Skip to content

Another good reason for no MSG on the Daniel Fast

I just read an article from Johns Hopkins University that cited a new study about MSG. You can find it at MSG STUDY. It’s worth reading, especially when you wonder why you feel so good while on the Daniel Fast.

The article is also very convincing as to why most men and women lose weight while on the Daniel Fast. Here’s an overview:

The study finds that MSG causes the human body to gain weight three times more than those who don’t use the chemical! Here’s an excerpt:

“The study focused on 750 Chinese men and women, ages 40-59, living in 3 rural villages in north and south China. Most of the study subjects prepared their meals at home without commercially processed foods and roughly 82 percent used MSG. Those participants who used the highest amounts of MSG had nearly 3 times the incidence of overweight as those who did not use MSG, even when physical activity, total caloric intake, and other possible explanations for body mass differences were accounted for. The positive correlation between MSG and higher weight confirmed what animal studies have been suggesting for years.”

Most people think MSG (monsodium glutamate) is found only in prepared Chinese food or the food you get in Chinese restaurants. But the truth is that more and more food manufactures are adding MSG to their products because the chemical is a flavor enhancer.

Here is what is really amazing: in 1950 Americans consumed about 1 million pounds of MSG a year. Now that consumption has increased by 300 percent! That’s right, American consume more than 3 million pounds of MSG each year! And we wonder why we have a weight problem!

The best way to avoid MSG is to make you own meals from scratch. When that it’s possible, then – here we go again – READ THE LABEL on the foods you purchase to see what the ingredients include. One problem is that the law only requires ingredients to be listed if they represent a certain percent of all the ingredients. So if what seems like only a small amount of MSG is added, then it will not appear on the list.

I hope that most of those on the Daniel Fast are making most of your meals from fresh products and using packaged products that you can be sure don’t include chemicals. One thing I know is that many men and women continue to eat a more healthy diet with pure foods after they complete the fast because they realize good food is so good for them.

Please take a few minutes and read the article about THE MSG STUDY. You owe it to yourself and to your body!

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. Matt #

    “Here is what is really amazing: in 1950 Americans consumed about 1 million pounds of MSG a year. Now that consumption has increased by 300 percent! That’s right, American consume more than 300 million pounds of MSG each year! And we wonder why we have a weight problem!”

    If we ate 1 Million Pounds, and it increased 300 Percent, that would equal 3 Million pounds… if the numbers are correct, that is.

    Also, Monosodium Glutamate is naturally occurring in most ALL savory foods. The foods having the most of this being Meat (mainly Red Meat) But it is Found in many other things as well.

    I personally Don’t eat many foods with it added, because I just do not like many things added to my food. The Daniel Fast is very close to the way i eat all the time, i just drink Plenty milk, and eat meat 2-3 times a week. Maybe

    My 2 Cents

    August 1, 2009
  2. Hey Matt,

    Thanks so much for catching my mathematical mistake! I fixed it on the post. And you are correct, there is natural MSG. However that which the Johns Hopkins article is commenting on is that extra that is added to so much processed food.

    Love your 2 cents! Thanks!🙂

    August 3, 2009
  3. Matt #

    No Problem! Yea, When added in processed foods, it is too much. Along with many other things put into processed …Cough Salt, Sugar Cough…

    I love what you guys are doing! Keep it up!

    August 3, 2009
  4. Thanks, Matt!

    August 8, 2009
  5. cindy #

    Dear Susan,
    I may have asked you this before, but I can’t remember. If so, please forgive my repeating myself. If sugar is not listed in the Ingrediants but is listed under the Nutrition Facts, what does that mean exactly? Even though I know it is way better to make everything from scratch, sometimes that is just not possible. Is there a brand of soup out there that you know about that is Daniel Fast friendly when you’re in a crunch and haven’t been able to make homemade? Thanks for all you continue to do!

    August 17, 2009
  6. Hi Cindy,

    I am delighted that you asked this question again as it will help others! Lots of natural foods contain sugar in them. So those are fine on the Daniel Fast (although it’s still wise to limit them, especially if you need to watch your blood sugar for health or weight loss reasons). But what is NOT allowed on the Daniel Fast is when sugar has been added by the food manufacturer.

    When people start reading the labels about the foods, they are stunned at the amount of sweeteners and chemicals added to foods. It’s a real wake-up call! So, keep you eyes out for sugar or sweeteners in the list of “ingredients” on the label.

    I usually make my own soups, but I occasionally buy the boxed variety that you can find in the natural foods section of most supermarkets. However, you will need to read those labels, because sweeteners are often added (cane juice is sugar in a different form).

    I hope this helps!

    August 18, 2009
  7. Miriam #

    I was reading the label on organic olives. One of the ingredients is citric acid, which is a natural preservative. My guess is, it is not permitted for the Daniel Fast. I’m am going in a new direction in life, starting out on my own at 50. My Lord says that if I acknowledge Him, He will direct my path. I will begin the Daniel Fast in a few days.

    August 25, 2009
  8. Hi Miriam,

    Actually, if they are organic olives the citric acid is most likely “naturally derived.” That means that it’s not a man-made chemical and would be allowed on the Daniel Fast.

    Be blessed on the fast and my prayer is that you will learn more about seeing the Lord as your First Love, your Provider and your Father. He loves you so much and will be there for you always. He is closer and more loving than any earthly person. He is always calling us to trust in Him more and to enjoy the rest that depending on Him gives.

    Peace to you!

    September 1, 2009
  9. James Moore #

    I went on the Daniel Fast last year and we used no salt and pepper. I got sick with cramps. The doctor said it was due to no salt in my body or something. My church is going on it again this year and I would love to go but don’t want the doctor bill! Can I use salt on the fast or not? please help me.

    December 18, 2009
  10. Hi James,

    Yes, by all means you can use salt, pepper and all other pure spices and seasonings. I’m not sure where you got the information that salt and pepper are not allowed on the Daniel Fast, but I do know there is a lot of MISinformation out there. I have been researching the Daniel Fast for many years and I encourage you to go to the http://www.Daniel-Fast.com to receive a copy of the Daniel Fast Guidelines.

    Fasting should never bring harm to the body . . . so please be sure to follow the Daniel Fast Guidelines that are based on the fasting practices of the prophet and typical Jewish fasting principles.

    Be blessed!

    December 18, 2009
  11. Ida #

    This is my frist time doing the Daniel Fast. This is day 16 for me and I feel great. I have been getting up early in the moring to spend time with our Father and it has been wonderful. I can hear Him more clearly at that time.
    I want to thank you for all that you do to help us while we are on the fast. The info, scriptures and prayers. You have been a blessing. Love you my sister in CHRIST🙂 I am praying for you also.

    January 16, 2010
  12. Nancy Hynie #

    Is there a version of this fast that is safe for a diabetic?

    February 18, 2010
  13. Hi Nancy,

    I receive countless message from men and women with diabetes who are able to control their blood sugar levels by eating a balanced Daniel Fast diet. Meals that center on whole grains, fruits and vegetables treat the body well and you most likely will find that you can reduce or eliminate medications while on the fast.

    With that said, you will want to monitor your BS levels and if you sense the need to modify the Daniel Fast eating plan, then that would be totally acceptable. However, even if you do modify it, you will want to stay within appropriate boundaries rather than satisfying the flesh for cravings.

    I hope this helps!

    February 19, 2010
  14. Elisabeth Beauvais #

    I am wondering why my fasting blood sugar has spiked since being on the fast? My normal BS is 80-84, since starting the fast it has gone up to 120-127. This concerns me as diabetes runs in the family. I am wondering if it is all the fruit or a combination of foods, or just not eating the proper amount of certain food. Thanks

    January 4, 2011
  15. Jacquelyn D. #

    Hi Susan,

    I’ve done the Daniel fast in the past and will start on 01/09/11. I have a question about salad dressings. I really love salads and would like to continue eating them while fasting. I can’t find any dressings without additives or preservatives. When I’ve tried to make my own dressing, it has been a disaster. I love the vinaigrettes, but also like a few drizzles of poppy seed. Please help!

    January 5, 2011
  16. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Jacquelyn,
    You can make your own salad dressings and there are many recipes in the Daniel Fast Cookbooks http://www.daniel-fast.com
    Also, a favorite prepared dressing that fits the Daniel Fast is Newman’s Own Oil and Vinegar Salad Dressing.
    Be Blessed on your Fast!

    January 5, 2011
  17. Jacquelyn D. #

    Thanks so much, I will purchase it this week end!
    Jacquelyn…

    January 6, 2011
  18. Hi Elizabeth,

    I’m not a health professional, but it’s likely because you ate foods that were too high on the glycemic index. The Daniel Fast is a very healthy way to eat and I receive countless messages from men and women with diabetes who are able to totally balance their BS levels by eating a balanced Daniel Fast plan.

    I suggest you minimize fruits with higher amounts of natural sugar and instead concentrate on whole grain meals, hearty salads, beans and rice and other legume dishes.

    Be blessed on the Daniel Fast.

    January 8, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Another good reason for no MSG on the Daniel Fast | Fitness Through Fasting Blog

Leave a Reply

