Skip to content

Daniel Fast Instructions

The Daniel Fast is a powerful method for spiritual prayer and fasting. And the Daniel Fast instructions are simple once you learn the boundaries.

You can get a copy of the Daniel Fast Guidelines emailed to you by clicking here: http://daniel-fast.com

The Daniel Fast eating plan is like a vegan diet with more restrictions. The only beverage is water. So the primary foods are fruits, vegetables, whole grains and legumes. There are no sweeteners on the fast — and no processed foods or chemicals.

Clearly, the purpose of the fast is to draw closer to God. During your fast you will want to focus your time with God for a specific purpose or to gain His advice, intervention or direction in your life. Again, check out our website where we are able to be more specific about the Daniel Fast instructions.

120 Comments Post a comment
  1. michelle schappacher #

    Thank you so much!!! What about hummus???

    August 8, 2012
  2. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hummus is great. Homemade hummus is best and very easy to make, not to mention also a lot fresher, you can adjust the flavors to your liking, and it’s way less expensive. Because of the benefits of hummus on the Daniel Fast, we included several recipes for it in my book, which is available at all online and local bookstores. http://www.amazon.com/Daniel-Fast-Strengthen-Spirit-Renew/dp/1414334133 I hope this helps!

    August 9, 2012
  3. Tamra Hillis #

    I discovered this fast while researching one of my customer’s online, and immediately felt compelled to start ASAP. I need to cleanse both my spirit to prepare me for the next steps God has for me, and my body as I have had a lot of health issues lately, and the stresses in my life have caused some weight gain. I am looking forward to beginning this coming Monday, Oct 22nd. I must say that I love food, so I’m a little scared, but I will move forward with the resolve that I get only from God. Bless you Susan for your commitment.

    October 19, 2012
  4. Jan #

    I have been told that you aren’t supposed to talk about fasting while you are on a fast. Matthew 6:16-18 says 16 “And when you fast, don’t make it obvious, as the hypocrites do, for they try to look miserable and disheveled so people will admire them for their fasting. I tell you the truth, that is the only reward they will ever get. 17 But when you fast, comb your hair and wash your face. 18 Then no one will notice that you are fasting, except your Father, who knows what you do in private. And your Father, who sees everything, will reward you.”

    I will be going out of town during my fast and I will be seeing other family members and most likely be going out to eat. I am sure questions will come up as to why I am not eating like usual. Can I let them know I am on a fast?

    December 29, 2012
  5. Tameka #

    Hey, wasn’t sure but….is it ok to take One A Day vitamins and Biotin supplements while fasting?

    God Bless

    January 4, 2013
  6. You will want to keep your fast “private” and not boast about it to bring attention to yourself. That’s what Jesus was coming against int he passage you noted. However, it’s okay to inform people if it’s for information. Actually in this case, it would be the loving thing to do so they will understand why you will only eat certain foods.

    Be blessed and I pray your life will be a witness to those you meet during your travels.

    January 4, 2013
  7. I’m not sure about Biotin, you can read the ingredients. Vitamins are fine.

    Be blessed!

    January 5, 2013
  8. Ren #

    I hope that I don’t seem like a hypocrite to people. I was not trying to boast. I posted that I am starting the fast today. Mostly to give myself accountability by sharing with others. This is the first time I am ever doing something like this. I am trying to learn to be a Christian. I grew up in church but was skeptical. As an adult now, I want to know, to learn.

    January 7, 2013
  9. PJ Ruck #

    is there Ezekiel bread that doesn’t have yeast and honey in it
    Can I eat french fries and onion rings if baked in oven
    what about eating all vegan products — is it okay?

    thank you

    January 7, 2013
  10. Angelica #

    I started these fast today and so far, it’s a struggle. I’m Mexican, and right now, we’re making tamales. I can’t eat them and its definitely tempting. I know I can get through this and make my relationship closer to God.

    January 8, 2013
  11. Hi!

    No leavened breads are allowed on the Daniel Fast, so you can Ezekiel whole grain tortillas, but no raised breads.

    Yes, onion rings and french fries are allowed, but you need to read the list of ingredients included to make sure they all comply with the Daniel Fast.

    Many vegan products are allowed. But you still need to watch the ingredients for sweeteners and chemicals.

    I hope this helps!

    January 8, 2013
  12. Hi Ren,

    One of the biblical truths we all know is that our actions are based on the condition of our heart. The Pharisees boasted about their fast hoping to bring attention to themselves. Their actions were fueled by pride and that’s when Jesus said, “They already got their rewards.”

    It seems that you are sharing your experience and as long as your heart is in the right place and humble, then all is well. That’s just one of the amazing life lessons we can learn from fasting.

    Be blessed!

    January 8, 2013
  13. SD #

    Hi Susan

    Can i use gram flour to cook pancakes(indian recipe). Its basically just ground chick peas. Please let me know if this conforms to the daniel fast norms. Thank you very much for all your help and for hosting this very useful blog. Stay blessed.

    SD

    January 9, 2013
  14. The good news is that there are many recipes that you can enjoy on the Daniel Fast. Many Mexican recipes do comply or with slight adjustments.

    Be blessed!

    January 9, 2013
  15. Yes, gram flour is a whole food and acceptable for the Daniel Fast. I assume you are making chapatti and not a pancake that would have leavening in it. The chapatti would have the gram flour, salt, oil and water, right? Yikes! I’m getting hungry!

    Be blessed on your fast!

    January 9, 2013
  16. Michelle #

    I’m doing the fast but i need to know if i can eat pecans

    January 11, 2013
  17. Yes, you can have pecans. But be sure to check if they are not raw since some companies add sweeteners or man-made chemicals. Raw is best, roasted in oil is second best.

    Be blessed!

    January 11, 2013
  18. I didn’t take the list of allowed foods for the Daniel fast and I accidentally bought whole grain (sliced) bread,salsa with sugar in it and some veggie chips that may just be deep fried potatoes and some other unallowed foods What can I do with this food now?I did try to remember what the forbidden products were,but I should have written it down? Thank You for any advice

    January 20, 2013
  19. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Angie,
    You can either take them back to the grocery store (and yes, they do take returns) or, you can put them in the freezer for after your fast. I hope this helps!

    January 25, 2013
  20. Purelife1961 #

    please remove me from you email list

    thank you

    January 25, 2013
  21. Daniel Fast Team #

    We have not initiated emails. Somehow you were subscribed to this blog and only you can unsubscribe. Please read this post to see how to stop the email notifications.
    https://danielfast.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/unfollow-or-unsubscribe-this-blog/ Thanks!

    January 29, 2013
  22. can i eat sourdough bread for the Daniel’s fast?

    February 6, 2013
  23. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Esther,
    Sourdough bread is not allowed on the Daniel Fast, due to the leavening (of which yeast only one type) and sourdough is another type of leaven. There really isn’t any type of raised bread for the Daniel Fast. There is flat bread like chapati, which is made from whole wheat flour, water and oil. Be blessed!

    February 8, 2013
  24. April H #

    Hi! I will begin my fast on tomorrow Lord spare my life, I wanted to know will I be able to eat yoplait yogurt while on the fast? A list of what types of salad dressing I could use on my salads, and are boiled eggs allowed? thanks for the advice in andvance..

    February 11, 2013
  25. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi April,
    The Daniel Fast is totally plant based, so no yogurt or eggs on the fast. Salad Dressing: A favorite prepared salad dressing is Newman’s Own Oil and Vinegar Salad Dressing, all the ingredients are acceptable for the Daniel Fast. Also, you can make your own dressings easily and quickly. There are many recipes in the Daniel Fast Cookbooks at http://daniel-fast.com/store.html Be blessed!

    February 14, 2013
  26. Jennifer #

    Is Ezekiel bread allowed on the fast?

    December 15, 2013
  27. Daniel Fast Team #

    Leavening, including yeast, is not allowed on the Daniel Fast, also there are not sweeteners on the Daniel Fast. Because of this typical Ezekiel bread is not allowed, however the Ezekiel Whole Grain Tortillas are. Be Blessed!

    December 17, 2013
  28. sabrina aaron #

    I feel a strong need for thisfast how shiuld i go about it

    January 6, 2014
  29. The best thing is to get a copy of the Daniel Fast book so you can learn about the fast and adequately prepare yourself.

    Here is the link: http://www.amazon.com/dp/1414334133/?tag=lacatt-20

    Be blessed!

    January 9, 2014
  30. Krista Martinez #

    Is tomato sauce with citric acid okay?

    January 13, 2014
  31. Daniel Fast Team #

    Yes, Citric acid is used as natural preservative in a lot of canned foods. It is considered natural because it is derived from plants, so it’s allowed on the Daniel Fast. Be Blessed on your fast!

    January 22, 2014
  32. Melanie Forbes #

    Thank you. I am trusting God to renew my mind so that I can develop a deep and intimate relationship with him. Please pray with me.

    January 25, 2014
  33. Nicole #

    What about natural peanut butter and gluten free rice cakes? Also, why is tea not allowed if left unsweetened? That would be considered natural/plant based, no?

    September 15, 2014
  34. Daniel Fast Team #

    Nicole,
    Yes, Unsweetened additive free peanut butter is allowed on the fast. The Ingredients list should be very simple: Peanuts and maybe some salt. One peanut butter we can recommend for the fast is Adam’s 100% Natural Peanut Butter.

    Yes, gluten free rice cakes would be fine, make sure the ingredients are free of additives and sweeteners as well. Try Lundberg Brown Rice Cakes, Ingredients: Whole grain brown rice, sea salt. Here’s a link for you:http://www.lundberg.com/products/rice_cakes/Organic_Brown_Rice_Cakes_Lightly_Salted.aspx

    One of the two foundational scriptures for the fast are: Daniel 1:12 “Prove thy servants, I beseech thee, ten days; and let them give us pulse to eat, and “water” to drink.” This is why we drink water only and although plant based, there is no coffee or tea on the fast. I hope this helps, Be Blessed on your fast!

    September 15, 2014
  35. Chris Hunter #

    Thank you all for your comments and answers given, God bless us all for wanting to do this for the LORD and I begin my Daniel Fast tomorrow Sunday, and I pray and ask God for strength and endurance and wisdom to do this Fast that has been in my heart to do start for some time now, Thank you again and many blessings to all

    January 2, 2016
  36. Suzanne L. #

    My husband and I are both beginning the fast tomorrow. We both drink coffee and did not cut back gradually, so I am concerned about getting a serious headache. It happened to me once before when I stopped caffeine. Also, are we supposed to fast with only water for the first 3 days? I heard this somewhere.

    January 4, 2016
  37. First, no, that Daniel Fast doesn’t call for a water only fast to begin the experience.

    I suggest you spend the next 3-5 days weaning yourself off caffeine even though you’ve already started the fast. Make it part of your spiritual experience and be vigilant about getting rid of the caffeine.

    Be blessed.

    January 4, 2016
  38. Ash #

    Hello i was wondering if you can have sunflower oil
    And if the brand skinny popcorn is ok

    October 16, 2016
  39. Yes, all healthy oils are allowed on the Daniel Fast.

    October 24, 2016

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Brian Flight’s 21 Day New Year’s Fast Challenge « Brian Flight's Rules for Habitual Success

Leave a Reply

