Skip to content

When Will We Really Get It?

No Fear Here!Do you know that you and I have everything we need inside of us to be successful, happy and full of joy?

Even as the world seems to crumble around us, we have something non-believers don’t have and that only translates to goodness and success.

The problem is that we “don’t get it.” We’re the same as those who Jesus lamented over when He said, “Oh you of little faith.”

And because of our “little faith,” studies show that Christians have the same problems and challenges as everybody around us. We have the same relationship problems. We have the same money problems. We have the same health problems. We have the same defeats and brokenness as those who don’t know Christ. And why? Because of our little faith.

“Little faith” doesn’t mean small in amount. The Bible teaches us that we are all given the same “measure of faith.” Our measure of faith is similar to the measure of physical muscles. Two people can stand side-by-side and they both have the same number of muscles in their body. But one works their muscles and so they grow larger and stronger. If that same person stops exercising, then the muscles atrophy and return to their weakened and smaller state.

The same is true with our faith. It’s like a muscle. And the more we exercise our faith, the stronger it gets and the more assurance we have in God and His truths.

My Days of Weak Faith

I remember when I realized my faith was very weak. I was at a crisis point in my life and I had no where in the world to turn. In 2007, the U.S. economy started coming apart. My real estate investing business was hit hard. I stayed afloat by using my business reserves. But then they ran out. So had to layoff my employees and close my office.

I moved my operation into my home office because I still had work crews and properties to manage. I tapped into my personal savings to cover my expenses. But eventually those funds ran out, too. I was flat broke. And that’s when I came to the end of myself. That’s when I realized that I was of “little faith,” especially when compared to my big problems. I didn’t know what I would do. I didn’t know how I could pay my bills. I didn’t even have enough money to put gas in my car or heat my house.

Even though I had been a Christian for decades and active in the church and in ministry I had never been so challenged. I felt as if the crutches that had held me up over the years had been knocked out from under me. And I fell to the ground with no helping had to get me up . . .

Only God

This was a huge turning point in my life. I had only God to turn to. Only God to rely on. Only God to help me. And today I praise only God for seeing me through and showing me how to develop my faith muscles so that He could be all that I would ever need.

God lifted me out of that dark and very scary time and put me on a path for security and success that I never could have seen for myself. He led me back into writing to start teaching about the Daniel Fast. Later that expanded into helping Christians integrate their faith in every part of their lives, including health, finances, business development and relationships.

God saw me through and ever since then I have been working my faith muscles so that they are getting stronger and more able every day! Now I now for sure that every promise in His Word is true and available for anyone who will believe. And now I no longer have “little faith,” but instead a strong and growing faith that not only gives me the assurance and security for a joy-filled life. But also the ability to fulfill God’s call on my life to be a witness of His goodness and bring Him the glory.

That is the good news of the gospel! And this same good news is in you!

33 Comments Post a comment
  1. Toska Shemoneh #

    So glad to see someone spoke on the “hacking”. So I was wondering if “trader joes” black beam soup was okay. I read the label and all is conducive with the fast however there is an ingredient that reads “spices”. I truly want to be in compliant but I wondered about that.

    Thanks,
    Toska

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    August 13, 2014
  2. Bruce Jones #

    Good Morning Susan,

    Thank you first of all for sharing your story. What’s so interesting and coincidental, your story
    is an exact mirror of what I have been experiencing these past several months.
    I am a business owner, had to close my office and move my office to my home. I have been in a believer for several decades also.
    Please pray for me as I’m pursing our Heavenly Father with all of my being; learning to trust Him to raise me up out of this pit into my high throne position.
    Your testimony is truly encouraging! Let’s continue to intercede for one another, as I’m sure there are believers all over this planet that are experiencing similar tests and trials.

    With Kind Regards,

    Your Brother In Christ,
    Bruce Jones

    August 14, 2014
  3. harttia #

    Good Morning I would love to be a part of  the seven week finance plan and I am willing to put in my 110 percent. I need my  faith back . Shirley 

    August 14, 2014
  4. Hi Harttia,

    Check out The Daniel Fast for Financial Breakthrough! It has helped hundreds of people!

    August 14, 2014
  5. Hi Bruce,

    Thank you for your post. I don’t think people realize how deeply challenging financial pressure can be unless they’ve experienced it. I have been through many really tough times in my life. But by far, going through the financial hardships was the very worse. The truth is, God gets it. That’s why there is so much in the Scriptures about provision and care.

    You are in my prayers. And I hope the very best for you as you continue to turn to the Lord as our Source for all you need.

    Be blessed

    August 14, 2014
  6. Hi Toska,

    Yes, if the ingredients comply with the Guidelines then the soup should be fine. Also, you might want to make a recipe of black bean soup. So good and a much less expensive.

    Be blessed on your fast!

    August 14, 2014
  7. Yuri #

    I needed to read this… Thank you Jesus!

    January 8, 2015
  8. Hi Susan,

    Thank you so much for this enlightening and uplifting article which has really answered a lot of the questions I’ve been asking myself just today! I now realize that through life’s twists and turns between my teen years and now (being 30) have weakened but by God’s grace – these muscles are still intact and desperate for a work-out! Once again…I am at that place where I see and know that surrendering, seeking, asking, trusting and obeying his instructions are the only way to stretch my faith and live the abundant life He has planned for me. Thank you so much🙂

    Alanna

    January 8, 2015
  9. Dorothy Techeira #

    Thank you Susan for allowing God to use you to speak to me. I needed every word that came forth. I know the God I serve is able and I will by His Grace walk in that place he has already prepared for me .
    Thank you,
    God Bless

    January 8, 2015
  10. Zayda #

    God is good all the time.
    Many blassings to you Susan!!!

    January 8, 2015
  11. Hi Susan, your commentary about “Faith Muscles” was right up at the top. Also I resonate with the ‘Test’ of the down turn in your personal & business finances. Which uniquely qualified you for a “Divine Testimony”. It truly helped me and has the propensity to help many, many others. It’s tantamount to existing for others, standing in the gap, and being an effective intercessory for all humankind. Be Blessed Bishop Steve Braxton

    January 8, 2015
  12. cecilia Burt #

    Thank susan my name is cecilia and i am so thankful for your story it was very encouraging and truthful i was so glad to be reminded that god has good things for me that he still has a plan for my life my faith is being tested but i know that he will see me through he always has i know that we serve a Big God and hes still on the throne.thank you god bless you .

    January 8, 2015
  13. Pauline Smith #

    Hi: Susan Gregory

    Thank you so much for the encouraging words. it really bless me. God bless you and keep you. Pauline Smith.

    January 8, 2015
  14. Sharon Jones #

    Dear Susan
    Thank you for the powerful message I too is going through some things yet God is keeping me and I’m grateful to Him and the love He has. I love the Lord and have faith, and it keeps me going. I’m looking for the Lord to send my son home from jail any day now he was given 17 years but I serve an awesome God and he will be home way before that time.
    I pray he will serve the Lord when he comes home and for my grandchildren to do the same. I’m asking the Lord to send me a man of God where we can serve the Lord together I have a long story maybe I can write a book about some day. But for now the Lord knows what I need, your writings are helping me with my Daniel Fast so thank you have a bless and wonderful day in the Lord.

    January 8, 2015
  15. Dear Susan, Thanks so much for the encouraging words. God is truly good to me. I have grown so much in him in the past months. I trust the LORD with all my heart. My congregation went on the Daniel Fast last year and I continue to go on the fast from time to time because it draws me closer to God. I love God with all my heart, He is doing great things in my life. Thank you again. Sandra W.

    January 8, 2015
  16. Debra #

    Susan, it meant so much to me when you personalized my message for today by putting my name on it. I am unemployed and trusting GOD for a financial miracle and the most awesome job he has for me. Your message today truly blessed me. GOD bless you. Thank you.

    January 8, 2015
  17. Tina Sanderson #

    Hi Susan, I was really encouraged by your story. I can relate to it but with different circumstances. In 2013 my life had fallen apart. I was a born again Christian living in California. I had lost my apartment, my health was failing, and I was homeless. My son invited be to come to live with him and his now wife in TN. To make a long story short, I believe God “ship-wrecked” me to TN through this devastating time in my life. I am no longer living with my son and his wife. I am living in a house that I rent through my church, I work a 40 hr. a week job, that I love, I hadn’t been able to dedicate myself to a job in over 20 years, due to my health, and I attend a great bible based church full of God loving people. My story is quite different from yours but the same great and awesome God kept me even when life had me to believe I didn’t want to be kept….His plans are WONDERFUL as we submit to His will and His way!!!!

    January 8, 2015
  18. vuyokazi #

    Thank you so much Susan,realy the challenges (financial)were knocking me down but now my spirit is lifted up,may God pour abundantly over your life,more grace.

    January 8, 2015
  19. Petra Pillay #

    Hi Susan

    Please keep me in your prayers and I want to fast this year for a financial breakthrough but I need help and guidance as I don’t always have access to the internet only via my email. Please help.

    Awaiting for your reply!

    Thank you

    January 9, 2015
  20. Misty #

    Hello Susan,

    I want to say thank you again for all you do to show us how much we are loved by our Father. Through your letter I have confirmation and will seek God in His plans for my life. I am ready to put my hand in His and let Him lead. Thank you so much and may God continue to bless you!

    January 9, 2015
  21. Jackie #

    Dear Susan I want to thank you first of all for the Daniel fast program and secondly for your testimony today. I followed the Daniel fast with you last year and used it during the year every time I needed to draw nearer to the Lord. It is really helping me. Your testimony has helped me because for the past couple of days, I was feeling really low as I realized I do not have enough money to manage my school ( I am the founder of a school that God gave me a vision for). I started to worry. Then I started thinking about all the things God has done for me these past few years. He healed me of cancer one year ago, he miraculously built us a beautiful school in circumstances that were beyond my control, my family is fine, healthy and happy. I thought if He has gotten me this far, why would he want to abandon me now? For it says in Phil 1:6 ” being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”
    Thanks for being a blessing to so many. God bless you.
    Jackie

    January 9, 2015
  22. Elizabeth Gallo #

    Hi Susan, Thank you so much for your words of encouragements. Thank God that he has charged us with encouraging one another. I am a recovering procrastinator, who has been disobedient to His instruction, due to “little faith” causing me to dilute what I am to do, by rationalizing. Ultimately, I am always “going to do,” waiting for the right time, taking control of a situation God has already ordained. I appreciate your sharing with us, your leap of faith. Keep me in your prayers, as I am determined to break the chains of mediocrity, and allow God to manifest His divine Will and Purpose in my life. God bless us all.

    January 9, 2015
  23. Reblogged this on Press 4 Word and commented:
    I so needed to read this I think I’m going to read it daily! #sotrue

    January 9, 2015
  24. Meiki #

    Hi Susan, thank you very much for your encouraging, they always build my faith in the LORD.

    January 9, 2015
  25. mooke #

    Hi Susan,
    My husband and I are on our sixth day today on Daniel Fast and already he got processing contract for his precious metal business on tue6/01/15 been on our second day of our Daniel Fast.God is moving in our lives in a mighty way,our daughter has just passed her matric(got results on mon5/01/15)by the way we are based in South Africa.She is going to study graphic design.God is exalted n Mighty just need us to magnify His name in order to claim our blessings.
    I would like to thank you for the wonderful work you dedicated yourself in working for God to help us into growing strong in His word.
    We are going strong in the fast and even consider to change our diet for better health

    God bless,

    January 10, 2015
  26. I was very move my the message that you send me and I went and read what you told me too. I just want to said my faith in God is what means so much to me and trusting in his word so I just want to say, keep obeying Gods word because my soul is delighted in learning how to trust and have faith that the Lord will do what he said he will do. thank Susan

    January 10, 2015
  27. Joycelyn #

    God bless you Jackie. Keep looking up. Keep praising up. Thank Him for His AMAZING GRACE which is sufficient for you. Thank you for sharing. It touched my heart and encouraged me greatly.

    January 12, 2015
  28. Rondalyn Martin #

    You really blessed me! This message came right on time. I was at work had just gotten some news about a tax lien and wanted to fall to pieces but I didn’t I simply said this is a God thing. Just as I started encouraging myself you sent this message to me and I knew that God heard me and that he has me. Thank you for this blessing!

    January 13, 2015
  29. Nadine #

    Hi Susan,

    Thank you for your obedience to the calling that God gave you too minister through the Daniel Fast.
    Being a part of this journey has meant so much to me already and I am only 9 days in AND already considering extending to 40 days.
    As we all have testimonies, mine is a little more recent… Although I grew-up in a Christian home, when I got to my teenage years I rebelled and never found my way back to church and as a result lived a rather unsavory adult life. But after being divorced in 2011 I too was brought to my knees. Since then I have been homeless, retrenched, level 3 cancer, involved in two car accidents, closed a coffee shop where I invested my pension and had my parents move in with me.
    BUT today I am healed, employed, have an apartment and live in complete joy. God has not only carried me through BUT restored me in so many areas.
    BLESSED and highly favored.

    January 14, 2015
  30. Daniel Fast Team #

    Praise God! We are rejoicing with you for God’s restoration and goodness on your life!

    January 14, 2015
  31. Briana #

    “A word in due season” for me for sure. Praise the Lord for His faithfulness to us as we grow from little faith to strong faith in Him.

    January 19, 2015
  32. Cindy #

    Hi Susan,
    I read your book the Daniel fast last year..and our church is getting ready to do a 21 day fast,
    I am seeking The Lord for healing in my body and renewed spiritual strength. I battled cancer over a year ago and came through, but had a heart attack 7 months ago and I am struggling to get better. The Daniel fast seems to be 100 percent heart healthy so I am confidently going to begin this fast. This site has encouraged me greatly..my only foreseen obstacle may be my body often craves milk and I’m sure it is in need of calcium and magnesium , but I have been studying foods that are rich in these nutrients as both are necessary for heart rhythm.

    I love eating healthy so am keeping a positive faith to begin this journey, I’m
    not alone in it all my church family is by faith seeking God together.
    Thanks for such good information on your site,
    Cindy.

    December 28, 2015
  33. Dearest Cindy,

    Thank you for your great message. I pray even now the complete healing and increases strength and stamina will be yours soon and very soon.

    You are on the right path! Praise God for His amazing goodness to us. If you sense that your body needs additional calcium from milk or other dairy products, then make appropriate adjustments. Fasting should never bring harm to your body. So making a slight adjustment to meet the special needs of our body at this time is totally within the boundaries of this fast.

    Be blesse

    December 30, 2015

Leave a Reply

