Skip to content

Churches Join the 2008 Fasting Movement

It seems many churches are getting on board with the 2008 Fasting Movement. Championed by Pastor Jentezen Franklin from Free Chapel Church in Gainseville, GA, the January 21-day fast is gaining momentum. Most of those joining the fast us the Daniel Fast as their chosen eating plan.

Many churches start their Fast on a Sunday so they can “sanctify the fast” together at their worship services. In this way, members are entering a “corporate fast” as a church body. Specific purposes for the Fast are identified which encourages all members to come together in unified prayer. This year, tens of thousands of Christian men and women will start the fast on January 6th and break the fast on Sunday morning, January 27th.

Many churches report powerful works of the Holy Spirit for their congregation as a body. Plus, individual members experience healed relationships, spiritual growth, physical healings, financial breakthroughs, and other blessings.

While even estimating the number of Christians who will enter the 2008 Fasting Movement is difficult, it is very likely that tens of thousands will start the New Year with the Daniel Fast, either as an individual devotion or a corporate fast with their church.

Please let us know if your church is fasting this year. We would love to report back to the larger Body of Christ as to the way God is moving in your congregation as you focus on Him through prayer and fasting.

Please leave a comment below with any questions you might have.

27 Comments Post a comment
  1. cynthia #

    Hi Susan,
    I Love your website it is truly a wonderful blessing.I was reading the information about the Seven-week Fast for
    Financial Breakthrough and after I finish the Daniel Fast I would like to do that one also.Is there any more information you can share with me on this fast it would be greatly appreciated.

    P.S. Thanking You in Advance for
    the wonderful experiences
    you are passing along.God Bless You

    Cynthia

    March 3, 2009
  2. Amanda #

    Hi! Our church…Community Life Fellowship in Franklin, Tn began this year 2008 with a 21 day Daniel Fast. In addition to the food fast we also fasted all forms of secular media. We have continued our fasting every month, beginning on the first Sunday of the month until the next Sunday. We have 2 services daily…a 6:30 am Morning Manna service and a 7pm Evening Sacrifice service. God is really moving in our midst! It is such an exciting time.

    July 7, 2008
  3. Greetings! Our little congregation started fasting this Sunday, and we’ll be fasting until Shavuot (June 8, the Jewish Pentecost). We are “counting the omer” during this time, counting the 7 weeks between the Sunday after Passover to Shavuot. We’d appreciated any who care to pray for our preparation for a new season!
    Blessings…

    April 22, 2008
  4. Sharon #

    I started the Daniel fast on January 14, and am experiencing the miraculous power of God in my life. The first three days was a total fast with nothing to eat or drink and the rest of the days fruits and vegetables. I was led by God to join with Pastor Jentezen Franklin and his ministry on this 21 day fast and I am already reaping His benefits. I would like to personally thank Pastor Franklin for allowing God to use him in such a significant way and for touching lives all over the world. Sharon, Antigua

    January 21, 2008
  5. Geraldine Ellis #

    Thank you for this site. It is the first time I am involved with a corporate Fast at our Church in Pietermaritzburg, Kzn, South Africa. I am excited because I can already sense that God is going to give us our Breakthroughs. Our Chrch “God’s Family Life Centre” has started the fast as of today until the 10th February 2008.
    I Thank God in Faith for all the answers to Pray that will take Place during this time throughout the World.

    God Bless

    January 21, 2008
  6. Kerri #

    Our church, Faith Assembly of God, Orlando, FL has also started our annual churchwide Daniel Fast. We started this past Sunday, January 13, 2008 until Sunday, February 3rd. Our pastor, Carl Stephens, began a series: Extreme Temple Makeover on Sunday coinciding with the annual Daniel Fast. Everyone in the church (approx 3500 Sunday attendees) was asked to participate, at a minimum, in the Daniel Fast. Many parishoners will observe total fasting or juice fasting during the 21 days. The Daniel Fast has become a welcome addition to my spiritual life as a time of denying the flesh and cleansing the body. I actually look forward to January every year!

    January 14, 2008
  7. Emma #

    Our church has join others in what I know to be a direct order from
    GOD. We are already seeing signs and wonders since stating this Fast.
    Our Fast begin Jan.9,2008 @Worldovercomer Outreach Ministries Church.
    I thank God for Apostle A.R. Williams hearing from God.

    January 12, 2008
  8. Princess Battles #

    Our church will start the fast on Sunday 01-13-08. Please pray for us. We are expecting great things from God.
    Our church name: Strait Gate Ministries, Ft Myers Fl

    January 12, 2008
  9. Cathie #

    Sorry, I omitted the name of our church and our pastors….Fountain of Life Fellowship in Aiken, SC, with Pastor Lonnie & Kim Brazell as our shepherds.

    January 10, 2008
  10. Cathie #

    Our church family began the Daniel Fast on January 1st. We are anticipating a great work by the Lord in ourselves, our church,and our community.

    January 10, 2008
  11. James Patrick #

    Hello Susan
    I just sent some links to the site to some church family. Every one was talking about eating carots and cellaery and I told them we were eating good since we got the cook book . Every one was amazed as I was that I found the book and the site on the web . and by the way the devotions you have been sending are exelent I forwarded them to my Pastor and he agreed we are all exited about what God is going to do in your life for your obedients to him. It is great to see God move in such a way .
    Praise be to God
    Thank you
    James Patrick

    January 9, 2008
  12. Kathleen Harris #

    Yes our church is fasting (Family Christian Center in Munster Indiana), we are so excited about the goodness of God.

    God Bless

    January 8, 2008
  13. Marty Pearson #

    My church, Evangel Temple Assembly of God in Columbus, GA is joining the 21 day January fast from Jan 7th-Jan 27th.

    January 8, 2008
  14. Our ministry, Household of Faith Christian Fellowship Church in Round Rock, TX under the leadership of Pastors Calvin & Valerie Hooper began a 21 day Daniel Fast on January 6th. We are meeting three times a week in Corporate Prayer and have asked all members to commit to the fast and for children to participate by joining in the Daniel Fast or by fasting TV, internet (only allowed for work, school or ministry) video games. Families are also encouraged to spend time together in family devotion and spiritual enrichment. Members have sent out our prayer focus and schedule to others who decided to join us to include a church in Chicago. God is Awesome!

    January 7, 2008
  15. Nancy Humphries #

    Our church is fasting as we did last year also. We saw many breakthroughs in 2007 and look forward to many salvations, healings, & deliverances this year. Cornerstone Church of Rome, Georgia

    January 7, 2008
  16. Barbara Gunn #

    This site is such a blessing. I am fasting with the Tabernacle of Praise Ministry in Gary, Indiana. This is my first hardcore fast also. Not only are we fasting the restricted foods, we are also fasting tv and music that is not godly. We also are praying three times a day so that the ‘fasters’ will be praying at the same time without being in the same place. This is something I really needed, and I thank Pastor and Evangelist Robinson for obeying what God put on their hearts to do.

    January 7, 2008
  17. Lynette #

    My church, House of Faith will be fasting 21 days starting January 13th

    January 6, 2008
  18. Jennifer #

    HI, My church; Sunset Avenue Church of God in Asheboro, NC is starting tommorow (Jan 7) the 21 day fast. I have sensed that God is seeking for those who are willing for him to do a work inside of them. I want to be one of those, and part of this movement. God is always faithful, and I know that there are some things; and only a spiritiual breakthrough comes from fasting. I desire to have a hunger for God.
    Love, Jennifer Cole

    January 6, 2008
  19. Paige Davis #

    Hi Melissa,

    I found your site during a google search, since this will be mine and my husbands first hard core fast. I had no idea how close to home this was. I grew up with Jentzen Franklin coming to the Alabama youth camps. My husband and I are participating in a corporate fast held by our church The Rock Family Worship Center in Huntsville, AL. I am thrilled that I have your site to help us along the way.

    Our children are fasting things that are sacrificial to them like media, music, etc. instead of food. How can we adapt the daniel fast guidelines, so that I am not cooking two totally different meals for us and them?

    Sincerely,

    Paige Davis

    January 4, 2008
  20. Hi Melissa,

    Thank you for your kind words. You confirm what the Lord led me to do. When I started this site just a month ago, I never realized what a gap there was for information about the Daniel Fast.This has not only been a blessing for readers and seekers, but also a HUGE blessing for me. Isn’t that just like God!

    God bless you, your family and your ministry. I hope the very best for you during your fast. I truly believe God is about to unfold a new work. I praise Him that we are members of the army that He is raising up!

    Glory to God!

    January 2, 2008
  21. What an incredible website this is!!!! All I can say is WOW! I have done the Daniel Fast before, how much better it would have been if I would have had this amazing site. Our church is also doing a corporate 21 day Daniel Fast. My husband and I pastor the Callaway Park Church in LaGrange, GA. We have such anticipation about what God is going to do in our lives individually and corporately. We are believing for miracles, and we know God is going to honor His children and our desire for Him. God bless you and thank you so much!!

    January 2, 2008
  22. Lane Sitz #

    I pastor the More Than Conquerors Faith Church in Gadsden , Alabama. God has directed us to a 21 Day Daniel Fast that began on Jan. 1st, 2008 and will end at midnight, the night of Jan. 21st, 2008. Please hold us up in prayer as we follow the leading of the Lord!!

    January 2, 2008
  23. Katina #

    Yes, my church (Global Impact Christian Ministries, Riverdale, GA.) is fasting this year, beginning January 2nd. I can not wait to see what GOD has in store in the year of New Beginnings.

    Be blessed to be a blessing

    January 2, 2008
  24. Dwight Hickey #

    We are a small church in Thorsby, Al. This is our second year of Daniel fast & we are starting the fast today Jan. 2 & we are expecting a great move of the Holy Spirit this year, as we start the year in agreement by particapitating in the Daniel fast. I am not the pastor. I am a member who loves the Lord & I think you for your site. My wife & I are also fasting TV for 21 days. We are going to read the word, praise/worship, fast, & pray for 21days.

    January 2, 2008
  25. Hi Pastor Garth.

    The Daniel Fast is an excellent model for people who have never fasted. It allows people to consume food so they don’t wrestle with hunger, but yet as they restrict the foods they eat they experience cravings. This is an important element of the fast, for the spirit to control the flesh and for an individual to present their body as a “living sacrifice unto the Lord.” That’s why I like to call the Daniel Fast a “whole body experience.” Each part of us, our body, soul and spirit is affected.

    While the common length of the Daniel Fast is 21 days, many people use it for a 3-day, 7-day, or 10-day fast. The fast is also excellent because it honors the body with only allowing healthy foods — which is so different than the diet most North Americans consume today!

    I hope the very best for you and your church. Feel free to contact me with any more questions. I hope this was of some help.

    December 31, 2007
  26. Ralph Garth #

    My church is a very new church and many of our member know little about fasting. What kind of fast could I call for our church, because we are geting ready for a 3 day Revival which starts January 16,17, 18,

    Pastor Garth

    December 31, 2007

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Jentezen Franklin, and his false teachings on fasting | THE WORD on The Word of Faith (a GroupBlog)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.