Skip to content

A New Daniel Fast Website

Okay, after the last few weeks of designing and putting together a new Daniel Fast website, autoresponders and a new shopping cart . . . I think rocket science really is easier!

Please take a look a the ‘new Daniel Fast site that I am currently building. It will be one of the support sites where I can offer all kinds of tools and helps to support you in your Daniel Fast.

You can find the site here: www.Daniel-Fast.com

Please visit it periodically as it will be changing almost every day. The same is true of this Daniel Fast Blog. Now that we have entered 2009 you will find new content, thoughts and information every day.

God bless you and I hope the very best for you as you enter the 2009 Daniel Fast.

24 Comments Post a comment
  1. John #

    Have been on the fast for 5 days now I was wondering, in these cold months is there a hot beverage you would recommend,(since we can’t have that hot cup of Starbucks coffee???

    January 2, 2009
  2. Hi John,

    In Daniel 1 we read that the prophet ate only vegetables and drank only water . . . so not only is Starbuck’s off the list, but so are all other beverages except for the clear, fresh stuff. With that in mind, I often drink heated water on chilly days like we are having today in Central Washington (the State, not the city). We warmed up to 34 degrees!

    I hope the very best for you on your fast!

    January 2, 2009
  3. Cathy #

    I may try a cup of hot water with either lemon or a slice of fresh ginger

    January 4, 2009
  4. sandra williams #

    well since i drink tea alot ,and now i just can have water ,tell me a way to make up for the taste thanks

    January 4, 2009
  5. Tim #

    can you have apple juice? I just started today and man am i missing caffeine but man GOD IS GOOD!!!!!!!!!!

    January 5, 2009
  6. Hi Sandra,

    I drink hot water or water with lemons. Some folks add sliced cucumber. But you might start enjoying water, just plain!

    Try to drink at least 1/2 gallon a day and you will find great benefits! It’s the best cleanser and it also suppresses appetite!

    Be blessed on your fast!

    January 6, 2009
  7. Karen #

    I just started the fast yesterday — terrible headaches — went home from work and slept 3 hours. I am feeling somewhat normal today, but the caffeine withdrawls are rough. Thanks for this blog and the wonderful recipes! I am truly seeking God’s face.

    January 13, 2009
  8. Hi Karen,

    Yes, caffeine withdrawals can be difficult. You can mitigate them by drinking a lot of water and taking extra Vitamin C. Also, eat bananas and cantaloupe.

    Thanks for writing!

    January 15, 2009
  9. Letitia #

    Starting 3rd week Daniel fast. First time ever. Wish I had this website information at the beginning of fast as to dos and don’ts. Must confess that I have errored. I am glad to have read this website so that I can finish the last week of this fast the correct way.

    January 25, 2009
  10. Karl #

    can i eat something with rice flour as an ingredient?

    /

    February 4, 2009
  11. Hi Karl,

    Yes, rice flour is allowed on the Daniel Fast when it originates from the whole grain.

    Be blessed!

    February 6, 2009
  12. Ilona #

    Hi Susan:

    I started my very first 21-day fast this past Monday, March 30. All is well except I am experiencing a lot of aches and pains – in my upper back, lower back and hips mostly. Not sure why but having a hard time dealing with the pain and have had to take Advil at least once. Any experience with this kind of situation? I don’t want to take Advil, but its hard to operate without it. When I am home I use ice and that’s great. But at work and school its a little more difficult. Any advice you can give would be appreciated🙂

    Thanks!

    Ilona

    April 3, 2009
  13. Gayle #

    My sis and I are starting tomorrow..Jan3. She’s in Atlanta and I am near Minneapolis…We are both stocking up today. I am making vegetarian split pea soup..and groc shopping later. We are texting back and forth and wondering about a few things and whether or not they are allowed. This is our 3rd year doing this, btw. Here are the items in question: Salt, pepper, almond milk, olive oil,olives, and Pero (a grain beverage that is similar to Postum, also a grain bev. ) Pero is a hot drink and quite a tasty and good substitute for coffee…Thanks for the tip on the caffeine withdrawl…I am NOT looking forward to THAT!

    January 2, 2011
  14. The only beverage on the Daniel Fast is water (see Daniel 1), so Pero will need to wait or be used in a recipe rather than as a beverage. Unsweetened almond milk is allowed as are other unsweetened plant-based milks.

    The other items you mentioned are fine, but adopt the habit to READ THE LABLE on prepared foods so you can a review the ingredients to make sure the contents complies with the Daniel Fast.

    Be blessed and have fun with your sis!

    January 2, 2011
  15. Linsy #

    For hot drinks, try a soy steamer from Starbucks! Great substitute for coffee!

    January 4, 2011
  16. . . . except that the only beverage on the Daniel Fast is water. So the soy steamer will have to wait until after the Daniel Fast.

    Prove thy servants, I beseech thee, ten days; and let them give us pulse to eat, and water to drink. Daniel 1:12

    Pulse is food grown from seed . . . water is water . . . 🙂

    January 4, 2011
  17. Crystal #

    I don’t understand. Why are plant-based milks allowed, but not herbal teas? Isn’t milk considered a beverage? It’s very cold out right now, and I would enjoy a warm drink. I tried hot water with lemon, but every time I drink it, it causes cramping.

    January 13, 2011
  18. The only beverage is water . . . plant-based milks can but used in recipes, but not to drink as a beverage.

    If lemon in our hot water causes cramping . . . switch to plain water.

    I hear ya about the cold weather. It’s been sub-freezing temperatures where I live since long before Christmas! Thank God you have hot water!

    Be blessed on your fast.

    January 13, 2011
  19. John #

    Hello, I started the Daniel fast about about over a week ago. I’ve had an absess tooth in the past and it’s flared up really bad, so I’m in pain and I don’t know if I can take anything for it. I have dabbed clove oil on it but I have no more left and can’t get to the store right now. Since tooth paste is allowed due to not actually being eaten, I’m gonna rub some anbesol on it, which is a oral anesthetic. Pleas let me know if this is ok.

    JR

    January 29, 2014
  20. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi John,
    Yes, take medication as needed to relieve the discomfort that you are in. Be Blessed!

    February 14, 2014
  21. Cookie #

    Is rice flour ok?

    January 8, 2016
  22. If it’s from whole grain rice (i.e. brown rice).

    January 11, 2016
  23. Sam #

    Hello susan on daniels fasting are you allowed to have breskfast?( I don’t ) just a bit confussed and wondering why people are asking for breakfast idea. thought you can only eat in the evenings?

    January 14, 2016
  24. The Daniel Fast is 24/7 for 21 days. No specific times to eat, so you can have breakfast.

    Oatmeal, fruit, brown rice cakes with peanut butter are just a few of the ideas.

    January 15, 2016

Leave a Reply

