Skip to content

The Daniel Fast and Financial Breakthrough

Okay friends, the world is experiencing tough times with the financial markets in a free-fall with no sure end in sight. Perhaps you’ve experienced losses at this time, along with many in the United States and throughout the world. But one thing we know from the Scriptures is that, “We are IN this world, but not OF this world.” And now, perhaps more than ever before in our lifetimes, is when we need to press into God and focus on Him rather than the fear and dread that wants to overtake us.

Fasting to “tune up” your spiritual life is a really smart thing to do! Why? Because fasting is setting ourselves apart . . . and centering our lives on God. It’s not just eating differently and expecting some supernatural results. But rather, fasting helps us focus more on God and His Word and as His truth takes root in our heart, we experience the supernatural power of the Most High God.

If you are feeling nervous or anxious right not, take this opportunity to pray and fast. You might just start with a three-day Daniel Fast . . . and see how things go. You might want to extend if you sense the Lord calling you to a deeper place of understanding with Him. But as you fast, be sure to focus on the Lord. Get your eyes off the circumstances of this world and on to the promises of God in His Word.

Read Deuteronomy 28, do a study on the word “faith,” or read about the many times the Lord helped His people in times of great economic stress. Feed your spirit by meditating on God’s truth! We are His people. He is our God. And He will see us through.

Take minute right now and read Psalm 91 and claim the hope and security the Lord has for you as you dwell in the secret place of the Most High. Remember, we are in the world but not of this world. We have another place where we can call home . . . the kingdom of God. So seek Him, His truth and His ways. Then you will find the joy, peace and security only He can provide.

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Actually, Jesus isn’t teaching to keep your fast a secret. It’s about the condition of your heart. What’s the motive for telling people you are fasting? If it’s to share information (some asked you to dinner or something), then it’s okay.

    The secret place is talking about a different realm – the kingdom of heaven. Jesus is teaching to put your focus on God and His kingdom. And it’s when we meet Him in the secret place and put our trust in Him that He rewards us. The Bible teaches that God rewards those who diligently seek Him.

    I hope this helps!

    January 11, 2018
  2. james kjellin #

    I can see where you explain how to fast and other things about the Daniel Fast. but to let everyone know that you are fasting isn’t biblical. Matthew 6 says to do it in secret and your Father who sees in secret will reward you openly. You got your praise from telling everyone you are fasting…

    January 8, 2018
  3. Good morning Cy,

    Yes, all vegetables are allowed on the Daniel Fast, even if they are not specifically listed on the Daniel Fast Food List.

    Thanks for the question and I hope the very best for your on your Daniel Fast.

    January 3, 2009
  4. cy #

    can I eat potato, yam, plantian, or cassava on the daniel fast?

    January 3, 2009
  5. Nicole,

    Thank you so much for our kind words about the blog. It is my blessing to have this ministry of the Lord!

    I hope the very best for you in this New Year and on the Daniel Fast.

    January 2, 2009
  6. Nicole Williams #

    I agree with this is an awesome blog! Susan not only you but we as Christians “need to get our act together”! The flesh is soooo weak at times (for me at least) As going into The Daniel Fast I felt the God has approved and conditioned me. I am fighting it now with my flesh but deep in my heart I feel I am going to win this. I consider myself a spiritual person but I still have so much more work to do within. With people like yourself that gives people like me this information and strength to work this journey, it will not be hard.

    So with that being said I thank you Ms. Susan. May God continue to bless you in encourgaging me and others during this spiritual warfare.

    January 2, 2009
  7. Rea #

    Thank you for being obedient in God’s call for your return to Christian writing and for doing a blog on this topic. It is encouragement for me; this being my third time doing the Daniel Fast. Last year I didn’t commit to it like my first year in 2006 and I’m really trying to complete it this year. Thank you for more details about the Daniel Fast and for providing recipes!!! This information adds to the encouragement and with God’s strength, I’ll complete the fast this year!!! God Bless and Happy New Year!!!

    January 1, 2009
  8. Tonya #

    Amen. Thanks for blogging this.

    December 31, 2008
  9. Wow Nick!

    All I can say is Amen!

    I had a powerful experience during my prayer time this morning. The Lord impressed on me in a different way than I had ever received how much He needs me to have my “act together” so I can serve Him and be His channel of blessing! He needs me healthy, spiritually fit and financially secure. He needs an able army of believers He can trust to fulfill His mission.

    I realized that so often I have prayed and asked God to meet my needs . . . which is right. The Word says He hears the prayers and cries of His people. But He showed me today that ‘yes, He wants to meet my needs,’ but it’s more for Him so that I can be His strong and able servant.

    Just as we are called to a pure life, to forgive, to make love our aim . . . we are also called to be fit in all areas of our lives. Not first so we can have a pleasant life, but more importantly so we can by His strong and able servants!

    This little tweak in my thinking was powerful. I haven’t absorbed it all, yet. But it’s one of those revelations that will change my life!

    Thanks for sharing your call to go for it! I’m in!

    December 16, 2008
  10. Nick #

    No more wimp Christians is right!! No compromise. No worries. No lack. No hypocrisy. There is only time for Him. It is time to put our lives aside and stand. “Be on the alert, stand firm in the faith, act like men, be strong.” This is the cry for men to get up and follow Him… unashamed, unabashed, uninhibited!!
    We must take the love and our encounter with a True, Holy, Living God and give to others. This fast is a great way to smash the flesh and focus on Jesus in order to focus on someone other than ourselves. Blessings!!!!

    December 16, 2008
  11. Hi Tiffany,

    Thank you so much for writing your message and confirming what the Lord is saying to me and others. This is such an important time in the life of the church. We really do need to step up and so all we can to deepen our faith and trust in the Lord! No more wimp Christians!

    God is so good and I am forever thankful for the way He loves and care for me! I so want others to know of His saving grace and His faithful care!

    Thanks for your message! Be blessed!

    November 24, 2008
  12. Tiffany #

    Oh my goodness Susan You are so on point with this blog!!! My Pastor has been speaking about this topic for a couple of months now at least. About how though we are in this world we are no of this world, so we don’t operate by the worlds system of doing things. While the economy is down, God is still blessing His people!!! It’s amazing to see a large group of members give first fruit offerings. I am so glad that God has put this on your heart to give to us. As my Pastor would say,” Welcome to Goshen!”

    November 24, 2008

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.