Skip to content

Vegetarian Chili

This is a very easy to prepare and hearty meal. I make this even when I’m not on the Daniel Fast! 2 medium-sized green peppers, chopped

1 medium-sized yellow onion, chopped

1 zucchini, sliced

1 yellow squash, sliced

2 tablespoons salad oil

2 tablespoons chili powder

¾ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon ground red peppers

2 cups corn kernels (fresh or frozen)

2 16 oz. cans tomatoes (juice and all)

2 16 oz. cans pinto beans (juice and all)

2 16 oz. cans black beans (juice and all)

1   4 oz. can mild green chilies

1   4 oz. can of tomato paste

[When I make this during non-fasting times, I also add 1 tablespoon of sugar with the other spices.]

Chop and sauté in oil the peppers and onions. Add the sliced squashes, chili powder, salt, ground red peppers, and corn. When all the vegetables are soft but still firm, add the tomatoes, all the beans, the green chilies, and the tomato paste. Stir until just blended.

Bring to a boil and then reduce the heat. Let simmer for 20 minutes stirring occasionally to prevent sticking.

Yield: 6 generous servings

 I featured this recipe in my book titled Out of the Rat Race published in 1994 by Servant Publications.

22 Comments Post a comment
  1. Yes, that will be fine.

    February 5, 2017
  2. Not tomato paste can I use tomato sauce

    January 19, 2017
  3. Daniel Fast Team #

    This is one of the “fine lines.” Unsweetened cocoa powder would be fine, But …I think it has a lot of caffeine, which is not allowed on the Daniel Fast.

    January 22, 2015
  4. Sonny tsai #

    Is cocoa powder allowed on the fast?

    January 18, 2015
  5. Michelle #

    I make this chili every time I do a Daniel fast for the last several years now. It is delicious! Thank you so much for posting this all those years ago and making the recipe freely available.

    January 12, 2014
  6. Debbie #

    All I have to say is WOW! This chili is so delicious!!!!

    October 11, 2013
  7. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi HeatherLynn,
    One of the great things about this recipe is that you can change it up to suit your taste and or what’s in the fridge. I would suggest just leaving out the zucchini and squash, the chili is great without them. Or, think outside the box and replace these with some of your favorite vegetables. Carrots for example, will add great color and compliment the dish…. enjoy, you just simply cannot hurt this soup, so go for it. Be Blessed on your fast!

    June 11, 2013
  8. HeatherLynn #

    I am looking to make this as a meal for my family but my son is allergic to zucchini and squash. Do you have any recommendations for substitutions?

    June 10, 2013
  9. Val #

    Excellent chili! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    August 23, 2012
  10. Noella #

    Try your local Costco. They carried the kind that I needed during the fast but when I went back to get more after the fast was over, they no longer had that brand. I’m not sure if they will carry it seasonally or if I just got lucky during my fast. When all else fails, you can go to Wholefoods.

    September 16, 2010
  11. Hi Ryan,

    This is so easy in a crockpot. Just saute the onions and green peppers for a few minutes and them and the other ingredients to your slow cooker. Return in a few hours for a wonderful meal!

    Be blessed on your fast!

    February 19, 2010
  12. Ryan #

    I’m new to cooking. How would I prepare this in a slow cooker?

    February 17, 2010
  13. Sarah . . .

    READ THE LABEL. I don’t know about soy crumbles, but the ingredients on the label will tell you whether they comply with what is acceptable on the Daniel Fast.

    Thanks!

    January 10, 2010
  14. I think Triscuits include sweeteners and/or leavening. If not — and all the ingrediets comply with the Daniel Fast then they would be okay.

    January 9, 2010
  15. Yes, slow cookers are fine.

    January 9, 2010
  16. Sibyl #

    Can this be prepared in a slow cooker?

    January 8, 2010
  17. Tess #

    Are Triscuits okay for the fast. By the ingredients it seems like it would be acceptable.

    Thank you
    Tess

    January 8, 2010
  18. sarah #

    my daughter uses Soy Crumbles to cook with a lot. i have never used them myself, i believe she buys them in the frozen food sectionl Are they ok to eat on the Daniel Fast?

    January 7, 2010
  19. Hi Linda,

    I find a store brand that works. But you might look for the organic brands. Canned tomatoes and tomato sauce without sugar and chemicals can be found, but sometimes we need to search them out! It sure says something about the food industry!

    January 3, 2010
  20. Linda #

    I was reading through the list of ingredients and noticed this has tomato paste. What brand do you use. I have only been able to find paste with sugar and chemicals which is not fast friendly.
    Also, all the canned tomato’s I find have a preservative listed on the can. I thought with the Daniel Fast we shouldn’t have anything but all natural. If you can let me know what you have found and use I would be grateful.

    Thanks much!

    January 3, 2010
  21. Teresa #

    This chili is what got my husband through the fast. It is very good. I was really surprised. I also shared some with my boss who said it was the best thing he had ever eaten.

    March 17, 2009

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. This Week’s Favorite Finds

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.