Skip to content

My Favorite Recipes for the Spirit, Soul and Body

cookbookThe good news about today’s culture is that we have so many choices. But there is another side to that coin! Sometimes we can have so many choices that we feel overwhelmed and confused. And what experts teach us is this: The confused mind says, ‘No!’

That’s why I try to find simple, go-to solutions that I know always work and that I can count on. They’re “recipes for success,” whether it’s a matter of the spirit, a matter of the soul, or even what to cook for dinner when both time and creativity are short! So here are my “go-to recipes” that I use regularly. I hope you find them useful to you, also!

Success recipe for spiritual matters: The Bible teaches us in 2 Peter 1:3 this powerful truth, “His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.” Did you catch that? The Word says we have everything we need for a godly life! And that everything comes through our knowledge of Christ.

So whenever you need a spiritual boost or a have a question about your life . . . go to Jesus and His Word! Find scriptures that speak to your need. Very often, I print the scriptures on cards or small pieces of paper and post them all around my house. I recall I time when I was facing serious financial matters due to the sub-prime mortgage debacle. I desperately needed God’s hand to work in my life. So I claimed Deuteronomy 28:8, “The Lord will command the blessing on you in your storehouses and in all to which you set your hand, and He will bless you in the land which the Lord your God is giving you.”

I posted that verse in six or seven places in my house so I would see it throughout the day. Every time my eyes laid on the verse, I read it allowed and affirmed the truth that God always upholds His promises. I chose faith over worry . . . and it was through this practice and a powerful journey of faith with the Lord, that He pulled me out and met my need in a way I never expected.

So when you have a need, go to the Word. I like to ask and answer these questions about the matter I present to the Lord: 1) What does the Lord say about this? 2) What does the enemy say about this? 3) What do I say about it? And then I discipline myself so that my thoughts and words match with those of my wise and truthful God.

Success recipe for matters of the soul: Our soul is the part of us that is our mind, will, emotions and personality. When we experience thoughts, attitudes, feelings, and character qualities that are not in line with the ways of God, then we can see these are opportunities for growth and transformation.

Romans 12:2 of God’s Word says, “Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” Our minds need renewal so God’s truth and our faith are guiding our lives.

Some of the emotions we might feel are fear, jealousy, or bitterness. But these emotions don’t line up with God’s ways. We might have a judgmental attitude or a critical way toward ourselves and others. We might have strong beliefs about issues . . . that are not consistent with God’s Word.

So the recipe for success is one of submitting ourselves to God and allowing His Holy Spirit and Word to change us . . . to transform us. His Word is always the truth! His ways are always the best. And He is always the best mentor for leading our lives so we can indeed be transformed so we really know and behave according to “that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.”

Success recipe for our body: Whether we are fasting or during our everyday lives, we want to take good care of our physical bodies. The Bible says, “Do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own?  For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.” 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

If we live by this command . . . then we are called to make good and healthy choices for what we should eat and what we should drink. And for many of us that means overhauling our typical fast-food and processed food choices and developing a lifestyle of health.

When we choose health, we want to make it easy and doable. Especially in today’s busy times, we need recipes that are easy to make, are satisfying to the palette and have good nutritional and economic value!

Susan' Vegetarian ChiliOne of the best practices is to make sure you have healthy foods available. And one of my very favorite go-to recipes for the Daniel Fast (and even when I’m not fasting) is my Vegetarian Chili. I’ve been making this recipe for decades now . . . and it’s still a winner!

You can make this recipe in less than 20 minutes (from start to serving) and you can have all the ingredients you need on hand for those times when you need “fast food” of a healthy sort.  Just click on the ink below for a copy of the recipe. I hope you print it out and add it to your own collection and that it becomes one of your “go to recipes” for your healthy lifestyle.

Click Here for Susan’s Vegetarian Chili recipe

As children of the Most High God, you and I are called to live differently from the way the world lives. God calls us His “chosen people.” And we are chosen to live a holy (used for the purposes of God) so that we can reveal God to people who don’t yet know His Son. When we choose success for our spirit, soul and body and continue to grow in the love and knowledge of Christ, we become better ambassadors for our Lord. We fulfill the call He has on our lives. And we fulfill the purpose He has planted within us.

Praise God as you continue to be transformed for the cause of Christ.

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jennifer #

    Thank you so much for your receipes, most importantly thanks for serving as a beacon for our Savior in Jesus name AMEN

    January 15, 2014
  2. Roxanne Alana #

    Mahalo for God’s words and you for encouragement during this time of praying and fasting.I do look forward to your emails,Susan.I need to make the vegetarian chili.

    January 15, 2014
  3. Stacy King #

    Thank you for walking with me on this fast. This fast been extremely transforming for me. May God keep Blessing you!!!!

    January 15, 2014
  4. Daphne #

    The Chile recipe download was unsuccessful.. Can you please send it to my email address.

    January 15, 2014
  5. p #

    thank very much, am very much inspired and encouraged
    i thank God that I am on this forum

    January 16, 2014
  6. Daniel Fast Team #

    Susan’s Vegetarian Chili
    I have been making this recipe for more than 20 years and still enjoy it. The chili is quick to make, colorful and packed with flavor. It keeps well so consider making a double recipe to serve a couple times during the week or freeze for later
    Ingredients:
    2 medium-sized green peppers, chopped
    1 medium-sized yellow onion, chopped
    1 zucchini, sliced
    1 yellow squash, sliced
    2 tablespoons vegetable oil
    2 tablespoons chili powder
    ¾ teaspoon salt
    ¼ teaspoon ground red peppers
    2 cups corn kernels (fresh or frozen)
    2 16 ounces cans tomatoes, including liquid
    2 16 ounces cans pinto beans, including liquid
    2 16 ounces cans black beans, including liquid
    1 4 ounces can mild green chilies, including liquid
    1 4 ounces can of tomato paste
    Preparation:
    1. Chop and sauté in oil the peppers and onions. Add the sliced squashes, chili powder, salt, ground red peppers, and corn.
    2. When all the vegetables are soft but still firm, add the tomatoes, all the beans, the green chilies, and the tomato paste. Stir until just blended.
    3. Bring to a boil and then reduce the heat. Let simmer for 20 minutes stirring occasionally to prevent sticking.

    Makes 6 servings
    All beans, both dried and canned, are high in protein, fiber, vitamins and minerals. If you use canned beans, be sure to read the label to make sure the manufacturer hasn’t added sugar/additives. Also, dried beans are often lower in sodium, plus about half the cost of canned beans! If you cook dried beans, consider a large batch and freeze the leftover in zip-lock bags. They’ll keep for up to a year in the freezer!

    January 17, 2014
  7. Check out the recipe on this page OR try the link again. I just tested it and everything is working.

    Be blessed on your fast!

    January 18, 2014
  8. rlharvey #

    great article.

    January 21, 2014
  9. Loretta #

    I started the Daniel Fast on the 13th of January. Susan’s Vegetarian Chili is GREAT!!! I have store this one in my favorite recipes folder.
    Thank you so much for your prayers and support.
    Loretta

    January 22, 2014
  10. Thanks for your encouraging words Susan. Many of your suggestions have helped me stay faithful to my fast.May God continue to bless you in your ministry.

    January 31, 2014
  11. Dear Susan,

    You are my inspiration. I read all your emails and they give me encouragement and especially when I read the word of The Lord I feel like I have the strength to do what He wants me to do for Him. Thank you Jesus. Amen.

    February 17, 2014

Leave a Reply

