Skip to content

Faith and Discipline

BibleConfession time! I didn’t want to read my Bible today! My to-do list was calling my name. My mind kept wandering off to an article I wanted to write. I have a serious deadline I need to meet . . . and I wanted to get to my projects.

But then I was reminded . . . our faith is a spiritual discipline. That means I don’t rely on how I “feel” to determine what I will do! And even though there will be times when I don’t want to sit quietly and meet God in His Word and pray . . . it doesn’t matter. As a disciple of Jesus Christ, I do what is best for the development of my faith and what the Lord wants for me.

So often, especially these days in our culture, we rely on our “feelings” to lead and direct our live. But feelings can be flawed. They can be wrong. And they can even be counterfeit (there are so many thing that might feel good in the natural that are so wrong for us as followers of Jesus). So feelings are not our guide.

God has given us an instruction book . . . a user’s manual for a life of faith and obedience. His Word is our guide and it never fails and will never steer us wrong. Over and over again, our Lord calls us to be in His Word each day. For example, Joshua 1:8 tells us, “Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.”

There are so many times when we need to just do the right thing (a.k.a. “righteous” or right way of living for God), even when we don’t want to. There are times when I feel fear coming on . . . and because Jesus says, “Fear not, only believe,” I change from fear to trust. There are times when I feel perturbed with people, and I hear that still small voice saying, “Make love your aim.” So I back off and choose love and patience.

Believe me, I don’t always make the right choice. But it’s my intention and the more often I choose the ways of the Lord . . . the more consistent I become.

So, even though there were so many other things I wanted to do this morning rather than take the time to study God’s word and pray . . . I did. I followed the discipline and was able to drink from God’s Living Waters and be refreshed. And now I am thankful, better equipped and spiritually nourished for what lies ahead for this day

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Don #

    You are sooo right! How easy it is for us to derail our trains when we “take control” of our lives. Our days run much smoother when we …let go and let God. Thanks for the reminder.

    January 14, 2014
  2. katia Pascoal #

    Genesis bread is allowed on Daniel fasting?

    January 14, 2014
  3. Heleen #

    Are you allowed to eat eggs on the Daniel fast?

    January 14, 2014
  4. Angel #

    Amen.

    January 15, 2014
  5. Tina #

    Funny thing. Today I had a limited amount if time & I wanted to use it for my quiet time but my flesh would get distracted. “Just rinse up those dishes then sit down. But the list continued.” I finally picked up on what the enemy was doing and STOPPED to sit. I’m reminded when I spend time with my daddy, He gives me more then enough time to acconplish all tasks for the day with a joyful attitude.

    January 15, 2014
  6. No, only plant-based foods are allowed on the Daniel Fast. I encourage you to prepare yourself for this powerful experience by reading the book. I know it will help you! All the food issues and more are covered! Here is the link to learn more about it: http://www.amazon.com/dp/1414334133/?tag=lacatt-20

    January 18, 2014
  7. I’m not sure what Genesis bread includes for ingredients. No leavens are allowed on the fast . . . nor sweeteners. So check out the ingredients and make sure they comply with the Daniel Fast Guidelines.

    January 18, 2014
  8. I started the Daniel Fast on the 1st and after 10 days I got off because of the smoothies made from strawberries and blueberries I believe it was berries that upset my stomach, I suffer with irritable bowel and acid reflux so I just stopped the fast. The day I stopped the fast I felt so guilty and condemned I didn’t know what to do. So I went to God and asked Him to forgive me.

    January 18, 2014
  9. j #

    Is cream of wheat allowed during the fast?

    February 4, 2014
  10. Daniel Fast Team #

    Cream of Wheat (also known as Wheat Farina) is Not a whole grain (the bran and most of the germ are removed in processing) making it unsuitable for the Daniel Fast. An alternative would be Bob’s Red Mill Creamy Wheat (only whole wheat as the ingredient), and then there’s always good Old Fashioned Oatmeal. I hope this helps, Be blessed on your Fast!

    February 8, 2014

Leave a Reply

