Skip to content

Feeling Attacked During Your Daniel Fast?

Prowling LionLet me share some scriptural truths with you that I hope will help you understand what is happening when you make strides toward God . . . but then experience major attacks by the enemy.

First, remember that Satan has one purpose for your life and that is to steal, kill and destroy any good thing that happens to you! He literally hates you! And he doesn’t want you strong, full of faith and able to experience victory in your life. He is the enemy of our soul! The Bible says, “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.” 1 Peter 5:8

Second, when you start making advances in your faith he is quick to fight! You are taking over territory that he held. The light is overtaking the darkness and so he will come to the defense and fight against you. The Bible teaches us to prepare ourselves and then to stand, “Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.” Ephesians 6:13

Third, when you are searching for God’s truth in His Word, again the enemy is quick to come against your efforts. He does not want you to get God’s Word deeply rooted in you, because then you will be strong, able and trusting God. Here is what Jesus says about this situation, “The sower sows the word. And these are the ones by the wayside where the word is sown. When they hear, Satan comes immediately and takes away the word that was sown in their hearts.” Mark 4:14-15

Understand this, “For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.” Ephesians 6:12

When you feel attacked . . . when fiery darts seem to be coming at you from every direction . . . when things seem to be crumbling before your eyes . . . step back. Take a look at what is really going on. Then get more of God’s truth deeply rooted in to your heart and stand on the sure promises that are yours. “Therefore submit to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you.” James 4:7

Jesus has authority over Satan. The scoundrel is a defeated foe. He may try to rear his ugly head and come against you. But he has no power over you when you arm yourself with faith and keep Jesus the Conqueror at your side. Do not fear. Have faith in God. And put your trust in the One who loves you!

30 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sharon #

    Yes, I lay my fear at the foot of the cross. Armed with the sword of the spirit, and knowing God my father goes before me, I stand.

    January 24, 2014
  2. Joycelyn #

    Great daily encouragement! I find strength each day because of His precious promise to never leave me or forsake me; that I am never alone; that He is always with me. Knowing that I am His and that nothing happens to me without Him being aware of it, gives me great comfort so that I can live in faith in Him who loves me and not in fear.

    January 24, 2014
  3. Avril #

    I so needed to hear this. During this fast, yes, I’ve been growing stronger in my knowledge and understanding of God’s Word. Yes, I have been releasing areas of my life that the devil has had a hold of. And it is certainly true that I’ve been attacked in one area of my life in the past few days than ever before. I was beginning to feel discouraged and beginning to loose hope, but this message spoke straight to my heart. Thank you very much for sharing. “I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 3:14 NIV)”

    January 25, 2014
  4. Really beautiful to read!

    January 26, 2014
  5. Mary #

    Hi Susan, I started the Fast on the 5th and i feel good. Thank you so much for the encouragement. I ended it on the 26. Susan pray for me I been havingpain in my back and the dr says I have degenerative dic disease. Since I started the fast it feeling much better. I feel strength each day, thanks to my God. I hope you continue your work, in help other, you are a blessing. Thanyou so much for your newletter. Mary

    January 26, 2014
  6. EL #

    I am absolutely encouraged by what God has already done in answering prayers and giving new revelations. There are still prayers with answers not manifested but I have the confidence and blessed assurance that God is still working and in His time, He will bring it to pass. I am thankful for drawing closer to God and I am declaring and trusting His Sovereignty everyday. My commitment is to yield every area of my life to Him and He’s still working with me to do that – glory be to God.

    January 26, 2014
  7. Cynthia #

    Oh, I am so grateful for all the encouraging words. On January 22nd I completed a 21 day fast, which yes I felt I was attacked on every side and felt like giving up. I remember the words of King David in Psalm 46 “God is my refuge and strength a very present help in trouble.” I knew it was the desire of the enemy to distract me, but thanks be to God, I continued on and today I have the victory through Christ Jesus. I signed up for this blog and encouragement just to continue to grow in the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ. My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and His righteousness! I am just looking forward to my prayers being answered and the prophecies that has gone forth over me and my family. I have no fear. God is in control!

    January 27, 2014
  8. Yolanda #

    Hi Susan . Thank you for your time. My question is: Is it okay to use things like fiber supplements and vitamins during the Daniel fast of would you recommend not doing so?

    January 27, 2014
  9. Ruth Small #

    Thanks for all the responses, encouragement, and tools use in these past 21 days of Daniels Fasting from all involved. All the help in staying the course has been very helping. I thank God that every year I submit my flesh to the fasting it is a positive spiritual reward. My desire is to continue to grow in Him throughout the year, and keep its course. A

    January 27, 2014
  10. Candice Van Rooyen #

    The devil is a liar…I had to remind myself of this fact so many time during the fast coz I fell under heavy attack. God is good all the time

    January 27, 2014
  11. Karen Damiano #

    I am so happy I started the Daniel fast at the beginning of the year!
    I was having lunch with my granddaughter who is 20years old. And she started asking me questions about the” Daniel fast”as I dived into my salad.
    She texted me last night and has started doing the Daniel fast 21 days! She has lots of questions, so I directed her to your website.
    Feeling very grateful
    Karen

    January 28, 2014
  12. I want to do the danielfasting i need to have an intimate relationship with my Father in heaven i realy need the Holy Spirit operating in my life there s a lot of things from God ,but first i want Him and His HoLy SPIRIT in me in my life.

    January 28, 2014
  13. Best to check out the ingredients to make sure they comply with the guidelines. The Daniel Fast is so rich in fiber that you probably won’t need that supplement, however. It’s a very healthy way to eat!

    Be blessed!

    January 28, 2014
  14. Blessings to you, Cynthia! God is so good!

    January 28, 2014
  15. Proclaim God’s truth over your life . . . speak the Word of God! “Faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.”

    Get highly focused on His truth rather than the doctor’s report. You doctor does a good job reporting the facts. That’s good. But you have a Father who heals . . . trust in Him.

    January 28, 2014
  16. jennifer austin #

    I’m on Day 3 of the Daniel fast and me and my fiance have been under heavy attack, but the Lord is keeping us and rescuing us everytime, either through people around us, or patience, or simply through reading his word and the holy spirit guiding us. Thank you for creating his website. I’m so glad God used you.

    January 29, 2014
  17. Daniel Fast Team #

    Jennifer, we are praying for you and standing in agreement with you that you will hear all that the Holy Spirit is saying to you! Deut.28:1-14, Ephesians 1:17-24, Rev.12:11,Jer. 29:11 Be Blessed on your Journey!

    January 29, 2014
  18. Martha #

    Amen!! Coming into agreement w/ you Cynthia. God is good & He is in control. Psalm 46:1 & 10 came to me several times throughout my period of Fasting. We just need to “Be still” & let Him work on our behalf. Have a blessed day & journey.

    January 30, 2014
  19. Julia #

    Thank you for this article. I has really touched as I encountered and am still encountering challenges as I want to advance in my spiritual life.

    January 31, 2014
  20. Yvette #

    Hi Susan, this is the first ever fast that we have undertook. It was extremely challenging, but God has first handedly seen us through. Every week of our fast we have had intense spiritual warfare. Could not understand what is happening and how to recover. In all this we went forth fasting, not letting the enemy distract, but sadly in our own space just being quiet. God has prompted me to go for 40 days which i am strongly considering. Feel like nothing is happening during this fast but i know God is looking over us. His plan and purpose will have fruition in our lives. Trusting God wholeheartedly.

    January 31, 2014
  21. AUDRESHA WILSON #

    Did indeed do the Daniel fast for 3 days and 3 nights….when I tell you that God moved he indeed move…that night and I cannot tell you if it was 3am or 4:45 am but the Lord came to me in a dream with a message from heaven…the sky with such beauty and a ray of light…it was the Lord opening the windows of heaven to send me a message…a white dove came flying towards me as I rolled down my window it was said unto to me that God has not forgotten me….You see i took care of my father who was ailing and passed away on 07042013….and i knew that my father had a soul so while he was lying in his hospital ailing i took his hand(my father was unable to speak,he had died for 10minutes and the lord allowed him to come back)as the tears rolled down my face…I asked my father to ask God to forgive him for every single thing that he has done in his life and did he accept Jesus Christ to be his personnel Lord and Savior and I told him to blink if he understood and he did….3months later he passed away…peaceful he was…so I was told for the labor of love that I had shown my father that God was going to bless me abundtly…so the day before my birthday which was Jan.22nd @ midnight i began my journey…so when the Lord sent me a message from heaven I knew that if God bought me to this 3 day absolute fast he was going to bring me thru it….and the devil began attacking me..I called on the name of Jesus,the blood of Jesus and putting the armour of God on….weak I prayed on my knees crying out to the lord,every morning I was determine to get the victory!!!! God moved,things began to happen my body pained,bones weak I read Isaiah chapter 58 every day for those 3 days and where I was weak I was made strong….Praise God…the devil attacked me to the point where i could barely walk but I got the calling on the name of Jesus and he came in and broke the hold and gave me strength…I got up and walk around and sat down to write in my journal what the Lord and my heavenly father was doing for me….I claimed VICTORY!!!!! on the last day praising God….what the devil meant for evil,God turned it around….sit back and be still and watch what God will do and read Isaiah Chapter 58….

    February 2, 2014
  22. KayCe #

    I feel so attacked right now… I started a partial fast and tithing and the world around me seems to be worse than it was going into the fast. I am not a new Christian but, I feel very small in faith right now.

    February 3, 2014
  23. Carlene #

    Thank you Susan for sharing for sharing this article. While I have completed the Daniel fast and started again the first of February just because I felt closer to GOD while on the fast, you are absolutely correct. I felt and continue to feel attacked in every way. At first I didn’t understand why this was happening. I couldn’t understand how people could be so mean and hurtful but more importantly, I couldn’t understand why GOD would allow these attacks when we are fasting and at our weakest. I have learned from the first fast that things will happen and Satan will continue to steal, kill and destroy but GOD promised that he will never leave us nor forsake us. I must say trust has always been difficult for me but this fast has literally forced me into trusting GOD and I am a better person because of it. I thank you for encouraging us and I thank GOD for giving me the courage to do this fast.

    Carlene

    February 15, 2014
  24. Sophy #

    Hi Susan

    You are a blessing to my life, all i ever needed. Thanks & god bless you all in Jesus’ name

    February 26, 2014
  25. Ms. K #

    Hi Daniel Fast Team,
    I am currently Fasting & the devil has been attacking my mind. Please lift me up in prayer.

    Thank You!

    March 2, 2014
  26. Joycelyn #

    Ms. K:
    He who is in you is GREATER than he who is in the world! Cry out to your Father in heaven. He is with you ALWAYS! He has promised to NEVER leave or forsake you. NO weapon formed against you shall prosper! Replace the lies of the devil with the promises of God. You are a child of the Most High God! I’m praying for you, my sister. Go in the strength and courage of God. Worship and praise Him all the more. And the devil will flee ( until a more opportune time). Fear not for you are covered with the blood of Jesus.

    March 8, 2014
  27. Susan Im reading some of the stories and feeling fear ,because they say they have been attacked.I know i shouldnt be scared

    March 25, 2014
  28. No, you shouldn’t be scared! Instead lean on Jesus. He is your protection! Over and over again in the Word, Jesus says, “Fear not. Have faith.” That is the way to resist the enemy and then he will flee from you.

    Be blessed!

    April 2, 2014
  29. Johnf572 #

    I was very pleased to discover this website. I wanted to thank you for your time for this fantastic read!! afkcddacefbf

    September 15, 2014
  30. I♡♡♡♡ this. Thank you…

    October 7, 2014

Leave a Reply

