Skip to content

Hidden Power in Mistakes and Disappointments

Learn from MistakesSometimes things don’t go as we had planned. We mess up. We don’t receive the outcome we had hoped for. Or situations “happen to us” that we didn’t want! No one likes to make mistakes or to be disappointed. But when stuff happens, we can use it for positive change in our lives.

When you make a mistake, turn it into a learning experience. Prayerfully “unpack” what happened. As the Holy Spirit to help you look at the cause, the trigger, the point of weakness, the lack of knowledge or whatever is there that fed into the mistake happening. For example, on the Daniel Fast, did you eat a food that you later learned was not allowed? Why? Because you didn’t know. And why didn’t you know? Because you hadn’t studied it out before you started the fast. When you know better you do better. So make the adjustment and move forward. The same is true for a point of weakness. You caved and ate the hamburger or drank the cup of coffee! You did exactly what you didn’t want to do! Ouch! But use the same strategy to turn this into a learning and growth opportunity with your Teacher. Let Him show you how to do better next time you are faced with temptation.

How about when you are counting on an outcome that ends in disappointment? Again, you can turn this into a learning experience with your Rabbi Jesus. This happened to a friend of mine. She wanted a promotion that she thought sure she would get. But she was passed up for others who were more qualified. The people who received the promotion had invested a lot of time learning new skills and gaining experiences that prepared them for the promotion. My friend was really disappointed. But instead of grumbling (okay, she did grumble for a while), she took a look at what she was missing and found ways to learn, grow and get stronger. When the promotion was available the next time she was ready . . . and was chosen.

Do you have disappointments in your life that can point to a learning experiences you can discover? Have you made some mistakes that you can turn into growth opportunities? We always have a choice about how we will respond to life’s circumstances. The Bible says, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28 ~ He will work for our good, but we also are called to open our minds and hearts for the growth lessons He has for us. And that’s just one of the ways that negatives turn into blessings. Praise God!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Joycelyn #

    Susan, today’s message was truly a revelation to me from God.
    This morning I planned on having muesli, blueberries and Almond milk for breakfast. I had prepared it and was ready to eat it when I decided to read the carton. It read Original, not the unsweetened that I had thought I picked up at the grocer. I then read the ingredients label and one of the ingredients were cane sugar. I was devastated! I couldn’t believe I had picked up the wrong milk by mistake. I couldn’t believe I had been ingesting sugar each time I ate muesli or made a breakfast smoothie. I gave the milk to my son who is vegan.
    I asked God what was He trying to teach me from this experience. I came away with this: Sometimes we do things as a Christian that seems right, but there is something there that should not be. Something that causes us to lose our focus. I’m sure I looked at the unsweetened milk but turned my focus onto something else and picked up the Original milk. My focus must be as yesterday’s devotion stated: “set…on things above, not on things on the earth.”
    Thank you so much Susan for your godly words of encouragement. I was really beating myself up about this until I read your message. May our God continue to bless you to be a blessing to us.

    January 13, 2014
  2. Glenn #

    Thank you so much, Susan I feel as I know you. Your so sweet to do this. May our Lord bless you always.

    January 13, 2014
  3. Marion Lacey #

    I am fasting for a deleivence free Epilepsy, deafness, arthritis rejection memory problems & to know the power of his Resurrection. I have to be careful wwith this diet as I am on a normal diet. I am only not taking my favorite food but I have made a couple mistakes. I need to be confident doing it as I have had a couple of seizures. I am doing what Jesus told the disciples pray & fast

    January 13, 2014
  4. Tintswalo #

    Very informative. GOD BLESS

    January 16, 2014
  5. Thank you so much for sharing this! So great and packed with biblical truths.

    Be blessed on your fast!

    January 18, 2014
  6. Thank you for being so informative about the daniel fast, didn’t know I had so many choices about food. I think you are doing a great thing, sharing your knowlege about Jesus Christ with the world. I am a beliver, but I drink coffee every two days that will be the hardest thing for me on the Danielfast.

    April 8, 2014

Leave a Reply

