Skip to content

Prepare for your fast

By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail.
Benjimin Franklin

My number one purpose in teaching about the Daniel Fast is to guide people into a successful fasting experience. The blessings, insights, and revelations you gain during your time of extended prayer and fasting can be life-changing. I am often moved to tears when I read letters from women and men telling me about the miracles and blessings they’ve experienced on the fast.

My heart sinks when I hear from people who have abandoned the fast and feel like they’ve failed themselves and failed God. And without any doubt, the primary reason for breaking the fast is because they didn’t prepare. Instead, so many people just jump in and try to go for it. It’s like never training for a marathon and starting the race anyway!

Preparing for your fast is part of the fast. When you prepare you’re in a period of expectation and anticipation. The time can be joyful and spiritually charged. So that’s why I want to give you some tips about preparing for your fast.

Learn about the fast: The truth is, there is a lot of erroneous information “out there” about the Daniel Fast. I didn’t invent the fast, but I have been teaching about it since 2007. I’m not saying this pridefully, but I really don’t think there is another person who has researched, taught, and written about the fast more than me. I strongly encourage you to learn about the Daniel Fast so you stay healthy and can tap into the powerful benefits of this spiritual experience. The bestselling book is The Daniel Fast: feed your soul, strengthen your spirit, and renew your body. It’s available wherever books are sold. You can also find it in many local and church libraries. Includes a complete cookbook and daily devotional.

Decide when you will fast: Most people use the fast for 21 consecutive days. Some use the Daniel Fast for as few as seven days or as many as 40. Even now, as you look into the beginning of the New Year, plan the day you will begin your fast. Look at your calendar and events that might come up. Plan ahead for them so you are ready. Also, in the book I cover those times when you may need to “push the pause button” on your fast and how to successfully and faithfully navigate those times.

Establish your purpose for your fast: Fasting is a time to be highly focused on one or two specific areas of your life. Do you have financial pressures? Issues with relationships? Do you want to learn more about prayer, worship, or developing your faith? Open your heart to God for your NOW experience. You will draw nearer to Him. And as you study His Word and use other study mateirals, you will learn, grow and enter into a powerful time of transformation. Blessings. Answers. Growth. Love. They all await you!

My prayer is that your upcoming fast will be one that “knocks your socks off” because it’s such a blessing for you. I hope your fast is so powerful that you experience an abundance of love and care from your loving Father. Your 2016 Daniel Fast has the potential to be life-altering for you and for those brought to your heart for prayer. I hope you are already excited about what’s to come!

Preparation is a big part of your success! Plan to succeed.

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hi Tomlin,

    The Fast is so much more than the food. I encourage you to learn about the fast so you can be successful. The Daniel Fast Book is on sale right now for just $2.99. Grab a copy and it will teach you about the fast and the food restrictions. Here is the link: http://amzn.to/2Dm1gql

    January 11, 2018
  2. Tomlin #

    I dont know what not or to eat please HELP

    January 7, 2018
  3. Isaac k Phiri #

    Am really encouraged with the preparation of fasting and prayer. Thank you very much because right now am preparing the program for the prayer and fasting this January 9th 2018. God bless you. Amen.

    January 3, 2018
  4. Manny,

    The Daniel Fast is a method of fasting. It’s not like Lent. Rather, it’s a method that people use to enter into the fasting experience. Many people use the Daniel Fast for corporate or called fasts, such as the New Year fast when many congregations join to begin the year with extended prayer and fasting.

    I hope this helps.

    January 27, 2016
  5. manny do santos #

    Hello! Can someone tell me what’s the source, church, organization, Council of churches? Varican? that initiated the 10 or 21-day fasting starting Jan. 4th in diferrent christian churches of diferrent denominations??

    Thanks!!

    January 26, 2016
  6. Click on the Home Page

    OR on the Food List

    January 13, 2016
  7. Kay #

    I am not able to find more posts for 2016. What is the site to read the latest posts?

    January 12, 2016
  8. There are so many foods allowed on the fast! Just stay away from those that don’t work for you. Keep your menus simple. You will likely be happier and less stressed eating simple, nutritious, and pleasing meals šŸ™‚

    January 7, 2016
  9. Clarita #

    Susan what about if you have alergies to some of the products mentioned like soymilk?please help really want to do this,lve in the past have fasted need to get back on the road.

    January 5, 2016
  10. Hi Stephanie.

    I would first get a copy of The Daniel Fast: feed your soul, strengthen your spirit and renew your body. It has everything you need for a successful fasting experience (cookbook and devotional included).

    December 14, 2015
  11. Stephanie R Howard #

    Thanks for this post Susan. I’ve started the fast a few times before but failed to see it through. I’m pretty sure it’s due to a lack preparation. I won’t make that mistake again.

    Which of your books do you feel are most needed to start? I’m sure I’ll get more later but looking for the best starting point.

    December 14, 2015
  12. God is good, BJ. And clearly you are getting nudged to enter into the fast. Why? Not to cause you hardship or labor. But because your loving Father has blessings for you. He knows what they are. He wants you to have them. And you will discover them as you draw near to Him with extended prayer and fasting.

    I encourage you to believe and even say to yourself, “My Father invited me to meet with Him through fasting.”

    The blessings await you!

    December 11, 2015
  13. Yes, Sandra.

    The Daniel Fast for Weight Loss has complete cookbook and a series of 21 daily devotionals.

    December 11, 2015
  14. Will the new book have a devotional as well?

    December 11, 2015
  15. BJ #

    Susan, up until today, I have been deleting anything to do with the DF. However today, I feel God is dealing with me and has been with every email that I deleted. Please pray for me to start this journey with you again and listen when God speaks.

    In Christ BJ

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    December 10, 2015

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.