Skip to content

Seek the Lord with All Your Heart . . . really?

Whole HeartHow many times have you read or heard those words and immediately thought, “How can I ever do that? I have so much to do just to live. How can I seek Him with my whole heart?”

I’ve been there, also. But today I received some revelation about this command that I hope helps you. It surely is helping me.

First, our heart is the seat of our thoughts, emotions, intellect and personality. The Scriptures have a lot to say about your heart. You are to guard it. You are to search it. God searches your heart. The Bible says, “Keep your heart with all diligence, for out of it spring the issues of life.” I could go on and on. Your heart is central to your being.

Second, the word “seek” means there is action. Not complacency or waiting for something to happen to you. Instead seeking is diligent and hungry action. The Bible says that the Lord rewards those who diligently seek Him.

Third, we are to seek the LORD. Not fame. Not money. Not position. No the approval of others. We are to seek the LORD . . . and we’re to seek Him with our whole heart.

When we look at the three elements of this command we can gain a very clear and understandable instruction. The Lord is saying, in every area of your life, check to see how I instruct you to do it first. Then act on those instructions. Simple. Clear. Doable.

If you want to know how to have a good marriage – seek the Lord and see what He has to say about it. ~ If you want know about how to raise children – seek the Lord and see what He as to say about it. ~ If you want to know how to be in good health – seek the Lord and see what He has to say about it. ~ If you want to have your financial needs met – seek the Lord and see what He has to say about it. ~ If you want to know how to deal with betrayal or hurt feelings – seek the Lord and see what He has to say about it.

Then, once we know for sure what He wants us to do . . . we are to follow His instructions. Faith without works is dead. God will give us all we need, but we need to do our part . . . and that is obey what He tells us to do.

No matter what is happening in your life – go to God and His Word and find out what He has to show you and teach you and instruct you to do. Not just on a few things, but in ALL areas of you life. That’s what your “whole heart” is all about it. It’s all of you and all that’s going on in your life.

The sure promises of God are yours. He has them waiting for you . . . and He’s giving you the formula for having the success that you want . . . and that He wants for you. He wants us to seek Him because He always know what’s best. And He wants us to put our trust in Him and in His instructions. “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6

Go after God’s instructions for every area of your life . . . then do what He says! Simple formula with HUGE payoffs!

Be blessed!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. What wonderful insight on seeking the Lord.. This really ministered to me today and I appreciate you sharing this!

    January 31, 2014
  2. Karen Damiano #

    I just want to share that I feel amazing after the “Daniel fast! More alert,energy,closer to God!
    And have decided to live a more healthier life style.

    February 2, 2014
  3. Daniel Fast Team #

    Praise God! We are excited for you!

    February 11, 2014
  4. I was sexually, mentally, emotionally and verbally abused by my grandfather as far back as I can remember. He did many terrible things, some of which are too distasteful for me to talk about publicly. I want to share my testimony, because so many people have been hurt, and they need to realize that someone has made it through their struggles so they can have hope. More than anything, I want you to know and really understand that anyone who has been abused can fully recover if they will give their life completely to the Lord…It may seem impossible, but God’s truth has set me free from a life of pretense and lies and has restored my soul. I am living proof that nothing is too hard for God. No matter what you’ve been through or how bad you’ve been hurt, there is hope!
    My book is available at Amazon and I would love for each person who has liked this page to order a copy. Each copy sold will go toward the prevention of child abuse across the country and world. God Bless you

    February 15, 2014

Leave a Reply

