Skip to content

Fasting soon? Then it’s time to say bye-bye to coffee

Cup of CoffeeA lot of us are used to starting our day with a hot cup of coffee or tea. For me, drinking coffee and visiting with my Father is the favorite part of my day. For decades I’ve had “Jesus and java” as the first part of my morning. So not drinking coffee during the Daniel Fast is challenging for me, even after all these years of fasting.

But the is another part of giving up coffee and other caffeinated beverages and foods that we need to address. And that is the withdrawals that can be debilitating unless we taper off the substance before the fast begins. So if you are starting the Daniel Fast soon, I encourage you to start now saying ‘bye-bye’ to caffeine. Here are a few steps you can follow to minimize your withdrawals – and by the way, even if you drink only one cup a day you may still experience serious withdrawals. These can be from light to severe headaches, leg cramps, muscle aches and mild to extreme fatigue. It’s worth tapering off caffeine before you begin your fast if you want to avoid the withdrawal symptoms.

Four to five days before your fast begins, start substituting some of your regular coffee (or tea) for decaffeinated varieties. Start with 25 percent decaf to 75 percent regular. Then the next day about a 40 percent decaf to 60 percent regular. The next day try a 50/50 blend. Then go 75/25. And do that again for another day or start your fast, depending on the amount of time you have.

All along, drink more water throughout the day. Try to drink at least four tall glasses of water (16 ounces each) during the day. You might also try increasing potassium-rich foods in your diet including bananas and cantaloupe. Get lots of rest and be aware that you are literally tapering off a natural drug.

If you drink sodas with caffeine, use a similar strategy by substituting non-caffeinated sodas with caffeine-free varieties. And remember, there are some foods that include caffeine, such as cocoa powders and chocolate.

You will be very happy you’ve taken these measures when you don’t experience the excruciating headaches and withdrawals that some people who go “cold turkey” and don’t taper off before they fast.

One more note, when you complete your fast, the first thing you might want to drink is a cup of rich, dark, caffeinated coffee. But remember, your body has been free of the substance for 21 days. So go easy. If not, you may experience jitters and rushes from the caffeine.

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. See Daniel 1:12 – the only beverage is water.

    January 11, 2018
  2. Jan Dunlap #

    where in scripture does is say a Daniel fast would eliminate coffee type drinks? Just want to know the biblical basis. I understand the physical reason, thanks

    January 8, 2018
  3. One of two approaches: 1) cold turkey – not advised. 2) wean yourself now planning to be free of caffeine within 5-7 days.

    Be blessed!

    January 4, 2016
  4. Ryan #

    My church is doing the Daniel fast and my wife would like to do it. today is day 1 but i did not have time to wean from coffee before the fast. Any helpful advice to help starve off the withdrawal symptoms besides prayer?

    January 4, 2016
  5. Daniel Fast Team #

    Carol,Yes. Corn tortillas as other whole grain tortillas are fine on the fast. Make sure they’re not deep fried, no leavening agents, sugars or additives in the Ingredients. Be Blessed!

    January 8, 2015
  6. Carol #

    Are corn tortillas allowed on the Daniel Fast?

    January 8, 2015
  7. Theresa,

    The Daniel Fast is a very healthy way to eat. However, I am not familiar with complications that might come up with ARV’s. I suggest you contact your health provider or talk to your pharmacists.

    Be blessed

    January 3, 2015
  8. Theresa #

    Can I enter Daniel Fast if am on ARV’s

    Theresa#

    January 2, 2015
  9. The Daniel Fast is practiced 24 hours a day, so there are no restrictions for when you can and can’t eat. This site and http://daniel-fast.com has loads of information about the fast. So you can study it. Also, pick up a copy of the book for a complete background on the fast.

    Be blessed

    January 1, 2015
  10. Great plan, Dawn.

    Be blessed on your fast.

    January 1, 2015
  11. Dawn I. Gray #

    Dear Susan:

    I will begin my 21day fast after Jan 4, as my husband birthday is Jan 5, and I wanted to celebrate with him and eat those foods that are not allowed on the Daniel Fast. Looking forward to having a successful fast.

    January 1, 2015
  12. Angelique Patel #

    Good Day I m new and want to do the 3- 7 day fast I just want to know when I can eat the timeline and what I should do I Wil get the food guidelines from the Dniel food manu pls help I want to prepare my body.pls help regards Angelique

    January 1, 2015
  13. Marika #

    I will definitely keep that in mind! The previous years I had a lot of headaches on my 3rd and 4th day.

    December 31, 2014
  14. Keep an eye on this site. Also the Daniel Fast Book is full of all you need for the Fast.

    December 31, 2014
  15. Yes, got to http://facebook.com/danielfastway

    Be blessed!

    December 31, 2014
  16. Blanca Moreno #

    Hi Susan, will you be posting on FB Group page as Well, some members are asking about the Fast? I am beginning the Fast with you.

    December 31, 2014
  17. Jessie #

    Thank you!!!

    December 31, 2014
  18. Laverne Curtis #

    Praise God, everyday I’ve been looking for a email from you stating when will the Daniel fast start, two of my sisters in the Lord we go to the same church,we will start the 21 day fast Thursday, please send some suggestions. Thanks

    December 30, 2014
  19. Buffey #

    Thank you please pray for me I am considering this fast and I have just had a stent placed in my heart. So I need to start and coffee will be an extra challenge.

    December 30, 2014

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.