Skip to content

Just the Tip of the Iceberg!

Tip of the IcebergWhen you’ve been on the Daniel Fast for a while you stop being so focused on food (hopefully). You start noticing things “coming up” about your life, attitudes, beliefs, etc. You might notice frustration about some issues in your life. Or anger. Or loneliness and disappointment. What ever it is for you, take notice . . . and then realize this: what you see is just the tip of the iceberg.

Our inner life is deep, even if we are not used to exploring it! So when things “come up” it’s important that we explore what is underneath the surface of our daily actions, beliefs, feelings and thoughts.

Don’t try to ignore or plow through the tip that is being shown to you. We know from the story of the Titanic how that strategy works out! But instead, be of good courage and dive into the water of your soul and search out that which seems hidden. Not until you can clearly see what is there can you start the work of getting rid of it.

But, don’t dive alone! Your Lord is really good at helping you search out the things of the heart. He wants to help you discover, learn and grow. And He wants to help you destroy the icebergs so you can move on into calm waters.

Over the next couple days, be on the lookout for the tips of the icebergs that show up in your life. Take notice. Be aware. And then do the necessary work with Jesus as your guide to do the essential work to free yourself from it by blowing it out of the water!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Angel #

    I did my first Daniel Fast November, didn’t fully understand it but the first seven days experienced intense warefare. Decided to DL for a blessed New Year. First seven days experienced the power of God’s Love like never before, chains broken, being set free. However, five days later the enemy reminded me of the things I’d been struggling with, my heart felt as if it was still infected, but saw instead of believing the lies, had to speak life and press on through …. we serve an Awesome God.

    January 19, 2014
  2. Reblogged this on A Prophetic Walk and commented:
    Many are starting the year off fasting and praying. Here is the blog post I mentioned in my post about “doing the work”. If you have not joined in to the fast, it’s not too late.

    January 19, 2014
  3. john lynch #

    I’m on day 7 I can already tell my body system is improving no feeling sluggish or bloated I have not weighed I need to lose a lot of weight but I am not concerned with that. I recently was elected a Deacon and am searching for a closer and more meaningful relationship with my Father

    January 20, 2014
  4. Scherrie #

    @ Angel, I can related to your comment🙂

    January 27, 2014

Leave a Reply

