Skip to content

God wants you happy! Do you believe it?

"Beloved, I pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers." 3 John 1:2

“Beloved, I pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers.” 3 John 1:2

I hear from a lot of people every single day. In fact, it seems that people will pour their hearts out to me more than some friends. There seems to be a “safety” in sharing your deep thoughts with someone you can connect with on the internet. Maybe they know they won’t bump into me at the grocery store or at church or at work.

So I hear the hearts of men and women from around the world. They share their concerns and their disappointments. Their challenges and their fears. It seems that the majority of our sisters and brothers in Christ are sad and unhappy.

This morning, as I was in my prayer time, it occurred to me that so many people don’t realize that God wants them to be happy! That He wants them to be at peace and full of joy! And that this way of living is available to anyone who will pursue it.

I know this isn’t the whole answer to people’s issues. But I do believe it’s a foundation point. God’s Word says, “Beloved, I pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers.” 3 John 1:2

God’s Word is so clear when we’re told that He want us “to prosper in all things?” That means He wants us to live a fulfilled, happy, joyful and healthy life! He wants us to enjoy our lives and not feel burdened, troubled or forlorn!

But here is the deal . . . even though God wants this for us . . . it’s still up to us to join Him and then together we go after the great life we can have! We are not the passive recipients of God’s blessings. We must choose this way of life, renew our minds to God’s truth, follow His ways, and walk according to the Spirit rather than the flesh.

Making this choice starts with a seed of commitment. But then as we nurture that commitment and keep nourishing it with God’s Word and our faith, it becomes a deeply rooted way of life. Bit-by-bit, step-by-step we grow into a faith-driven life that aligns with the way our Creator wants us to live! We are in this world, but not of it. We are His special people. We are blessed. We have the favor of God.

And the cycle this creates is so great . . . because as we live our lives according to His ways, then those around us see the light shining in the darkness. They compare us with others . . . and they are impressed! We are different. We are God’s people. We love, rather than condemn. We bless, rather than curse. We help, rather than hinder. We are different. And then people want what we have, and that is Christ in us! And this all brings glory to the Father . . . which is our purpose!

But first, we need to believe that God really wants us to have a great life. A blessed life. A life that is admirable to those around us. Admirable, not because of our greatness, but because of the greatness of Christ who is in us!

How about you? Do you believe? And if so, are you committed to nurturing that seed of truth that is in you so it can take root and grow? This is the way of faith. This is the Kingdom life. This is a faith-driven life. And it’s the life your Father wants you to have!

If you want to learn more about how you can develop your faith and enter into the great life God has for you, check out Discovery, Faith and Transformation.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Just listened to “Five Steps to Develop Your Faith” last night and took many, many notes which I read over this morning. This post this morning just adds to last nights teaching. Thanks so much for the short meditations you post every day. They help keep me focused as I strive to get my “house” in order and live my life for Him who saved me. I have been a believer for over 60 years but have for most of those years have been a marginal witness. I would talk the talk but off and on over the years did not walk the walk. Yet He was faithful and took care of me when I needed help and provided for me in ways I can’t think possible. His love for me was always there even when I strayed off the path. Your writings now are a big help as I feel a strong call from Him to live a more holy life. Thank you for postings that are a great encouragement.

    March 13, 2014
  2. hlengiwe #

    Glory be to God !!!!

    March 13, 2014
  3. Maggie Miller #

    I enjoy reading this, very  uplifting, needed to hear this. I am facing some challenges in life and I believe God wants me to happy.  Continue to pray for my family and I. God Bless!

    ________________________________

    March 13, 2014
  4. Elender Sykes #

    I am soooo excited about my decision to do this. You are so right about todays message. I’ve been saying for so long that God didn’t just give us salvation and that’s it. I know there is so much more to serving God. I know He has so much more for us but we have to tap into it. We have a whole inheritance just waiting for us to grab a hold of. I truly thank you for obeying God and allowing him to use you to encourage His people. I feel so blessed even through this test I’m currently in. I know God has not left me. I am persuaded that nothing can separate me from the love of God. Susan, God bless you and I pray that you will keep letting God use you. I listen to different ministers but I thank God I have connected to you. It seems like your words today came directly from my heart. This is wonderful. Again, thank you, God bless you.

    March 13, 2014
  5. Janelle Douglass #

    Thank you for sharing Troubles Can Be Magnets. May God continue to Bless you for being a blessing to help his people, who has sort of lost their way.

    March 14, 2014
  6. Polly whittle
    I tried to start the fast and it seems I have had every distraction. I am not sure what is ahead. I bought the book, The Daniel Cure. I have enjoyed it. I have enjoyed some of the recipes. It does take a lot of preparation for this and constant buying of fresh products. I have trouble focusing on both the fast and worship. Your lessons that you post are very good. God speaks through you. You are very timely with your words. I hope to put God 1st. May God give me the wisdom to find His Will and be obedient. Shalom

    March 17, 2014

Leave a Reply

