Skip to content

It’s Daniel Fast Time – Jesus Take the Wheel!

Hello my dear friends,

This little gals fingers are flying as fast as they can to answer Daniel Fast emails, respond to posts and fulfill orders! Thankfully, my will soon join me to help out! So if you are wondering why I seem “silent” to your specific message — that’s why.

I really do try to answer each one individually, but right now there are nearly 300 in just one of my inboxes . . . so you can understand my plight.

The best way to get information fast is to register at http://www.Daniel-Fast.com so you can receive The Daniel Fast Guidelines, fasting tips and news about the fast!

Thanks in advance for your understanding . . . and your prayers!

Be blessed as you prepare for the New Year Fast to continue to grow in the love and knowledge of Christ.

39 Comments Post a comment
  1. lisi #

    Joining today

    January 2, 2010
  2. Clarietha Boyd #

    Hi Susan,

    I am ready to start the fast and I ordered the cookbook and I haven’t received the download instructions. How long does this procedure take. Your ad says immediate download.

    January 3, 2010
  3. Mary Jones #

    I will be fasting by giving up the dinner meal to pray for my family and the nation.

    January 3, 2010
  4. keguillen #

    I am starting the fast tomorrow in Anchorage Alaska and am truly excited about what God is going to do in mine and my family’s lives. I keep telling myself…I can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens me!!!

    January 3, 2010
  5. Kelly Boggs #

    I’m doing the Daniel Fast now…started 1/4/10. I’m excited to see the spiritual and physical results from it. I’ve been in a major rut spiritually for a while now and really need to feel the Lord’s presence again. I also gave up Facebook for 21 days! I want to give it all I’ve got this year.

    January 3, 2010
  6. Tim #

    I started today this morning. I am really considering getting your books cause i think that i would like to do this on a regular basis. Can’t wait to see what God is going to do.

    January 4, 2010
  7. I joined and downloaded cookbook today! Fasting for us starts tomorrow. This is our first time! Our church in Wilmington, NC Life Community Church is doing it as a church (for those who want to participate). Think it can only mean good things! Praise God!

    January 5, 2010
  8. onetaser #

    Starting the Daniel Fast on 1/10/10. Used to fast alot in my youth and early twenties. yes i remember that fasting worked and never failed. somewhere in life at 56 now i lost my way and still remained a unfocused christian life has become a struggle and no joy i have been reconnecting with the bible and GOD. And, I have been lead to the Daniel fast. I am excited about fasting and becoming closer spiritually with God. It is funny how in life you are just rollin along when you feel the need for that connection and you need it nothing else is as important. The love and snergy felt by connecting with God. God Bless all of you on your jounries.

    January 7, 2010
  9. Vanita #

    Hello,

    I started my daniel fast on Jan 26th only to discover that i had black tea (without milk) and deep fried food (french fries!). And its not on the list…

    Praise God today I got up and didnt have any tea…God is good. I am DESPERATELY in need for not one, but many miracles…please uphold in your prayers.

    Vanita.

    January 7, 2010
  10. Katrina Williams #

    I have been on the fast for 5 days and honestly I have never felt better. God has truly opened my heart and my mind to his will. I pray constantly and the devil has tried to deter me once or twice, but I am standing strong . My church Central Church of God in Charlotte NC has taken on this wonderful soul searching quest and am overjoyed by what is to come. Pray my strength in the Lord

    January 9, 2010
  11. Brenda #

    Today is January 10, 2010 and I’m starting for the first time the Daniel Fast. I pray that I committ to this for 7 days and wholeheartedly seek God to take over my life and lead me where I can’t go by myself.

    January 10, 2010
  12. Kristin #

    Katrina and Brenda,

    I am starting this fast today for the first time as well, for 21 days *3 weeks* as planned by my pastor and the head of our church, DILLON CHURCH OF GOD in Dillon, SC. I am not sure that I can do all parts of the fast, but I know I can do the sacrificial parts as long as I trust in the Lord and lean not on my own understanding but in each and every way follow Christ and my paths will be led straight and narrow!!! This is what God says in His Word is necessary for pure and holy – righteous – living, according to the ten commandments and other laws and rules in the BIBLE!! God bless you both and please feel free to e-mail me anytime with questions, comments, prayer requests, etc. I would love to have more CHRISTIAN friends ~ that’s what the world needs most of all in such perilous times as these!! GOD BLESS YOU AND GOD BLESS AMERICA AGAIN!!

    January 11, 2010
  13. Sheila Harris #

    I started my fast on Jan 10, 2010
    I want to be closer to God and I need a miracle with my finances, it just keeps getting worst and worst. I Believe God has lead me to do the Daniel Fast, however I fsted all Day Sunday, now I am just on the Daniel Fast completley. I will be doing this for 21 days and I can’t not wait for God to show up in my life. Praise God! Amen. I knwo he will show me the way.

    January 12, 2010
  14. Sheryl Pressley #

    Today is January 12, 2010. I am on my 3rd day of the Daniel Fast. This is my first time doing the Daniel Fast. I had a real hard day yesterday. Giving up coffee is the hard one for me. I am praying that my mind will stay focused on My Heavenly Daddy and that He will meet with me in a powerful way during this time. Today is a better day!

    January 12, 2010
  15. Kristy #

    I have just started the Daniel fast and find it easier than I had thought it would be. I have many things that I am seeking the lord to lead me in the right direction. I have faith in the lord that I will have the miracles needed at this time in my life. He will see me through the 21 days and enrich my life as needed.

    January 12, 2010
  16. Hi Kristy,

    The Daniel Fast is a wonderful opportunity to feed our souls, strengthen our spirits and renew our bodies. The challenge can be when food controls us too much . . .

    We can learn so much about ourselves when we fast if we ask ourselves why we are so upset that we can’t have chips or why we consciously chose to cheat on the fast . . . this is a great opportunity to learn about ourselves so we can make the right corrections and get closer to the image of God we were created to be.

    January 12, 2010
  17. Barbara #

    I started the Daniel fast on January 10,2010 with my church,in Lake City Florida CCM. This is our third year. We as a body are believing for a break through in our community.I love this site it helps a lot.I have ask God to show me when I try to buy or eat anything not in Daniel Fast.I really want God to touch a family matter I have.I need a touch to walk deeper with God.Thanks for you site

    January 12, 2010
  18. Sherry #

    Susan,

    Please clarify this fast for my friend. She is under the impression that you just have to give up 1 thing for the 21 days! My husband, myself and several others at the church were not under this impression of the Daniel’s Fast. The way I understand it, to truly follow the fast, you must have basically fruits, vegetables and water. I know there are other acceptable items, but this is mainly what we are to be eating during this time. Please clarify for her and any other readers that may be confused. She is treating this as if it is Lent.

    Thank you!

    January 13, 2010
  19. Hi Sherry,

    The Daniel Fast is based on fruits, vegetables and whole grains. I sometimes explain it as a vegan diet with more restrictions. You can get a copy of the Daniel Fast Guidelines at http://www.Daniel-Fast.com

    There are many kinds of fasting and the Daniel Fast is the most popular partial fast. It is much more restrictive than just one specific food.

    January 13, 2010
  20. Mary Hill-Holmes #

    I’am doing a corporate daniel fast with my church for 21 days. We started on January 10, 2010. I opted for the first five days to do only liquids ( water, 100% juice). This site has been very helpful and it’s good to know that their are so many people who are willing to make sacrifices to get closer to God and know his purpose for their life. I noticed you said soymilk can only be used for cooking and in cereals but I have some proteins drink that have soymilk in them. Should proteins drinks be eliminated from the fast.

    Thank you for your patience and encouraging words.

    May God continue to use you in a very special way.

    January 14, 2010
  21. Hi Holmes,

    Regarding your question about protein drinks: Remember that all the foods we consume on the Daniel Fast should include only ingredients that comply with the Daniel Fast Guidelines (available at http://www.Daniel-Fast.com). I have seen unsweetened soy protein powder in the natural foods section of supermarkets.

    I hope this helps! Thanks for your kind words!

    January 18, 2010
  22. Rashidat #

    Its funny how I just bumped upon this site..I thank God though. Well I usually fast 3x/week. But been finding it a little difficulty to not desire food throughout that time. So “Daniel Fast” came to mind cause I can still seek God’s face and enjoy a healthy diet at that! Im praying for spiritual breakthrough with this fast and for him to TOP my Expectations. Its my First time at it so im Excited! Great Site!

    February 3, 2010
  23. Mercy #

    Just wanted to ask for prayer. This is my 1st time doing a long fasting and I am praying that I will have a very close relationship with my Father in heaven. I love this web site and thank you!

    March 4, 2010
  24. Diana #

    I wanted to stop in and see how things are going. Today was my first day, no cokes OUCH…. I enjoyed the salads and fruits and nuts but most of all looking forward to getting in touch with God in a deeper way. God bless, Di

    June 15, 2010
  25. Diana #

    So how did it go? I love cokes and today is my second day…I am still alive LOL…God Bless Di

    June 16, 2010
  26. James Upshaw Linder #

    I started my fast on 11/1/10, I only eat two meal a day one at 5:30am and the other at 6pm, has anyone done it this way before, and is it healthy to do it this way?

    November 7, 2010
  27. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi James,
    There isn’t any clear guidelines to the amount of food to eat while on the Daniel fast, how many meals per day or the time of day for the meals. . . . but I do encourage people to eat three moderate meals and two small snacks each day. If you’re not a three meal a day person (like me) it will take additional discipline to do this. However, if this is working well for you then continue on with it, just make sure you are drinking plenty of water daily (1/2 of your body weight in ounces – 140lb person = 70oz).
    Be Blessed in this time of fasting!

    November 9, 2010
  28. Hi Susan,
    My best friend gave me The Daniel Fast for the nutritional values in the diet. My husband has some health issues and needed to go on a cholesterol and sodium lowering diet. Little did I know that this book would make such an incredible inpact on our lives.

    I had a baby last December, and though she is big and beautiful now, we struggled a lot with her for several months and came very close to losing her. She continues to have health issues, and we are working with the incredible doctors at Seattle Children’s to sift through the muck and find out what is truely going on.

    This has been an incredibly difficult year for us, and the hits continued to come as my older daughter started having an issue with her heart, which put us again in the capable hands of Children’s. My youngest daughter is on an infant formula that costs us $470 a month, and on top of that we have a whole host of medical bills that are piling up on us.

    My husband and his father operate their own business and we recently have suffered crippling knocks to our business, leaving us fearful, stressed and overwhelmed.

    My best friend gave this book to me at the perfect time- and it was all orchestrated by God. We are on day 6 of our fast, and already we have seen INCREDIBLE things from God. I got a phone call just hours ago from Children’s saying they have taken up our financial situation, and ALL of our daughters’ care will now be covered 100% for the next 6 months!!!!!!!!! Is God in credible or what!? And not only that, but they have covered all the old bills that we owe as well. I just know that through this process, not only will my family be taken care of, but that ALL of our needs will be met, and it is so easy to let go of the fear when you see God move in such inconceivable ways!

    I love the encouragement this site provides, and I hope that our story of God’s provision and faithfulness encourages others! What is truely amazing is we began fasting for our business, because if we lose it we lose everything, but God chose to reveal himself to us a step beyond just what we were praying and fasting for- He chose to provide for the other things that weighed so heavily and deeply on our hearts, but wasn’t what we were focused on at this time. He loves and knows us through and through- what a comforting feeling =)

    God Bless!!

    Jamie

    December 6, 2010
  29. Dearest Jamie,

    I am so happy for you! Our God is so good and He is there for us at every turn. I hope that during this time of prayer and fasting that you pray the will of God for you and your family. He wants you to prosper and be in good health . . . and all of your needs are already taken care of in His riches and glory with Christ Jesus.

    Prayer causes the proclamations of heave to be enacted on earth. Just like Jesus taught, “Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.”

    Praise God, He is so good.

    By the way, I’m in Ellensburg now but really a Seattle girl! Children’s is one of the Emerald City’s best gems!

    Be blessed and thank you so much for your great report!

    December 6, 2010
  30. Karen #

    It’s new year’s eve and my resolution is to begin the new year with the Daniel Fast. It would’ve been great if I’d read more of the postings on your blog before beginning the fast. For example, I didn’t know, until several minutes ago, that one should wean themselves off of the sugars, fats and processed foods at least 10 days prior to the fast. Hopefully, I won’t have to postpone my fast!?! Blessings to you and have a prosperous new year!

    December 31, 2010
  31. Hi Karen,

    The big deal is caffeine. Be sure to drink lots of water. It’s the best cleanser!

    December 31, 2010
  32. Rose Maxey #

    Good Morning and Happy New Year in Jesus Name, I am beginning the Daniel Fast 1-1-11, for a closer walk with God. I am fasting and praying to God that He bless my family with Good health, closeness with one another, finanical blessings for myself and family, I am going to trust God all the way and putting Him first in my life in everything I do. I thank God for all the lessons I learned from 2010 and He made a way for me everytime and every situation that came up. I give God all the glory, God is bigger than anything I have in my life.I pray His strength during My 1st Daniel Fast. May God bless you in 2011 in Jesus name

    January 1, 2011
  33. Debra #

    I am beginning the Daniel Fast as it is written in this site. Just a curiosity, any one have a thought on why non caffinated herbal tea is not included? It is plant based. If it is more about obedience, I get that and will do all I, my Lord and my little family can do to follow. Any and all prayers or words of wisdom are welcome. I begin tomorrow January 11, 2011.

    Debra

    January 10, 2011
  34. Hi Debra,

    Daniel 1:12 says, “Prove thy servants, I beseech thee, ten days; and let them give us pulse to eat, and water to drink.”

    So this is why the only beverage is water . . .

    January 10, 2011
  35. Brenda #

    A friend of mind said you can go on this fast for 10 days, it that true?

    January 14, 2011
  36. There are no required number of days. I have used this fast for as few as 9 days and for as many as 50.

    Your friend is probably getting the 10 days from Daniel 1 where the prophet was tested after 10 days . . . but that doesn’t mean that he only ate that way for 10 days . . .

    With that said there are no requirements for the number of days using the Daniel Fast as your method of fasting. The most important is to seek the Lord for how long to fast.

    Be blessed!

    January 14, 2011
  37. Do I abstain from eating all day and then have one evening meal after sunset?

    January 6, 2014
  38. Some people fast in that manner, but it is not part of the Daniel Fast.

    Be blessed.

    January 9, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. It's Daniel Fast Time – Jesus Take the Wheel! « The Daniel Fast |

Leave a Reply

