Skip to content

The Daniel Fast Lesson My Chickens Taught Me

I live in a small farm in a rural community. It’s a simple life and slow life!

Every morning I feed my flock of chickens. And there is a valuable lesson about taking care of the physical body that I learned from them.

When I first enter their pen in the morning, if the chicken food feeder is empty and the water fountain is empty . . . when both are filled, the chickens ALWAYS prefer the water over the chicken feed!

I figure my chickens and their preference makes a valuable statement about what is more important for our bodies, also. I’m not sure what the water content is in the chicken, but I do know that the human body is more than 70 percent water. I needs good quality water to stay healthy and working properly.

The formula for how much water to drink daily is body weight ÷ 2 = ounces of water to consume. So if you weigh 120 pounds, you should drink 60 ounces of water every day.

Ever since I’ve paid more attention to making sure my body is well-hydrated, I’ve noted that my skin looks healthier, I’m not as hungry, and I have more energy. By the way, sometimes when the human body wants water, our minds confuse the message as a hunger pang. Instead, if we drink a nice tall glass of water and wait just 20 minutes, the hunger pangs will often disappear!

So, life on the farm has many lessons, including those taught by my chickens! Drink water! It’s good for us.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. TAMMI TILLEY #

    Thank you taking time to address my question. I take meds every pm and am, iI have a difficult time taking meds with water so I take them with juice. How do I handle this during this fast?

    August 2, 2011
  2. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Tammi,
    If you absolutely cannot get your medication down with water…… then you may want to try taking them with a blended fruit/vegetable smoothie (this being a way to keep you within the guidelines without having to make a modification to the fast). Be Blessed!

    August 3, 2011

Leave a Reply

