Skip to content

Daniel Fast Blogger is baaaack!

Hi friends,

Well, I am back from a fabulous time in Zimbabwe and South Africa. Our nine-member team had a very successful mission trip and God’s presence and blessings went before us the whole time.

I will write more about this experience in the next couple days (if you want to be on the Daniel Fast mailing list go to www.Daniel-Fast.com and sign up). But I just wanted to write a quick note and say thank you for your prayers and support! I can honestly say that God revealed to me in a powerful way that I was in the center of His will while I was there. He also showed me that He has more for me to do in Zimbabwe by partnering with the body of Christ that is so deeply rooted there.

Over the next few days I will catch up with the comments left on the blog. I have another 35 comment replies!

God is so good and I am thankful to know Him and serve Him!

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. Malaika #

    I use soy based meat products in some of the receipes, is this okay.

    June 11, 2009
  2. Hi Malaika,

    You will need to check the ingredients to make sure there are not chemicals or sweeteners included in the products. Many soy-based meat products include MSG or cane juice, which are not allowed on Daniel Fast.

    Be blessed!

    June 13, 2009
  3. ReNae #

    I’m not sure what you mean by chemical free.

    December 27, 2009
  4. Hi ReNae,

    I read a saying the other day: If a food is a plant, then eat it. But if a food is made in a plant, don’t.”

    That’s the same with chemicals added to food. If you read the ingredients in packaged foods, you will see that many a packed with man-made chemicals. Do during the Daniel Fast, we eat no foods with added man-made chemicals.

    I hope this helps.

    December 27, 2009
  5. Carolyn LeCroy #

    What are the guidelines on eating out?

    Can I eat from the Salad Bar? If so, would a vinegar based salad dressing be on the Daniel Fast? I am not a fan of mustard on a salad.

    Can I each vegetables from the Hot Bar? Stewed cabbage, corn on the cob, pinto beans, black eye peas, sweet potatoe in something?

    We have a after Christmas/New Year family gathering at a buffet restaurant and I was trying to decide it I could go or not. I avoid buffets when at all possible.

    January 2, 2010
  6. Lisa #

    My family and I are on the Daniel fast (including our children, which is such a blessing). I would like to make chicken and brocolli, without the chicken. Can I use the packaged sauces from the grocery store? Also, I know we can have brown rice and no white rice, but what about yellow rice. Can we have that? I did not see “artificial flavoring” written on the package, but did see the word “enriched”.

    January 2, 2010
  7. Jacque #

    I was wondering if cous cous was allowed and if so if there was a particular brand that was better. Also, what about risotto? Is it allowed on the Daniel Fast?
    Thank you

    January 8, 2010
  8. c.j. #

    I’m guessing whole wheat pita bread is out of the question?????

    January 8, 2010
  9. That’s right. Pita bread includes leavening, which is not allowed on the Daniel Fast.

    January 10, 2010
  10. Only whole grain pastas are allowed. I have recently seen some whole wheat couscous and risotto, but I’m not sure that it’s very good. I don’t know any brands, but again — even when a brand of pasta says whole grain or whole wheat – read the label as many manufacturers still slip in ingredients that are not accceptable.

    January 10, 2010
  11. Debra #

    Hello Susan:
    I am starting your fast through the encouragement of a friend of mine.
    It’s been a little challenging as I like sweets. Nevertheless, the Lord is getting me through it.
    Debra

    January 11, 2011
  12. rick #

    im not a baker so i bought matzah but ur recipe 4 unleavened bread calls 4 whole wheat flour and the ingrediants 4 the matzah i bought r jus wheat flour and contains gluten is this acceptable 4 the daniel fast thanx 4 ur time ur book has given me the truth and confdence i need to fast god bless u

    April 19, 2011
  13. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Rick,
    If the ingredients do not say Whole wheat flour, then they did not use the Whole grain of wheat to make their flour. So try to find matzah that is made with whole wheat or whole grain flour. Gluten is fine, it’s a type of protein that exist, conjoined with starch, in the form of endosperms of some grass-related grains. I hope this helps, Be Blessed on your Fast!

    April 19, 2011
  14. nikita #

    Hi, was wondering if brown organic cous cous is ok, the ingredients are organic spelt flour and water.

    Also is organic wholemeal pitta bread ok? Ingrediants are wholemeal flour, water, sea salt, yeast. Contains wheat gluten

    March 12, 2012
  15. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Nikita,
    The couscous needs to be made from whole grain flour. So try to find out if this is a whole grain spelt flour. As for the pitta bread, there is no leavening agents (yeast, baking soda, baking powder) allowed on the fast. Be Blessed!

    March 13, 2012
  16. I truly enjoy this blog it is very informative, but your ads make it very difficult to read some of your pages because they pop up in the middle and I can’t seem to figure out how to get rid of them.

    January 3, 2013
  17. Oh, we are sorry about the ads. We don’t place them. It’s part of WordPress. But I’ll see if we can get them turned off.

    Thanks for letting us know!

    January 3, 2013
  18. Brittny #

    Hi Susan,

    I purchased a Vegan Shanghia Dumpling made by Macro Vegetarian. The ingredients are: Organic whole wheat flour, unbleached wheat flour, organic cabbage, shitake mushroom, organic crimini mushroom, organic scallions, organic parsley, organic sundried tomatoes, filtered water, organic ginger, sesame tahini, paprika, sea salt, spices, sesame oil. I am questioning the second ingredient, unbleached wheat flour. I am not sure if this is acceptable on the Daniel fast. Please let me know if this is okay or not?

    Thank you for all your guidance and support. I have found your website to be very helpful.

    January 6, 2014
  19. Yes, Brittny, all the ingredients are acceptable for the fast.

    Be blessed

    January 9, 2014

Leave a Reply

