Skip to content

The Daniel Fast Daily Devotional for Lent

DFLentCover280x448MY GIFT TO YOU!

Announcing the release of The Daniel Fast Daily Devotional for Lent which is a Kindle book and available through Amazon for FREE through February 17th.

ASH WEDNESDAY – Today is Ash Wednesday. Lent will start at sunset tonight (February 13th) and continue until the celebration of Resurrection Sunday (March 31).

Lent is a powerful time of prayer and fasting when millions of believers focus on Jesus and His life and ministry. It’s a time of personal reflection and examination. It’s a time of growth and drawing closer to the Lord.

Lent is a season for denominations that follow the Church Calendar (Liturgical Calendar), including Episcopalians, Lutherans, Methodists, Roman Catholics, Presbyterians and some Reformed Churches. Lent is also observed by a growing number of individuals who want to enter into an extended period of prayer and fasting.

During the Lenten Season, there are 40 days of fasting. These fasting days commemorate the 40 days following Jesus’s baptism that He spent fasting in the desert before starting His public ministry. The fast is “paused” on Sundays as believers celebrate the resurrection of Jesus and acknowledge that He is alive today!

26 Comments Post a comment
  1. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Barbara,
    You can download this Kindle version eBook to a computer or smart phone (check apps. first, if not sure she should contact the Cust. Support for her iPad and ask them about pdf file apps. for the iPad). I hope this helps, Be Blessed!

    March 6, 2014
  2. I ordered the Daniel Fast Devotions for Lent Kindle version and look forward to starting on March 6. But I have a question…………I have a friend who also wants to order the book but does not have a Kindle, only an iPad. Can the e-version be purchased and downloaded to her iPad if she does not have a Kindle?

    February 22, 2014
  3. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Max,
    There is no specific time of day to eat or portion size for the Daniel Fast. We do advise 3 moderate meals per day with 2 small snacks.
    Here is a general food list to help you: All fruits, All vegetables, All whole grains, All Nuts and seeds, All legumes, All quality oils. Beverages: spring water, distilled water or other pure waters, and yes, tap water is good, if that is all you have available. MISC Items: tofu, soy products, vinegar, seasonings, salt, herbs and spices.
    For a complete list you can order a copy of the Daniel Fast Guidelines by going to http://www.daniel-fast.com and enter your email address, they will be emailed back to you. Also, if you to go to http://www.daniel-fast.com/about.html there is a wealth of recipes, and spiritual aids to help prepare, strengthen, build up and encourage you in your journey. I hope this is an encouragement, Be Blessed on your Fast!

    September 9, 2013
  4. Max #

    1. Is there a guide line or daily program available in terms of what to eat at specific times of the day?
    2. What are the portions you are allowed to consume?

    August 30, 2013
  5. I have been truely blessed with the daily Daniel Fast devotional readings. Although I could not fast due to a health challenge, I was fasting on His word and becoming stronger in the Lord. I feel good & am back to myself, praise God. Keep up the good work. You are blessing to many people. Thank you so much!!

    March 26, 2013
  6. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Debbie,
    Thank you for your post, and kind words. There are no plans currently to do a paperback version of the Lent Devotional…But you never know!Be Blessed!

    March 26, 2013
  7. Debbie #

    Hi Susan,
    I am really enjoying this devotional and learning so much during this season of Lent!
    I am only able to download the ebook to our family computer in the living room and find that I tend to get distracted by everything else on my computer (email, news, etc.) I do a lot better with an actual book away from my computer. Will your ebook devotional be published in a paperback version in the future?

    March 21, 2013
  8. Dear Susan,

    what a blessing this book is for those of us seeking a deeper relationship with the Lord during this precious time of the year. thank you!

    March 3, 2013
  9. Cynthia Crawshaw #

    Thanks. I thought so but wanted to double check.

    February 24, 2013
  10. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Cynthia,
    Flavored waters . . . it all depends. The main thing is that the only beverage on the Daniel Fast is water. So, if the flavored water you are talking about is still water and free of all sweeteners, chemicals or artificial ingredients, then it would probably be okay. However, the fact that it says “naturally sweetended” makes it one that would not comply with the guidelines. I hope this helps!

    February 21, 2013
  11. Daniel Fast Team #

    Christine, thank you for sharing your journey with us! God is good, and it is truly a joy for us to be a part of encouraging His people on in their high calling! Be Blessed on your fast!

    February 18, 2013
  12. Cynthia Crawshaw #

    I came across this water called Glaceau Vitamin Water ZERO naturally sweetended. Under the Nutrition Facts is shows 0 sugars. Can this also be used as water during the fast?

    February 17, 2013
  13. Cynthia Crawshaw #

    Jennifer,
    I don’t have Kindle but am getting it on my computer and I phone.

    February 15, 2013
  14. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Cynthia,
    Thank you for sharing your excitement and enthusiasm for the things of God during your upcoming fast. Be blessed as you continue your fast . . . and as you continue to grow in the love and knowledge of Jesus!

    February 15, 2013
  15. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Jennifer,
    You can download this Kindle version eBook to your computer or smart phone (check your apps. first, if not sure contact the Cust. Support for your pc or phone). Be Blessed!

    February 15, 2013
  16. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Lisa,
    Yes, you should be able to download this Kindle version eBook to your computer or smart phone (check your apps. first, if not sure contact the Cust. Support for your pc or phone). I hope this helps!

    February 15, 2013
  17. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Lorraine,
    You can download this Kindle version eBook to computers or smart phones (check your apps. first, if not sure contact the Cust. Support for your pc or phone). I hope this helps!

    February 15, 2013
  18. Megan #

    Thank you! I just stumbled onto your site today, and I started the Daniel Fast to continue on through Lent, so this will be perfect!

    February 14, 2013
  19. Christine #

    Susan.

    I successfully completed the 21 day Daniel’s fast. I must say, it was not at all difficult for me as I live in Europe and organic food products are very easy to get in any super market. May be what was hard (apart from drinking just water in these below freezing temperatures) was to combine it with spiritual awareness. With your gift, I will now try to focus!

    Thank you for the gift and for helping me discover healthier eating habits! (I have lost 2 kgs, and intend to keep them off!)

    Thanks again, Susan and wish you a fulfilling Lent.

    Christine

    February 14, 2013
  20. Jennifer #

    I would love to get the devotional this is my first time observing lent but I don’t have a Kindle.

    February 13, 2013
  21. Dorothy Cale #

    Hi Susan, I cannot install the free to my phone.  Is there a way I can download it on my desktop computer?  Thank you

    Dorothy

    ________________________________

    February 13, 2013
  22. Lisa Benton #

    I tried to download this book to my pc and it did not work – It has other books – Aesops Fable, Treasure Island saved out on my account but not this book

    February 13, 2013
  23. Lorraine #

    If you don not have a kindle device, how can get it on my wireless phone or pc.?

    February 13, 2013
  24. Cynthia Crawshaw #

    I am looking forward to this time of fasting for the next 40 days and will seek God’s will in my life. Some things he is working in me are financial, health, career, fasting, family, myself (not necessarily in this order) . God has always taught me various things about myself spiritually, personal, physical, discipline, depending on him. He always has blessings, sometimes corrections, love, forgiveness, and wonderful unexpected surprises for example 2 1/2 years ago I found myself going on a mission trip to Africa with Joyce Meyer Ministry.

    February 13, 2013
  25. Ruth #

    Thank you!

    February 13, 2013
  26. Patricia #

    Thank you so much for this initiative Susan! What a perfect present for Lent! Bless you….

    February 13, 2013

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.