniel Fast for the Body Soul and Spirit?

    December 30, 2008
  10. Nicole Hernandez #

    Will there also be an updated (2009) version of the The 2008 Daniel Fast for the Body Soul and Spirit?

    December 30, 2008
  11. Tyra #

    Please add me to the list. Susan, this is the 2nd year our church is participating in the Daniel’s Fast. This year we are fasting from Jan. 1 to Feb. 1. Could you send spiritual devotionals, thoughts, and recipes beyond the 21-day period for those of us that are participating in longer fasts?

    Thanks in advance and God Bless!

    December 30, 2008
  12. Katherine #

    Some members of my church have specific questions about certains foods that can or cannot be eaten during the Daniel Fast.

    1. if you cannot eat bread (becuase of the yeast agent), why are you able to eat whole wheat bread? Can you eat slices of whole wheat bread? Which brand is allowable?

    2. Can you eat popcorn? What are the allowable brands/flavors?

    3. Can you eat oatmeal? If so, can it be the flavored kinds from the box like Maple Sugar, Strawberries, etc.? Any specific brands that are allowable?

    I’m sure I’ll have more as we get closer to our corporate fast beginning in January.

    PS- add me to you emailing list

    December 30, 2008
  13. Talitha #

    Please add me to the e-mail list. Divine intervention is how I found the site. I’ve done the Daniel Fast previously and just checked on-line for a few recipes and found what apears to be a great community. Thanks I look forward to the next 21 days.

    December 30, 2008
  14. Josh #

    This will be my first Daniel fast. I wanted to know more information on what it included as far as food, seasonings, & bottled waters since the begining of vs.3 says I ate no pleasant food. This was the first & only site I visited it has been very helpful. Thank you for your time & efforts May God Bless You!!!

    December 30, 2008
  15. Monica #

    My husband and I will be doing the Daniel Fast in 2009. Please add me to the mailing and email list. I am so looking forward to putting 2008 behind me and moving ahead!!

    December 31, 2008
  16. Linda Haworth #

    Please add me to your list. Thanks…God bless.
    Linda Haworth

    December 31, 2008
  17. Rhonda #

    Hi,
    I will be joining the Daniel Fast 2009. Please add me to the list. This will be my first time participating. I’m so grateful for this site. I think corporate fasting will help me to be successful. I’m expecting to grow closer to God and see Him do great things in my life in 2009. To Him goes all the honor and glory! Be blessed. Thank you.

    December 31, 2008
  18. Tanya #

    I am so excited about joining the Daniel fast. My brother mentioned that he was beginning on Jan 1st, 2009. Researching information, I came across this website. Lots of positive information. Pray for me as I commit to this fast for both spiritual enrichment and weightloss. God works in mysterious ways and I know I came across this sight for a purpose. May God bless each and everyone as we embark on this 21 day journey.

    December 31, 2008
  19. grace cookewaters #

    please forward informtionj

    January 1, 2009
  20. Alesia Brogdon #

    I have started the Daniel Fast. Jan 01 2009. God is good . Please add me to the list for the cookbook.
    Be Blessed.
    Alesia

    January 2, 2009
  21. Brenda Johnson #

    Hello;
    Am preparing to do the Daniel fast beginning on Jan 8th…had a question. I am aware that margarines are a not part of the fast, but was wondering about a product called Olivio. It is made with olive oil. Is that allowed during the fast?
    Thanx,
    Brenda

    January 2, 2009
  22. Hmm, Brenda I am not sure about Olivio. Check out the other ingredients. Please let me know if you find out. I am curious!

    Be blessed on your fast!

    January 2, 2009
  23. Hi Katherine,

    1. Leavened bread is NOT allowed on the Daniel Fast. Flat breads and some crackers are okay. Rice cakes made only of rice and water are fine. The Daniel Fast Cookbook – Version II has many good flat break and cracker recipes.

    2. Popcorn is fine, but not microwave popcorn, which is packed with chemicals and/or butter.

    3. Oatmeal is fine, but not pre-mixed flavored. Again, those are all laden with sweeteners and artificial flavors.

    The reason I wrote the two Daniel Fast Cookbooks is because most of the prepared foods in the grocery store include sweeteners and chemicals. I encourage you to review the Daniel Fast Guidelines and study the foods that can be eaten and those that are off the list.

    Also, one thing we all learn on the Daniel Fast is to READ THE LABELS to learn the ingredients in packaged foods. Most of us are shocked to see all the addiitives!

    I hope this helps!

    January 2, 2009
  24. Hi Nicole,

    I hope to update the Daniel Fast for the Body, Soul and Spirit, although the book is already very complete. I might do that in the spring as I am really busy with the blog and the new site right now.

    The new site is at http://www.Daniel-Fast.com

    I hope you have a very meaningful fast.

    January 2, 2009
  25. Hi Nicole,

    I updated the Daniel Fast Food list when I found the others previously published left people with so many questions. I used to have it on this blog, but after answering hundreds of questions, I realized the “list was broken.” So I fixed the list by making it more complete and consistent.

    The Daniel Fast Cookbook – Version II is now available and you can purchase it on my new web site:

    http://www.Daniel-Fast.com

    Meal preparation will require a little extra work for you since you will be the only one in your household to eat this way (unless you can get your husband and father-in-law on board for health purposes). But I suggest that you make recipes that can last for several days (both cookbooks have many to offer) and then eat them as you serve the rest of your family their normal meals.

    This could be a powerful witness to your family members as they see you loving them by preparing their meals while at the same time sticking with the fasting meals for your own discipline — of course your will want to do all of this with love and joy — no grumbling allowed!

    I hope the very best for you on your Daniel Fast. Please stay in touch.

    January 3, 2009
  26. Hi Shola,

    The Daniel Fast Cookbook – Version II is complete and avaliable at the new web-site I am currently building:

    http://www.Daniel-Fast.com

    But I don’t think I will update the Daniel Fast for the Body, Soul and Spirit until the spring. So many people are enjoying it now and continue to find it very helpful as they learn about the Daniel Fast.

    I hope the very best for you on your Daniel Fast!

    January 3, 2009
  27. Pastor Jentezen is a great man of God and he’s been very instrumental in promoting fasting. I have great respect for him and his ministry! Glory to God.

    I do want to make it clear that while I totally support Pastor Franklin and his ministry, this blog or the http://www.Daniel-Fast.com site are not associated with the good pastor.

    I hope the best for you on your Daniel Fast.

    January 3, 2009
  28. I am very interested in the Daniel Fast. I am turing 43 and feel God calling me to get my body in shape and my relationship with Him in shape! I am taking the first week in January to research and hopefully will start something on January 15th. It’s easier to do it this way for me once the kids are back in school!

    January 3, 2009
  29. Also, have you had an comments on gout relief on this fast. My husband suffers from it and I know it can get better with watching what he puts in his body! Docotors tell you NOT to fast but this is different.

    January 3, 2009
  30. KCoyClay #

    Hi everyone, I am a newbie to the Daniel fast even though I am not new to fasting. When my pastor invited the church to join him in the fast on January 3, I said yes to the invitation but I knew that I needed God to take me through this as I decided to give up two meals and only eat at 6pm.

    I prayed about it and asked God to take me through what I called a test run five days before the actual fast began and surely enough as I enriched my soul with His word, prayed and basked in praise and worship I became so engrossed in the presence of God that I literally did not feel hunger for food but more of Him.

    After that first day I asked God to take me through another day and to strengthen me and He did. On the third day I decided not to take a break but to continue until the official fasting began. God has been faithful as I take tiny steps every second of the day.

    My husband who has been battling cancer and who developed pulmonary embolism according to a CAT Scan report was told that the clots were dissolving. We received that report the day I test-run the fast. I am expecting great things as I stand on His promises regarding the situation.

    I would love to encourage all the newbies, like me, to take it a day at a time with God, the more the temptation to take a “guilt-free” break for no good reason comes, just get on your face before God and remember the real reason you decided to fast in the first place. Be blessed Warriors… CHARGE!!!!

    January 4, 2009
  31. caridad bechtinger #

    can u eat couscous?

    January 5, 2009
  32. Vickie #

    Hi. I’m starting my first Daniel Fast today (Jan 5th). I have a question. With the Daniel Fast do you eat your normal three meals a day of fruits and vegtables or just one meal a day. Thank you. God bless.

    January 5, 2009
  33. Susan #

    Thank you for all this information on the Daniel Fast! Our church has started this fast today corporately and I look forward to see God moving in a mighty way in our church as well as my life personally! I have several specific reasons for this particular fast and am hoping to add this spiritual discipline to my walk with Him from now on when He calls me to fast and pray!

    Again, thank you for this invaluable resource!

    January 5, 2009
  34. Tamara #

    I am starting this FAST tomorrow am for 21 days so that means I will be feeling like an improved person on Jan 26th. I am looking forward to the path I will be on with God and with cleansing my body what a great gift from the start. I am so happy to have happened upon this site~thank you~ I know I will feel good about the benefit this fast offers. I need to have some personal time with God awaiting my blood test results, test is tomorrow. Results next week and I thought this is a great beginning for me! How often do you suggest practicing this fast?

    January 5, 2009
  35. Hi Tamara,

    I fast several times each year, but not always for 21 days and not always the Daniel Fast. I started the Daniel Fast on January 4th to “be in solidarity” with this Daniel Fast Community. But I will go on the Daniel Fast again with my church, which will start on February 1st (I’ll have a week off from fasting), because I want to be part of our corporate fast.

    When I have an issue that requires intense focus and prayer, I usually fast. Sometimes a water-only fast for 3-10 days. Sometimes a juice-only fast . . . it all depends on what’s going on in my life and how the Holy Spirit leads me.

    I hope this helps!

    January 6, 2009
  36. Suzy #

    How do we know that nuts, seeds and legume were not pleasant foods?
    I don’t want to be legalistic but want to enjoy all the things I can.
    Thanks
    Suzy

    January 6, 2009
  37. Adrienne #

    Hi Susan,

    Please add me to the 2009 list! This will be my second year doing the 21 Day Daniel Fast. I am also reading Jentezen Franklin’s book and using the journal in my Fast. I look forward to reading your 2009 book on Fasting. Bless you and all who are taking this journey.

    January 7, 2009
  38. Alicia #

    Hi Susan,
    God bless. I messed up on my fast. I ate something that I should have.
    Does that mean I have to startover my fast? I am here right now very disappointed in myself and so ashamed that I don’t know how to go back in the word. What do I do now? please help me!!!!

    January 9, 2009
  39. Andrew #

    A lot of the churches in the Virgina, MD, DC area have slated to begin the 40 Day Daniel Fast beginning on February 25, 2009 and ending on Sunday, April 12, 2009. It is great that we can all come together on one accord and pray for our nation at a time when pray is much needed. Isaiah 66:18 “For I know their works and their thoughts; the time is coming to gather all nations and tongues. And they shall come and see My glory. (NASB ©1995)All things work together in God’s time, as he stated in his word, Isaiah 55:8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD”, so things might look bad, but God operates in his time not according to the situations of the world.

    Let take the time to Praise Him.

    February 24, 2009

Leave a Reply

