Skip to content

Healing Benefits of the Daniel Fast

While most people enter into the Daniel Fast for spiritual purposes, others turn to the dietary guidelines of the Daniel Fast to improve their health. Many can attest to the healing benefits of the Daniel Fast. Our bodies seem to flourish when they are well watered and well fed! Go figure!

Health care providers fine that by initially concentrating on improving a person’s physical, spiritual and emotional health, beneficial side-effects occur automatically. Side-effects such as weight loss and the disappearance of negative symptoms of ill health.

The well-documented benefits of the Daniel Fast include:

  • Body – detoxified
  • Bloating (intestinal) – gone
  • Blood Pressure – improved
  • Concentration – enhanced
  • Cholesterol – lowered
  • Cravings (sugar, refined carbohydrates & savory) – overcome
  • Depression – lessened
  • Diabetes – improved
  • Energy level – better
  • Excessive night-time urination – disappeared
  • Fertility – increased
  • Fluid retention – gone
  • Food allergies and addictions – recognised and overcome
  • Good health – renewed and maintained
  • Hair and nail strength – improved
  • Headaches – disappeared
  • Hot flushes – disappeared
  • Hypoglycemia – improved
  • Immunity to recurring illness – strengthened
  • Insomnia – disappeared
  • Irritable Bowel Syndrome and stomach complaints -disappeared
  • Menstrual problems and PMS – disappeared
  • Mind – clearer and sharper
  • Negative health symptoms – reversed
  • Organs and tissues – stimulated into proper function
  • Overeating – overcome
  • Recovery from illness and drug treatments – assisted
  • Reflux and indigestion – disappeared
  • Skin problems (eczema, acne and dermatitis) – improved
  • Spirituality – enhanced
  • Stamina – increased
  • Sugar cravings – overcome
  • Tiredness – disappeared
  • Weight loss – accomplished

The Daniel Fast also serves as a means for getting the body “back in order” and not so controlled by the whims of emotional eating, cravings and plain old ordinary bad eating choices! The digestive system works more efficiently, the liver is not so over-taxed, and the rest of the body receives the nutrients that cause it to thrive.

So while the Daniel Fast is primarily a spiritual exercise for the spirit and soul, the body gains great benefits. Remembers, we are a spirit, we have a soul, and we live in a body. So the Daniel Fast is a great tool to address every part of who we are!

28 Comments Post a comment
  1. Eunice G #

    For the honor and glory of Jesus, my parents, my husband and me are in day 4 of our fast and already see the hand of God healing us spiritually and physically! My mom is an insulin dependent diabetic, my father and husband are pre diabetics and I have had problems uterine problems in the past months. Eventhough is early in our fast, my mom’s sugar levels went to normal, she has more energy and her headaches are gone! My father and husband’s high blood pressures have lowered and no longer urinate often and as for me, I no longer have tension, headaches and my hormones are getting fixed!!! God is amazing!!! The best part is that our relationship with God is growing stronger!!

    February 6, 2014
  2. Daniel Fast Team #

    Very good!

    February 23, 2013
  3. Will #

    Just starting this, I know I’m late to the game but it is VERY important to do a sugar detox week before you fast if you consume a lot of sugar. I’ve quit caffeine for a period and sugar for a period and nicotine. Sugar is by far the worst. It’s like pouring rocket fuel on a fire. If interested in this fast spend the week before slowly cutting bread and sugar. Cutting sugar outright is what produces the headaches. I know, it’s debilitating. After a detox week of slowly cutting then get started. it will change the game completely.

    February 21, 2013
  4. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Amy,
    You have a awesome testimony of how powerful seeking the Lord through fasting changes things! God is so good!

    January 25, 2013
  5. Amy #

    Hello, I am day 7 of the fast. This is my very first time doing the Daniel Fast, however the Lord has been dealing with me for some time on fasting. I’m already feeling the presence of the Holy Spirit more strongly! I feel His presence much more quickly during my prayer and praise time too. This is my main reason for fasting, to grow closer to the Lord Jesus, or should I say to let him have more of me. I love the Lord want to do whatever it takes to draw closer and having a stronger anointing and presence in my life. However, it is also opening up my eyes to the fact that lots of the additional items and money we spend on groceries ( I have a family of 5) are not neccessary and a person/family can spend much less and eat much healthier, if they will simple eliminate the excess or unhealthy foods. I have to cook for my family and was concerned that this might be a temptation, however, God has really helped me and strengthened me and only the very first day was difficult. I think in the end of the 21 day fast, that my tastes and desires for food will have changed and be more toward healthy and whole grain. I have also lost over 5 pounds already, which is a nice side effect 🙂

    January 17, 2013
  6. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Linda,
    I am not sure what could be upsetting your stomach (evaluate the balance of foods you are eating). Stomach cramping can occur in the early days of the fast, usually a symptom of detoxing. If it is more of a cramping then I suggest that you drink lots of, increase your vitamin C intake, eat banana and cantaloupe. If it is more of an upset stomach you may have picked up a bug that you are dealing with, increasing your water intake will help with this too by flushing your system out. Either way check with your health professional if the problem continues more than a couple days. Be Blessed!

    June 5, 2012
  7. Linda Hosein #

    I have had a constant stomach ache since being on the fast. Any ideas?

    June 2, 2012
  8. Katrina Williams #

    GOD IS GOOD AS ALWAYS!!…THANK YOU! for your touching response. it is a confirmation for me. In my early years when I didn’t understand how to witness my way of expressing would say….”.Eventough I don’t know alot I can only go by what I …Experienced”….this has always remained so touching to me!…I know GOD is with me……KEEP UP THE WORK…YOU ARE VERY MUCH NEEDED…GOD BLESS

    March 2, 2011
  9. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Katrina,
    Having a set plan and clear direction from the Lord is the key to any fast being successful. Your fast is between you and the Lord, this is about You finding a way to seperate yourself from the pull of the world and draw close to the Lord to hear His voice and strengthen your relationship and walk with the Lord. With that said, let me encourage you that any fast that accomplishes these things Is a successful fast, so whatever your combination of days on and off are that work for you and you feel led by the Lord to do that is what you should do, and yes, God will honor your obedience to Him.
    If the Daniel Fast is the direction you feel led to go in, then I encourage you to get a copy of the Daniel fast Guidelines, you can order a copy by going to http://www.daniel-fast.com and enter your email address, they will be emailed back to you. Prayerfully look them over and listen to and obey the instruction of the Holy Spirit. He has the best plan for you to walk in.

    Salad Dressings – You can make your own salad dressings and there are many recipes in the Daniel Fast Cookbooks http://www.daniel-fast.com A prepared dressing that fits the Daniel Fast is Newman’s Own Oil and Vinegar Salad Dressing, this is one of our favorites year round.
    Learning to enjoy your foods without butter and sugar is a training proccess, or more like re-programing. Knowing the right alternatives to use will make this a whole lot less painful for you, and still require the sacrifice/discipline needed for a fast. For example, for breakfast if you have old fashioned oatmeal instead of sugar and milk on top, have peaches, blueberries, walnuts and a splash of unsweetened Almond milk.
    As far as the benefits of a 21 day fast verses a whole month of days on and days off. God honors any fast that you do, however…………there is a New Level waiting for you when you enter into a prolonged fast that can only be experienced by going through the experience. All who have gone there declare that they’ll never be the same, God’s timing is perfect, listen to Him, He is Faithful and He will direct you. Be Blessed in your Journey!

    March 2, 2011
  10. Katrina Williams #

    I eat mainly salads and soups and have problems wth salad dressing they all have something added. I tried making my own but is disgusting. I have been forcing myself but this is my 2nd day. My first fast I used light salad dressiing, is this ok? I also drank juice until I read this blog and saw it wasn’t allowed, this is getting to me. It is difficult to eat without butter and sugar. Also. I have been fasting every three days and complete the last week for a month every three months for this year. Will I get the same it not fasting 21 days continously?…..THANK YOU! THIS SITE HELPS ALOT

    Sorry, my question is…Will I get get the same benefis eventhough I’m not fastiing 21 days continuously? I understand the Lord sees our heart but I feel bad doing something just to ask Him to forgive me.

    March 2, 2011
  11. Stephanie #

    I just started the Daniel Fast. I am experiencing a mild head ache, I will drink more water. I went on fast so I can hear God more clearly, to pray, to read Bible more. I also had a vision I want clarity on. I read Daniel 1 and on, very good book. I need to develope my faith, I believe this is the way to go. Start by treating my body like I want the Holy Spirit to rest within me. I am hoping I can make this more of a lifestyle than a fast. I love cooking (soul food), I am looking for good dishes to make….

    April 7, 2010
  12. Hi Loreena,

    It seems the fast you devised was not good for you. I do encourage you to do the Daniel Fast. It is bibically based and provides everything your body needs for health. Fasting should never bring harm to the body. So my suggestion to you would be to pray about fasting. As the Holy Spirit to lead and direct you . . . and then plan ahead for your Daniel Fast by learning about the fast, planning meals and submitting yourself for the purpose of your fast.

    I hope this helps!

    March 31, 2010
  13. Loreena #

    Good Article and God just told me to gradually whine myself off of coffee and the go to the “grain coffee” that this guy talks about. He said it will help me with the with drawls. I guess that first day, God was just deepening my appreciation for what Christ did for us, in that he fasted 40 days . wow! He was also showing me that I am very sick and that my body was detoxing severely and withdrawls on top of it. He is showing me what I need right now and after I am healther, then he will lead me into a water, berry and juice fast. One day at a time! Amen! I still would appreciate your prayers and I am praying for all of you too. I am cutting back on the smoking too and praying for the Lord to help me with that too of course. I believe he is taking me through this slowly, gradually, one thing at a time but he did tell me to try not to smoke at all, during the fast. I pray for a deliverance in Jesus name from all of these toxic things for my husband and I/ and a closer/ deeper walk with thee Jesus! Amen! Thankyou for being here. This will be my first day “again”. With renewed confidence and hope! Praise Jesus! For meeting us and Loving us, right where we are. Amen!

    March 30, 2010
  14. Loreena #

    ok, that sounded pathetic right? Im ok, the Lord just told me its ok to eat legumes, for protien, nuts and whole grains, vegetables, but mainly berries, he said he needs me to be healthy. Thankyou God ! Praise you Jesus!

    March 30, 2010
  15. Loreena #

    HI, I was prompted very strongly by the Lord to fast. He specifically said, mainly berries and some fruit. My doctor told me I am hypoglycemic, but I desire to please the Lord. I started the fast with only water, no caffine, which I am highly addicted to, strawberries, blueberries and bannanas. I felt so incredibly sick after only about 4 hours, I felt like I was going to die. I kept going until the 24th hour and I ate an orange. The headache was extreme and I started vomiting uncontrolably. I felt like I could not stand up or dress myself. I can not describe to you how incredibly sick I felt. Like I was going to passout, dizzy, sick. I felt like I was almost dead. My husband rushed me to the store and bought me some soup a sandwitch and I gave up. I felt immediately better and I feel better physically but I feel so ashamed and prompted again to fast, by the Lord. Can anyone out there relate to how I am feeling and do you think it would be ok for me to do the daniel fast. I think the vegetables and fruits will help and whole grains, legumes, Im really scared to fast and scared not to fast for the Lord is commanding me. Forgive me God, and please help me in this, your will be done. I am a smoker, age 43, I am sick in my lungs and body, tired all the time. I know the Lord is telling me to do this for my own good. I need encouragement. Please pray for me.

    March 30, 2010
  16. Hi Donna,

    Unsweetened plant-based protein powders are suitable for the Daniel Fast. Also, a fast should never bring harm to the body or should one suffer in pain. So if you have a need for medication then it would be okay while fasting.

    February 7, 2010
  17. Donna #

    I have some of the same questions as Annie…pain relievers & natural protein powders. I don’t see an answer to Annie’s post, did I just miss it? Thanks!

    February 3, 2010
  18. Wow Melanie,

    There is certainly something going wrong here! I have interacted with thousands of people on the Daniel Fast and have never received this kind of report! What are you eating? The Daniel Fast is filled with high quality, healthy foods. Most people experience amazing health benefits including increased energy, more clarity in their thinking, weight loss and improved stamina.

    I encourage you to seek advice from your health professional as this is a very odd reaction if you are following the Daniel Fast guidelines. There may be something else going on in your body.

    Fruits, vegetables and water do not cause these symptoms! The only thing I can think of is that you are in severe detox! But even then, you should contact your health professional for his/her opinion.

    Please let me know!

    July 30, 2008
  19. Melanie #

    Continued LOL
    Also, I have increased fluid retention, no energy, no stamina, and I am gaining weight LOL. And I am eating exactly as we are supposed to with healthy no preservative foods, no added sugar, etc…

    July 30, 2008
  20. Melanie #

    Any suggestions?
    I am into day 8 and feel worse every day. I have no concentration capabilities, I don’t even want to eat anymore, all the food just makes me sick to my stomach. I am SOOOO irritable.
    I have gone on extended fasts with NO FOOD and never felt this way. It almost feels like a complete waste of time and I don’t feel spiritual at ALL. And I have NEVER felt this way during a fast. I have been praying and seeking the Lord and I still feel AWFUL. I truly do not know if I will Ever attempt this kind again because I know it’s the food, because I don’t feel this way until after I eat. I believe I’d rather go 21 days with no food.

    July 30, 2008
  21. cleveland tod hunt #

    spritual healing for incurable disease

    March 15, 2008
  22. Annie #

    Thanks for all the helpful info – as I prepare to begin the fast next week, I am anticipating (but prayerfully will get through!) the caffeine headaches..the food lists do not cause me any great concern! Are any types of pain relievers allowed? Of course, those with caffeine are out, but what about ibuprophen or naproxin sodium, for example?

    And what about sugar-free, all natural protein powders?

    Again, thank you for your commitment to helping others in their fasting. May God continue to bless you as your bless others!

    February 25, 2008
  23. Hi Stacie,

    You are experiencing what many do toward the end of the fast, improved health and increased energy! I hope your spiritual life has also realized growth and increased health.

    I suggest you carefully and prayerfully consider what you want your diet to be in the future. Perhaps you want to minimize your meat consumption, always stay away from chemically laden foods, and keep caffeine, sugar and sweets at a minimum.

    When you decide how you want your diet to be, reintroduce foods slowly. This is a great opportunity to make lifelong improvements to your health. I know God will honor you as your care for the temple of the Holy Spirit.

    Bless you on your fast.

    January 16, 2008
  24. Stacie Johnston #

    I am finishing up the 16th day, and I feel great! I am almost worried to go back to my regular eating. I am at the point where I DO NOT crave meat. I can’t wait to have whole grain bread again, though. What do you suggest when my fast ends on the 21st? I’m almost scared to go back to what I was eating….

    January 16, 2008
  25. Danita #

    I completely agree! It’s been 5 days into the Daniel Fast, and I have noticed some changes. I sleep better, less indegestion, no bloating, and I have more energy! It is more than spritual…What a great way to start the New Year!

    January 8, 2008

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. We Got The Power | Pray for Daniel Fast
  2. Daniel Fast for Health « Health, Diet, Gardening
  3. Daniel Fast « Pray4Israel

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.